(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Hyman's Handbook of Indianapolis : an outline history and description of the capital of Indiana, with over three hundred illustrations from photographs made expressly for this work"

Gc M^fW 

977.202 

InShy 

1493866 



GENEALOGY COLLECTLQi^ 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 02302 2293 







HYMAN'S 







HMD i^oon or 






INDIANAPOLIS 



AN OUTLINE HISTORY AND DC-^ 
5CRIPTION or THE CAPITAL 
or INDIANA ^?^^?^^^^ 



WITH OVER THREE HUNDRED ILLUSTRATIONS ERO-W 
PHOTOGRAPHS "CTDE EXPRESSLY EOR THIS WORK 



A\AX R. HYyraM, Editor 










INDIT^NT^POLIS 
M. R. HN'MAN COMPANY 

1597 






^e; 




CaRLON & HOLLENBECK, 

Indianapolis. 



Gift for the 

HISTORICAL GENEALOGICAL 
COLLECTION 

from 

Mrs. H. Jean Lowden 

April 1, 1969 



PREFACF 




HARRY O. WILLIAMS 

2424 MANFORD ST 
FT. WAYNE, IND. 46806 

It has been the editor's aim in preparing this work to make 
it the most complete illustrated history of Indianapolis ever pub- 
lished. The text gives a comprehensive but condensed history 
and description of the city ; also of every notable public insti- 
tution and feature of especial interest. The illustrations cover 
a longer period and are far more numerous than have ever be- 
fore been published on this subject and the)' furnish many 
interesting reminders of the earlier history of tlie city as well as 
of the present. X^C/OOOO 

In the preparation of this volume, I have consulted all 
known available sources of relevant information. I make par- 
ticular acknowledgment of my obligations to the local histories, 
published years ago, by Col. W. R. Holloway and Ignatius 
Brown, and to the files of the newspapers of this cit\' for their 
rich stores of material; also to Mr. W. H. Smith for valuable 
assistance. 

The engravings were nearly all made b)' the H. C. Bauer 
Engraving Co., expressly for this work from photographs taken 
by Joseph Van Trees. The book is issued from the press oi 
Carlon & Hollenbeck. 

This edition is now submitted to the public with the hope 
that it will be found to be useful as well as interesting, and that 
its support will necessitate many editions. 

Max R. Hvman, Editor. 

Indianapolis, Febniary, j8qj. 

(iii) 

MR: " -r.N 

Fort Wayne, Indiana 



\_ 



HISTORICAL 




INDIANAPOLIS FROM THE EARLIEST PERIOD 
TO THE PRESENT. 

HEN Indiana was admitted as a state into the 
Union it contained fewer inhabitants than now live 
in Marion county. The settlers had not strayed 
very far away from the Ohio river, but there were 
a few settlements along Whitewater, and a few 
along the W^abash ; but most of them were along the southern 
border of the state. The state stretched from the Ohio to the 
lake, but the central and northern sections were an unknown 
wilderness given over to the Indians. Dense forests covered the 
central section, while to the north stretched away the trackless 
prairies. It was not an inviting field for the hardy pioneer. 
South was Kentucky with its richness of soil and its admirable 
climate ; to the east was Ohio already beginning to teem with 
a hardy and industrious population, while all the best portions 
of Indiana still claimed the savages as masters. Even in that 
early day the word had gone out that Indiana was the land of 
chills and fevers, and seekers for new homes came, saw, and 
passed on, or returned to the places from whence the}' came. 

It was a struggle for existence. The soil was rich enough, 
but it was the work of years to clear a farm and get it read)' to 
produce, and when its productions were ready for the harvest 
there was no market, and the malaria arising from the decaxing 

(5) 



6 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

of vegetation, with no antidote except whisky and wild cherry 
bark, made the outlook anything but favorable. It was under 
such circumstances Indiana became a member of the great 
Federal Union. Indian wars had about ceased east of the Mis- 
sissippi river, but Indian massacres had not come to an end. It 
was not safe to stray very far away from the confines of the few 
settlements, and if human life was spared stock was stolen and 
driven away, thus depriving the settler of all means of cultivat- 
ing his homestead. The capital was a little village on the 
southern border, some miles back from the river, and hidden 
among the hills; hard to get at in the best of seasons, in the 
winter it was almost inaccessible. Around it there was nothing 
that gave promise of future growth ; there was no future for it 
even if the capital remained there. There was absolutely no 
foundation on which to build a city. 

When the state was admitted into the Union congress donated 
to the infant commonwealth four sections of land on which to 
build a capital city, the land to be selected by the state from 
any that remained unsold. So, in 1820 the legislature deter- 
mined to go out into the wilderness and hunt for a site for its 
future capital city. It followed in this the example of the 
national government. When the jealousies between the colo- 
nies were about to destroy the new made Union, congress went 
out in search of a home, and found it on the banks of the Poto- 
mac. The members of the Indiana legislature in 1820 may 
have hoped that their state would grow, and afterwhile become 
fairly prosperous, but their wildest dreams never reached the 
reality, that within two score years the state would be so popu~ 
lous that it could send to the field of battle 200,000 armed men, 
and yet not exhaust its capacity. Yet such was the case. 

In 1820 the legislature sent out its commissioners to seek for 
the site of its future city, and make selection of the land donated 
by congress. It might have been a prescience of what was to 
come that led the commissioners to seek a spot as near the 
geographical center of the state as possible. It may be they 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 7 

naturally concluded that in time the geographical center of the 
state would be also the center of population, but it is more 
probable they thought only of finding a spot to reach which 
would take about the same number of miles travel from the four 
corners. Whatever may have been their motive, they did deter- 
mine on the geographical center. Water furnished then the 
only, or rather the best and surest means of communication with 







THE OLD GOVERNOR WRIGHT MANSION, 

the outside world, and as they did not want to get too far away 
from some stream supposed to be navigable, they clung to the 
banks of White river. Three sites were offered, one a few miles 
south of the present city, and one a few miles northeast. They 
came here through the wilderness, and after much debating and 
considerable disputing, decided on accepting four sections of 
land around the mouth of Fall creek. It was a most unpromis- 



8 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

ing site. White river itself was not very inviting, while deep 
bayous and ravines cut up the land in a way to make it look 
anything but attractive to one seeking for town lots. But here 
were the four sections with only half a dozen or so settlers. It 
was in the wilderness, it was near the geographical center. 

With the exception of a lonely cabin here and there, it was 
sixty miles away from the nearest settlements. All around were 
dense forests ; to the south were the hills reaching to the Ohio 
river, and to the north the woods and prairies stretching out to 
the lake. Only a few miles away was the boundary which di- 
vided the "New Purchase" from the lands still claimed by the 
Indians. There was no town, no people, not a road leading 
anywhere. A town had to be built, people induced to come, 
roads to be opened. But when the people should come, how 
were they to be fed? No farms had been opened up, and sup- 
plies of every kind would have to be wagoned many miles over 
roads often almost impassable, but at that time pack-horses were 
the only means of conveyance. But here, in this unpromising 
locality, the commissioners staked off a city that in less than 
three-quarters of a century was to become the largest inland 
city on the continent. They fondly believed that White river 
would prove to be navigable for the only boats then known on 
the western waters, and by it the people of the new city could 
be fed and clothed. 

The legislature approved the report of the commissioners 
and proceeded to hunt for a name for the new city. It was a 
difificult thing to find. Every member of the legislature had a 
name to propose. Some were of Indian origin, and some com- 
pounded from Latin words, and others from Greek. Finally 
"Indianapolis" was determined upon, and the city in embryo 
had a name. It had little else. As said there were no roads, 
and the supplies for the settlers had to be carried on horseback 
from the settlements on Whitewater. Going sixty miles to mill 
or to store in those days was no small journey. It took longer 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



11 



than it does now to go to New York. Then, too, it was a more 
hazardous journey. 

There has been much dispute as to who was actually the 
first settler of this section of the state and the honor has been 
contested between the friends of George Pogue and those of two 
brothers named McCormick. The dispute never will be satis- 
factorily settled, and it is not a very important historical event. 
Neither Pogue nor the McCormicks dreamed of emulating Rom- 
ulus and Remus, and building a city. The one sought only to 
live by hunting and trapping, and the others by cultivating the 
soil. It was only after the location of the capital city they 



•■^vu«\y oayourow,^^^^^^^. 




dreamed of achieving fame by being called the first to discern 
the future possibilities. Both Pogue and the McCormicks were 
here when the commissioners of the legislature came, as were a 
few other families, all of whom would have liked to get away 
to some healthier spot, if they could. They must have laughed 
in their sleeves at the commissioners thinking to build a city on 
such an unlikely spot. 

In April, 1821, the work of "laying off" the city activel)' 
began. Christopher Harrison, representing the state, appointed 
as surveyors, Elias P. Fordham and Alexander Ralston. Some 
years before, Ralston had been employed in some of the work 



12 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

of mapping out Washington, the national capital, and had great 
ideas of what a city in the woods ought to be, and at his sug- 
gestion the city was to be one mile square, with streets crossing 
each other at right angles, and with four wide avenues pointing 
toward a circle that was to be the center of the new city. The 
ground was uniformly level, but a slight knoll was found, and it 
was determined the city should start from that point, or rather 
that the knoll should be in the center, and that it should be 
crowned by a residence for the chief magistrate of the common- 
wealth. It was a pretty idea; as he was to be the center of in- 
fluence and power, it' was right and proper that his home should 
be the center of the city, and as he was the highest in power 
and honor, his home should be on the highest ground ; but, 
alas, the idea was all that was fully developed. The circle was 
there, the knoll was there, but the governor's residence was 
never there. 

Streets were marked off, lots laid out and the new city was 
ready for business, that is, the sale of lots. It is true the streets 
ran through the woods and the lots were all heavily timbered, 
but they were there, and could be determined by the stakes set 
by the surveyors. Certain plots of ground were reserved for 
public purposes. One was to be the site of the expected state- 
house. One was for the court-house, and one was reserved 
on which to build a great state educational institution, which 
already had been designated as a university. Like the gov- 
ernor's residence, the university never materialized. It hav- 
ing gone abroad through the settlements that the new capital 
city had been located, and information given as to where it could 
be found, immigrants began to arrive, and among them was the 
first lawyer, eager as ever for strife. A store had been opened 
up and a saw-mill started. 

Most of the settlers had located along the bank of the river, 
taking it for granted that the choice corner lots would be in that 
section. The land outside of the mile square was to be laid off 
into out lots and farms. Mr. Ralston and the commissioners 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 13 

evidently thought that the mile square would contain all the in- 
habitants the city was ever likely to have, and had provided no 
division of the city lots from the out lots but the imaginary 
line, but some one suggested that it would be the proper thing 
to bound the city by streets, and name them East, West, North 
and South streets, and it was done accordingly. 

In October, 182 1 , the sale of lots began. The money arising 
from the sale was to be used in erecting the necessary buildings 




PENNSYLVANIA STREET IN 1S56, NORTH OF WASHINGTON STREET. 

for the use of the state, and it was expected that there would be 
a great demand. After continuing the sale for several days, 
and disposing of three hundred and fourteen lots, the real estate 
business was stopped for awhile. Something more than $7,000 
was realized in cash, the rest of the purchase price of the lots 
being evidenced by promissory notes running over a period of 
four years. But few of the lots were eventually paid for, the 
purchasers forfeiting the advance payments and abandoning then- 
purchases. Ten years afterward the state still owned three- 



14 HYAfAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

fourths of the lots in the city Hmits, and nearly all of the out 
lots. They were not finally disposed of until 1842, and for its 
mile square of town lots, and the three outlying sections, the 
state realized less than $150,000. 

If the commissioners and the early settlers had become dis- 
couraged at the outlook it would not hdve been a matter of sur- 
prise. This thing of building a city in the wilderness was a new 
enterprise in those days. Now, such things are of almost daily 
occurrence, but then we have railroads now, and gas and oil 
fields, and coal, silver and gold mines. Seventy years have 
wrought great changes. This first year of the life of the city 
witnessed the birth of the first child, and the marriage of the 
first couple, the happy bridegroom having been compelled to 
go to Connersville, sixty miles away, for his license. 

Here was the new city duly staked off and the few settlers 
who had come in and purchased lots began to prepare for the 
winter. Rude log cabins were hastily erected. They were put 
up here and there, with some sort of regard to street lines, but 
as the lots purchased were not in regular order, great stretches 
of vacant ground were found between the new homes, and paths 
from one house to another were made through the deep woods 
on the shortest lines without regard to streets or private prop- 
erty. Winter was coming and it was a desolate outlook. The 
nearest post-ofhce was sixty miles away ; the only store was a 
little affair where iron, salt and dye stuffs furnished about all 
the stock. In those early days the winters began about the 
middle of November and lasted until the last of March. The 
snow fall was generally abundant, often being a foot or two 
deep, and lying on the ground for weeks. The people were 
"neighborly" and the winter was spent in some kind of comfort, 
but still many of those who had thus buflt homes for themselves 
longed for the coming of the spring when they could go out and 
hunt more desirable spots on which to dwell. In the spring of 
the year, about the time the commissioners were busy laying 
out the new town, George Pogue, the traditional first settler, 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



17 



was killed by the Indians, and this tragedy kept up the excited 
fears of the people for some months, but it was the last of the 
Indian killings in this section. 

The spring of 1822 came, and brought with it more new 
settlers to take the places of those who were dissatisfied and de- 
sired to move away, and the town began to show some signs of 
improving. It had been rumored around that notwithstanding 



^ "^vji^r^r™^ 



^gj» -ssprt-^'tT"''^ »^' ''''•f-... 






■!SMi;»»y-^ „ ^ - 









KEARSARGE ON STATE-HOUSE GROUNDS DURING G. A. R. NATIONAL EN- 
CAMPMENT, SEPTEMBER, 1S93. 

the town had been laid out for the capital of the state, the cap- 
ital would not be removed here on account of the unhcalth}- lo- 
cation, and this deterred a number from coming who had de- 
signed doing so. The town thus received a "black eye" at the 
very start, and then, too, the seasons were not favorable for crops 
for a year or two, and this gave Indianapolis a bad name. A few 
hardy souls stuck to it, however, and began to clamor for rec- 
ognition. They were tired of being the capital of the state and 



18 Hl^fAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

having the county-seat sixty miles away. They were also 
anxious for mail facilities. 

In the beginning of 1822 the little town boasted of about 
five hundred inhabitants, and they thought it was time they 
vv^ere being served with a mail. They had a tavern, and sundry 
other town luxuries, but no post-ofifice. When the American 
people want anything the first thing they do is to have a public 
meeting, with a president and secretary, and a committee on 
resolutions. So a meeting of the citizens of Indianapolis was 
called at Hawkins' tavern. Mr. Aaron Drake was appointed 
postmaster, and he made regular trips to Connersville, received 
the mail for the new settlement and transported it through the 
woods to its destination. This was all done by private enter- 
prise, thus proving in that early day that a spirit of enterprise 
pervaded the residents on the "donation." He returned from 
his first trip, reaching the settlement some time after the pall of 
darkness had fallen over the woods, but the loud blowing of his 
horn called the people together and he was given a royal wel- 
come. A few weeks later the government assumed the duty of 
conveying the mails and distributing them and appointed Sam- 
uel Henderson as postmaster. 

The settlers also began asking that the streets be cleared, so 
that they could see the houses, and at least look a little like a 
town, and the commissioners undertook to have the streets 
opened by cutting down the timber. The trees were cut down, 
rolled into huge piles and burned, but the stumps remained for 
many a long day. Roads were needed, and the legislature, in 
the winter of 182 1-2 appropriated $100,000 to open up and 
construct a number of roads to its new capital. One led from 
the Ohio river near Lawrenceburg to Indianapolis, and another 
came up from Madison, while Noblesville, Crawfordsville and 
other settlements were to be connected in the same way with 
Indianapolis. The trees were cut out, leaving the stumps still 
standing, and in rainy seasons, when the mud was deep, those 
stumps were terrible annoyances to wagoners. The wheels 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 



]9 



■would sink so deep in the mud that the axle-tree of the wagon 
Avould strike on the stump, and thus the wagon would be stranded 
sometimes for hours. The wants of the new settlement began 
to be numerous, and all supplies had to be hauled over these 
roads, that in the winter were sometimes impassable for weeks. 
They were just as bad in the rainy seasons of the spring and 
fall. 

The same legislature also organized Marion county, making 
Indianapolis the county-seat, appropriating a square of ground 




KX-PRESIDENT HARRISON S RESIDLXCE. 



and $8,000 to build a court-house. Attached to the new county, 
for judicial purposes, was the territor)' now comprising the coun- 
ties of Johnson, Hamilton, Hancock, Madison and Boone. A 
new county demanded a new judge and a new sheriff. Hon. 
William W. Wick was made judge, and Hervey Bates, sheriff. 
The new city might now be said to be fairly launched on the 
road to greatness. It had a judge of its own, a lawyer, Calvin 
Fletcher, to look after the legal wants of all the people, a store, 
a tavern, a saw-mill or two, a post-office, and was soon to have 
its first paper. 



20 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Among the enterprising citizens of Indianapolis were George 
Smith and Nathaniel Bolton, and they became the editors and 
proprietors of the Gazette, Indianapolis' first newspaper. It 
made its appearance on the twenty-eighth day of January, 1822. 
It was not a great paper, as papers are now, but it was a begin- 
ning, and like all beginners had its ups and downs. At that 
time nearly all the houses were built along the line of Washing- 
ton street, which presented a remarkable sight, with its stumps 
so thick that it was almost impossible for a vehicle to wind in 
and out among them. The rest of the city was a dense woods, 
in many parts covered with an almost impenetrable growth of 
underbrush. Along this uninviting street were strung the cabins 
of the five hundred people who formed the population of the 
town. 

The legislature could name a judge for the new county but 
could not choose the other officers, so in February, 1822, Sheriff 
Bates issued forth his proclamation calling on the people of the 
new county to meet together at certain named polling places and 
choose for themselves two associate justices, a clerk, a recorder 
and three county commissioners. Two of the voting places 
were in Indianapolis, one near Noblesville, one at Strawtown, 
one at Anderson and the other near Pendleton. A list of those 
who presented themselves for the various positions discloses the 
fact that the people were as hungry for offices in those good old 
days as they are in these degenerate times. Only 336 votes 
were cast in the entire county. The vote of Indianapolis was 
about 100. James M. Ray was elected clerk, James C. Reed, 
recorder; John T. Osborne, John McCormack and William Mc- 
Cartney, commissioners ; Eliakim Harding and James Mcllvain, 
associate judges. In the August following, the election for gov- 
ernor took place, when 317 votes were cast, 315 of them being 
thrown for William Hendricks. 

On the twenty-sixth of September the court began its first 
session. There being no court-house its sessions were held in 
the cabin of Jonathan Carr, it being the most pretentious struct- 



JIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



23 



ure in the town. The grand jury returned twenty-two indict- 
ments for sundry and various offenses against the peace and dig- 
nity of the commonwealth. A candidate for naturahzation ap- 
peared, in the person of Richard Goode, late of Ireland, and a 
subject of George IV. No jail had been provided, and as the 
laws then made imprisonment for debt permissible, certain streets 
were named as the boundaries within which imprisoned debtors 
should confine themselves. 

The county commissioners, as soon as they had been inducted 




SCENE ON WHITE RIVER. 



into ofifice, set industriously about the work of erecting a court- 
house and jail. The state had appropriated $8,000 to assist 
in this work, and in September the plan for the proposed struct- 
ure submitted by John E. Baker and James Paxton was ac- 
cepted and the contract for the building awarded them. They 
did not begin the work of construction until the next summer, 
and it was not until 1824 the building was completed. The 
square of ground selected for a court-house and jail was covered 
with heavy timber. A jail made of hewed logs was erected 



24 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

and remained as the bastile of Marion county until 1833, when 
it was destroyed by fire, the fire being started by a negro pris- 
oner. A brick jail was then constructed, and in 1845 it was 
enlarged by an addition made of logs a foot thick. 

In the midst of the turmoil of starting a new city on its up- 
ward way patriotism was not forgotten, and the fourth of July, 
1822, was duly celebrated by an oration, the reading of the 
Declaration of Independence, and a barbecue. The first camp- 
meeting was also held that fall, under the auspices of Rev. James 
Scott, the first Methodist preacher of the town. This year was 
also signalized by the organization of a militia regiment, the 
fortieth, with James Paxton as colonel; Samuel Morrow, lieu- 
tenant-colonel, and Alexander W. Russell, major. Those days 
all the able-bodied citizens had to attend regular musters of the 
militia. 

The year was not one of prosperity to the new settlement, 
but was marked by several important events, among them being 
the establishment of a ferry across White river ; the opening of 
a brick-yard ; the erection of the first brick and the first two-story 
frame house. The first brick house was erected by John John- 
son on Market street opposite the present post-office. The frame 
house was on Washington street, a little east of the present site 
of the Park Theater. It was long used for the storage of docu- 
ments belonging to the state, and afterward became a tavern. 

At that time the capital of the state had no member of the 
legislature to represent its interest, and so the actual capital re- 
mained at Corydon. Again the rumors began to circulate that 
after all Indianapolis would never be the capital, and holders of 
real estate began to get a little shaky over their purchases. 
There was a leaven of faith, however, and the citizens began to 
petition the legislature for representation, and at its session in 
1823 the people of the new county were authorized to elect a 
representative in the following August. In the early days of 
the spring a new newspaper was started with a rather startling 
name — Western Censor and Emigranf s Guide. Harvey Gregg 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 25 

and Douglass Maguire were the two adventurous citizens who 
undertook the work of guiding so important an enterprise. This 
was now the third year of the town, and the second since it had 
been given its high sounding name, but the election in August 
disclosed the fact that its growth during the last year had been 
very limited. In August, 1822, at the election for governor 
the county had polled 317 votes, and at the election in 1823 
only 270. It was an "off" year, and that may account for the 
falline off of the vote. 




WHITE RIVER NEAR BROAD RIPPLE. 

Having a representative in the legislature, the town began to 
prepare for the advent of the capital, and a new tavern was built 
by Thomas Carter. It was now a rival of Hawkins' tavern that 
had first opened out its doors for the "entertainment of man and 
beast." It became celebrated as being the place of the exhi- 
bition of the first show ever given in Indianapolis. It was given 
on the last night of the year 1823, the bill being "The Doctor's 
Courtship, or the Indulgent Father," and the farce of the 
"Jealous Lovers." The admission was thirty-seven and a half 



26 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

cents. One lone fiddle made up the orchestra, and by the orders 
of Mr. Carter, owner of the tavern, only hymn tunes were played 
during the performance. 

The town had not recovered from the blow it had received 
by the sickness among the settlers in 1821. The fame of that 
hard year had gone abroad throughout the state, and it looked 
as if nobody wanted to come to a town where at one time every- 
body was sick. The first one of the settlers to die was Daniel 
Shaffer, the first merchant of the town, and twenty or twenty- 
five deaths in a single season in a settlement of only four or five 
hundred was rather appalling, and the rival towns in the state 
made the most they could in spreading abroad this evil name, 
but the settlers generally stuck to their new town, only moving 
further away from the river. The "old graveyard," however, 
had got a pretty good start. 

In those early days the prices of what are now called the 
necessaries of life were very high. Coffee sold at fifty cents a 
pound, tea at two dollars, corn one dollar a bushel, flour five 
dollars per hundred, and coarse muslin at forty-five cents a yard. 
The nearest grist-mill was on Whitewater, sixty miles distant. 
This was not to remain so always, and a run or two of stone was 
soon added to the saw-mill and the farmers around could get 
their corn and wheat ground nearer home, and a keel boat or 
two were forced up the river bringing supplies, mostly whisky 
and salt, and by thus cutting freight rates over the pack-horse line 
reduced prices somewhat. A school had also been started in 
1 82 I, but its teacher was shortly afterward elected recorder of 
the county and the school suspended temporarily. 

The morals of the community were not neglected. In the 
first settlement of this country by the French the missionaries 
were in advance of the white immigrants, and when the advent- 
urous pioneer would reach a point he almost invariably found 
the missionary there preaching to the Indians. When the coun- 
try was wrested from the French the order was changed some- 
what, but it was never very long after the hardy pioneer had 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



29 



erected his cabin, until the "itinerant circuit rider" was knock- 
ing at his door with his bible and hymn-book in hand. It has 
never been definitely settled who preached the first sermon in 
Indianapolis, the honor lying between John McClung, a preacher 
of the New Light school, and Rezin Hammond, a Methodist. 
They both preached here in the fall of 1821, and it is not par- 
ticularly important as to which came first. They were both 
very devout men and earnest preachers of the word. They were 
soon followed by Rev. Ludlow G. Haines, a Presbyterian. The 




VIEW IX WOODRUFF PLACE. 



Presbyterians organized the first church, and in 1823 began the 
erection of a house for worship on Pennsylvania street opposite 
where the Denison hotel now stands. It was completed the 
following year at the cost of $1,200. 

The Indianapolis circuit of the Methodist denomination was 
organized in 1822, under the charge of Rev. William Cravens, 
but Rev. James Scott had preached here before that and held 
one or two camp-meetings. The Methodists did not begin the 
erection of a church building right away, but in 1823 purchased 
a hewed log house on Maryland street near Meridian, to be used 



30 HY3fAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

for religious meetings. The Baptists organized a society in 1822, 
and held meetings at different places until 1829 when they 
erected a church. By this it will be seen that before the town 
had grown very large, or had the time to get very wicked, four 
denominations were here to look after its morals. 

Not long after the school of Joseph C. Reed suspended on 
his being elevated to the office of recorder of the county, a 
meeting of the citizens was called to make arrangements for a 
permanent school. Mr. Reed's school-house had been at the 
intersection of Kentucky avenue and Illinois street. Arrange- 
ments were made with a Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence to open out a 
school and keep it going. There were no free schools then 
maintained by public tax, but thus, soon after its first settlement, 
Indianapolis laid the foundation of an educational system that 
has since made it the envy of many a larger city. 

From churches and schools to courts is not a very long step, 
especially as marriages are usually solemnized by preachers, 
and divorces granted by the courts. Soon after the introduc- 
tion of preachers the court was called upon to divorce a couple 
who had been unhappily mated. Elias Stallcup and his wife 
Ruth Stallcup were the first to be divorced by the courts of Ma- 
rion county. This was before the county had a court-house of 
its own. The divorce was granted in 1823. In those days 
litigation was not very abundant, and crime, except the unli- 
censed selling of liquor, or an occasional assault and battery, 
was unheard of, so the courts did not have a great deal of work 
to do. 

As said before, the board of county commissioners, as soon 
it was organized, set about the work of contracting for the erec- 
tion of a court-house, and after it was completed it was for many 
years used for about everything. Concerts, shows, meetings of 
the citizens, lectures, political speakings, conventions, religious 
meetings and the legislature all took their turn, and, so far as 
the record shows, nobody paid any rent. The commissioners 
also interested themselves in paternally administering the affairs 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLLS. 



31 



of the new communit}'. They regulated the prices to be charged 
for toll on the onl}- ferr\-, and then made a schedule for tavern 
charges. The price of whisk}' was fixed at twelve and a half 
cents per half pint; and of imported rum, brandy, gin or wine 
twent}'-five cents were allowed to be charged for each half pint ; 
peach and apple brandies were rated at eighteen and a half cents 
per half pint. Taverns were allowed to charge twenty-fi\e cents 
for each meal and twelve and a half cents for lodging. There 
have been some changes in the prices since those pioneer days. 




I ';|,.'.M,;tf ,* '•'-»p,''t^ 







VIEW IX WOODRUFF PLACE. 



In the early years of Indianapolis the county grew faster than 
the town and the ax of the sturd}' woodman was heard in every 
direction opening up new farms for cultivation, and it was not 
long until more wheat and corn were raised than could readily 
be disposed of, as there was no place to market the surplus. 
The farmers began to turn their attention to raising hogs as they 
could be made to move themselves to market, and for some 
years hogs were the chief product of the farmers in all this sec- 
tion of the state. 

At the meeting of the legislature in January, 1824, the final 



32 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

order was made for the removal of the capital to Indianapolis, 
and this gave an impetus to the town and more emigrants be- 
gan to flock in. In the meantime the scare arising from the 
bad health reports of 1821 had measurably died out, and were 
forgotten. The removal was to be made by the tenth of Janu- 
ary, 1825, and the next legislature was to assemble in the court- 
house of Marion county. When Marion county's representa- 
tives to the legislature returned home from the session of 1824, 
they were given a grand reception at Washington Hall, which 
was then the great tavern of the city, and many speeches were 
made much after the order of those now indulged in on similar 
occasions. In November of that year. State Treasurer Samuel 
Merrill set out on his journey to the new capital with the ar- 
chives of the state, in a large two-horse wagon. It was a slow 
journey over the hills and through the woods, a dozen miles a 
day being all that could be accomplished, and that by the hard- 
est effort. By the end of November the state was settled in its 
new quarters, and the meeting of the first legislature was impa- 
tiently waited for. 

It would not have been a typical American settlement had 
not politics played a prominent part. 1824 was the year of the 
great presidential contest between Clay, Adams and Jackson. 
Party names were not known in those days, but the people were 
divided off into "Clay men," "Jackson men," and "Adams 
men." At that time Indiana was very largely settled from 
Kentucky, and Kentuckians, as a rule, were loyal to the gallant 
Harry. When the vote was counted in November it was found 
that Clay had received 217 votes, Jackson 99 and Adams 16. 

When the members of the legislature came to the new capital 
in 1825 they found it a straggling village with only one street 
"cleared," and that was still full of stumps. It was a town in 
the mud, hard to get to, and almost impossible to move around 
in after once reached. But it was the capital, the state officers 
were here, and the "donation" of the general government had 
been accepted, and they had to make the best of it. It was a 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANA POLLS. 



35 



drear}' winter, though, here in the deep woods, with the houses 
scattered around over a mile square, with only cow tracks through 
the woods from one to the other. The three taverns were the 
center of interest in the evenings, and around the huge fires in 
their "bar rooms" the legislators and the citizens gathered to 
discuss matters of state. During the session one of the taverns, 
Carter's, was destro)'ed b}' fire. Some efforts were made b}' the 
legislature to improve the town, and fift}' dollars were appro- 
priated to clean out Pogue's run, so as to cut off some of its 
malaria-breeding powers. The outlying portions of the dona- 




HENDRICKS ISIOXUMENT. 



tion were also ordered sold or leased in four-acre tracts to en- 
courage farming. x49«>866 

The coming of the legislature did not add greatly to the 
permanent growth of the town, for in February, 1826, the pop- 
ulation consisted of seven hundred and sixt}'-two souls, of whom 
two hundred and nine were children. But the town did begin 
to show signs of permanency and several societies were organ- 
ized, among them being the Indianapolis Bible Society, which 
is still in existence. An agricultural society was also organized, 
but it did not last long. The United States land office was re- 



36 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDTAXAPOLIS. 

moved to Indianapolis from Brookville, and thus the future great 
city was recognized by the federal government. Indian depre- 
dations had ceased, but the military spirit was strong, and an 
artillery company was formed with James Blake as captain. 
The government furnished the company with one cannon of 
small caliber, but it was big enough to make a noise on the 
fourth of July, and that was all the use it was ever put to. The 
burning of Carter's tavern demonstrated the necessity of a fire 
company, and as the town was too poor to buy an engine a 
bucket and ladder company was organized, which did service 
for ten years until the first fire engine was purchased. In Au- 
gust of that year the news reached Indianapolis that on the fourth 
of July previous John Adams and Thomas Jefferson, two of the 
fathers of American independence, had died, and a public meet- 
ing was held in the court-house, to give due utterance to the 
feelings of the community. B. F. Morris and Douglass Maguire 
pronounced eulogies on the deceased. 

The spirit of enterprise that had been slowly festering among 
the people began to show some headway early in 1827, and 
demonstrated that there were three men, at least, who had faith 
in the new capital. They were James M. Ray, James Blake 
and Nicholas McCarty. Through their efforts the legislature 
ordered the sale of seven acres of land fronting on the river, for 
milling purposes, and a company was organized to carry on the 
enterprise. It took two years, however, to get the stock sub- 
scriptions, and in 183 i the work of building was begun. It was 
to comprise a steam saw, grist and woolen mill, and a very pre- 
tentious structure was erected. The boilers and machinery were 
hauled overland from Cincinnati, taking some weeks in their 
transportation. This was the introduction of steam as a power 
into the city, but the speculation did not pay, as there was little 
demand for lumber, and it cost too much to transport the flour 
to market. In 1835 the speculation was abandoned and the 
machinery offered for sale, but it found no buyers, and was left 
to rust itself away. In 1847 the Geisendorffs undertook to use 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



37 



the machinery and building for carding and spinning wool, but 
after trying it for five years, they in turn abandoned it, and the 
next year it was destroyed by fire. It had long been a rendez- 
vous for thieves, prostitutes and other vicious characters. 

The same year the legislature attempted to build a residence 
for the governor. In the original laying off of the town the 
circle in the center of the plat was intended for such a structure, 
and so designated, but up to this time no provision had been 
made for its building. The governors had been living around 




MORTOX MONUMENT. 



wherever they could find a house, and houses suitable for the 
residence of the chief magistrate of the state were hard to find. 
One of the first acts of the legislature in 1827 was to appropriate 
$4,000 to build a governor's house on the circle, and work began 
by enclosing the circle with a rail fence. Under this appropria- 
tion a building was begun, but it was never finished. It was 
rather elaborate in design, square in form, two stories high and 
a large attic. It had a semi-basement. The building was com- 
pleted far enough to be used for public offices, and was turned 
over for that purpose. It 1859 it was sold at auction and torn 



38 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

down. Since then the circle has had a varied experience. It 
was made a park, but was used as a cow pasture until the trees 
and grass were ruined. It was then enclosed by a fence and 
again set out in trees, and about the time it was once more be- 
ginning to look like a park, the trees were cleared off, and the 
grand monument to the soldiers and sailors now occupies the 
space. 

The governors were still left to hunt homes for themselves, 
until 1839, when the legislature ordered the state officers to pur- 
chase a suitable building for such a residence. At that time the 
handsomest and largest dwelling in the city was on the north- 
west corner of Illinois and Market streets. It was owned b\' Dr. 
John H. Sanders, and the state officers decided upon it, and it 
was bought. Governor Wallace moved into it, and it was oc- 
cupied in turn by Governors Bigger, Whitcomb, Wright, Wil- 
lard and Morton. From some cause it had always been an un- 
healthy building. The wife of Governor Whitcomb was the first 
to die there. Governor Wright, during his occupancy, lost two 
wives in the same building. The family of Governor Willard 
was sick during the whole time he occupied it, and Governor 
Morton suffered so much that he finally abandoned it. It was 
sold in 1865. and since then the state has owned no executive 
mansion. 

By this time the educational demands of the people of the 
growing town induced the legislature to set apart a square of 
ground to be known as "University" square, upon which it was 
intended sometime in the future to erect buildings for a univer- 
sity. No effort was made to utilize it for educational purposes 
until 1832, when a part of it was leased for a county seminary. 
It was afterward used by the city for a high-school for a number 
of years. 

The growth of the town was very slow for some years. The 
building of the National road gave it a slight impetus and 
brought here the first and only steamboat that ever succeeded 
in navigating White river to this point. It rejoiced in the name 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



41 



of "Robert Hanna," and was owned by General Hanna, one of 
the contractors building the new road for the gov^ernment. It 
was brought here to tow barges loaded with stone and timber 
for use in constructing the road and its bridges. It arrived here 
on the eleventh of April, 183 i. All the people turned out to 
welcome this wonder, and Captain Blythe, with his artillery 
company, saluted it with several rounds from his one cannon. 
The next day a free excursion was given to the citizens, but the 
overhanging boughs of the trees lining the banks knocked down 
her chimneys and pilot-house and smashed a wheel-house. The 




COLlMlilA CLUB. 



next day she ran aground and remained fast several weeks. 
When the high water came in the fall she took her wa)- down 
the river and was never seen in this latitude again. Many )'ears 
afterward a little steamer named after Governor Morton was 
built here to ply up and down for the amusement and entertain- 
ment of the people, but it had bad luck, and was soon destroyed. 
Even keel-boats and flat-boats early abandoned all efforts to 
navigate the stream which Mr. Ralston had declared to be navi- 
gable for at least four months in tlie year. 

Governor Noble, however, would not give up his hopes that 



42 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

the river would prove navigable, and offered a reward of $200 
for the first boat that would land at the town. Two efforts 
were made, and one steamer reached Spencer and another came 
a few miles further. A plan for slack water navigation was sub- 
mitted to the legislature and pressed for several years, and in 
185 I the White River Navigation Company was chartered, but 
it accomplished nothing. 

About this time the town thought it was old enough to have 
a historical society, so one was formed, with Benjamin Parke 
for president, and B. F. Morris for secretary. It did not 
have many active members, but elected about all the distin- 
guished men of the nation as honorary members. The organi- 
zation of the society was preceded by the arrival of the first 
menagerie that ever exhibited its wild animals to the people of 
the Hoosier capital. 

The craze for internal improvements, that had been sweeping 
over other parts of the country, struck Indianapolis early in 1831, 
and the legislature spent most of its session in granting charters 
to railroads. Six such roads were projected, to center in Indi- 
anapolis. The country was new and sparsely settled, but the 
wise men of the legislature thought it would be a profitable 
thing to build roads paralleling each other, and only a few miles 
apart. The roads were all to run to the south as there was no 
population to the north. Some of the projected roads were 
partly surveyed and then the work was dropped. A few years 
later, however, the state entered upon a wholesale system of in- 
ternal improvement, including railroads, canals and turnpikes. 
None of the projected works were ever fully completed by the 
state, but the state debt was increased enormously, and the state 
had to practically go into bankruptcy. This was a great blow 
to Indianapolis, and retarded its growth very materially. The 
state sold out its interest in all the works, together with 2,000,- 
000 acres of land, in discharge of half of the debt that had been 
contracted. 

The state had been occupying the court-house for the use of 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDTAXAPOLIS. 



43 



the legislature, and in making its appropriation to erect th.',t: 
building had reserved the right to so occupy it for fift}' years, 
but it was deemed the time had come to erect a building for the 
use of the state. It still owned a considerable portion of the 
original donation by congress, and it was estimated that the lots 
would sell for $58,000, and this was deemed sufificient to erect 
a suitable building. Ithiel Town was the architect and con- 
tracted to build the house for $58,000, and actually did com- 
plete it for $60,000. It was begun in 1832 and finished in time 




COUNTRY CLUB. 



for the meeting of the legislature in 1836, or two years ahead of 
time. For those days it was an elegant public building, though 
the style of architecture was a little mixed ; but it served the 
state for forty years. 

The year 1832 brought with it the news of the Black Hawk 
war, and three hundred of the state militia were called out, and 
rendezvoused in a grove on West Washington street. Alexan- 
der W. Russell was the colonel, and J. P. Drake, J. W. Red- 
ding, and Henry Brenton, captains. John L. Kinnard, the ad- 
jutant, was afterward elected to congress, but on his way to 



44 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Washington to attend the second session was killed in a steam- 
boat explosion on the Ohio river. The war ended before they 
got further toward the scene of conflict than Chicago. On their 
departure they were surrounded by the whole population, and in 
firing a salute, William Warren, one of the cannoneers, had both 
arms blown off. 

The town had grown enough to need a new market house 
and several meetings of the citizens were held to devise ways 
and means to secure one, which finally culminated in the build- 
ing of one the following year. A foundry was also started by 
R. A. McPherson, it being the first effort toward the introduc- 
tion of manufacturing industries, and was the forerunner of what 
Indianapolis is to-day. In 1838 John Wood established a steam 
foundry on Pennsylvania street, north of University square. It 
was operated for many years. 

In 1832 Indianapolis had about i,ooo inhabitants, and as it 
was the capital of the state it was deemed right and proper that 
it should have some municipal government of its own. Up to 
that time it had been acting under state laws, and as an unruly 
element was beginning to find a lodgment it was conceived that 
town ordinances and town officers would be more efficient in 
keeping the peace and dignity of the community than the 
'squires and constables. The general laws of the state provided 
for the incorporation of towns, and on the 3d of September, 
1832, the citizens took the first step toward incorporation. Fi\'c 
trustees were elected, and Samuel Henderson, who had been 
the first regularly appointed postmaster of the town, was ap- 
pointed president of the board, with J. P. Griffith clerk, and 
Samuel Jennison marshal and collector. This municipal gov- 
ernment lasted until 1836, when the legislature granted a special 
charter. About the only notable thing the old municipality did 
was to purchase the first fire engine for the town, the state giv- 
ing one-half of the price. The organization had lasted four 
years, and the entire income of the fourth year was only $1,510. 
The new organization went zealously to work to enact ordi- 



HYMA X'S HA NDBOOK OF INDIA NA POLIS. 47 

nances for the suppression of vice and disorder, and there was 
urgent demand for this action. 

The building of the National road and the other improve- 
ments carried on by the state had brought into the town a large 
number of wild, reckless and dangerous men. Not all of them 
were wholly vicious, but when filled with whisky they were reck- 
less and oftentimes dangerous. So the new municipality found 
its hands full. The roughs were organized into a band and were 
commonly known as the "chain gang." A year or two after 



POST-OFFICE BUILDING. 



the new municipality went into power the "chain gang" was at 
its height as a disturber of the peace. They were loafers and 
generally idle, doing odd jobs occasionally of digging cellars 
and wells and moving houses, receiving therefor money enough 
to keep themselves well supplied with whisky. At that time 
there were but very few colored people in the town Against 
these the "chain gang" entertained a most intense hatred. The 
leader of the negroes was an old man by the name of Overall. 
Several collisions had taken place between the "chain gang" 



48 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

and the negroes. At last the white toughs resolved on cleaning 
out the negro settlement. Old man Overall was notified of this 
intention and of the night on which the attack was to take 
place. He called in his colored friends, barricaded the doors 
and windows of his cabin and loaded his guns. When the at- 
tack came the "chain gang" encountered a defeat that taught 
them a much needed lesson. 

The leader of the "chain gang" was one Dave Buckhart. 
Tradition reports him as having been a square built man of great 
physical strength, and very courageous. He was of,a naturally 
jealous temper and fond of a fight, and when filled with whisky 
was disposed to be very ugly. Soon after his contest with the 
negroes he received his quietus at the hands of a Methodist 
preacher. The Methodists were holding a camp-meeting under 
the direction of Rev. James Havens, a man fully as courageous 
as Buckhart, and of greater physical strength. The worship- 
ers had been much annoyed by the conduct of the rougher ele- fl 
ment of the community. One afternoon while the services were 
progressing Buckhart began marching around the seats singing 
an obscene song at the top of his voice. Mr. Havens several 
times requested him to be quiet, but he paid no attention. Final- 
ly, when Mr. Havens saw that nothing else would do, he left the 
pulpit and walked directly up in front of the rowdy and ordered 
him off the grounds. The bully with an oath declared that he 
would not go, when quick as lightning the fist of the preacher 
shot out and Buckhart fell like an ox. Before he could recover 
himself the preacher had him by the throat and gave him a 
thrashing such as he had never had before. The next day he 
was arrested and heavily fined. While on trial before the jus- 
tice he boasted so much that Samuel Merrill, who was present, 
told him that he was the better man of the two, and on a trial 
of strength threw him violently on the floor of the court room. 
These two defeats broke his power with the gang and he soon 
left the town. 

The first murder committed within the bounds of Indianapo- 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



49 



lis was on the eighth of May, 1833. William McPherson was 
the victim, and the murder was committed by Michael Van Blari- 
ciim. Van Blaricum was the ferryman across White river. 
McPherson took passage in the ferry boat, and when it reached 
the middle of the river Van Blaricum purposely upset the boat, 
throwing McPherson into the river, where he was drowned. This 
took place in the presence of a number of persons who were 
standing on the bank of the river. The murder created the 
most intense excitement, but by the time the trial came off the 




PENNSYLVANIA STREET. 



excitement had died away to such an extent that Van Blaricum 
was let off with a sentence of three years in the penitentiar\'. 
but served only one-half of his term when he was pardoned out. 
The second murder occurred in the spring of 1836, when 
Arnold Lashley killed Zachariah Collins. There was some talk 
of lynching the murderer, but finally quiet was restored and 
after a preliminary trial Lashley was admitted to bail. He for- 
feited his bail, running awav' and never returning. 

Murders were not of very frequent occurrence, but still a 



50 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

number have occurred in the history of the city. For many 
years the murderers were either acquitted or escaped with prison 
sentences. The first man to be condemned to death was Will- 
iam Chuck, for the murder of his wife. The gallows had been 
erected for his hanging, when, the night before it was to take 
place, he poisoned himself in the jail. The next notable crimi- 
nal trial was that of Nancy E. Clem, Silas W. Hartman, her 
brother, and William J. Abrams for the killing of Jacob Young 
and his wife in 1868. Jacob Young and his wife were found 
one morning on the bank of White river near Cold Springs, both 
dead from gunshot wounds. It develbped that there had been 
some very mysterious money transactions between Young and 
Mrs. Clem, and the detectives soon arrested her and the two 
men. No other trial had ever caused so much excitement in 
Indiana. Mrs. Clem was tried first and sentenced for life. The 
next night her brother committed suicide in jail. Mrs. Clem 
succeeded in securing a new trial and was again convicted, and 
again obtained a new trial, until finally she wore out the prosecu- 
tion and the matter was dropped. Abrams served a. term in 
the penitentiary. 

The first hanging took place in 1879. A number of murders 
had been committed and the escapes from punishment had been 
so numerous that public sentiment became intensely aroused, and 
when John Achey, in November, 1878, killed George Leggett, his 
gambling partner, there was a disposition to enforce the extreme 
penalty of the law. Soon after the arrest of Achey the com- 
munity was startled by the discovery of a crime combining man\' 
most atrocious features. William Merrick had seduced a young 
school teacher and finally married her. One day he took her 
out riding and compelled her to drink liquor in which poison 
had been mixed. She died in the buggy in the most intense 
agony. He drove with the dead body several miles into the 
country and buried his victim with her new born babe under a 
pile of logs. His arrest and trial soon followed and he was also 
sentenced to hang. In the same year Louis Guetig shot and 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



53 



killed a young lady by the name of McGlue, in the presence of 
a number of witnesses. He was sentenced to hang with Ache)- 
and Merrick but secured a new trial. Achey and Merrick were 
hanged upon the same scaffold. Guetig was again convicted and 
on September 19, 1879, was also hanged. 

In 1834 the legislature chartered the State Bank of Indiana, 
with a capital of $1 ,600,000. Up to that time Indianapolis had 
contained nothing but a small private bank. The charter of the 





SULTH MERIDIAN STREET, WHOLESALE DISTRICT. 

State bank was to run twenty-five years. The state was to take 
one-half of the capital stock, and raised the money b}' the sale 
of bonds. Her share of the dividends after paying the bonds 
was to go to the establishment of a general school fund. This 
was the starting point of Indiana's splendid endowment of her 
public schools. The state's share of the proceeds was loaned 
out from time to time on real estate security. The final )-ield of 
this investment by the state was $3,700,000, after pa\'ing off 
the bank bonds. The main bank and one of its branches were 



64 HY3[AN\S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

located in Indianapolis. The bank began business on the 26th 
day of November, 1834, in the building on the Governor's Cir- I 
cle which had been intended as a residence for the governor. It 
was afterwards removed to Washington street. Samuel Merrill 
was the first president, and Calvin Fletcher, Seaton W. Norris, 
Robert Morrison and Thomas R. Scott were the directors. In 
1840 the bank removed to its new building at the corner of 
Kentucky avenue and Illinois street. The Indianapolis branch 
was organized by the appointment of Hervey Bates, president, 
and B. F. Morris, cashier. At the expiration of the charter the 
Bank of the State of Indiana was started, with Hugh McCullough 
as president. In this bank the state had no interest. It re- 
mained in business, with its seventeen branches, until wiped out 
by the institution of the national banks. 

The great financial panic of 1837 proved very disastrous to 
Indianapolis. It stopped all work on the great enterprises un- 
dertaken by the state, leaving contractors and laborers without 
their pay. The banks were compelled to suspend specie pay- 
ments and private business was overwhelmed with the credit of 
the state. Large stocks of goods had been purchased b}' the 
merchants and remained unsold on their shelves, or had been 
disposed of on credit, and collections were impossible. Nobody 
had any money. Eastern creditors were disposed to be very 
liberal and extend time of payments, trusting to a revival of 
business to relieve their debtors from their embarrassment. The 
legislature came to the help of the debtor by providing that 
property sold on execution should not be sold for less than two- 
thirds of its appraised value. It also exempted a certain amount 
of household property from execution. These two measures 
proved of great benefit, but did not relieve the distress altogether. 
There was a lack of currency, and the legislature issued bills 
secured by the credit of the state, and bearing six per cent, in- 
terest. This "scrip" was made receivable for taxes, but from 
the want of credit by the state abroad the scrip passed onh' at 
a heavy discount. After awhile, when confidence was restored 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXA POLLS. 



55 



again, the "scrip" commanded a large premium, and before it 
was all finally redeemed it was worth about two dollars for one. 
It was not until 1843, when the Madison railroad was approach- 
ing completion, that an upward tendency in business occurred. 
The city has suffered from several panics since, the worst in 
the earlier years being in 1840, '41 and '42. The State Bank 
resumed specie payment in June, 1842, but it was a year or 
more before business generally revived. These were the famous 
"hard times" following the election of William Henry Harrison. 
So grievous were the times that an effort was made in 1842 to 




DEAF AND DUMB INSTITUTE. 



abolish the town government on account of its expense, although 
the entire cost of operating the municipal government was a lit- 
tle less than $3,000. It might be well to note at this point the 
salaries paid to the municipal of^cers in those early days. Mem- 
bers of the council received $12 each a year, the secretary 
$200, the treasurer and marshal each $100, and the assessors 
$75. The other salaries were in a like proportion. 

For some years after the organization of the state, a militia 
was maintained by requiring all the able-bodied men between 
certain ages to be enrolled and report at stated periods for mus- 



56 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

ter. When the danger from Indian wars ceased these musters 
ended. The military spirit of the people, however, did not die 
out, and in February, 1837, the first company of militia was or- 
ganized with Colonel Russell as captain. It was called the 
"Marion Guards." Their uniform was of gray cloth with 
patent leather shakoes. They were armed with the old fash- 
ioned flint-lock muskets, and drilled according to the Prussian 
tactics. Thomas A. Morris, recently a graduate of West Point, 
succeeded Captain Russell. In 1838 Captain Thomas McBaker 
organized the "Marion Rifles." The uniform of the Rifles was 
a blue fringed hunting shirt, blue pantaloons and caps. In 
1842 the two companies organized into a battalion under the 
command of Lieutenant-Colonel Harvey Brown, and Major 
George Drum. 

In 1837 was opened the first female school of the city. It 
was called the " Indianapolis Female Institute," and was char- 
tered b}' the legislature. It was opened by two sisters, Mary J. 
and Harriett Axtell. It flourished for several years, and its 
reputation was so high that quite a number of pupils from other 
towns and states attended it. The same year a neat frame 
school-house was erected on Circle street, adjoining what was 
so long known as Henry Ward Beccher's church. The school 
was opened by Mr. Gilman Marston, afterwards a member of 
congress from New Hampshire and a distinguished general dur- 
ing the late war. It was called the "Franklin Institute." 

In 1842 Indianapolis entertained its first ex-president. Prior 
to that time several distinguished men had visited the cit}' 
among them having been Vice-President Richard Johnson and 
Henry Clay, but in 1842 Martin Van Buren, who had but recent- 
ly vacated the executive mansion at Washington, made a tour 
through the west. He traveled in a stage coach over the old 
National road. He was received by a procession composed of 
four military companies, the fire companies and citizens gen- 
erally, who escorted him to the Palmer house where he made 
a speech, and in the evening he held a reception at the state- 




G. A. R. PARADE, NATIONAL ENCAMPMENT, SEPT. 4, 1893. 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 59 

house. The next day being Sunday, he attended church twice, 
once to hear Lucien W. Berry at Wesley Chapel, and once to 
hear Henry Ward Beecher. On Monday he left for St. Louis. 
Ira October following Henry Clay paid the town a visit. He 
was accompanied by Governor Thomas Metcalfe, and Hon. John 
J. Crittenden. It was a semi-political occasion, in which Mr. 
Clay was laying the foundation for a future presidential nomina- 
tion. It was a great demonstration, winding up with a barbecue. 
The next distinguished visitor to Indianapolis was Kossuth, 




INSTITUTION FOR THE BLIND. 



the great Hungarian patriot, who came in response to an invi- 
tation of the governor and the legislature. He arrived here on 
the 27th of February, 1852, coming from Cincinnati by the wa}' 
of Madison. He was met by a large concourse of people, and 
escorted to the state-house square, where he made one of those 
remarkable speeches for which he was justly so famous. He 
was entertained at the Capital house, at the expense of the city. 
At night he was given a reception by the governor, and the next 
day was presented to the legislature. On Sunday he attended 



60 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

church at Robert's chapel and visited several of the Sunday- 
schools of the city. On Monday night he delivered a lecture 
on Hungary at Masonic hall. 

On February ii, 1861, Abraham Lincoln visited the city on 
his way to Washington to be inaugurated President. The dem- 
onstration made in his honor surpassed all others ever witnessed 
in the city to that time. He came from Lafayette and left the 
train at the intersection of the railroad and Washington street. 
A magnificent carriage drawn by four white horses was waiting 
him, and escorted by the military, the fire department, the leg- 
islature, the city council, hundreds of carriages and several 
thousand citizens on horseback, he went through some of the 
principal streets. At the Bates house he addressed an immense 
throng. The streets along the line of parade were profusely 
decorated, and all classes united to pay him honor. At night a 
reception was given at the Bates house, attended by several 
thousands of the citizens. He left the next morning for Cincin- 
nati. 

On September 10, 1866, President Andrew Johnson, accom- 
panied by several members of his cabinet, and by General Grant 
and Admiral Farragut, visited the city. It was soon after the 
close of the war, before the animosities of that great struggle had 
passed away. At that time the president and congress were in 
a struggle over measures of reconstructing the south and the 
Union men felt very bitter toward him. His reception was dis- 
graced by a riot deplored by all good citizens. Mr. Johnson 
attempted to speak, but the crowd made so much noise he could 
not be heard. In the confusion several fights occurred and five 
or six persons were wounded by pistol shots. A few minutes 
after the rioting had been stopped an old man by the name of 
Andrew Stewart was shot and killed by Howard Stretcher. The 
president was so alarmed that he sent for a guard of soldiers, 
who guarded his room all night. He attempted to speak again 
the next morning before his departure, and a little better order 
was observed, but still the unruly element was predominant. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



61 



The greatest demonstration ever made in honor of any man, 
however, was that to General Grant on December 9, 1879. It 
was after he had completed his tour around the world. A 
cold rain was falling but more than forty thousand citizens took 
part in the grand parade, either in the line of march or lining 
the streets through which the procession passed. Never before 
had Indianapolis been so elaborately or profusely decorated. 
The cheers that went up from the crowds on the streets as the 
nation's hero passed along resembled the roar of a great battle 




INDIANAPOLIS ORPHAN ASYLLM. 



more than anything else. It was a non-partisan affair in which 
all parties united. Both Hayes and Cleveland, during their 
terms, visited the city and were warmly greeted, but nothing 
equaled the demonstration for Grant. 

The nearest approach to the Grant demonstration was that 
made when General Harrison left the city to be inaugurated 
president. For man}' years he had been a prominent citizen of 
Indianapolis, and the esteem in which he was held by all 
prompted the citizens to unite in doing him honor on his depart- 
ure to accept the highest office to which any Indianian had 



62 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

ever been exalted. Great crowds came from other parts of the 
state and filled the streets. 

Indianapolis has witnessed many notable political gatherings 
in its time. Indiana has always been famous for being able to 
turn out immense crowds on political occasions. In i860 a 
short time previous to the October election the Republicans got 
up a monster day and night parade. The city was so thronged 
with people that the parade could hardly move along the streets. 
In the day parade were many unique features. One was an 
immense flatboat drawn by forty yoke of cattle ; and filled with 
young ladies bearing streamers and banners. Another was one 
hundred yoke of oxen drawing an immense log wagon, on which 
a number of sturdy men were splitting rails. The night scene 
was one of peculiar beauty, the procession numbering thousands 
carrying torches, and along the line of march were placed hun- 
dreds of other torches. During the same year the Democrats 
got up a meeting in honor of Stephen A. Douglas, their candi- 
date for president, who was present on the occasion. The meet- 
ing was not so large as that of the Republicans, but was fully as 
enthusiastic. 

In 1872, Horace Greeley, candidate for the presidency on 
the ticket of the liberal Republicans and the Democrats, visited 
the city, and was greeted with a turn-out that put all previous 
political demonstrations in the shade. Both a day and night 
parade were given and the crowd was estimated at forty thousand. 
The torchlight procession was more than two miles long. It 
was only a few days before the October election, and it was 
hoped by the adherents of Mr. Greeley that the demonstration 
would make the state sure for the Democratic ticket, but in that 
they were disappointed. 

Two great political demonstrations were gotten up by the 
Republicans in honor of Mr. Blaine. The first was in October, 
1884, when he was himself a candidate for the presidency. His 
party did its utmost to pour into the capital city an immense 
throng, to impress the people with Mr. Blaine's popularity, and 




j -m,. 
^ 






-'^'i 



1- ■ " 



HY.VAX'^ HAXDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



65 



so far as the crowd was concerned they succeeded. In point of 
numbers it surpassed the great Greek-)- meeting of twelve years 
before. The second demonstration in honor of Mr. Blaine was 
in 1888 when he came to assist the candidacy of General Har- 
rison. It was a great affair but did not equal the one in 1884. 
The last big political demonstration occurred on October 6, 
1896, when William J. Bryan, democratic candidate for presi- 
dent, visited the city. It was a very great meeting, but in point 




LAKE IX MILITARY PARK. 



of numbers fell below that of Greeley in 1872 and that of Blaine 
in 1884. 

To go back now to the history of events as they occurred. 
The session of the legislature of 1842-3 was a very busy one, 
and did much to advance the future interests of the state. In 
1839 the subject of erecting a hospital for the insane of the state 
had been broached, but nothing definite was done, owing to the 
financial embarrassment of the state and people, but as soon as 
business began to exhibit signs of recovery the matter was again 
taken up. Dr. John Evans, of Chicago, who had made a stud\' 
5 



66 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

of mental diseases, delivered a lecture before the members of the 
legislature, and the governor was directed to obtain plans for 
the erection of suitable buildings. At the next session of the 
legislature the plans were approved and a tax of one cent on 
.each one hundred dollars' worth of property was levied to pro- 
vide the means for erecting the buildings. All this was but 
carrying out a direction in the constitution adopted at the or- 
ganization of the state, one of the cares of the framers of that 
document being to provide for the unfortunate. Dr. John Evans, 
Dr. L. Dunlap and James Blake were appointed a commission 
to obtain a site for the proposed buildings. They selected Mount | 
Jackson, where the hospital now stands. In 1846 the legislature 
ordered the sale of "hospital" square, a plat of ground that had 
been reserved for hospital purposes, the proceeds to be applied 
to the work, and an additional sum of $ i 5 ,000 was appropriated. 
The work of construction was begun at once, and the main 
building was completed the next year at a cost of $75,000, 
Since then several additions have been made to the building, 
and others erected, until now Indianapolis can boast of one of 
the most substantial, convenient and imposing structures of the 
kind in the United States. The grounds are handsomely laid 
out, and every convenience and comfort for this class of unfor- 
tunates have been provided. The legislature of 1843 ^Iso began 
the work of caring for the deaf mutes, by levying a tax of one- 
fifth of a cent on each one hundred dollars of property. The 
first work of this kind in the state, however, was done by Will- 
iam Willard, a mute who had been a teacher of mutes in Ohio. 
He came to Indianapolis in the spring of 1843 ^nd opened a 
school on his own account. In 1844 the state adopted his 
school, and appointed a board of trustees, consisting of the gov- 
ernor, treasurer of state, Henry Ward Beecher, Phineas D. Gur- 
ley, L. H. Jameson, Dr. Dunlap, James Morrison and Matthew 
Simpson, afterwards a distinguished bishop of the Methodist 
church. They rented a building at the corner of Maryland and 
Illinois streets, and opened the first asylum in October, 1844. 



HY.VAyS HAXDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



In January, 1846, a site for a permanent building was selected 
just east of the town. The permanent building was completed 
in 1850, at a cost of $30,000. 

During the winter of 1844-5, through the efforts of James 
M. Ray, William H. Churchman, of the Kentucky Blind Asy- 
lum, was brought here with some of his pupils and gave an ex- 
hibition or two in Mr. Beecher's church. This had a decidedly 
good effect on the legislature which was then in session, and a 
tax of one-fifth of a cent was levied to provide support for the 





STONE BRIDGE IN GARFIELD PARK. 



blind. James M. Ra\-, George W. Mears and the secretary, 
auditor and treasurer of state were appointed a commission to 
carry out the work, either by the establishment of an as}ium or 
by providing for the care and education of the blind at the in- 
stitution in Ohio or that in Kentucky. In 1847 James M. Ray, 
George W. Mears and Seton W. Norris were appointed to erect 
a suitable building, and $5,000 appropriated to purchase a site. 
They purchased the ground now occupied, and while waiting 
for the erection of a building opened a school in the building 



68 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

that had been used for the first deaf and dumb asylum. The 
present building was completed in 185 i at the cost of $50,000. 

The town but slowly recovered from the effects of the hard 
times which followed on the collapse of the state's internal im- 
provement schemes. Population did not come, and there was 
not much here to attract immigrants. A few attempts at man- 
ufacturing were made, among them being the establishment in 
1843 by Robert Parmlee of a factory for the manufacture of 
pianos. It was not a successful undertaking as the town was 
too young, and the people too poor to indulge in the luxury of 
such musical instruments. | 

The year 1846 brought some excitement, and for a while 
made things a little more lively. The war with Mexico was on, 
and troops called for. Indianapolis raised one company for the 
first regiment. It was officered by James P. Drake as captain, 
and John A. McDougal and Lewis Wallace as lieutenants. 
Captain Drake was afterward made colonel of the regiment. 
The next year Indianapolis furnished two additional companies, 
one each for the fourth and fifth regiments. Those two com- 
panies were with General Scott on his march to the capital of 
Mexico, and participated in some of the battles of that cam- 
paign. They were commanded by James McDougal and Ed- 
ward Lander. 

While the Mexican war was going on the railroad that was 1 
building to connect Indianapolis and the Ohio river at Madison j 
was slowly creeping along. It was finally completed to the city | 
in 1847 amid great rejoicing. This and the Mexican war, and 
other circumstances, had brought to the little city a large num- 
ber of gamblers and vicious persons, and crime was rampant. 
The citizens held several meetings to devise means of ridding" 
the town of this undesirable element, and finally a committee of 
fifteen was organized. The committee proceeded in a vigorous 
but orderly manner, and soon the town was as quiet and peacea- 
ble as any in the country. 

Up to 1847 it had been a struggle for existence in the capi- 



IIYMAS'S HAXDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



71 



tal of the state. Its business was purely local. Farmers had 
no way of getting any surplus they might have to a market, 
and hence confined themselves to producing only enough to 
supply the local demand. Of manufacturing there was none. 
Several attempts in this line had been made in a small way, but 
as they had nothing but the local demand to depend upon they 
soon died. The only ambitious attempt that had been made 
was the steam mill heretofore referred to, and it had been a 
lamentable failure. With the opening of the Madison railroad 
a change came, and the town put on a bustling air of activity. 




ENTRANCE CENTRAL HOSPnWL FuR THE INJ^ANE. 

This furnished an opening to the Ohio river, and by that stream 
to Cincinnati and the south. Business at once revived and new 
stores were opened, and new factories started while others were 
projected. Up to that time the stores kept a little of every- 
thing, but a railroad demanded a division of trade, and stores 
for dr}- goods and stores for groceries were opened. The price 
of property advanced, and a new city government organized. 
At the first settlement of the town, lots along or near the river 
front were the favorites in the market. The sickly seasons soon 
drove business and the settlements further east, and the open- 



72 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK' OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

ing of the railroad attracted everything toward the south, so as 
to be near the depot. 

In February, 1847, the legislature granted a city charter to 
Indianapolis, and on the 27th of March an election was held to 
determine whether the people would accept or not. It was ap- 
proved by a vote of 449 to 19. An election for municipal ofifi- 
cers was held on the 24th of April, and Samuel Henderson was 
elected the first mayor of the city. The population of the city 
was estimated at that time at 6,000. Practically there were no 
streets, except Washington, and it was still full of stumps. Some 
of the other streets had been partly cleared, but no attempt had 
been made to improve any of them. Here and there on Wash- 
ington street were patches of sidewalks, some of brick and some 
of plank. Dog fennel covered the streets and all the vacant 
ground, and there was a good deal of ground vacant. When it 
rained mud predominated on the only streets that had been 
opened and used, while in the summer the dust was thick enough 
to be almost stifling. 

The new city council at once determined to enter upon a 
systematic and general system of street improvements. Stumps 
were pulled out, the streets in the central portion ot the city 
graded and graveled and sidewalks were made. This first effort 
at improvement caused a good deal of friction and litigation, the 
property owners objecting to the expense entailed upon them. 
Bowldering for streets was not introduced until 1850, when [1 
Washington was so paved from Illinois to Meridian. Free I' 
schools also made their appearance soon after the formation of 
the city government. The state had provided a small fund, but I 
it was only large enough to keep the schools going for three I 
or four months of the year. It was decided to levy a small tax Is 
on the citizens to provide funds for the erection of houses and \ 
to pay teachers, and by 1853 this tax furnished enough to make 
a more permanent organization of the schools necessary. 

The year 1847 brought also the first hall erected for the use 
of the public. The Grand Lodge of Free Masons determined 



H y MAX'S HAXDBOOK OF IX DTAXA POLLS. 



to erect a building that would contain rooms for lodge purposes 
and a large hall that could be used for entertainments, public 
meetings, etc. The location decided upon was the southeast 
corner of Washington and Tennessee streets, now known as 
Capital avenue. The corner-stone was laid on the 25th of Oc- 
tober, but the building was not finally completed until 1850. 
The convention to revise the constitution of the state held its 
sessions in the public hall in 18 50. 

Among other improvements in business was the opening of 




CENTRAL HOSPITAL inR THE INSANE. 

the first wholesale, dr\' good store in Indianapolis, by Joseph 
Little & Co. The three or four years following were uneventful, 
in the main, the city showing slow but stead}' growth, and an- 
other railroad or two began to make pretentions to public utilit}-, 
and the Union Railway Company was organized, with the idea 
of bringing all the railroads into one central station. In 1848 
the first telegraph line to the city was constructed, reaching to 
Da}'ton, Ohio. Two or three attempts were made to organize 
a merchants' exchange, but one after another failed from one 



74 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

cause or another, until 1866, when the Chamber of Commerce 
was organized on a permanent basis. In 185 i a company was 
chartered to furnish gas hght to the citizens, but it was not until 
1854 the city took any gas for the streets, and then only for a 
few lamps. In 1852 the legislature granted a charter for the 
Northwestern Christian University, and plans were adopted to 
raise funds for the construction of the necessary buildings. The 
same year the Grand Lodge of Odd Fellows began the erection 
of a building on the northeast corner of Washington and Penn- 
sylvania street, and in the same year the city again changed its 
form of government, surrendering the special charter and ac- 
cepting the general law. This change was mainly occasioned 
because the special charter limited the power of taxation to fif- 
teen cents on the one hundred dollars, and it had been found 
totally inadequate to the needs of the city. 

The year 1854 was made locally memorable by the intense 
excitement created by the attempt to take from the city a colored 
man by the name of John Freeman, on the ground that he was 
a fugitive slave. This case demands more than a passing notice 
from the fact that it displayed upon the part of certain public 
officers an overzealous effort to rob a man of his freedom. Free- 
man had lived in this city for a number of years and had been 
known as a sober, industrious citizen. One Pleasant Ellington, 
of Missouri, came here and claimed that Freeman was his slave 
and had escaped from him in Kentucky. He was arrested and 
hurried before the United States commissioner who for some- 
time refused to listen either to him or to attorneys who had vol- 
unteered to defend his cause. Freeman claimed that he had 
been born and raised in Georgia, and if permitted to send there 
could easily prove he had always been a free man, but it was 
determined to hurry him off to slavery. 

The citizens, however, determined that this should not be 
done, and filled the streets with an angry mob. The United 
States marshal, John L. Robinson, armed himself and his depu- 
ties and declared his determination to escort Freemen to Mis- 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIANaPOLIS. 



77 



souri, but the temper of the citizens soon convinced him that he 
and his deputies would more hkely become victims of their in- 
dignation. A sta)' of proceedings was at last forced, but Free- 
man was committed to jail where he had to emplo)- guards to 
prevent his being run off south. Ellington's own brother, who 
was well acquainted with the real fugitive, gave his testimonx' 
that Freeman in no manner resembled him ; that the fugitive 
was tall, straight, and a very robust man. Freeman, on the 
other hand, was a ver\' short man with extremelv bowed legs. 




ENTRANCE TO CROWN HILL CEMETERY. 

Even with this testimony the court would not release him, and 
General Coburn, one of his attorneys, went to Georgia and got 
the evidence of a number of planters and others as to Freeman 
being a free man, and then went to Canada where he found the 
real fugitive. 

Freeman was kept in jail from May until August. The 
Georgia planters then came here to give their evidence. Their 
presence increased the excitement, and a meeting of citizens 
was held in Masonic Hall, where speeches were made severel}- 



78 HY MAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

arraigning the judge, who still refused to release Freeman. This 
meeting was attended and participated in by the Georgia plant- 
ers, who were honorable men. At last the grand jury, on the 
evidence given by the Georgia planters, indicted Ellington for 
perjury. While the warrant was being prepared he fled from 
the cit)'. Then, when there was no longer any one here to 
claim him, the judge reluctantly released Freeman. By his in- 
dustry he had been able to get a little property, but the exac- 
tions forced upon him by the officers of the United States had 
caused him to expend it all. 

The year 1854 was one of almost continued rioting. The 
legislature had enacted a law prohibiting the sale of liquor, and, 
in attempting to enforce it, a terrible riot occurred between the 
police and a large number of German citizens, in which quite a 
number of Germans were wounded, but none fatally. The police 
force conquered, but all during the year riotous demonstrations 
were kept up, and there were nightly conflicts between the po- 
lice and the supporters of the trafBc. The law was finally 
overthrown by the supreme court and quiet was restored. 

In the earlier history of the city, at almost every recurring 
election, fights would occur, in which blood was shed to some 
extent, but they were seldom followed by any riotous demon- 
strations, the fighting at each occasion being confined to a fev/ 
of the rougher element. In fact, Indianapolis has been pecul- 
iarly free from disturbances such as have cast blots upon the 
good name of so many cities. Political excitement has always 
run high, and it is a matter of wonder that many campaigns 
have not been accompanied by serious disturbances of the peace. 
The only serious election riot was on the evening of May 2, 
1876, at the close of the election for municipal of^cers. For 
days the excitement had been most intense, and the contest for 
control of the city had been fought with much more than the 
usual feeling. The colored people had been admitted to the 
right of the ballot, but those who had opposed that innovation 
had not grown used to seeing them exercise the right, and a 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF JXDIAXAPOLIS. 



79 



great deal of irritation followed. On the evening referred to, 
after the close of the polls, a riot occurred and one man was 
killed and several more or less injured. The riot would not 
have occurred had it not been for the police, and that depart- 
ment was wholl)' to blame. On several occasions when strikes 
were in existence the cit}- has been filled with angr}' men, but 
the coolness of the better element of the citizens has always 
prevented any disastrous consequences. 

Beginning with 1855 andcontinuinguntil 1S60, the whole state, 




MARIUN COUNTY JAIL. 

and Indianapolis especially, suffered from "wildcat" money. 
The destruction caused by that wild experience in banking 
would have practically closed the doors to the growth and pros- 
perit\- of the cit\' for at least ten years had not the war inter- 
vened. There had been a demand for more currenc}' and the 
legislature had enacted a law to provide for the establishment of 
banks of issue, without any adequate security, and it was not 
long until the state was flooded with bills issued by irresponsi- 
ble persons, and an explosion soon came. Beautifully printed 



80 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

and engraved bills were issued, but when the holders went out 
to find the banks and have the bills redeemed no banks could 
be found. They never had any actual existence. When the 
crash came nearly all of the free banks closed their doors within 
the space of a few weeks. For some months their money had 
been hawked about at a discount that changed every da}-. A 
workingman would be paid off in money quoted at a certain dis- 
count by the note reporter of that day, and on the next morn- 
ing, when he would appear at his grocer's or butcher's to pay 
off his weekly bills, he would find that his money had been 
shaved five or ten per cent. more. 

This crash almost destroyed business. New enterprises were 
paralyzed, and there was a general want of confidence. The 
distress was even greater than that which followed the panic of 
1837. The free banks were weeded out, and business began to 
brighten up a little before the war began. 

Indianapolis had been generally fortunate in its selection of 
men to conduct its business, but in 1856 it had an experience 
which proved that all men could not be trusted. At that time 
the city debt had slowly increased until it had reached the sum 
of $15,000. To meet the pressing obligations it was deter- 
mined to fund the debt, and Jeremiah D. Skeen was appointed 
an agent to negotiate the sale of $30,000 worth of city bonds in 
New York. Sometime afterward the banking firm of Winslow, 
Lanier & Co., of New York, notified the city that it had the 
bonds, purchased from Skeen. He had sold the bonds and kept 
the money. The city, of course, had to pay the bonds. It 
was charged that Skeen used the money to bet on the election. 

By i860 more railroads had been completed and Indianap- 
olis was already attracting attention as quite a railroad center. 
The population had increased to about 1 8,000, and persons 
hunting for a location for some manufacturing enterprise or an- 
other began to consider the claims of the Hoosier capital. The 
state had gotten rid pretty generally of the wildcat mone\', and 
what was in circulation was considered as pretty good. Some 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



83 



of the streets had been improved and a better class of buildings 
were being erected. The state also was getting a better name 
abroad. Its good name had suffered first by the disastrous fail- 
ure of its internal improvement schemes, and again by the de- 
struction of our school system by a decision of the supreme 
court. This latter had been rectified by a new opinion, but it 
took several years for the state to recover the good name it had 
lost by the first reckless decision. Indianapolis suffered with 
the state, but in i860 it witnessed the dawn of a prosperity that 




DAM AT BROAD RIl'l'Lt. 

has shone brightly ever since, meeting with a few clouds, but 
the)' did not long check the march of progress. 

The year i860 was marked by the most exciting political 
campaign that up to that time the city had witnessed. It was 
early seen that the issue of the contest might probably be civil 
war, and the feeling was intense. Three political parties were 
in the field, with Abraham Lincoln as the leader of the Repub- 
licans, Stephen A. Douglas of one wing of the Democratic 
party, and John C. Breckinridge of the other. The threat of 



84 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

civil war had aroused the miHtary spirit of the people, and early 
in the year i860 it could be seen that the people were beginning 
to prepare for war. Several military companies were organized 
and began drilling in an active manner. The Mexican war had 
left a little of the military feeling, but by 1852 it had died away, 
and was not revived until 1856. In February of that year the 
St. Louis Guards visited Indianapolis, and made such a showy 
figure that it at once fired the hearts of the young men of In- 
dianapolis and they immediately organized the National Guards. 
The uniform was of blue with caps and white plumes. It main- 
tained its organization until it went into the civil war as a part 
of the Eleventh regiment. The next year the City Grays or- 
ganized. It also went into the Eleventh regiment. Two years 
afterward the Grays organized an auxiliary artillery company, 
but an explosion of a gun crippled its commander and the com- 
pany soon went down. A cavalry company was organized in 
1858, but, like that of the artillery, did not long survive. 

On the twenty-second of February, i860, the Montgomery 
Guards of Crawfordsville, under the command of Captain Lew 
Wallace, came to the city, and in connection with the city com- 
panies gave a parade. The Montgomery Guards used the 
zouave drill and its strange tactics created great enthusiasm, 
and at once a zouave company was organized, and afterward 
became a part of Wallace's Eleventh regiment. In June a mili- 
tary convention was held here and an encampment decided upon 
to be held in September. Two or three new companies were at 
once organized, and the military spirit began to pervade all 
classes. The result was that when Mr. Lincoln called for troops 
in April, 1861, Indiana was ready to furnish more than a regi- 
ment of well drilled men. 

After the election, as one state after another seceded and 
began to prepare for war, the tension on the public mind was 
so great that nothing was talked about but the probabilities of 
war. Governor Morton sounded the key-note of opposition to 
secession in a speech at a great meeting of the citizens to jollify 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



85 



over the election of Mr. Lincoln. His patriotic words fired all 
hearts, and but one sentiment was manifested, that of armed re- 
sistance to secession. 

When the news came that Major Anderson in Fort Sumter was 
being bombarded by the troops of South Carolina, the feeling 
grew in intensit)'. Business was abandoned, and the people 
gathered on the streets to wait for the bulletins and to discuss 
the situation. The question of the moment was what course the 
president would take. The people could not remain quiet, but 
moved around the streets in a feverish excitement. Part}' feel- 
ing was forgotten for the time. At night a meeting was held in 
the Metropolitan theater and several patriotic speeches were 




SOUTHWEST SECTION MONUMENT PLACE. 

made while waiting for the news. A little before ten o'clock 
the news came that Major Anderson had been compelled to 
submit to the inevitable and had surrendered. "War" was 
shouted from every lip, and the meeting broke up, the people 
crowding out on the streets, and all night long anxious crowds 
thronged around the newspaper offices to get every particle of 
news that came over the wires. Early the next morning the 
military companies began the work of recruiting, and it was 
kept up all da)' Sunday without intermission. The drum and 
the fife were heard ever}'where, and the names of recruits were 
fast added to the rolls of the various companies. 

On Monday came the proclamation of President Lincohi 



86 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

calling for 75,000 volunteers. It was accompanied by an order 
of the war department assigning six regiments as the quota of 
Indiana. The next day the governor issued his proclamation 
and the Indianapolis companies at once hastened to camp, and 
companies from other towns and cities came pouring in. The 
change was like magic. From the restless, feverish anxiety of 
uncertainty all was changed to the bustle of armed men rushing 
to the defense of the imperiled Union. The trains came into 
the city loaded with men anxious to serve their country. Gov- 
ernor Morton and his staff were busy in preparing to accommo- 
date the arriving hosts, and to procure clothing and arms for 
them. The government had neither, and if it had there were 
calls from other states. Governor Morton did not wait. He 
realized, more than any one else, the urgent need of promptness, 
a/id while his staff was busy in arranging for the new troops, 
and assigning them quarters where they could be housed and 
fed, he appealed to the patriotic citizens for aid in clothing them, 
and dispatched agents to eastern cities and to Europe to pur- 
chase arms and equipments. All Indianapolis was a military 
camp. Instead of six regiments Governor Morton offered thirty, 
and he had the men in camp. 

Gen. Lew Wallace was adjutant-general of the state, but 
asked for a command that would take him to the field, and he 
was made colonel of the Eleventh regiment, the first regiment 
organized. It was made up mostly from Indianapolis recruits. 
It adopted the zouave drill and uniform. The Geisendorffs were 
then operating a large woolen mill here, and Governor Morton 
purchased all the gray jeans they had on hand, and hundreds of 
women of Indianapolis were soon busy changing it into short, 
baggy breeches and jackets for the regiment. Just before the 
Eleventh left for the front the regiment was marched to the state- 
house to witness the raising of the stars and stripes over the 
dome. It was an impressive scene. Miss Caroline Richings 
sang "The Star Spangled Banner," thousands of citizens join- 
ing in the chorus. After the flag was raised over the state- 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



89 



house, the ladies of IndianapoHs presented the regiment with a 
magnificent silk banner bearing the coat of arms of the United 
States, while the ladies of Terre Haute gave them a fine silk 
flag. It was received on behalf of the regiment by Colonel Wal- 
lace, who at the close of his speech ordered the men to kneel 
and raise their right hands and swear never to desert the flag, 
and then gave them as their battle cry, "Remember Buena 
Vista." At the battle of Buena Vista an Indiana regiment was 
broken by a charge of Mexican lancers, and Jeff. Davis had 




I ^^ 



K-~Pf''r..,-ix^^^- 











MASONIC TEMPLE. 

afiixcd the stigma of cowardice on the regiment, and it had fol- 
lowed Indiana ever since. 

The Eleventh regiment went first to Evansville and then to 
Maryland. In June a mounted squad of the regiment, doing 
scout duty, had a fierce battle with Ashby's black horse cavalry, 
and John C. HoUenbeck, of Company B, was killed. He was 
the first soldier from Indianapolis to offer up his life for the per- 
petuity of the Union. It has been claimed for him that he was 
the first soldier from Indiana killed in the war, but that honor 
belongs to Carroll county. A member of the Ninth Indiana, 



90 IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Colonel Milroy's regiment, was the first soldier to fall in actual 
battle for the cause of the Union. The other five regiments of 
the state's quota were soon organized and hurried to the front, 
where they took part in the battles in West Virginia. They 
were under the immediate command of Gen. Thomas A. Mor- 
ris, of Indianapolis, who was the real moving power of that 
campaign, but the credit was given to his superior, Gen. George 
B. McClellan. 

Governor Morton, after having filled the quota of the state, 
did not dismiss the excess of troops that had offered, but put 
them into camp to be drilled for future service. He was not 
one of those who believed the war would end in a flurry, but 
saw that a long and desperate struggle was ahead of the gov- 
ernment, and was determined that Indiana should not be a lag- 
gard in the contest. Several camps were formed in different 
parts of the city, and from the 22d of April, 1861, until after 
the surrender of the last of the Confederate troops, Indianapolis 
had the air of an armed camp. Regiments were either form- 
ing and being sent to the front, or were being received on their ^ 
return home. On the 20th of April, 1861, the city of Indian- 
apolis appropriated $10,000 to aid the cause, and before the 
war closed the city had given until its expenditures had reached 
more than $1,000,000. This vast amount had been raised 
mostly by taxation, but such was the spirit of patriotism that 
the people cheerfully submitted to the heavy burdens imposed. 
The war left the city with a debt of $386,000. It should be 
remembered that the city then had a population of less than 
20,000. Nor did this vast sum of $1,000,000 represent all that 
the citizens of Indianapolis gave to the war, for large sums for 
the sanitary and Christian commissions were raised by private 
subscriptions. 

Even a cursory history of Indianapolis would not be com- 
plete without referring to some of those who so ably seconded 
the efforts of Governor Morton. Especially should the services 
of Isaiah Mansur be mentioned. He was appointed commissary 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



91 



by Governor Morton. The state had no money, nor had the 
general government furnished any for the maintenance of the 
troops. Mr. Mansur did not wait. He served without pay, 
but threw his whole soul into the work, and his activity and 
energy were boundless. He furnished meat from his own pack- 
ing houses, advanced his own money to purchase fresh bread, 
and other supplies, taking the chance of being reimbursed by 
the legislature. The recruits were not used to camp fare, and 
expected to have the same delicacies furnished them they were 




HARRISON MONUMENT. 



used to in their own homes, and many complaints were made. 
So loud were these complaints that the legislature, without ex- 
amining into the facts, passed a resolution of censure on Mr. 
Mansur, but it was afterward revoked and he was complimented 
for his efficiency and patriotism. Mr. Mansur was not the only 
one who advanced money to the state during the war, but on 
several occasions the bankers furnished large sums. Notably 
was this the case when Kentucky was invaded by Bragg and 
Kirby Smith. The government had offered a bounty and ad- 
vanced pay to troops, but the call from Kentucky was urgent. 



92 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

and there was delay upon the part of the government in sending 
the money necessary. The facts were reported to the banks by 
Governor Morton, when they promptly stepped forward and 
supplied the funds, and the troops were hastened to Kentu-cky 
to join in rolling back the tide of war. 

The State Fair grounds, north of the city, were taken for 
camping purposes, and there the first regiments were organized. 
It was used for that purpose until the twenty-second of Febru- 
ary, 1862, when it was first used as a rebel prison. The first 
prisoners were from those captured at Fort Donelson. About 
three thousand were brought here first, many of them suffering 
severely from pneumonia and camp diarrhea, induced by ex- 
posure in the ditches around Fort Donelson. On their arrival 
they slept the first night on the floor of the union depot. They 
were in a pitiable condition. The next morning the humane 
physicians of Indianapolis were attending on them, fully one- 
fifth of the whole number needing medical attendance. Two 
hospitals were established, and the men and women of the city 
acted as nurses, and greatly added to the hospital supplies from 
their own homes. Notwithstanding all this care several hundred 
died. For some time before their capture they had been insuf- 
ficiently fed and clothed, and during the inclemency of the win- 
ter had been compelled to be a good deal of the time in the 
ditches around the fort. The dead were first buried in a part 
of Greenlawn cemetery, but were afterward removed to Crown 
Hill. 

The other prisoners were taken to Camp Morton, where they 
were joined by several hundred others who had been cared for 
temporarily at Madison, Terre Haute and other places. They 
were kept in Camp Morton until exchanged in the September 
following The camp then remained unoccupied until after the 
surrender of Vicksburg when it was again used for a prison 
camp, and from that time to the close of the war it held from 
three thousand to five thousand prisoners. At one time a plan 
was formed by citizens of the state who sympathized with the 



HYAfAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 95 

South, to overthrow the state government, release the prisoners 
and arm them from arms contained in the state arsenal, and 
march them to the South. The plan was discovered, and re- 
sulted in what has since been known as the "Treason Trials." 
Some very ludicrous incidents came from this abortive attempt, 
among them being the celebrated "Battle of Pogue's Run." 
To hide the attempt from the eyes of the authorities and to fur- 
nish an excuse or explanation for the presence of such a great 
number in the city, a mass meeting of those opposed to the 




ST. VINCIN't'.s IXI'IRM aky. 

war was called. The intension was that under the guise of this 
meeting a raid should be made on the camp by armed men, 
the guards overpowered and the prisoners released. The pris- 
oners had been fully advised of the effort that was to be made 
in their favor and were ready to do their part. 

The authorities, however, were fully informed of the whole 
matter and were on the watch. The mass meeting was being 
held on the state-house grounds, and by some means a rumor 
was started that troops were on their way to disperse the meet- 
ing. A panic ensued, and those in attendance hastily scattered 



96 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

in every direction. Troops had been placed in various parts of 
the city prepared to suppress any violence and to nip any effort 
to carry out the plan of releasing the prisoners. As the sol- 
diers saw the crowds hastening through the streets toward the 
union station they added to their terror by shouts of derision. 
The crowd of panic stricken visitors clambered into the cars 
ready to leave the city. They might have been permitted to go 
in peace, if some of them in passing the Soldiers' Home had 
not fired their revolvers from the car windows. The trains were 
immediately stopped, and soldiers went from car to car search- 
ing for arms. This added to the fright, and many of those 
who, a few moments before, had been boldly exhibiting their 
revolvers hastily threw them from the car windows. A large 
number of revolvers and knives were taken, and for several 
weeks were kept on exhibition at the headquarters of the gen- 
eral commanding. 

This opposition to the war soon developed a number of 
secret organizations, whose object was to furnish aid and com- 
fort to the South. At last the leaders in this movement were 
arrested and brought to Indianapolis for trial before a military 
commission. The leading prisoners were H. H. Dodd, of this 
city; William Bowles, of Orange county; Lamdin P. Milligan, 
of Huntington county, and Stephen A. Dorsey, of Martin county. 
Several others were arrested at the same time but afterwards 
released, either because of the want of any evidence connecting 
them with the conspiracy or that they might become witnesses 
against the others. During the trial Dodd escaped from prison 
and fled to Canada. Bowles, Milligan and Dorsey were sen- 
tenced to death, but the sentence was commuted by President 
Johnson to life imprisonment in the Ohio penitentiary. They 
were afterwards released by the supreme court of the United 
States, on a writ of habeas corpus. 

While Camp Morton was still occupied, Camp Burnside was 
formed just south of it. It was here while it was occupied by 
the Seventy-first regiment in the summer of 1862 that the first 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 99 

military execution that ever took place in the state occurred. 
Robert Gay had been charged with desertion and as being a 
spw He was tried and convicted and sentenced to be shot, al- 
though hanging was the penalty for being a spy. He was shot 
in the old Henderson orchard, between Camp Morton and Camp 
Burnside. The regiment and spectators formed three sides of 
the square, the open side being to the east. Gay was brought 
out by the guard and placed in front of his cofftn. He made a 
speech protesting that he had no guilty purpose in deserting. 
He told the firing party to aim at his heart. He then sat down 

■ on his coffin and was blindfolded. The signal to fire was given. 
The firing party consisted of ten, but one of the guns was loaded 
with a blank cartridge. Eight of the nine balls struck him in 
the heart while one went through his neck. In 1864 three 
"bounty jumpers" were shot on the same ground. In 1864 
General Hovey, who was then in command, prepared a scaffold 
on the same ground for the hanging of Bowles, Milligan and 
Dorsey, but the sentence, as mentioned before, was never carried 
out. 

Almost as soon as the war began Governor Morton, was 
satisfied that the federal government would be unable to supply 
the demand for ammunition and he determined to establish here 

;an arsenal for the manufacture of catridges. He secured the 
services of Gen. Herman Sturm, and throughout the war this' 
arsenal not only supplied the state troops, but many times fur- 
nished the federal government with ammunition for the troops 
at the front. The supplies thus furnished on several occasions 
saved the Union armies from defeat. At the close of the war, 
upon a settlement with the government, it was found that the 
arsenal had not only paid its expenses but had a large surplus 
of money, which was turned over to the state treasury. 

[Among other camps established near the city during the war 
were Camp Carrington, which was considered the best arranged, 
and best managed military camp in the United States ; Camp 
Noble, which under command of Col. W. W. Frybarger, was 



100 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

used for artillery purposes, the practice ground being between 
the Bluff road and the river bottom, and Camp Fremont used 
by the colored troops. 

Governor Morton, early in i86l, became convinced of the 
necessity of some extraordinary effort to supply the troops with 
good winter clothing, and he devised a system which afterward 
proved the foundation of the great sanitary commission. He 
purchased through his agent at New York nearly thirty thousand 
overcoats. Some of these overcoats were purchased at a cost 
of $1.25 more than the regulation price, and United States 
Quartermaster Meigs refused to pay this extra price. Governor 
Morton at once announced that Indiana would bear the burden. 
Socks, shoes and blankets, together with underclothing of all 
kinds, were greatly needed, as well as mittens, sheets, pillows, 
bandages, dressing gowns and other things for hospital use. 
On the loth of October, 1861, the governor issued an appeal 
to the women of Indiana. The response came very quickly, 
and many thousands of dollars worth of these supplies were con- 
tributed. Competent agents were appointed and sent to the 
best points to carry on this work of furnishing relief to our sol- 
diers, especially to the sick and wounded. The sanitary stores 
were sent to them for distribution. Surgeons and nurses were 
sent to every place where Indiana troops were to be found. 
Combined with the sanitary service agents were sent out to take 
care of the pay of the soldiers and bring it home to their fam- 
ilies without cost, to write letters for the soldiers, to see to the 
burial of the dead, and keep registers of all men in the hospitals 
and to assist returning soldiers to get transportation home. The 
headquarters of the commission was in Indianapolis, and during 
its existence, from February, 1862, to the close of the war, col- 
lected in cash $247,570.75, and in goods $359,000, making a 
total of sanitary contributions in the state of $606,570.75. This 
was the first sanitary work done by any state. 

Indianapolis was the main depot and recruiting station for 
the state, and was the chief resting place of all troops passing 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 103 

to the front. Governor Morton, in his soHcitude for the soldiers, 
early in the war determined to make some arrangements where- 
by the troops passing through the city, or coming into it, could 
be temporarily provided for without cost to them. During the 
first months of the war the sanitary commission had agents at 
the union depot to supply passing troops and to take care of 
the sick at hotels, but this was expensive and inconvenient, and 
a camp was established on the vacant ground south of the depot 
with hospital tents and other conveniences, and maintained until 
1862, when the governor determined to establish a permanent 
home. The grove on the west side of West street, just north of 
the Vandalia railroad, was selected and temporary frame build- 
ings erected, which were enlarged from time to time until they 
could accommodate about two thousand with beds and furnish 
eight thousand with meals every day. From August, 1862, to 
June, 1865, the home furnished 3,777,791 meals. The bread 
was supplied by a bakery maintained by the quartermaster with 
such economy that the rations of flour, to which the men served 
in the home were entitled, sufficed for all they needed, and for 
thousands of loaves distributed among the poor. The saving of 
flour, after all bread supplies were completed, the sale of offal 
and a suttler's tax paid $19,642.19. The saving in the rations 
of other articles amounted to $71,130.24. Thus the home was 
sustained in all its expenses almost wholly by the rations of the 
men provided for in it. On holidays the ladies of the city fur- 
nished festival dinners of their own preparation, and waited on 
the tables. A Ladies' Home, for the care of soldiers' wives 
and children, was opened in a building near the union depot, in 
December, 1863, and was maintained until the close of the war, 
taking care of an average of about one hundred a day. 

The good people of Indianapolis did not stop at these ex- 
traordinary provisions for the comfort and care of the soldiers, 
but the families left behind by the soldiers were equally well 
cared for, the city itself on several occasions appropriating large 
sums for the purchase of fuel and other necessaries for soldiers' 



104 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

families. On one occasion a fair was held that netted $40,000 
for this purpose. Other fairs were held at different times, but 
none of them realized so great an amount. The good people 
of the county outside of Indianapolis were not behind in their 
patriotic offerings, and it was no uncommon sight to see long 
processions of wagons loaded with fuel and food contributed by 
the farmers of Marion county. They frequently turned the oc- 
casion into a holiday, parading the streets behind a drum and 
a fife. 

During the war the city was not at all times peaceful and 
quiet. The excitement at all times was very high, and on the 
receipt of news from the front of some great battle it became 
intense. At the beginning of the war there was no open divis- 
ion of sentiment, but as the war went on, and taxes increased, 
and the call for troops became more urgent, a strong opposition 
to the further continuance of the war grew up. The city was 
always full of soldiers, and the)' could bear with but little pa- 
tience words of opposition to the government, or of sympathy 
with the South. On a number of occasions it required the cool- 
est and most determined efforts upon the part of the authorities 
to prevent violence and bloodshed. On one occasion, especially 
in 1862, some of the speakers at a county convention indulged 
in some very bitter denunciations of the war, the government 
and the soldiers. There were many soldiers in the crowd and 
a riot followed, some of the speakers and those sympathizing 
with them barely escaping with their lives. At the October 
election of that year the opponents of the war were excluded 
from the polls by threats of violence. In 1864 while one of the 
regiments was here on furlough, an attempt was made to mob 
the Sentinel ofifice, but it was prevented by Col. Conrad Baker, 
provost marshal. 

On two or three different occasions rebel raids were made in- 
to the state, and on such occasions the excitement grew in in- 
tensity. This was especially the case in 1863 when Gen. John 
Morgan crossed the Ohio river with about three thousand men, 




THE CO.M.MERCIAL CLUB. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 107 

and the news was flashed that his aim was to reach Indianapo- 
lis, and to overturn the state government and release the rebel 
prisoners at Camp Morton. Volunteers were called for, and the 
troops that were already in the city were hastened forward to 
intercept him. A horrible catastrophe accompanied this sud- 
den movement of the troops. A Michigan battery which had 
been stationed here was hastening one day from the artillery 
camp to the depot when the jolting caused a shell to explode in 
one of the caissons. This exploded all the contents of the caisson, 
blowing two of the men over the tops of the shade trees along 
the sidewalk, killing them instantly. A man and a boy who 
were on the street watching the movement of the battery were 
also killed. This was the first catastrophe of the kind that had 
ever occurred in the city. 

Since then the city has been visited by three catastrophes, 
each of which for the time being spread a pall of gloom over 
the entire city. The first occurred during the state fair of 1869. 
Two saw-mills were running a race on the first day of October 
of that year, receiving their power from the boiler in power 
hall. The boiler exploded and killed and wounded nearly one 
hundred people. The disaster would have been far more terrible 
if it had not been for the fact that a great part of the crowd had 
left the vicinity only a few moments before to witness one of the 
races. A large amount of money was soon after subscribed, 
and a committee of prominent citizens appointed to distribute 
it. The second occurred on March 17, 1890. On the after- 
noon of that day a fire broke out in the great book house of 
Bowen & Merrill, and while the fire was fiercely raging the roof 
and floor fell in, carrying to death ten of the gallant firemen. 
Nineteen others were injured at the same time, two of whom 
afterwards died. The news of the terrible accident soon spread 
throughout the city and thousands of anxious citizens crowded 
to the vicinity. The work of rescue began at once, but was 
materially interfered with by the fire and falling walls. On the 
second day after the fire, while a score or more of men were en- 



108 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

gaged in hunting for the bodies, one of the walls toppled and 
fell, covering the bodies with an additional depth of debris. 
Fortunately those engaged in the work of rescue received timely 
warning and all escaped without danger. In a very few mo- 
ments, however, the news went abroad that they too had met 
their death, and it looked as if the whole city was rushing to 
the scene. The fire occurred on Monda}', but it was not until 
Friday that the last body was removed. A relief fund for the 
benefit of the families of the killed and the wounded was imme- 
diately started, and soon reached the sum of about $70,000. 

About midnight, on January 21, 1892, it was discovered 
that the Surgical Institute, which then occupied several old 
buildings on the corner of Illinois and Georgia streets, was on 
fire. It was filled with crippled men, women and children, the 
children largely predominating. When first discovered it was 
seen that Indianapolis was to have a night of horror. The ^ 
buildings were soon wrapped in flames, and it was found imposi- ■ 
ble to rescue the alarmed inmates. Nineteen perished in the \ 
flames, and a large number of others were more or less seriously 
injured. Even the fatal Bowen & Merrill fire of two years be- 
fore did not create such intense excitement. 

Before the war ended, volunteering became so slow that it i 
was necessary to resort to a draft to fill the ranks of the armies j 
at the front. In several parts of the state the draft was resisted, 
and enrolling ofificers were assassinated, but nothing of that kind 1 
occurred in Indianapolis. In 1864 the city council appropriated ; 
$132,000 as bounty money for the city's quota of the draft, and 1 
on two other occasions appropriated $125,000 for a like pur- 
pose. When this money was about all paid out, and the quota | 
was nearly full, it was discovered that by a blunder the war 
department had failed to give proper credits to the city, and the 
city's quota under all calls had already been more than filled, 
she having several hundred still to her credit. 

While the city was rejoicing over the fall of Richmond and 
the surrender of Lee, the news came that President Lincoln had 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. Ill 

been assassinated. Never within the history of the city had 
such excitement existed as was occasioned by this news. In 
almost an instant the news was spread over the whole city, and 
in another instant the streets were filled with an excited throng. 
Tears coursed down the cheeks of strong men as they stood on 
the streets discussing this terrible event. Deep anger was at 
once aroused against all who had been known to be opposed to 
the war, and it required the most strenuous exertion of Governor 
Morton and other high officials to prevent a riot that would 
have destroyed the property and lives of the known Southern 
sympathizers. A meeting was called of the citizens to take 
some appropriate action, and among others Senator Hendricks 
was called upon to address the crowd. During his remarks he 
began a sentence the first words of which did not please the 
audience, and a rush was made for the platform while a thou- 
sand men uttered cries of vengeance. Governor Morton and 
others stilled the angry crowd, and Senator Hendricks com- 
pleted his sentence, showing that what he was saying was not 
offensive but on the other hand highly commendable. This in- 
cident is related simply to show how sensitive the people were 
in that time of excitement. 

The city was dressed in mourning from one end to the other. 
The funeral cortege of the dead President was to pass through 
the city on its way to Springfield, and extensive arrangements 
were made to suitably receive it and pay due honor to this great 
statesman. The funeral train was expected to arrive here on 
Sunday morning April 30, 1865. Governor Morton, together 
with his staff, members of the legislature and the city council 
went to Richmond to meet the train and escort it to the city. 
Sunday morning came bringing with it a cold, drizzling rain, 
but before daylight thousands of people had congregated in and 
around the union depot to await the coming of the train. The 
immense crowd stood for hours talking in whispers. It seemed 
as if every one felt the awful solemnity of the occasion. At 
about seven o'clock the train slowly pulled into the station. 



112 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

The coffin was tenderly lifted from the car in which it had 
rested, and was slowly borne to the catafalque which had been 
constructed for the purpose of conveying the body through the 
streets and to the state-house where it was to lie in state. A 
procession followed in solemn silence except the funeral music 
discoursed by the band, and the low sobbings of the multitude 
who lined the streets. The whole city was elaborately decorated 
with funeral emblems. 

The body was placed on a platform erected under the dome 
of the capitol, and the citizens for hours marched through the 
great hall of that building, and gazed upon the face of the man 
they had learned to love, and whose guiding wisdom they would 
miss in the days to come. All day long and far into the night 
the throng continued its slow, and solemn tread. The falling 
rain seemed to have no influence in keeping any one away from 
the solemn scene. One of the most touching incidents of this 
occasion was the visit of the Sunday-school children of the city 
to view the remains. Proper arrangements had been made for 
their visit, and several thousands of them marched through the 
State-house and poured out their tears as a loving tribute to the 
memory of the martyred president. At one time the procession 
of citizens desiring to see the remains reached from the state- 
house doors for many squares up Washington street, and thou- 
sands stood in line, in the pouring rain, for several hours, waiting 
for their turn to enter the portals of the state-house. While this 
vast throng of citizens was viewing the remains funeral music 
was alternated between a band on one side and a choir of voices 
upon the other. A guard of honor, composed of the leading 
citizens and of army officers who were in the city, watched over 
the body. A little after midnight the doors of the state-house 
were closed and the body was taken again to the funeral train. 
It was estimated that fully 50,000 strangers were in the city on 
that day and that more than 100,000 persons passed through 
the State-house. 

This was the last great scene of the war in Indianapolis. 




INDIANA TRUST BUILDING. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 115 

The war soon ended and the troops came marching home. 
The}' were received into the city by Governor Morton and all 
honor paid them. It was not, however, for several months after 
the final surrender of the Confederate forces that the last of the 
troops arrived at home. 

The close of the war found Indianapolis budding out into a 
real city. Its population had largely increased, and the impe- 
tus given to business put the city on a firmer foundation. The 
heavy taxes during the four years of war made necessary by 
the vast sums voted in aid of the soldiers and their families, and 
to encourage enlistments, had prevented anything like a sys- 
tematic improvement of the streets and sidewalks, and at that 
time Indianapolis was about as dirty a town as could be found 
on the continent. Some new business houses and some resi- 
dences had been built, and there was some little more pretentions 
to architectural effect than had been manifested in previous 
years. The influx of visitors, and the great number of soldiers 
that had been here at one time or another, had largely in- 
creased the volume of trade, and then, too, it had grown into a 
sort of a habit with many of the merchants in the smaller towns 
around Indianapolis to depend upon the merchants here for 
their supplies during the war, and that habit remained with them 
when peace came. 

Up to the close of the war there had been no steps taken by 
the city to mark the growth of the city in any way, but in 1864 
the council passed an ordinance requiring those proposing to 
build to take out permits, and since then there has been a record 
by which the changes could be noted. The war practically 
ended in May, 1865, but the doom of the Confederacy was cer- 
tain before then, and as soon as spring opened the work of 
building began. The record shows that during the year 1865, 
1,621 houses were built, at the cost of $2,060,000. That year 
the city began to improve the streets and sidewalks, and nine 
miles of streets and eighteen miles of sidewalks were graded and 
graveled. The next year 1,112 buildings were erected at a cost 



116 fTYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

of $1 ,065,000. More of the streets and sidewalks were im- 
proved. In 1867 the street lights were largely extended, and 
the work of improvement continued. Since then the city has 
grown steadily, meeting with only one or two backsets. 

In 1863 it became apparent that the existing cemetery for 
the disposal of the dead would very soon prove inadequate, and 
an organization of citizens was effected to purchase ground for 
a new cemetery. Mr. S. A. Fletcher, Sr., proposed to advance 
whatever money might be needed for such a purpose, and the 
grounds now known as "Crown Hill" were purchased. In 1864 
the new cemetery was dedicated, Hon. Albert S. White deliv- 
ering an oration. 

Among other necessities occasioned by the growth of the 
city and the evil effects of the war was some house or home for 
abandoned women, and in 1863 an effort was made to establish 
one, Mr. Fletcher giving the ground, but after part of the work 
of constructing the building had been completed it was aban- 
doned. In 1866 the ladies of the city formed an association to 
operate a Home for Friendless Women. They at first rented a 
house for their purposes, but not long afterward received gifts 
and help enough to erect a commodious building on Tennessee 
street, now Capitol avenue. In 1870 the building was partly 
destroyed by fire, but it has always been well managed and very 
successful. 

Other charitable organizations have at different times been 
perfected, until now the poor and unfortunate of Indianapolis 
are well looked after and taken care of. In addition to what 
the city has done the state has erected, in connection with a 
female prison, a reformatory for girls, and so well has it been 
managed that it is ranked as the foremost institution of the kind 
in the United States. 

In 1 863 the first attempt was made to construct a street rail- 
road. Two companies applied for a charter, and after a long 
delay and a bitter fight a charter was granted to the Citizens' 
Company, and by 1866 about seven miles of track was com- 



PIWKE 






'^-^^-i-'^s^sm 



o 
o 

!^ 

S! 
O 




HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 119 

pleted. The first line was that on Illinois street, and this was 
opened in June, 1864, the mayor of the city driving a car over it. 

The close of the war also brought an era of railroad building, 
and by that time the citizens of Indianapolis were thoroughly 
alive to the advantages of such means of transportation, and in 
1865 the council voted about $200,000 to aid in the construc- 
tion of four roads. 

Before the era of railroads the farmers of Indiana fed their 
corn to hogs and then drove the hogs to market, Cincinnati and 
Louisville being the chief markets, but in 1864 an enterprising 
firm of brothers, from Belfast, Ireland, concluded that Indian- 
apolis was a good point for the establishment of a packing house 
on an immense scale. This introduction of the Kingan Brothers 
to Indianapolis proved to be an epoch in its growth and devel- 
opment. They erected immense buildings and opened business 
by the beginning of the season of 1864-5. In the spring of 
1865, however, a fire destroyed a great part of their buildings, 
together with a large stock of lard, bulk meat and hams. The 
loss was about $240,000. They immediately rebuilt. In 1868 
Mr. J. C. Ferguson erected a packing house but a little smaller 
than that of the Kingans, and from that time the business of 
packing meat has steadily grown until now it is one of the great 
industries of the city. Out of this increase of the packing in- 
dustry grew the stock yards. 

Among the lost opportunities of the city was one in 1868. 
At that time the Circle, University Square and Military Park, 
were the only spaces in the city for park purposes, and the city 
owned neither of those. They were anything but inviting at 
that time for parks, but as they did not belong to the city no 
one felt like having the city expend any money on them to im- 
prove them in any way. In 1868 the heirs of Calvin Fletcher 
offered to give the city thirty acres in the northeastern part, for 
park purposes, on the condition that the city should expend 
$30,000 to improve it, and keep it forever as a park. Most 
cities would have jumped at the chance of getting such a park 



120 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

on such easy terms, but, strangely, the proposition raised a 
storm of objections, even some of the newspapers joining in 
fighting the project. About the only ground of opposition was 
that the Fletchers owned other real estate in that vicinity and if 
a park was established there it would enhance the value of the 
other property. It was a sort of a dog in the manger policy 
that was a disgrace to the city then and will always remain a 
disgrace. Now the city is trying to purchase grounds for the 
establishment of parks, and will have to pay out large sums be- 
fore they are obtained. 

The growth of the city had begun before the close of the 
war, and continued steadily. Manufacturing establishments were 
erected, and wholesale houses opened. New streets were laid 
out and old ones improved. The residence portion of the city 
spread out on every hand. In 1870 the county had outgrown 
the old court-house, and it was determined to erect a new one, 
but a strong opposition arose among the citizens. All admitted 
that the old court-house was inadequate, but they objected to 
the heavy expense of erecting a new one. The work went on, 
however, and the present house was constructed. At the ses- 
sion of the legislature in 1875, steps were taken for the erection 
of a new state-house. The old one was too small, and besides 
had become very much dilapidated. After a considerable op- 
position from members from the out counties, it was ordered that 
plans and specifications be advertised for. In 1877 it was finally 
decided to erect a new building and the present handsome struct- 
ure was the result. It was first used by the legislature at its 
session of 1887. 

The growth of the city during 1869 and 1870 was so rapid 
that it created an era of real estate speculation which, in the end, 
proved disastrous not only to the city but to a large number of 
persons who engaged in it. Additions were laid out, in every 
direction, some of them being several miles from the then city 
limits. Not content with this, several suburban towns were 
started. For a while the people went wild and the prices of all 



HYMAX\S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 123 

real estate, both in the city and around it, rapidly advanced, un- 
til in some cases they reached enormous figures. The panic of 
'73 soon brought an end to this era of speculation, and it was 
several years before the city recovered from its effects. In fact 
even after affairs began to resume their normal condition the 
bad effects of this real estate boom remained and dragged down 
one or two of the oldest banking institutions in the city. 

By 1884, however, the general tone of all business began to 
revive, and Indianapolis started out on an era of rapid growth, 
such as it had never experienced before and such as has been 
exceedingly rare even among "boom towns" in the West. Its 
growth since that time has not onl)' been very rapid but has 
been permanent. The character of the architecture materialh' 
changed and it now can boast of as handsome business blocks, 
hotels, public buildings and residences as any city west of the 
mountains. Among its public buildings that of the Young 
Men's Christian Association may take high rank. This asso- 
ciation was first organized on the 21st of March, 1854. It at 
once made arrangements to secure a regular course of lectures. 
It had many ups and downs until 1884, when it erected its pre- 
sent handsome building. 

Among the generous citizens of Indianapolis some years ago 
was Mr. Daniel Tomlinson. After his death, on opening his 
will, it was found that he had devised a large amount of real 
estate and other property to the city for the erection of a public 
building, providing in his will that the building should be 
erected on the west end of what is known as East Market Square. 
The devise was accepted by the city and the bequest taken pos- 
session of Nothing was done, however, toward carrying out 
the wishes of the testator for several years. Some attempts were 
then made to use the money as intended b)' Mr. Tomlinson, but 
at every effort hostility was aroused, until at last the matter was 
made an issue at a city election. The council then took steps 
and the present Tomlinson Hall resulted. 

Among the public buildings erected during the era of pros- 



124 HYMA N'S HA NDBOOK OF INDIA NA POLLS. 

perity may be mentioned the English Opera House and the 
Grand Opera House. By these two structures the amusement 
loving public have been well accommodated. Old Washington 
Hall, which for many years stood as the great hotel of the city 
was opened in 1824. In 1841 the Palmer House, now known 
as the Occidental, was erected. It became at once the demo- 
cratic headquarters and remained so for many years. Several 
other smaller hotels were built, and in 1853 Mr. Hervey Bates 
erected the Bates House, that since that time has stood as one 
of the best hotels in the country. In 1870 a stock company 
undertook to erect a large hotel on the southeast corner of 
Pennsylvania and Ohio streets. The work was not vigorously 
pushed, however, and the property fell into the hands of Harry 
Sheets. It was then an incomplete four story brick. It re- 
mained in this unfinished condition until 1874, when it was nearly 
destroyed by fire. A few years later John C. New and Mr. 
Denison purchased the ruins and completed the building in a 
much better style than had been originally contemplated. It 
was opened in January, 1880. In 1894 it was again damaged 
by fire, and was then enlarged, until now the Denison House 
ranks as one of the finest and most complete hotel buildings in 
the country. The Grand Hotel was begun some years after the 
Denison, but completed much sooner. It is not so large as the 
Denison, but is a very popular hostelry. The Denison is the Re- 
publican headquarters while the Grand is that of the Democrats. 
Very early in the history of its railroads, the importance of 
having a union passenger station for all the roads became ap- 
parent to some of the enterprising citizens of Indianapolis, and 
steps were taken to erect one. This was the first station of the 
kind erected anywhere in the country. It served its purpose 
until 1887 when it became entirely too small, and it was deter- 
mined to erect a larger and finer structure. This was completed 
in 1888, and was then thought to be large enough to supply all 
demands for many years. Its projectors, however, did not dream 
of the rapid growth of Indianapolis that was just then fairly 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 127 

Starting on its new era of prosperity, and now it is seen that a 
building of almost twice the size of the present one is as badly 
needed as a new and larger one was in 1887. 

Not very long after the war Dr. H. R. Allen, and some 
others opened a surgical institute on the corner of Illinois and 
Georgia streets. In 1892 it was destroyed by fire and several 
of the patients burned to death. The institute company at 
once decided to construct a new building, and now one of the 
handsomest and most imposing structures in the west stands 
just north of the state-house and is occupied by the institute. 
It may well be mentioned among the public buildings of Indian- 
apolis. 

While Indianapolis can not boast of as costly residences as 
may be found in Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago, or St. Louis, 
yet neither of those cities can present more homelike or attract- 
ive residences than Indianapolis. Indianapolis may well be 
styled "the city of homes." Visitors always speak in the most 
glowing terms of the beautiful appearance of the Indianapolis 
residential streets. The architecture is varied, presenting a 
most pleasing appearance to the eye, while the well kept and 
well shaded lawns give an air of comfort seldom found in the 
limits of cities. These shaded lawns in some part do away with 
the necessity of parks, as even the homes of the working classes 
can boast of their lawns. 

Indianapolis is a city of churches. A bird's-eye view of the 
city will show tall spires rising like forest trees in every direc- 
tion. Every denomination is represented, and Indianapolis can 
boast of a church-going people. The Catholics, Methodists 
and Presbyterians predominate, but all other denominations 
have good congregations, and some have very fine church 
buildings. 

The literary, musical and art culture is not behind its relig- 
ious and moral standing. The state library has elegant quar- 
ters in the state-house, and for several years has been liberally 
dealt with by the legislature, in furnishing money for the pur- 



128 HYMAN'S HAXDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

chase of new books, and is now rapidly becoming an institution 
the state can take pride in. The city Hbrary occupies a hand- 
some and imposing new building on the corner of Meridian and 
Oliio streets, and is very popular with the public. Its reading- 
rooms are almost constantly filled with persons consulting the 
papers, periodicals, and other works. In music Indianapolis is 
rapidly forging to the front. On the completion of Tpmlinson 
Hall, a May Festival Association was formed by some of the 
enterprising citizens, and now annually a musical festival of the 
highest order is held. In 1895, John Herron, a public-spirited 
citizen, by will devised to the city a large amount for the estab- 
hshment of an Art Academy. This fund has not yet been made 
available, but there is no doubt that in the near future the city 
will have a handsome structure for the use of students of art. 

Indianapolis is fast developing into a club city. The most 
important of the clubs, as it is the most potent aid for the rapid 
growth of the city, is the Commercial Club. It was organized 
to promote the growth of the city, and its membership is com- 
posed of the leading business men. It was organized in 1890, 
and soon after erected a handsome building on South Meridian 
street. Much of the rapid advance of the city within the last 
six years has been due to the efforts of this association. The 
Columbia Club is a political organization of Republicans, and 
has a handsome building of its own on Monument Place. The 
ladies, not to be behind, in 1889 determined to erect a club 
house, and now have as handsome a structure as there is in the 
city. There are a number of other clubs, for literary, musical 
or other purposes, but none own their own buildings. 

When the war ended, the military spirit died out. The old 
soldiers had had enough of marching, of camping, of actual war, 
and did not feel inclined to engage in the imitation of the actual 
thing. The younger people did not show any desire to pla}' at 
soldiering. An attempt was made to revive a military spirit, a 
few years after the war, but it was not until 1881 that much was 
done. A number of companies were soon formed, and in 1882 



^ HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 131 

a grand encampment and prize drill was held, under the auspices 
of the "Raper Commandery" of the Masonic order. A number 
of famous companies from other states took part, among them 
being the Crescent Rifles, of New Orleans; the Louisiana Ri- 
fles, of the same city; the Chickasaw Guards, of Memphis ; the 

I Porter Rifles, Nashville; the Quapaw Guards, of Little Rock; 
Company G, First Missouri, and two other companies from the 
same state; one company from Geneva, New York; four from 
Illinois ; three from Ohio ; two from Michigan ; two batteries 

I from New Orleans ; one from Nashville; one from Louisville ; 
one from Danville, III.; one from Chicago and two from St. 
Louis. Twenty companies from Indiana took part. The fol- 
lowing year another encampment and prize drill was held, in 
which thirt}'-six companies from Indiana participated, with sev- 
eral from other states. The Indianapolis Light Infantry, and 
the Indianapolis Light Artillery have participated in a number 
of prize drills in other places, and have taken a large number of 
prizes. In addition to this, the Raper Commandery of Knights 
Templar carried off the second prize at the great contest at San 
Francisco. 

In 1882 the G. A. R. held its annual encampment in the 
city, and many thousand old soldiers participated. In 1893 the 
encampment was again held here, the attendance being estimated 
at 75,000. On that occasion the city appropriated a large sum 
of money to properly care for and entertain the veterans. The 
state camps of the G. A. R. early took up the idea of erecting 
a monument to commemorate the story of the war, and quite a 
sum was raised for that purpose. This idea was first broached 
by Governor Morton in a message to the legislature in 1867. 
He wanted it placed on the high hill in Crown Hill cemetery. 
He said : 

"I recommend that upon this hill the state erect a monu- 
ment in memory of her brave soldiers who perished in the re- 
bellion. We can not pay too much honor to the memory of 
the men who died for their country. This monument, overlook- 



132 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

ing all the country around, would be the first object to greet the 
eye of the traveler as he approached the capital, and in the lan- 
guage of the great Webster, when he laid the corner-stone of the 
Bunker Hill monument at Boston, 'Let it rise ! let it rise ! till it 
meets the sun on its coming ; let the earliest light of the morning 
gild it, and parting day linger and play upon its summit.' " 

The movement did not take shape, however, until 1887, 
when the legislature was asked to appropriate $200,000 for that 
purpose. The appropriation was made and a commission ap- 
pointed to carry out the plan, the Circle being selected as the 
site. The monument proper has been completed, but some of 
the accompanying figures are yet to be put in place. Prior to 
this, however, a statue had been erected to Governor Morton by 
private subscription. The city has two other statues, one of 
Hon. Schuyler Colfax in University Park, erected by the Odd 
P"ellows, and one of Hon. Thomas A. Hendricks, in the state- 
house grounds. Around the monument in the Circle are 
grouped statues of Gen. William Henry Harrison, Gen. George 
Rogers Clark, and Governor James Whitcomb. 



INDIANAPOLIS AT PRESENT. 

A COMPREHENSIVE OUTLINE DESCRIPTION OF THE 

WHOLE CITY— AREA, POPULATION, WEALTH, 

STATISTICS, ETC. 

Indianapolis is to-day the largest inland city on the American continent, 
and one of tlie most important railroad centers in this country. It is, too. 
one of the handsomest cities, and one of the most prosperous and progressive. 
Its growth has been practicallj' that of only two decades. Within that time 

'it has emerged from a rambling village-like town, into a city of magnificent 
business blocks, public buildings, and handsome residences — in short, has be- 

i come a progressive, prosperous city, recognized as such in all parts of the 
United States. 

The Area actually within the city is about twenty square miles. The 

, original plat Avas one mile square, and lor many years after the first laying 
oflf of the town it kept Avithin those bounds. Now and then_ an adventurous 
citizen, wanting more room, or desiring to have the advantages of the city, 
without paying tax therefor, would erect a residence on an out-lot, but it 
looked as if it was hard work to fill up the original square mile. When the 
war came it found Indianapolis still within the original limits, and with plenty 
of room vacant therein. The war brought many changes. It brought In- 
dianapolis into notice through the activity of its citizens in raising troops, 
and their generosity in caring for them and their families, and when the war 
ended, and people began to look around for new locations, the situation of In- 
dianapolis attracted attention. It was already quite a railroad center, but 
the usefulness of those great highways was not thoroughly appreciated. The 

;city began to grow, and in growing widened out. The old plat was filled and 
additions began to look forward to a time when their vacant lots would also 
be filled with a thriving, bustling population. It was not until 1S70 that the 
city really began to reach out with a conception that it might become in 

' time a great commercial and manufacturing center. Then an era of specu- 

' lation seized upon the people, and discretion fled to the woods. The result 

' was a set-back, that took years to overcome. By iSSo, however, the tide had 

(133) 



134 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

a^ain turned, and since then the growth of the city has been rapid and steady. 
While not under the jurisdiction of the city, yet several outlying suburbs are, 
to all intents and purposes, parts of Indianapolis. They contain a large pop- 
ulation and much wealth, and it will only be a matter of time when they will I 
he integral parts of the city. 

The Population has grown in a wonderful manner during the last twenty 
vears. In 1S70 the population was 36,565; in 1S80 it had grown to more than 
double that, reaching 75,074. In 1890 it showed another great advance, the 
returns showing 128,000, and it is now believed that by the time the next cen- 
sus is taken it will have passed the 200,000 mark. All this marvellous growth 
has been made by an actual influx of people, and not by reaching out and 
taking in towns, cities and villages, as has been done by other cities. This 
population is legitimate, it is the population of Indianapolis. The people 
have come here to go into business, to become a part of the great inland city. 
Nearly every nationality on the globe is represented in this population. Of | 
the foreign born the Germans predominate, closely followed by the Irish. 
The population is industrious and thrifty, there being fewer idle men in In- 
dianapolis than in any other city of its size. Hundreds of workingmen own : 
their own homes, and while there is not in the city any great aggregation of 
wealth, as is found in the other large cities of the country, there is not that 
depth of poverty to be found. Indianapolis is a happy medium between 
great wealth and great poverty. 

Greater Indianapolis will soon begin to be talked about. Around the ciiy 
are West Indianapolis, Haughville, North Indianapolis, Irvington and 
Brightwood, that are now closely connected by rapid transit, and in fact it is 
almost one continuous cit}' from West Indianapolis to Irvington. All those 
thriving suburbs are closely identified with the capital city, and it will not be [ 
long before they will of themselves be asking for the fire, police and other 
protection of the city. The question of uniting them all under the same 
postal system has already been discussed hy the Postmaster-General, and 
when they are brought into the corporation limits of the city, Indianapolis 
will rank in population among the first cities of the country. 

The Surroundings of Indianapolis are not so picturesque as those of 1 
many of the other cities of the country, but as it is the political center of the 
state, so is it the business center, and its admirable system of railroads makes 
the territory for seventy-five or a hundred miles in every direction tributary 
to it. It is in easy reach of the great coal fields, of the gas belt, and of the 
stone quarries that have made Indiana famous. It is in the very heart of an 
agricultural region unsurpassed anywhere. It has no navigable river, nor 
great lake to bring the commerce of the world to its doors, but without such 
adventitious aid, its manufacturers are now shipping their wares to every 
civilized nation. 

The Municipal Administration is conducted by a mayor and the heads of 
various departments. The mayor is elected by a popular vote for the term of 
two years, and he appoints the members of the various boards. Municipal 



HY.VAN'S HAXDBOOK OF IXDTAXAPOLIS. 



137 



leo-islation is in the hands of a council composed of twenty-one members. 

fifteen of whom are elected bv wards and the other six by the city at large. 

Public Buildings — Indianapolis deservedly ranks high, although the city 

proper owns but three. 
Being the capital of the 
state it has had the ben- 
efit of the state's bounty 
in the direction of pub- 
lic buildings. The state- 
house isanelegantstruc- 
ture, covering about 
two acres of ground. 
It is built of Indiana 
Oolitic limestone, the 
interior being finished 
in marble. It was erect- 
ed only a few years ago, 
at a total cost of about 
$2,000,000, being the 
only public building in 
the country completed 
within the original es- 
timate of the cost. It 
stands on a plot 01 
ground of about eight 
acres in extent, and has 
four broad entrances. 
It is three stories high, 
and contains elegantlj' 
appointed rooms for all 
of the state oflicers, 
halls for the two houses 
of the general assem- 
bly, with a sufficient 
number of committee 
rooms, rooms for the 
state library, the su- 
preme court of the state 
and its library, and for 
the state board of agri- 
culture. It is heated 
by approved devices 
and lighted by electricity. The state also has here a large hospital for the in- 
sane, accommodating about one thousand five hundred patients ; an asylum 
for the blind, and one for deaf mutes, and a reformatory for girls. These 




ENGLISH MONUMENT, CROWN HILL. 



138 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Iniililiniis are all capacious and handsomely constructed, and the grounds 
around them are cared for with great attention. The county court-house, 
costing about $1,750,000, is also located here. Tomlinson hall, owned by the 
citv. was the gift of the late Daniel Tomlinson. It is an imposing structure 
and is capable of seating about 4,000. The city library is in a very handsome 
new building located in the very heart of the city. The city hospital is one of 
the best arranged buildings for such a purpose in the country. All the school 
houses are of modern structure and most of them are ornamental. The two 
high school buildings are especially attractive. 

The City Finances, according to the last report of the comptroller, for the 
year ended December 31, 1S95, shows the receipts, from taxes, $648,975 ; 
from all other sources, $438,545, making the total receipts, $1,086,975. The 
total expenditures were $1,072,952. The total bonded indebtedness Januarv i, 
1S97, was $1,434,500. This bonded indebtedness bears a low rate of interest. 
The expenditures for 1S96 were : Police, $116,824.26; fire department, $187,- 
523.47; public works, $395,348.06; miscellaneous, $229,324.61. The estimated 
expenditures for the year 1897, $929,015.40. 

The Judiciary is partly under city authority, and partly under that of the 
state. It is all elective. The police judge is elected for a term of two years, 
and has a salary of $2,500. He has exclusive jurisdiction of all cases for vio- 
lations of the city ordinances, and concurrent jurisdiction with the county 
criminal court in cases of petit larceny and other violations of the statutes of 
the state where the punishment does not exceed a fine of $500 or imprison- 
ment for more than six months. The judge of the criminal court is elected 
by the people, for a term of four years, and has a salary of $2,500 per year. 
It has original jurisdiction in all cases arising from violations of the state 
laws. The superior court has three judges, each elected for four years, at a 
salary of $3,000 per annum. It has jurisdiction in all civil cases, except slan- 
der and probate matters. The circuit court, having similar jurisdiction, but 
including slander and probate matters, has a judge elected for six vears 
with an annual salary of $2,500. There are also a number of justices of the 
peace, having limited jurisdiction. 

The Police Department is under the control of the board of public safety, 
and comprises one chief, two captains, eight sergeants, and one hundred pa- 
trolmen. In addition there is a detective force, consisting of one chief and 
eight detectives. The arrests average about 6,000 yearly. 

The Fire Department has one hundred and thirty-one employes ; six 
steam fire engines, three hook and ladder trucks, three "chemical eng^ines' one 
water tower, and sixty-eight horses, fourteen wagons and hose reels. There 
are 145 miles of wire and 172 signal-boxes for the fire alarm telegraph. 

The Executive and administrative authority of the city is vested in the 
mayor, city clerk, and certain boards. The mayor receives a salary of $4,000 
per annum. 

The Department of Finance is under the charge of the comptroller, who 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



141 



is appointed by the mayor, with a salary of $3,000. All warrants on the 
treasury must be drawn by him. 

The Department of Law is under the charge of the attorney and counsel 
of the cit3', appointed by the mayor. He has a salary of $4,000 per annum. 

The Department of Public Works consists of three commissioners ap- 
pointed by the mayor. The board has control of the streets and all public 
buildings of the city. Each commissioner has a salary of $2,000 a year, and 
their expenditures amount to $395,348.06 
per annum for 1S96. 

The Board of Public Safety con- 
sists of three commissioners appointed 
by the mayor, at a salary of $600 each. 
This board has control of the police 
and fire departments. 

The Department of Health and 
Charities consists of a board of three 
commissioners appointed by the maj'- 
or. The board has direct control of 
all regulations for public health. The 
members of the board must be physi- 
cians. 

The Department of Parks is com- 
posed of five commissioners appointed 
by the maj'or, for five years, and who 
serve without compensation. They 
have charge of all the public parks. 

The Number of Buildings, includ- 
ing dwelling houses, in the city, and 
business houses, makes a total of 35,000. 
In 1895 nine hundred and ninetv-three 
residences were built, fift^'-three busi- 
ness blocks, five churches, seventeen 
factories and nine warehouses, besides 
a mmiber of other structures, at a cost 
of $2,868,695. In 1896, 651 residences, •;?^ 
Si business blocks, and the total value 
of building permits was $2,241,758. 

Streets and Sewers— The total length of the streets of the city is about 
335 miles, of which forty-five miles are paved with asphaltum, brick or cedar 
blocks, and the rest is graveled. There are sevent,y-one miles of sewers, of 
which fiftj' miles have been constructed within the last five3'ears, at a cost of 
more than $4,000,000. The streets are lighted by gas and electricitj', there 
being about 850 electric lights. 

The Water Supply comes from deep wells, some few miles from the city, 




COLFAX STATUE. 



142 HYSfAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

and is brought to the citv through large iron mains, and supplied to the 
houses bv direct pressure from the pump house. The supply is abundant for 
all purposes. Coming from deep wells it is as pure as can be furnished in 

anv citv. 

The Railways of Indianapolis reach to every part of the country. They 
number sixteen, and all enter and leave from the same passenger station 
Over one hundred and thirty passenger trains enter and depart every twenty- 
four hours. 

The Belt Railroad— One of the most important features of the railroad 
svstem of Indianapolis is the Belt line which connects all the railroads which 
enter the city. It runs about three-fourths of the way around the entire city, 
and along its line are many of the most important manufacturing establish- 
ments, and the stock yards. Over it all freight passing from one road to an- 
other is transported. 

The Union Railway Lines — Early in the railroad history of Indianapolis 
some of her enterprising citizens and railroad managers conceived the idea 
of bringing all the lines into one central passenger station. To this end the 
Union Railway Company was chartered, and tracks through the city were 
laid. This company now owns and manages the great Union Station, where- 
in about one hundred and fifty trains enter and depart every twentj'-four 
hours. 

The Street Railway System — Electricity is used as the motive power for 
rapid transit through the streets. The system reaches to every part of the 
citv. The electric roads extend to all the suburbs, giving ready access to the 
city for those who dwell in the outlying districts. Strangers arriving in 
the city can reach all the hotels or any point of interest from the Union rail- 
way station bv street cars, either direct or by transfer, for one fare. 

The Custom House is a very important adjunct to the trade of the city. 
The value of goods imported into the district of Indianapolis for the fiscal 
3'ear ending June 30, 1896, was $456, 625. 

The United States Arsenal Grounds comprise seventy-six acres, extend- 
ing from Michigan street to Cliftbrd avenue at the eastern limit of the citv. 
The entrance gate is on Michigan street at the head of Arsenal avenue. The 
present government institution was laid out in 1863 and finished in 1868. 
The seven buildings of the arsenal are of brick and stone. The most im- 
portant are the main storehouse, the artillery storehouse and the barracks. 
There are also residences for the officers stationed there. 

The Banks include three national banks, with a capital of $1,600,000. and 
resources of ,$9,413,554.83; two private banks, with a capital of $1,200,000, and 
resources of $54155,867,44, and three trust companies with a capital of $1,900,000 
and resources of $2,816,682.14. 

The Indianapolis Clearing House Association showed bank clearings for 
1896 amounting to $204,576,890.29. 

Office Buildings— There are several very fine office buildings, with all the 
modern conveniences. Among the most notable are : The Majestic, the 




:=j«^ 



HYMAX'S HAXDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



145 



Lombard, the Fitzgerald, the Leincke, the Thorpe, the Ingalls, the Indiana 
Trust Building, the Stevenson, and others. 

Manufacturing — Every railroad on the continent has transported manu- 
factured wares from Indianapolis, and every line of ocean steamers touching 
the shores of the United States has borne to foreign lands the product of her 

industries. Various manufac- 
tories in the citj' have built up 
a large and steady trade in for- 
eign countries. Shipments of 
flouring mills, engines, chemi- 
cals, canned goods, bicycles, 
porii, woodenware, woolen 
goods and other products of 
our factories to Canada, Mex- 
ico, the South American States, 
Australia, Europe, the Sand- 
wich Islands, South Africa and 
Asia as well, are of so frequent 
occurrence as to have become 
common and are no longer 
thought worthy of special note. 
There are eleven hundred sep- 
arate manufacturing establish- 
ments located here, the number 
of employes in the different 
lines of production ranging' 
from scores to thousands, and 
the total number of persons 
employed in manufacturing in 
the city reaching at least twen- 
ty-five thousand. The value of. 
the combined production of all 
the manufactories in the city is 
estimated at about .$70,000,000 
a year. 

The Wholesale Trade— In- 
dianapolis, with her sixteen 
railroads, is brought into direct 
and prompt communication 
with fully a thousand cities and 
towns for which she is the natural base of supplies. The thickly settled and 
prosperous agricultural communities which form a zone a hundred miles wide 
all around, send up a never satisfied demand for the necessaries and comforts 
of life. Millions of people are to be fed, and clothed, and housed, and every 
law of trade and geographical consideration fix Indianapolis as the place. 




DRINKING FOUNTAIN, FOOT OF VIR- 
GINI.\ .WE. 



10 



14(5 JIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

As a natural course of events the wholesale and jobbing business of Indian- 
apolis is in a flourishing state. A trip through the wholesale district, along 
South Meridian, South Pennsylvania, South Delaware, Maryland, Georgia 
or McCrea streets, will impress this deeply on your memory. The rumble 
of heavily laden drays, the sidewalks blocked by mountains of boxes and 
crates and bales, the hurry and confusion of porters rolling the goods about, 
the short, sharp commands of men directing the work, all together impart a 
sense of an important business movement. That this impression is not a 
mistaken one is proven by the fact that the sales of the wholesale merchants 
of Indianapolis aggregate, in round numbers, $45,000,000 a year. There are 
in the city over three, hundred wholesale and jobbing houses, and, in their 
employ, over one thousand traveling salesmen. It is a noteworthy fact that 
Indianapolis merchants have carried their trade into the very gates of sur- 
rounding cities, and have established strong business connections beyond 
them. They have gone beyond Louisville and Cincinnati, and built up a 
strong trade in the South. They have gone into Michigan and found per- 
manent patrons within a few miles of Detroit. They have beaten Chicago 
in Michigan. They have invaded Ohio and Illinois, and a large per cent, of 
their entire business is done in these two states. They have pushed beyond 
St. Louis and Kansas City, and annually send large quantities of goods west 
of the Missouri river. The city is especially' strong in its wholesale dry 
goods, millinery, drugs, hardware, grocery and confectionery trades. The 
volume of business done in these lines is enormous. The summing up of all 
is, that whatever is to be purchased for the retail trade may be obtained in 
Indianapolis cheaply and promptly, and with the smallest amount of risk in 
transportation. 

Papers and Periodicals— There are seven daily newspapers, two of which 
are printed in German. There are twenty -eight weekly and thirty monthly 
and semi-monthly periodicals. All the varied social, religious, literarj', 
political and business interests are served by the periodicals. 

Amusements — Indianapolis has two opera-houses, first-class in appoint- 
ments and of a high grade. It also contains several theaters of the vaude- 
ville class. 

Clubs — A number of social, political, and professional clubs are main- 
tained. The most prominent is the Commercial club, composed of the busi- 
ness men and occupying a magnificent eight-story building of its own. 
Among the noted political clubs are. The Columbia and Marion, Republican, 
and Gray, Democratic. The ladies have a club and occupy their own build- 
ing, the Propylaeum, a beautiful stone structure. Das Deutsche Haus is the 
finest club building in the city. There are a number of literary clubs, but 
none of them owning their own club house. 

Hotels and Cafes — For a city of its size Indianapolis is well supplied with 
hotels. Three of them, at least, have a reputation throughout the entire 
country. The Deniso^i, for several years, has been known as the Republican 
headquarters, while the Grand has been that of the Democrats. The Bates 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



149 



house has long been known as one of the first hotels in the West. Hotel 
English, which has just been remodeled, is now one of the most attractive 
hotels in the state. There are also the Spencer House and Hotel Normandie, 
which are also popular hostelries. Prominent among a large number of res- 
taurants mav be mentioned the Commercial Club restaurant and the Nor- 
mandie Cafe, where the service is good and at moderate rates. In addition to 
these are a number of smaller hotels, all well kept and well patronized. 

Thoroughfares, Parks and Adorn- 
ments — Indianapolis is vet too voung a 
citv to be expected to have done very 
much in the way of adornment, but it can 
lav claim to some as handsome streets as 
anv city in the country. At the original 
platting, with the evident intent to give 
the people plenty of light and air, the 
streets were made very broad. In some of 
the later additions to the city the streets 
have been somewhat narrowed, for the 
purpose of reducing the cost of maintain- 
ing them, but still they are broad enough 
to give plenty of room for abundant shade 
and adornment. 

Washington Street is the main street 
of tlie city running east and west. It is 
120 feet from curb to curb, with sidewalks 
of proportionate width. Along this street 
from Capitol avenue, on the west, to Ala- 
bama, on the east, is conducted the lead- 
ing retail trade of the city. It is crossed 
at right angles by numerous streets and 
from it running to the southeast and to 
the southwest are two broad avenues. 
Many of the business blocks are of mod- 
ern style and structure and some of them 
are very imposing in appearance. The 
extreme width of the street and the side- 
walks makes it a grand avenue for par- 
ades. Notwithstanding the retail business 
transacted on tlje street is very large it 
never has the appearance of being crowded. This, with nearly all the prin- 
cipal streets of the city, is paved with asphaltum, but some of the residence 
streets are paved with cedar blocks, and a few with brick. 

Meridian Street is divided into two parts, north and south, the dividing 
line being Washington street. It is the center street of the original plat of 
the city, and extends from the extreme southern part to the extreme north- 




CROWNING FIGURE SOLDIERS 
AND sailors' monument. 



1 50 // )'.'/"- 1 yS HA NDBOOK OF INDIA NA POLLS. 

crn. a distance of ncarls- five miles. South Meridian street iroin Washington 
to the Union railway tracks is devoted almost exclusivelv to the wholesale 
trade. Nearlvall the buildings are of modern style and conveniences. North 
Meridian street from Ohio to the extreme northern limit of the city is de- 
voted to residences and churches. It is beautifully shaded throughout its en- 
tire length, and in the summer time presents a beautiful woodland scene. 
The residences are all set back some distance from the street, having well 
shaded and well cared for lawns in front of them, giving to each one of them 
a villa-like appearance. OtJier notable residence streets are Pennsylvania,, 
Delaware, Alabama, Broadway, Park avenue. College avenue and Capitol 
avenue North. 

Adornments — We might well class the beautiful shade trees of the streets 
and the picturesque lawns of the residences as a part of the adornment to 
the citv. In these two particulars no city in the country surpasses Indian- 
apolis. Washington surpasses it in shaded streets, but that beautiful city 
woefullv lacks the lawns in front of the residences. Nowhere in Indianapo- 
lis are found those long rows of houses, built all alike, and fronting directly 
on the street, but nearly every residence sits on a lawn of its own with fresh. 
air and light all around it, thus adding to the health and comfort of the 
people and the beautv of the citv. 

The Indiana State Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument— Indianapolis has 
the proud distinction of containing the first monument ever erected directly 
in honor of the private soldier. It is also one of the few real works of art in 
this line to be found in America. It is not a plain and unsightly shaft like 
that on Bunker Hill or in Washington City, but is a beautiful obelisk of ar- 
tistic design. It was designed by Bruno Schmidt, the great German archi- 
tect. Its construction was authorized by an act of the general assembly of 
the state of Indiana, and passed at the session of 1SS7. This act appropriated 
the sum of $200,000 to defray the cost of erection, and empowered certain of 
the state officers to appoint five commissioners who should have charge of 
the work. In addition to the amount appropriated by the legislature, the 
sum raised by the monument committee of the G. A. R. was paid over to the 
commissioners to be expended by them. In 1891 the state legislature made 
a further appropriation of $100,000 to aid in the construction. The monu- 
ment is situated in the very heart of the city on a circle of ground that was 
originally designed for the residence of the governor. It is constructed of 
Indiana oolitic limestone. The park in which it stands has an area of 3 and 
iVff acres, and lies at the intersection of Meridian and Market streets. It is 
surrounded by a circular street, paved with asphalt. There are four ap- 
proaches to the monument from the surrounding street, the approaches on 
the north and south sides leading directly to the stairway by which the ter- 
race surrounding the base of the pedestal shaft is reached. The monument, 
including crowning figure, is 268 feet in height. The top of the monument is 
reached by an elevator and stairway from the base of the interior of the 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



153 



shaft. A magnificent view of the city of Indianapolis and the surrounding 
country is obtained from the top of the monument. 

Morton Statue — In front of the soldiers' monument and facing southward 

stands a fine bronze statue of Oliver P. Morton, the great war governor of 

the state. It was erected bv the voluntar_y subscriptions of the people in 1884. 

The designer was Franklin Simmons, of Rome, Italy, and it was cast there. 

Geo. Rogers Clark Status — At the western entrance of Monument Circle 

is a bronze statue of Gen. 
George Rogers Clark, the 
great hero of Kaskaskia 
and Vincennes. It was 
erected by the state as an 
accompaniment of the so'- 
diers' monument. 

James Whitcomb Stat- 
ue — At the North entrance 
of the circle stands a bronze 
statue of Governor James 
Whitcomb, who was gov- 
ernor of the state durmg 
the Mexican war, and was 
long one of its most dis- 
tinguished citizens. It was 
erected at the expense of 
the state. 

William Henry Harri- 
son Statue — Facing the 
east is another of the group 
of the four distinguished 
citizens chosen to accom- 
pany this great monument 
to the Indiana soldiery. 
It is a bronze statue of Gen. 
William Henry Harrison, 
who for many years was 
governor of the Indiana 
Territory, and who com- 
manded at the battle of 
Tippecanoe, and wlio after- 
wards became president of the United States. The designer of this, the Har- 
rison and Clark statues, was John H. Mahoney, of Indianapolis. 

Schuyler Colfax Statue — The first citizen of Indiana to reach the vice- 
presidential chair was Schuyler Colfax, who had served three terms as 
speaker of the national house of representatives. He was a leading member 
of the Odd Fellows, and to his memory that organization has erected a bronze 




DEITCH MAUSOLEl'M — ^JEWISH CEMETERY. 



154 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

statue in University Park. It was erected in 1SS7. Tlie designer was Laredo 
Taft of Chicago. 

Thomas A. Hendricks Statue— Governor, senator and vice-president 
of the United States, Thomas A. Hendricks was one of the distinguished 
sons of Indiana, and to him the people of the state have erected a bronze 
statue in the southeast corner of the state-house grounds. It was erected by 
popular subscription, and unveiled in July, 1890. The statue itself is four- 
teen feet six inches high, and the monument as a whole has a height of thirty- 
eight feet six inches. The statue is of bronze; the pedestal is of Bavano gran- 
ite from the quarries at lake Maggiore, Italy. Two allegorical statues rep- 
resenting "History" and "Peace" stand upon the base of the monument to 
its right and left. The monument was designed by R. H. Parks, of Florence, 
Italy. 

Military Park lies between New York street and the Indiana Central 
Canal on tlie north and south, and West and Blackford streets on the east and 
west, and includes fourteen acres. In the early days of the city's history it was 
known as the "Military Reservation," and was the place where the militia 
musters were held. All the military companies of the city during the pio- 
neer days camped and drilled there, and at the time of the Blackhawk out- 
break 300 Indiana militia camped there before marching to Chicago. It was 
also the first camping ground of Indiana's quota of six regiments under 
President Lincoln's first call for troops, and throughout the war it was used 
as a camp ground. The park was then known as Camp Sullivan. Many of 
the old forest trees still stand, with some hundreds of younger growth. A 
large fountain is situated in the center of the park at the meeting place of 
the converging pathways. Reached by Blake street and Haughville cars. 

University Park comprises four acres, lying between Pennsylvania and 
Meridian streets on the east and west, and Vermont and New York streets 
on the north and south. It was the site of a university that flourished from 
1834 to 1846, and thus acquired its name. A statue of Schuyler Colfax stands 
in the southwestern side. Reached by North Pennsylvania street cars. 

St. Clair Park adjoins the grounds of the Institution tor the Blind on the 
north, from Meridian to Pennsylvania streets, extending to St. Clair street. 
It is four acres in extent, and in its center there is a fountain. Reached by 
North Pennsylvania street cars. 

Garfield Park is the largest park within the limits of the city. It lies to 
the extreme south, and covers no acres. It is the most pleasing bit of land- 
scape in the immediate neighborhood of Indianapolis. The principal drive- 
way is over what was once one of the best known race tracks in the country. 
A small stream winds through the park. Reached by Alabama street and 
Garfield Park cars. 

Fairview Park, seven miles northwest of the city, is a beautiful expanse 
of about 200 acres of wooded hills and ravines overlooking White river and 
the Indiana Central Canal. It is reached by two lines of electric cars run- 
ning at intervals of five minutes, and is a favorite outing place on summer 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



157 



evenings. A restaurant is located there, with bowling alleys, boat livery and 
various other means of amusement. Concerts are given in the park several 
times a week during the summer months. 

Woodruff Place, nominally a town, but really a park, lies within the 
limits of the city, yet is not a part of it. It adjoins the Arsenal grounds on 
the east, and stretches from Michigan street to Clifford avenue. It is a most 
beautiful residence park. Many fountains and pieces of statuary are in 
it. Reached by Clifford avenue street cars. 

The State Fair Grounds embrace a tract 
of i6o acres, three miles northeast of the 
citv. Reached by street cars. 

Armstrong Park is two miles northwest 
of the citv, upon the bank of the canal. It 
is beautifully wooded, and a favorite boating 
resort. Reached by North Indianapolis 
street cars. 

Churches and Missions — There are in 
all in Indianapolis 175 places of worship, 
including regularly organized churches and 
missions representing almost every denomi- 
nation and creed. Millions of dollars have 
been expended in the erection of church 
property, and many of the buildings are 
the most elegant types of church architect- 
ure. The strongest denominations are the 
Methodist Episcopal, Presbyterian, Baptist, 
Roman Catholic, Protestant Episcopal, 
Christian, Lutheran and Jewish, and there 
are numerous others which have one or 
inore congregations each in the city. Some 
of the most eminent divines which the coun- 
try has produced have passed a part of their 
lives in Indianapolis. One instance is the 
years of Henry Ward Beecher's pastorate, 
also that of Myron W. Reed. 

The Charities — Several organizations are 
maintained for charitable work, and labor 
very effectively in relieving the poor and suffering. Homes are maintained 
for orphan children, for friendless women, and for the aged, besides hospitals 
for the treatment of the afflicted. In addition there is a summer sanitarium 
for the purpose of furnishing fresh air, nourishment, and medical treatment 
to sick children. These charities are all maintained by private contributions, 
with the exception that the city makes an annual allowance to the Orphan 
Homes and to the Home for Friendless Women. 

Religious Work is carried on bv several societies outside of the churches. 




GEORGE R(J(,rK' 



158 //" i'-V. 1 A" .S HA XDBOOK OF INDIA NA POLIS. 

The most prominent society is the Young Men's Christian Association, 
which has a fine building of its own, and a large membership. It occupies a 
broad field of usefulness in promoting the spiritual, intellectual, social and 
physical welfare of the community. It supports one branch especially for 
railroad employes. 

The Hospitals of Indianapolis rank Avith those of any other city in their 
care and management. The city maintains one at which about 1,500 persons 
are treated annually. A regular corps of physicians and surgeons is main- 
tained at a total costofabout$35,oooa year. In addition to this the city main- 
tains a free dispensary, where patients are treated and medicines furnished 
free. About 14,000 persons are treated annually. The Sisters of Mercy also 
maintain a hospital where large numbers are treated each year. 

Crown Hill Cemetery, covering 400 acres of ground, three and one-half 
miles northwest of the city, in which is the national cemetery in which are 
buried the Union soldiers who died in Indianapolis, and also those whose 
bodies were brought here for interment. There, among the soldiers for 
whose welfare he worked so tirelessly, lies the body of Governor Morton, 
No more beautiful cemetery can be found in the country- than Crown Hill. 

Other Cemeteries are the Roman Catholic, Greenlaw-n, German Lutheran, 
Jewish and Lutheran. 

Schools and Libraries— The streets and highways of Indianapolis had 
hardly been staked off by the surveyor, when the few people who had gath- 
ered here at this embryo capital of the state began to look around and make 
some arrangements for the education of the children. At that time there 
was no provision for public, or free schools, and the only means for education 
were by private or "subscription" schools. The first building devoted to edu- 
cation in the city was erected at the intersection of Kentucky avenue and 
Washington and Illinois streets. From that little beginning has developed 
the great school system of Indianapolis which has made the Indiana capital 
take high rank in educational matters among the cities of the country. The 
magnificently endowed school fund of the state of Indiana, and the open- 
handed liberality of the people of Indianapolis, have united in building ud 
the j)resent great free school system. Just when Indianapolis first began to 
feel the impetus of the legislation in favor of free schools it received a severe 
set back by an adverse decision of the supreme court. It was just emerging 
from the first crude eff"orts to establish free schools, and was getting on a 
higher place when this decision came. Graded schools were being estab- 
lished in different parts of the city, and the "old seminary," wherein many of 
the youth in the early days of the city had been prepared for college, had 
been changed into a high school under the jurisdiction of the citj'. Hope 
was bright, and the young city was buoyant with expectations of the future 
of the new school system, when the courts decided that the taxation provided 
for by the legislature was illegal, and the schools were compelled to depend 
for their maintenance on what was received from the general school fund. 
In consequence of this decision the schools languished for some years, but 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



161 



after awhile a brighter day dawned, and once again the people were per- 
mitted to tax themselves to maintain schools for the general education of 
their children. From that day the progress has been steady and rapid. The 
city has been fortunate in its selection of those chosen to have general man- 
agement and control of this great interest. One idea has been steadily be- 
fore them, and that was to bring the schools up to the highest grade possible 
while at the same time furnishing ample provision to accommodate all the 




HIGH SCHOOL NO. 2. 

children. For the school vear of 18915-6, the number of school children en- 
rolled in the city was 27,663. Under the law all persons between the ages of 
six and twenty -one are entitled to school privileges. During the school year 
of 1895-6, there belonged to the schools 17,094. The average daily attendance 
during the year was 15,939. The school year opens in September and closes 
in June. The number registered for the j'ear 1896-7 was 20,083. The aver- 
age atteridance in October, the second month of the school year was 17,340. 

11 



162 IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

The schools are under the management of a board of eleven school commis- 
sioners elected by the people, with terms so arranged that a part of them ex- 
pire every two years. The system embraces forty-five graded schools, two 
high schools, one training school, and one manual labor school, occupying 
forty-nine buildings, all of them arranged with modern improvements and 
well adapted for their various purposes. The two high school buildings are 
especially elegant in all their appointments. The direct management of the 
schools is under the charge of a superintendent with one assistant. Special 
branches, such as German, drawing, music, penmanship and physical culture 
are each under the charge of a supervisor; of these there are seven. Four 
hundred and fifty-eight teachers are employed, twenty-eight of them being 
in the High School and six in the Industrial Training School. The amount 
paid the teachers for the year 1S95-6 was $296,034,02. The total cost of the 
schools for the same year was $434,372.45. The school system embraces a 
course of study extending over twelve years, or twenty-four half years. The 
years begin at one and run up to twelve. In the High School the course of 
study covers four years. Students graduating at the High School are ad- 
mitted to any of the colleges of the state on their certificates. 

Other Schools — The efficiency and number of schools which Indianapolis 
possesses in addition to those belonging to the public school systeni is also a 
matter of pride and importance. Several schools of music are conducted 
where pupils are brought by eminent instructors to the highest degree of 
skill and knowledge to which they are capable. In the Indianapolis School 
of Arc, painting, sketching, pen-drawing and modeling are taught by capable 
artists. This school is maintained and controlled by an association of liberal 
citizens. The schools which are connected with the Catholic churches are 
popular and attended by many pupils from distant parts of the country, 
notably, St. John's and St. Mary's academies. The Knickerbacker Hall, 
diocesan school for girls, is also a high class academy, and there are schools 
of elocution, of stenography, telegraphy, business colleges and others in 
great number. For literary culture the people of Indianapolis have the ad- 
vantage of two large and several small but very valuable libraries. 

The State Library was started soon after Indiana became a state, but for 
several years it met with but little encouragement from the legislature, and 
through carelessness and neglect many of its most valuable books were lost 
or destroyed. Within the last few years, however, the legislature has been 
much more liberal in furnishing means for the purchase of new books and 
caring for the library. The library occupies several elegantly appointed 
rooms in the state-house, and ample accommodations are provided for those 
who desire to consult the works contained therein. It has been unfortunate 
that the position of state librarian was for many years made a political mat- 
ter, the librarian being elected by the legislature, thus making frequent 
changes. The authorities of the state have at last been brought to recognize 
that competent librarians are very scarce, and that when one is obtained it is 
much better to hold on to that one than to change because of political prefer- 



HYMAX'S IIASDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 165 

ences. The library contains 26,000 volumes, and a large number of pamph- 
lets. 

Public Library is of much more recent origin than the state librarv, and 
has already reached proportions which make it one of the best in the west. 
It was established in 1S73 under the authority of the school commissioners. 
It occupies a handsome stone building erected for its use by the citv. It has 
connected with it a reading room for consulting the books, and for the use of 
those who desire to read the papers and periodicals kept there for that pur- 
pose. The reading room is well lighted and ventilated, and is kept open 
from 9 A. M. until 9 P. M. on each day of the week. Any citizen is entitled 
to withdraw books from the library for home reading. The whole is under 
the control of the board of school commissioners. Sub-libraries were es- 
tablished the latter part of 1S96 in various parts of the city, each being sup- 
plied with 1,000 volumes, and the newspaper and magazines and reading 
room accommodations for 150 persons. Beside these there are ten delivery 
stations where books are delivered to and received from the patrons of the 
librarv. There are 65,000 volumes in the library. Additions are made 
monthly by the purchase of new books, about $6,000 being expended annu- 
ally for this purpose. 

Agricultural Library of the state board of agriculture, located in the state- 
house, contains about 1,200 volumes. 

Law Library of the Indianapolis bar association, established in iSSo, con- 
tains about 3,000 volumes. It is located in the Marion count}' court-house. 

Marion County Library, located in the court-house, was established in 
1S44, and contains 3,800 volumes. It is open on Saturdays. 

State Law Library, which was separated from the state library in 1S67, 
contains 3^000 volumes. It is located in the st;ite-house. 

Horticultural Library, of the State Horticultural Society, in the state-house, 
contains over 500 volumes. 

Other Libraries are Butler University library, at Irvington, the St. 
Alovsius, St. Cecilia, Y. INI. C. A., and excellent special libraries in the 
difterent medical colleges. 

Mayors of Indianapolis were as follows: Samuel Henderson, 1S47-1S49; 
Horatio C. Newcomb, 1S49-1S51; Caleb Scudder, 1S51-1854; James McCready, 
1S54-1S56; Henry F. West, 1S56; Charles Conlon, 1856; William J. Wallace, 
1856-1858; Samuel D. Maxwell, 1858-1863; John Caven, 1863-1867; Daniel 
Macauley, 1867-1873; James L. Mitchell, 1873-1875; John Caven, 1875-18S1; 
Daniel W. Grubbs, 1SS1-1SS4; J. L. McMasters, 1SS4-1886; Caleb S. Denny, 
1SS6-1S90; Thomas L. Sullivan, 1890-1893; Caleb S. Denny, 1893-1896; 
Thomas Taggart, 1S96. 

A Convention City— Indianapolis is fast taking high rank in popular Uivor 
as a place for holding conventions. Its railroad facilities make it readily 
reached from all parts of the country, and its fine hotel accommodations 
eminently fit it for taking care of delegates and others who attend conven- 
tions. At one time or another all the great organizations of the country, 



166 HY3TAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

those of labor and of the various branches of business, have held their meet- 
ings here. Scientific and educational, religious and professional bodi.,s look 
to Indianapolis as the most desirable place in which to hold their annual 
gatherings. It has also assumed importance with political parties for con- 
vention purposes. In 1SS4 the Greenback-Labor party held its national con- 
vention here, and nominated Gen. Benjamin F. Butler as its candidate for 
president. Four years later the Prohibitionists selected Indianapolis as the 
place for holding their national convention. The most important political 
gathering ever held in the city, and in some respects the most important ever 
held in the country, was that of 1S96, when a great division of the Demo- 
cratic party declared it could not support the party candidates for president 
and vice-president, and determined to put forth a new ticket. The party 
proper had declared in favor of the unlimited coinage of silver, and against 
that declaration a large number of the leaders of the party revolted. The 
revolt finally assumed shape, those of Indiana taking the lead. After numer- 
ous consultations it was determined to hold a national convention, adopt a 
platform and nominate a ticket. Indianapolis was chosen as the place for 
holding the convention, and it is doubtful if ever a political gathering called 
together more distinguished men than did the sound money convention of 
1S96. There was no concealment of the object of the gathering. It was not 
claimed that the ticket to be nominated would have any reasonable prospect 
of success, and the only object in putting it forth was to secure the defeat of 
their party candidate who stood on a platform they believed to be dangerous 
to the prosperity of the country. 

In January, 1897, the Monetary' Convention was held in Indianapolis. It 
was not of a party nature, but was practically the outgrowth of the late 
political contest. It was a gathering to take into consideration the best 
method of reforming the currency and banking svstem of the country, and 
thereby putting the business of the country on a stable foundation. It 
was attended by the ablest financiers and business leaders of the country, 
and a plan was developed for submission to the consideration of congress. 
All these gatherings liberally advertise Indianapolis, and tend to advance 
her growth and prosperity. Nearlv 400 conventions are held every year in 
this city. 

The Indianapolis Light and Power Co. — In June, iSSi, the Indianapolis 
Light and Power Company commenced the erection of an arc light plant on 
South Pennsylvania street, with an immediate capacity of 180 lights and 
room for as many more. This was the first central station in Indiana, one 
of the first in the west, and, indeed, among the first in the world. The com- 
pany had great difficulty and delay in procuring a franchise from the city, as 
the council had but little confidence in it, and when the franchise was finally 
granted it was cautiously termed: "The So-Called Electric Light." Tiie 
first lights were turned on in the Union depot, January 12, 18S2. In June, 
iSSi, the company proposed to the council to light the entire city with elec- 
tricity, agreeing to furnish six times the light it was then receiving, for ten 







■^r } '->. 



iii 



«9» ««» » Kt^' [['Jiff 



%Liii4ii 




LF.MCKE BUILDING. 



HYMAN'S HAXDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 169 

per cent, less than the city was then paying, but. the ofter Avas rejected, and 
in August of the same year, nearly the same ofter was made and again re- 
jected. This was the first offer ever made in the world to light an entire citv 
with electricity. In August, 18S2, the company made a third ofter to lia^ht 
the city, agreeing to furnish ten times the .light it was receiving for 16 per 
cent, less than it was paying, and this ofter was also rejected. Had it been 
accepted in the very infancy of electric lighting, Indianapolis would have 
had the distinction of being the first city in the world to be entirclv li"-hted 
by electricity, at the same time saving over .$10,000 a year by so doin". In 
1SS6 the company erected five towers, one in the circle, 153 feet high, and one 




FOWER PLANT INDIANAPOLIS LIUHT .\ N D I'UWLR CO. 



each at the corners looking out the four avenues, and lighted them several 
months without charge. Experience proved that the practically useful way 
to light a city is by lamps suspended from mast-arms at each street crossing, 
and Indianapolis is so lighted. In 1S92 the company obtained a ten-year 
contract for lighting the city, and the city now has S24 lights; West Indian- 
polis. 57; Ilaughville, 30; Mount Jackson, 7. The price paid is $85 per lamp 
per year, and the company pays a special tax of five per cent, on its gross 
receipts, which makes the lights cost only about $78 per year, which makes 
the cost of each light about $69 per year less than the average price paid in 
the United States in other cities of like rank, and twenty per cent, less than 



170 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Avhat it costs some cities lighting themselves, merely for labor and consuma- 
ble supplies, leaving out water supply, insurance, taxes not received, interest 
on the investment and that important factor of loss, depreciation, so often lost 
sight of. 

In some recent investigations in other cities to determine the advisability 
of municipal ownership, they all select Indianapolis as obtaining its light on 
more favorable conditions than any other of its rank, and much more so than 
most. It is now costing the city only about as much while receiving about 
thirty times the volume of light as it did to light with gas when the city con- 
tained only about one-third its present territory, and, in addition, the electric 




INTERIOR VIEW OF POWER HOL'SE INDIANAPOLIS LIGHT AND POWER CO. 

lights are i)rompt]_\- turned on when cloudy, even though the moon be full. 
The company's new station on Kentucky avenue is about seven hundred 
yards from the business center; is one of the finest in the world, and among 
the largest, and with capacity for almost indefinite expansion. Owning the 
entire block, and surrounded by wide streets effectually protecting it from ex- 
ternal fire, and internally is almost entirely fire-proof, and, with perfect light 
and ventilation, securing the greatest comfort to the employes — something so 
frequently neglected. It is equipped with everything of the best to date — 
with Sterling non-explosive boilers, three Hamilton-Corliss compound con- 
densing engines of the most perfect type, and with a combined power of 
2,000 horse-power and a capacity of 2.100 2,000-C. P. arc lamps and dvnamos 






■^WPl^lwli 


m'\ 




1 



« lELriAMAi'ou'i \m Hmsrfmyca&& ap' 



STE^ EXSuX BUILDIXC 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



173 



with a capacity of 2,100 lights 
and ample room for more; three 
self-connected, upright Lake 
Erie engines with a combined 
power of 2,000 horse-power and 
20,000 sixteen-candle incandes- 
cent lamps. The lines of two 
natural gas companies run into 
their premises, and coal can be 
thrown from cars on their own 
switch to the furnace doors, and 
having a storage capacity of 
2,500 tons, and a two-months' 
supply is kept continually on 
hand. The company recently 
completed a three-foot conduit 
to White river forty-one feet 
deep and lower than low water- 
mark in White river, and capa- 
ble of supplying condensing and 
feed water for 30,000 horse- 
power. The engines are all com- 
pound-condensing engines, and 
while it might sound a little 
paradoxical to allege that cold 
water is a fuel, yet with condens- 
ing engines this is true, and the 
colder the better, saving at least 
40 per cent, at the coal pile. 
The company commenced put- 
ting in under-ground conduits 
in 18S9, and are now under 
ground in the central square 
mile. It was the first to adopt 
the vitrified tile, laid in cement, 
which will neither rust nor rot, 
and is acid proof and a non-con- 
ductor and not affected by elec- 
trolysis, a combination of merits 
possessed by no other conduit, 
and is now being generally 
adopted. Indianapolis has now 
twice as many street-lights as 
London, England, and three 





174 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

times as many as Cleveland, where it was invented, and there are few plants 
in the world that equal the present capacity of Indianapolis. Its under- 
ground conduits will accommodate the cit-v for a century, and can add to its 
buildings and power almost indefinitely. Statistics prove that in propor- 
tion to effective output of results, lighting, heat and power are obtained in 
no other way with anything like so small a percentage of loss of life and 
property. The company is purely a local one — the stock and bonds being 
owned entirely by Indianapolis citizens. Daniel W. Marmon is president; 
John Caven, vice-president; Charles C. Perry, secretary and treasurer, and 
Thomas A. Wynne, superintendent. 

The Citizens' Street Railroad Company was chartered December 8, 1S63, 
with a capital of $100,000, and operated lines of horse cars for twenty-five 
j-ears. The company was again chartered in April 23, iSSS, with a capital 
of $1,^00,000, when the franchise of the original company was purchased, 
and the lines were rebuilt and exte'ided. In 1893, the capital stock was in- 
creased to $5,000,000. The comp.-ny began putting in an electric power 
plant in 1891, and finished the work in 1S95. This included relaying the 
track with heavy rails, the purchase of new cars and the installing of two 
power plants with the most modern equipments throughout. The company 
now has over 100 miles of single track, 4 feet by 8}o inches gauge, laid with 38 
to 9<^ pound Johnson girder rails; nearly 350 cars of the very finest pattern, 
two power houses. Nearly 1000 men are employed in the various departments 
and operating the cars. The equipment and service of this company is not 
surpassed in any other city in the United States, and all parts of the city are 
served, as Avell as furnishing convenient and rapid communication with 
Brightwood, Irvington, West Indianapolis, Haughville, Mount Jackson, 
Mapleton, and, by a traffic arrangement with the Broad Ripple line, also 
reach Broad Ripple. The Citizens' Street Railroad Company also owns 
and manages Fairview Park, the most beautiful outing place that is patron- 
ized by the citizens of Indianapolis. The park is located about six miles 
northwest of the city, and is reached by the College avenue and Illinois 
street lines. The officers of the company are Augustus L. Mason, president; 
William L. Elder, vice-president, and W. F. Milholland, secretary and treas- 
urer. The office of the company is located at 750 West Washington street. 

The Indianapolis Gas Company, 49 South Pennsylvania street, in the 
Majestic building, is an outgrowth of the Indianapolis Gas Light and Coke 
Company and the Indianapolis Natural Gas Company, which was chartered 
in 1876, succeeding to this business in 1890. The artificial plant of the com- 
pany is situated on South Pennsylvania and Louisiana streets and covers an 
entire square, also owning and operating nearly 200 gas wells in Hamilton, 
Madison, and Tipton counties, Indiana, with an output of nearly three mill- 
ions and a half feet of gas per day. The company is also owner of the Ma- 
jestic, the finest office building in the city. The officers of the company are 
Charles F. Dieterich, president; E. C. Benedict, vice-president; John R. 




MA-'ESTIC BLILDING. 



FFYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



177 




MARION BLOCK. 



Pearson, general manager; A. B. Proal, assistant secretary and treasurer, 
and S. T. Pray, secretary. 

The Western Union Telegraph Company is associated with the earliest 
history of Indianapolis, and to record its growth is to write a business career 
of its present manager, Mr. John F. Wallick. The first telegraph company 
that operated from this point was known as the Ohio, Illinois and Indiana 
Telegraph Company, and the line was constructed from Cincinnati to Chi- 
cago, via Lafayette, over the highway. This was before any railroads had 



178 HY^fAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

l)oen projected in that direction. The office was opened in 1S48, and the first 
mana"-er was I. H. Kiersted, who is still a resident of Indianapolis. Dennis 
Grejjg succeeded Mr. Kiersted as manager, in 1S49, and W. J. Delano was 
superintendent, located at Dayton, Ohio. In 1850 Mr. Henry McNeeley, now 
editor and proprietor of the Evansville, Indiana, Journal, became manager 
of the office. In 1S91 a new line was built from Cincinnati, known as the Cin- 
cinnati and St. Louis Telegraph Company, or Wade lines, with Mr. John F. 
Wallick, the present superintendent of the Western Union Telegraph Com- 
pany at this point, as manager. The lines were operated under this name 
until 1856, when the title changed to the Union Telegraph Company, and 
soon after became what is known as the Western Union Telegraph Com- 
pany-. At this time Mr. Wallick operated the office with the assistance of 
one man. Prior to that time he managed the office alone. As the town 
grew, the business of the company kept pace with it, and more operators 
were added to the force under Mr. Wallick, and, in 1S67, we find the dis- 
tinguished name of Thos. A. Edison on the pay-rolls of this office. He had 
just entered on the career that has since made him world famous. About 
this time the office was located on the second floor of the building at the 
northwest corner of Meridian and Washington streets. Mr. M. D. Butler, 
the present manager of the Western Union Company's main office, has acted 
continuously in that capacity since September 25, 1871. The Western Union 
Telegraph Company now occupy the handsome building at the corner of 
Pearl and Meridian streets, with ten branch offices in different parts of the 
city, and employment is furnished to 150 persons in the offices. Six linemen 
operate from this point. Many important improvements will be finished in 
the near future, notably the placing of all wires under ground that are now 
strung through the mile-square in the center of the city. This company has 
the largest telegraph system ever established. It has 21,000 offices and 750,- 
000 mile^ of wire. The company leases the two cables of the American Tel- 
graph & Cable Company from Nova Scotia to Penzance, England, which 
are extended to New York Citj- by the company's own cable; it also connects 
with the four cables of the Anglo-American Telegraph Company, limited, from 
Valencia, Ireland, to Hearts Content, New Foundland, and from Brest, 
France, to St. Pierre, Miquelon; and with the cable of the Direct United 
States Cable Company from Ballinskelligs, Ireland, to Rye Beach, N. H. 
It has thus service of seven Atlantic cables as well as direct cormection with 
the South American cable at Galveston, Texas, and messages may be sent 
from any of its offices to all parts of the world. 

The Postal Telegraph Cable Company established its office in Indianapo- 
lis, November i, 1S85, with Mr. H. E. Kinnej' as manager, occupying a room 
in North Meridian street, in the Yohn Block. The following month Mr. 
Kinne}' resigned and Mr. F. W. Samuels was appointed to the position 
which he has since filled. The following year the office was moved to Nos. 
9 and II South Meridian street, its present location. From an office with 
four wires and one operator, the business of the company has gradually in- 




soldiers' and sailors' MONIMEXT. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



181 




M. C. A. BLOCK. 



creased until it now has in its equipment thirtj-one first class copper wires 
and twenty operators, with branches at the Stock-yards, Kingan's and West 
End, Board of Trade, Bates House, Fruit District, Indiana Trust Company, 
Indianapolis Hominy Mills, Parry Manufacturing Company, Nordyke & 
Marmon Company, Moore Packing Company, Atlas Engine Works and 
Indiana Bicycle Company. Their plant in this city is first class, their cur- 



182 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

rent bcin<^ produced bj d_ynomotors which are far in advance of the gravity 
batterv. The postal Telegraph Cable Company also inaugurated copying 
telegrams direct from the wire on typewriters. Competition in the telegraph 
service, in some form or other, has existed ever since this most important 
arterv of commerce was developed, and will probably continue to exist so 
long as the telegraph remains a private enterprise. Such keen rivalry for 
public favor as now exists is productive of many benefits to the public, inas- 
much as it results in the best possible service at the least possible cost. It is 
the onlv telegraph company in America operating its own cable system. It 
owns three duplex cables which gives it the capacity of six cables of the 
other systems, by means of which a message can be sent and received over 
the same cable at the same instant. 

The Central Union Telephone Company — The present telephone system 
is the outgrowth of the consolidation of the Bell and Edison Telephone 
The Exchange service has grown until at present there are more than 2,000 
in the city, and connections through the United States over the lines owned 
bv the Central Union Telephone Company, Long Distance Telephone and 
other allied systems. The Long Distance System was brought into Indian- 
apolis in 1S93. The telephone company has spent great sums of money in 
housing their wires in cables, preparatory to the inauguration of the under- 
ground system. 

The Indianapolis District Telegraph Company was incorporated Novem- ; 
ber 4, 1SS5, by E. G. Ohmer, John A. Ilolman, Thomas Taggart, John T. | 
Brush and Charles Farnum. The present executive officer of the company is | 
C. C. Hatfield, who became president of the company March, 18S7. The 
general electrical construction and supplv department of this company' en- 
joys a large business locally and throughout the state. The officers of this 
department, as well as those of the messenger service department, which is 
under the management of Mr. J. E. Bombarger, are located at 15 South Me- 
ridian street. The messenger service, under the charge of Mr. Bombarger. 
has aiTived at a state of great efficiency, and the night-watch svstem inaugu- 
rated by this company has become of invaluable service to business men and 
manufacturers generally. This company has a complete system of call-boxes 
for fire and police service distributed throughout the city. By a unique svs- 
tem in connection with the use of the company's call-boxes, its patrons are 
enabled to call the police or fire department, call a phsician or summons a 
carriage, by simply turning the indicator to a given number on the call-box. 
From twenty-five to forty-five messengers are employed, night and day, in the ( 
service of the company. 

The Commercial Club was organized in Januarj', 1890, by twenty-seven 
business and professional men of Indianapolis, the membership of which in- 
creased within a month to nearly a thousand. Its name does not fully indi- 
cate the Club's purpose, which is not commercial in a sense of devotion to 
trade interests, but is broadly stated to make the Indiana capital a better 
place to live in. Among the work to which the Club has given its attention I 




WESTERN UNION BLILniXG 



IIY.UAX'S ITAXDnOOh' OF IXPfAXA POLTS. 185 

arc tlie securing of a new city charter, tlie inauguration of a system of street 
improvements and of sewerage, the securing for Indianapolis of the twentv- 
seventh National Encampment of the G. A. R., and the promotion of a park 
system and of the University of Indianapolis. In a word, the Club's ac- 
complishment is that no one's thought for the betterment of the community 
has had to be unrealized for lack of co-operation. With a view to perma- 
nence in this eftbrt of public spirit, an eight-story stone-front building has 
been erected by the Club at the southwest corner of Meridian and Pearl 
streets as its home. During the first five years of the Club's history, its presi- 
dent and secretary were respectively Colonel Eli Lilly and William Fortune. 
The present officers are: William Fortune, president; D. M. Parry, first vice- 
president; A. C. Ayres, second vice-president; Evans Woollen, secretary; A. 
B. Gates, treasurer. The board of directors consists of A. C. Ayres. W. D. 
Bynum, J. P. Dunn, D. P. Erwin, J. A. Finch, William Fortune, C.C. Foster, 
J. H. HoUiday, J. S. Lazarus, J. L. Keach, A. B. Gates, Albert Lieber, Eli 
Lilly. Albert E. Metzger. Xithan Morris, D. iSI. Parry and John M. Spann. 
Indianapolis Water Company. — ^January i, 1870, there was granted to the 
Water-Works Company of Indianapolis, a franchise to erect and maintain 
water-works in this city, there having been a law enacted by the legislature 
authorizing cities to grant such privileges to corporations organized for the 
purpose of supplying a city and citizens with water. That company built a 
substantial pumping station on White river below Washington street, and 
was to take water from wells along the river. The machinery consisted of 
pumps driven by water-power and steam, with a capacity of 6,500,000 gallons. 
The pumps were of the rotary character. The company laid one 24-inch 
supply main in Washington street and one 20-inch main in Pearl street, with 
branches iS and 20 inches. This company continued in existence until 'St. 
During that period it laid 52 miles of mains and added to its machinery one 
quadruplex engine of 7,500,000 gallons capacity. The present company has 
added pumps of 10,000,000 capacity to this station. To provide money to 
make the system and maintain it, that company issued a large amount of 
bonds and incurred a large floating indebtedness aggregating nearly $1,350,- 
000. The high rate of interest, with its small patronage, was too much for 
the company to carry, and in 'Si the first mortgage bondholders brought suit 
to foreclose their mortgage, which resulted in the organization of the present 
company, called the Indianapolis Water Companj'. This company provided 
the means and began a reconstruction of the system, and erected a new sta- 
tion a mile and one-quarter north of the first station, and there constructed a 
filter gallery and laid a line from the first station, 30 inches in size, to the 
gallery and new station, which are located at the intersection of Fall creek 
and White river, and placed in the new building one Gaskill compound en- 
gine of 15,000,000 gallons capacity, and has added to the system more than 
100 miles of mains. So there are now about 155 miles of mains in the sys- 
tem. It also supplies the towns of Haughville and West Indianapolis under 
contract with those towns. The company has erected another new building, 



186 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

which is said to be the handsomest station in the United States, and there is 
bein"- erected in the station a 20,000,000 triple expansion engine with all the 
latest improvements by the Snow Steam Pump Works. The company is 
also putting in a large boiler plant of 1,300 horse-power. This is in addition 
to the present boiler plant. The water supplied is taken from a gallery of 
an average width of nearly 40 feet, and nearly 2,000 feet long. In addition 
to this supply, it has 6 artesian wells drilled 450 feet deep. These wells flow 
into the gallery. It also has a filtering bed under the river. So far this supply 
has proven to be a good quality and of sufficient quantity. The company has 
under consideration the erection of a filtering plant, as soon as experiments 
made by one or two other cities are determined by experience to be the best 
form of filtration. In all of its constructive work and plants the company 
has aimed to provide everything of ample capacity and of the best quality. 
In fact, the company does not consider anything too good for its purpose, as 
evidenced by the very handsome structure, which has heretofore been men- 
tioned. This building is 77 feet by 45 feet interior. The foundations consist 
first of 3 feet of concrete laid under the entire building. On this are con- 
structed the foundation walls which are 6 feet at the base, tapering wedge- 
shaped to 4 feet at the top. The building proper has a steel frame, and the 
walls are about 18 inches in thickness and 52 feet above the foundations. The 
outside and inside finish are white brick with bold terra cotta trimmings of 
the most beautiful designs. The walls of the inside are finished the same as 
the walls on the outside. The windows are 24 feet high and are plate glass. 
The gutters are copper and the roof cypress finish covered with Spanish 
tiles. On the outside of the walls is fine ashlar work of oolitic stone for 5 
feet to the water table, which is also of stone. The inside wainscoting is 
white enamel brick. The foundations for the engine consist of brick piers 
44 feet long, 21 feet high, 12 feet at the base and 7 feet on top. These, like 
the foundation walls, are laid with Portland cement. Surrounding these 2 
stations, the company has about 150 acres of land which it intends to convert 
into a park. With the completion of this station, the company will have 3 
pumping stations with a total capacity of 57,000,000 gallons in 24 hours. 
The building has been erected from plans furnished by consulting engineer 
L. K. Davis, of New York, who has supervised the erection of the building 
as well as the machinery. 

The company furnishes water for the city for fire protection, and receives 
$50 a plug, which sum covers water for flushing sewers, park fountains and 
other uses, and lays pipe under the direction of the Board of Public Works. 
The domestic pressure is 65 pounds and fire pressure 125 pounds. It has 
1,205 public fire hydrants in service. The rate to supply the consumers is 
comparatively low, being for a house of seven rooms, including water for 
bath, closet and laundry, and water in as many rooms as desired and sprink- 
ling for 30-foot lot, including lawn, garden and street, $iS a year. The com- 
pany has 7,000 attachments in service. The Water Company owns the In- 
diana Central canal, from which it supplies water to several manufacturing 



HYMAWS HAM) BOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



189 



establishments, and makes use of 475 II. P. for its water power Gasgill pumps. 
The capital stock of the company is $500,000; the bonded indebtedness is 
$1,000,000, which, in all probabilitj', will be increased in the near future, as 
the company will expend this year about $300,000 upon its plant. 

The officers are T. A. Morris, president; F. A. W. Davis, vice-president 
and treasurer; M. A. Morris, secretary. The directors are T. A. Morris, E. 
P. Kimball. V. T. :SIalott. C. Heckman. C. II. Payson. Edgar R. Pavson. J. 
L. Ketcham, John K. Bates, Albert Baker, Edward Daniels, O. S. Andrews, 
John II. Langdon. F. A. W. Davis. 

The Consumers' Gas Trust Company was organized November t;, 18S7 
and has demonstrated how a great enterprise may be conducted for the pub- 
lic good without the stimulus of private gain. Following the discoverv of 




PUBLIC LIBRARY, CHRIST CIICRCII. COLIMBIA CLL'B, WATER-WORKS 
OFFICE, JOURNAL JiUILDIXG. 

natural gijs in this vicinity, it was apparent to every one that it would be of 
immense value to this city if natural gas could be piped into the city and used 
for manufacturing and domestic purposes. The Standard Oil Company, 
local corporations and speculators immediately attempted to secure control 
of this valuable resource, but it remained to A. A. McKain. a well-known 
citizen of our city, to put into motion the forces that resulted in the organi- 
zation of the Consumers' Gas Trust Company. To him more than to all 
others must the credit be given that Indianapolis now has natural gas at a 
price less than one-third the cost of hard fuel. Over $1,000,000 annually are 
saved to the patrons of this company as compared with what they would have 
to pav tor other fuel. About 15.000 homes are served by this company in the 
city and suburbs. The officers of the company are: Robert N. Lamb, presi- 
dent; Henry Coburn, vice-president; Bement Lyman, secretary and gen- 
eral manager; Julius F. Pratt, treasurer; \Vm. H. Shackelton, superintendent. 



190 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

University of Indianapolis. — Realizing the desirability of a union of the 
divers educational institutions of the city, conferences with that end in view 
were begun during the month of February, 1896. Representatives from But- 
ler College, the Medical College of Indiana, the Indiana Law School, and 
the Indiana Dental College, together with others prominent in mercantile, 
educational and professional circles, constituted themselves an advisory com- 
mittee for the furtherance of the project. Public sentiment was never more 
unanimous regarding a public work. Pulpit and press joined in commenda- 
tion ; men of all creeds and nationalities assisted in the organization, and in 
six weeks from the date of the first meeting held the University of Indianapo- 
lis was an accomplished fact. It is expected in the near future to purchase 
grounds for a centralization of buildings. Until this is done, the four exist- 
ing departments will continue to occupy their present quarters. The uni- 
versity will open the session of 1S96-97 with about 1,000 students. The mu- 
tual aid and support that each department will give the others can not fail to 
be a source of benefit to all. And the existing departments are but a nucleus. 
Departments of music, art, pharmacy, technology, engineering, pedagogy, 
etc., will follow as a natural sequence of what has gone before. The Uni- 
versity of Indianapolis will eventually become one of the great centers of 
learning in the central states. The board of trustees are : Allen M. Fletcher, 
president; Addison C. Harris, vice-president ; George E. Hunt, secretary ; 
Herman Lieber, treasurer ; Benjamin Harrison, Sterling R. Holt, Eli Lilly, 
W. P. Fishback, J. W. Marsee, Scot Butler, Thomas Taggart, Hilton U. 
Brown, M.J. Osgood, P. H.Jameson, E. H. Dean. 

Butler College (Department of Liberal Arts, University of Indianapolis). 
In January. 1S50, an in.stitution under the name of the Northwestern Chris- 
tian University began a corporate existence in the city of Indianapolis. 
Its charter was catholic ' nd broad and had been obtained under the aus- 
pices of the Christian churcnes of (he state. Its history has been in many 
respects a repetition of that of many predecessors in the educational field. 
Growth has been slow and disappointments have been not a few. At the 
same time it has been blessed with more than ordiAar-\- fortune and has had 
its friends loyal and generous. It was started in corporate capacity as a stock 
company with seventy-five thousand dollars as subscribed stock. During the 
nearly half century of its existence this has increased to two hundred and fifty 
thousand. Its work and its success have been more than commensurate with 
the support accorded it in benefactions. More than three hundred and fiftj' 
students have graduated from its halls. Probably- six thousand others have 
pursued partial courses of study with its faculty. The financial resources of 
the institution, through fortuitous circumstances and the prudence of the 
management, have increased to nearly double the stock subscribed. In 1877, 
on account of the peculiar beneficence of Ovid Butler, the original title was 
changed and the corporate name since then has been " Butler University," 
until the recent organization of the Universitv of Indianapolis, when it 
adopted the new title. The change of t'tle does not betoken any change of 




INDIANAPOLIS WATER COMPANY. 



HYMAX'^S llAXDBOOK Of JXDIAXAPOLIS. 



193 



policy, rather does it emphasize the spirit which in all the past has dominated 
its work. The salient features of its educational policy may be summed up 
thus: It has stood from its inception for the broadest culture to all who 
have desired it. There has been no discrimination against any on account 
of sex or color. It has believed, it still believes, that the atmosphere in which 
the broadest culture is to be realized is one which is distinctly Christian. It 
was the first institution in the world of collegiate grade which opened its 
doors to women on exactly equal terms with those offered to men. It is 
bound bv its charter "to teach and inculcate the Christian faith and Chris- 




^A ^ ■ t 





ill M i.i.. it|! 

B* [HI B.TM "'fl\ 




MAIN BUILDING BUTLER COLLEGE. 



tian morality as taught in the sacred Scriptures." Lastly, in an age 
which has seen many institutions swept away by a desire for notoriety, 
which has seen schools, meagerly equipped, advertising their ability to de- 
velop specialists, it has not failed to realize the truth that 'specialization' in 
any true sense of the term must rest upon a substantial and broadly -laid 
basis of knowledge. It has never claimed ability to take students fresh' from 
the graded schools or from the secondary schools and make speciafists of 
them in a few brief years. It has discountenanced the idea that crude youth 
is best fitted for the battle of life by a sky-rocket course of 'specialized' study, 

13 



194 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



self-selectea and aimlessly pursued. Rather has it stood for that thorough 
laving of the basis of all culture which in all times has been the real founda- 
tion of true specialization and of genuine success. In point of equipment it 
is without a superior in the state, and with few rivals in the west. The build- 
ings, five in all, situated on a beautiful campus of 25 acres, have been erected 
since 1874. The main college building (135 x 75 ft. and three stories high) 
itself furnishes extensive accommodations for college work. For some years 
it stood alone upon the campus. It contains sixteen large class rooms be- 
sides a chapel seating 500, and the offices, parlors and private studies of the 




LIBRARY HALL BUTLER COLLEGE. 

professors. At various times there have been added Library Hall, the Col- 
lege Residence for Women, the Gymnasium and Power Plant, and the As- 
tronomical Observatory. Of these, the largest is Library Hall (100x55 't-). 
three stories high, of brick and stone, which contains at present the library 
and reading room, the laboratories, the college museum and the recitation 
rooms of the Preparatory School. The Residence is a three-story brick 
structure of thirty rooms fully fitted, as is all the rest of the plant, with steam 
heat and electric light. The Gymnasium and Power Plant is a building of 
pleasing architectural design which offers the fullest facilities for its intended 



IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



195 



purposes. The battery of boilers with the accessories of deep well pumps 
and dynamo and engine leave nothing to be desired as to physical equip- 
ment in the great essentials of heat, light and water. The Gymnasium 
proper is a room 50x30 ft. and 20 ft. to the roof, thoroughly equipped with 
the essential apparatus for general gymnastics and with the bathing access- 
ories demanded by hygienic law. The Astronomical Observatory, while not 
an imposing structure, is thoroughly built, and equipped with an instrument 




RESIDENCE FOR WU.MEN, HL TLER COLLEGE. 

oy the finest makers in the world. The telescope is of six inch aperture and 
eight feet focal distance, equatorially mounted and fitted with clockwork for 
rotation. The mechanism is the work of Fauth & Co., of Washington, D. 
C, and the lenses are the work of Alvin Clark & Sons, of Boston, Mass., 
who have made all the finest lenses in the world. With this equipment 
Butler College may feel that she is making no pretension in her claims for a 
place in the college world. She oflfers to the student facilities of high grade 
in an atmosphere of culture conducive to their best use. The president of 
the college is Scot Butler. 



/ 



106 



HYMAN'S IIASDBOOK OF jyDIAXAPOLIS. 



.f^x 





r-l S H H H 

Q m W P K 




L_.-.. 



vn 



.•sX 



Indiana Dental College (Department of Dental Surgery of tlic University 
of Indianapolis). The Indiana Dental College was organized in 1S7S by the 

members of the 
Indiana State 
Dental Associ- 
ation. The 
college occu- 
pied rooms in 
the Thorpe 
Block, on East 
Market street, 
until I S S I . 
From iSSi to 
1S94 it was lo- 
cated in the 
.Etna Block, 
on N. Penn- 
syhania street. 
During the 
summer of '94, 
the present 
building of the 
college was 
erected on the 
corner of Ohio 
and Delaware 
streets. The 
growth of the college has been steady and constant. During the session of 
189^-1896 there were 157 students enrolled. These came principally from the 
central, western and southern states. The increase in facilities for teaching 
has kept pace with this growth. The building at present occupied by the 
college was built for dental educational purposes. The arrangement of the 
floor space is designed to attain the very best results. Each department is 
amply large to accommodate a school of 200 students. The laboratories, 
lecture rooms and infirmary are completely equipped and appointed. Im- 
provements in equipment and facilities for teaching are constantly being made. 
The faculty of the college is composed of fourteen members. The course is 
strictlj' a graded one; no two classes receive the same lectures. The prac- 
tical work is required and a high standard is insisted upon. Careful atten- 
tion to details in every department has placed the college on its present high 
plane. Its uniform increase in popularity and strength attests its value as an 
educational institution. The college course extends over six months, from 
tlie first week in October to the first Aveek in April. At the session of 1S95- 
96 there were 157 students in attendance. The officers are John N. Ilurty, 
]M. D., Ph. D., president; George E. Hunt, M. D., D.D. S., secretary; Harry 
S. Hicks. D. D. S., treasurer. 



-L-..^ 



INDIANA DENTAL COLLEGE. 



IIYMAX'S HANDBOOK. OF JXDTAXAPOLIS. 



199 



The Indiana Law School (Department of Law of the University of Indi- 
anapoli>). The Indiana Law School, r.ow entering upon its third ^-ear, has 

ahxadv taken high rank among the 
professional schools of the country. 
The results thus far have justified 
the opinion of the founders of the 
school that Indianapolis possesses 
exceptional advantages for such an 
institution. Being the capital city 
of the state, where the Supreme and 
Appellate State Courts, the Federal 
Courts, and the local, civil and 
criminal courts are in session 
throughout the year, the students 
have unusual opportunity for wit- 
nessing court procedure in all of its 
various forms, and the sessions of 
the legislature, which are held in 
the State House, quite near the 
school building, enable them to see 
how the business of law-making is 
transacted. For the young men 
who expect to practice law in Indi- 
ana this school is especially fitted. 
With the rapid growth of the state 
in wealth and population, the law 
of Indiana, while in its general and elementary features it is like that of the 
other states of the union, has developed a jurisprudence of its own. In its 
one hundred and sixty volumes of reports and its numerous statutes there 
is a body of law peculiar to Indiana, a knowledge of which is essential to the 
Indiana'lawyer. This knowledge can not be acquired at law schools located 
in other states. While not neglecting the general principles of the law, which 
are alike in all states, the faculty and instructors of the Indiana Law School 
give especial attention to our state jurisprudence. William P. Fishback is 
dean, and among the instructors and lecturers are Hon. Byron K. Elliott, 
lion William A. Woods. lion. Addison C. Harris, Hon. John R. Wilson, 
William F Elliott. Charles W. Smith, lion. George L. Reinhard, William 
E. Kappes, Evans Woollen, Thaddeus S. Rollins, Hon. John A. Finch and 
Hon. John L. Griffiths. 

The Medical College of Indiana (Department of Medicine of the Univer- 
sity of Indianapolis I. This institution was organized in 1S69 by a committee 
appointed by the Indianapolis Academy of Medicine, under the name of the 
Indiana Medical College. In 1S7S it was consolidated with the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, and the name changed to its present form. As a 
result of this union this college ad.^pted the alumni of both the parent institu- 




INDIANA LAW bCH 



200 



IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




MEDICAL COLLEGE OF INDIANA. 



lions. These alumni now number about twelve lumdred. The college has 
been twice burned out while in session, in iSSo and 1894. Xo time was lost 

in either case, the lect- 
ures being immediately 
resumed in temporar\- 
quarters. As a result 
of the last fire, the fac- 
ulty has erected a com- 
modius and admirably 
arranged building on 
the corner of Market 
street and Senate ave- 
nue North, especially 
adapted to ihe con- 
stantly growing needs 
of advanced medical 
education. Without go- 
ing into particulars, it 
is believed that the col- 
lege equipment need 
not fear comparison 
with that of any competing institution. The faculty numbers twenty with 
sixteen assistants. Hospital facilities are excellent, and will be mucli im- 
proved by the erection, in time for its next session, of a thoroughly modern 
and comfortable clinic hall, at each hospital. Women are admitted on the 
same terms as men, and special efforts made to render their attendance pleas- 
ant and profitable. Although the fact of thirty-six years of prosperous and 
successful existence is a sufficient guarantee of the institution's permanence, 
yet its lately acqiured relationshi[) as a department of the University of In- 
dianapolis is a still further proof of stability. A dispensary giving very fine 
opportunities for clinical instruction is located in the college building. Stu- 
dents remaining in the city during the summer are cordially welcomed. This 
college is a member of the Association of American Medical Colleges, and 
conforms strictly to the schedule of minimum requirements adopted bj this 
association. The officers of the college are Joseph W. Marsee, M. D., dean; 
Alembert W. Brayton, M. S., vice-dean; John II. Oliver, M. D., treasurer, 
;.iid Franklin W. Ilays, M. D., secretary. 

Girls' Classical School. The school building, a three-story brick structure, 
at 426 North Pennsylvania street, completed and occupied in September, 18S4, 
has proved to be perfectly adapted to the needs of the school. The location 
is central; the building is substantial, tasteful in appearance, commodious 
and conveniently arranged. The lighting, heating and ventilation are excel- 
lent. Each room has an abundant suppl\' of pure warm air, and capacious 
ventilating flues. The building contains four session rooms, six class roomsi 
an office, a toilet room, ample hallways and a spacious gymnasium. 



H 1 'MA N'S HA XDJi ( ) OK /•' JXI) 1. 1 XA POL TS. 



•-'01 




THE (ilRLS' CLASSICAL SCHOOL. 



The Girls' Classical School was opened in September, iSSj. Tiic design 
of the school is twofold. First, to give girls a thorough preparation for all 
colleges that admit women; second, to provide higher courses for the benefit 
of girls wlio, for anv reason, are unable to take a college course, but still de- 
sire a more extended course than is usually- given in schools, academies or 
seminaries. Pupils whose vvoVk is not definitely limited by the requirements 
of college examinations may take full courses in Modern Languages (English, 
French, German), in the Classics (Latin, Greek), in Science (Physiology, 
Zoology, Physical Geography, Botany, Geology, Physics, with Laboratory 
work), in History (Greece, Rome, Outlines of the World's History, English 
History, History of Modern Europe and Civil Government), and in Mathe- 
matics (Higher Algebra, Solid Geometry, Trigonometry). The regular 
course of study gives a good academic education. Tb.e courses in Mathe- 



202 HYMAy'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

matics, Science, Latin, Greek. French. German. History and English Litera- 
ture are much more extended than the courses in these subjects usually given 
in preparatory and high schools, and graduates of such schools find it profit- 
able to spend one or more years in this school. Graduates of the best high 
schools in Indiana and other states have entered the Classical School to pur- 
sue its hi"-her courses and obtain its diploma. Graduates of the Girls' Class- 
ical School enter the Junior year of the Indiana University, the Sophomore 
year of the Leland Stanford, Jr., University, the Freshman year of Vassar, 
Smith and Wellesley Colleges, also of the University of Michigan, and the 
University of Chicago, on their school certificates. Twenty-one have passed 
examinations for admission to the Harvard Annex (Radcliffe College) and 
Bryn ]\Ia^yr College. At this time (October, 1S96) fifty-five pupils have been 
admitted to college from this school. The school is unsectarian. Simple 
religious exercises are held daily at the opening of the session. 

The chief advantages of the school are the following: First, the classes are 
small, and the teachers are thus enabled to give a relatively large amount of 
time and instruction to individual pupils. Pupils who do not desire to give 
the time necessary to obtain the school diploma in the full course may select 
from the course of study those subjects which they prefer, and will receive 
a certificate stating the work done by them and the percentage attained. 
Latin, English Literature, History, French, German and Advanced Science, 
are especially adapted to the needs of such pupils; while superior opportun- 
ities are offered for the study of Vocal and Instrumental Music, Drawing 
arid Painting. English Composition, Declamation. Drawing, Chorus Sing- 
ing, Gymnastics and Oral French are regular exercises throughout the course 
in all departments. 

The school is well equipped with reference library and apparatus ; the 
faculty includes eighteen instructors, each a specialist in her or his depart- 
ment. 

In the Lower Primary department boys and girls of six years are received 
and prepared for the Upper Primary department. Boys are not retained in 
this school above the Lower Primary department. The course includes 
reading, spelling, numbers, singing, drawing, writing, simple lessons in natural 
science, conversational French and gymnastics. 

The experience of the school has clearh' shown that pupils who pass 
through the lower departments have a completer and stronger preparation 
for the work of the advanced department than those who come from other 
schools. The lower work in the child's education is as important as the 
higher, and it is a great gain to a child to be identified at an early age with an 
institution in which the course of study is symmetrically developed from its 
very beginning through the full preparation for college. The course is ar- 
ranged mainly with reference to the highest college requirements. For many 
colleges a shorter course will suffice. The school prepares girls for all col- 
leges, and each pupil's course, as far as possible, is selected and continuecf 
with reference to her individual wants. 




ITERIOR INDIANAPOLIS BUSINESS UNIVERSITY. 



IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDTANAPOLIS. 205 

Pupils m:iy gruduute willi diplomas (the full course) or with certificates 
(the shorter course). Special certificates, signed bv the principal, are ac- 
cepted in place of examinations in the subjects covered, bv the foUowin"- in- 
stitutions: Smith College, Vassar College. Welleslev College, The Leland 
Stanford, Jr., University, Indiana University, Purdue University, DePauw 
University, Butler University, University of Michigan, and the Universitv 
ot" Chicago. 

English Literature is studied during the entire five j-ears of the advanced 
department. The girls are divided into sections, according to their capacitv 
for the work. Selections from the standard English authors are studied in 
the most thorough manner, Avith analysis of the thought and language, dis- 
cussions upon the style, and investigations of biographical and historical 
allusions in the text. The drill in this subject is believed to be one of the 
most profitable features of the school work. The composition work is mainly 
based upon the works studied in the courses of literature; it gives a system- 
atic and comprehensive course continuing througli five years, includin"- not 
only formal essays, but also analyses of plots, and of characters, critiques 
upon style, conversations upon literary themes, etc. The books read are 
made the basis of lessons in grammar, rhetoric and composition. The great- 
est care is taken in every department of the school to teach the pupils to 
pronounce English with correctness, and to read it with taste and expression ; 
a systematic course of study in these branches is pursued. 

French is begun in the lower primary department, where oral instruc- 
tion is given daily by means of object lessons. These oral exercises, con- 
tinued through the upper primary department, are a source of pleasure to the 
pupils, and are important in training the ear and tongue, thus preparing the 
way for text-book work, begun in the lowest intermediate grade. The courses 
in French and German in the advanced department are designed to give a 
good knowledge of the grammar, composition, translation and conversation. 
Recitations are conducted w^holly in French or German, and the conversa- 
tional method is freelj' employed. As an aid to proficiency in conversation, 
French and German soirees are occasionally given in the residence parlors ; 
and selections in French and German are given as declamations before the 
school. 

The pupils in all departments are divided into sections for declamations, 
which are given weekly before the instructor and the class. Declamations 
of unusual merit ai'e selected for delivery before the school at stated intervals, 
usualh' at the first hour on Fridays. The preparation for these declamations 
is in charge of the teacher of reading ; extravagance in gesture and stage 
effects are sedulously avoided. The exercise before the school is made avail- 
able for literary' culture by questions as to the author, the style and other 
matters suggested by the selection. The competitors for the annual prizes in 
declamation are chosen from the girls having the highest record during the 
year. Lectures, informal addresses by visitors of distinction, and discussions 
of topics of general or special interest, are substituted for the Friday declama- 
tions from time to time. 



206 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Beginning in the lower primar\- department with the simplest principles, 
the pupils are advanced to drawing from flats of the antique, to the making 
of designs in colors, and to the study of art in relation to historic ornament. 
When sufficiently advanced they enter the studio class, in which they are 
instructed in drawing from casts and natural ohjects, in perspective, in shad- 
ing and in drawing from life. 

Apparatus for illustrating the study of the physical sciences is provided. 
The classes in physics, botany, zoology and physiology devote much time to 
laboratory work. 

A definite course of instruction is given in chorus singing, beginning in 
the Lower Primary department and progressing through all the classes. 
The school choir leads the daily morning singing, and the school chorus 
takes part in the exercises of commencement week. 

A course of lectures on various themes is a permanent feature of the 
school. Some of them are given by the principals, and others by friends of 
the school, or visitors of note. These lectures, or familiar talks, are usually 
given on Friday mornings, following the opening exercises. Parents are 
always invited to be present. Among those who have addressed the school 
are many men and women of distinction. 

The gymnasium has an unobstructed floor space of thirty -four hundred 
square feet and a height of eighteen feet. It is well sujiplied with Sargent's 
improved apparatus, and the apparatus used in the Swedish system, besides 
an outfit for Turner work. The director of the gymnasium devotes her en- 
tire time to the physical culture of the pupils. The teachers of music and 
reading work with the gymnasium director to secure correct breathing and 
standing. Soon after the opening of the school, in September of 1SS2, a 
simple school dress for the e^■ery day wear of the pupils was adopted; and 
all pupils, unless specially excused from the gymnasium work by medical 
certificate, are now required to wear the costume. 

The school residence, at 343 and 345 North Pennsylvania street, contains 
two of the handsomest residences in the city, affording accommodations for 
twenty -eight pupils. A matron and a residence governess are in charge of 
the residence life. Mrs. Sewall has a general supervision of the home life of 
the pupils; she also spends Saturday evening of each week with them in read- 
ing and in general conversation on practical and literary themes; and on 
Sunday afternoon discusses with them topics suggested by the religious serv- 
ices attended by the pupils in the morning. The school residence has enrolled 
pupils from twenty-one states and territories in recent ^ears. 

The exhibit of the school at the Columbian Exposition received an award 
for excellence of careful and thorough training, and for its results in pre- 
paratory work. This exhibit, with the diploma and medal awarded, now 
adorns the school building. 

. Central College of Physicians and Surgeons was incorporated on July S, 
1879. The organizers of the college were Drs. Joseph Eastman. R. E. Hough- 



nVMAy'S IIAXDBOOK OF JXJ)IAXAI'OLJS. 



207 




ion, W. S. IIa\ - 
in o n d, Charles 
D. Pierson, Ira 
A. E. Ljons, J. 
R. Feather- 
ston and W. H. 
Tlioinas. 

From its 
inception the 
•growth of the 
college has been 
steady. Its fac- 
ulty is honored 
with the names 
of some of the 
most eminent, 
progressive and 
-kill fill in the 
profession, and 
thoroughly 
qualified to im- 
part to others a 
complete med- 
ical education. 
The college building, which is owned by the stockholders, is a substantial 
brick and stone edifice four stories in height, with an aggregate floor space of 
13,000 square feet for teaching and clinical purposes, situated but two squares 
from the Union Railway Station and one square from St. Vincent's Hospital, 
and is in the heart of the clinical district of the citv. The college has adopted 
the four years' graded course, with four courses of lectures of six months each 
as u condition of graduation. The H. W. Clark library, one of the largest 
and most complete collections of medical books and literature in the state, is 
open to the students and the alumni of the college. To this collection have 
been added valuable contributions by Drs. L. D. Waterman and G.\'. Woolen. 
The faculty is composed as follows : John Moftett, M. D.. emeritus professor 
of obstetrics : W. B. Fletcher, M. D., emeritus professor of diseases of the 
mind and clinical medicine ; Joseph Eastman, M. D., LL. D., president, pro- 
fessor of diseases of women and abdominal surgery ; John A. Sutcliffe, A. M., 
M. D., professor of surgery, genito-urinary and rectal diseases; Samuel E. 
Earp, M. S., M. D., dean and secretary, professor of materia medica, thera- 
peutics and clinical medicine ; Allison iSIaxwell, A. M., M. D., professor of 
the principles and practice of medicine, physical diagnosis and sanitary sci- 
ence ; E.J. Brennan, M. D., professor of obstetrics and clinical midwifery ; 
John B. Long, M. D., professor of descriptive and surgical anatomy ; John 
F. Barnhill, M. D., professor of physiology ; William II. Thomas, M. D., 



CF.XTR.VL COLLEGE OF PHYSICI.\NS .\ND SURGEON; 



208 n Y MAN'S HA NDBOOK OF INDIA NA POLIS. 

pi-ofessor of diseases of tlie nervous s\'steni; (jreen V. Wo<^len, A. M., M. 
D.. professor of rhinolog\- ami laryngology; William \'. Morgan. Al. I)., 
professor of fractures and dislocations, ortliopedic and clinical surgerv; 
Alliert E. Sterne, A. M.. M. D. (Univ. Berlin), professor of the anatomy, 
physiology and pathology of tlie nervous system and clinical medi- 
cine ; Minor Morris. A. B., M. D., professor of patliology, dermatology and 
bacterioloo"v ; L. L. Tcdd, M. D., professor of clinical medicine and lecturer 
on gastric and pulmonary diseases ; John L. Masters. M. D., treasurer, pro- 
fessor of diseases of the eye and ear and of histology ; John A. Lambert. Ph. 
G., M. D., professor of diseases of children and medical chemistry and toxi- 
cology ; Joseph Rilus Eastman, B.S.. M. D., adjunct professor of physiology ; 
Thomas B. Eastman, A. B., M. D., assistant secretarj^, adjunct professor of 
anatomy and assistant to the cliair of diseases of women ; Charles O. Dur- 
ham, M. D., demonstrator of anatomy ; Thomas E. Courtney, M. D., assist- 
ant demonstrator of anatomy ; Martin V. B. Newcomer, ISI. D., lecturer on 
railroad surgerv ; H. G. Gaylord, M. D., demonstrator of bacteriology ; S. 
P. Scherer, M. D., assistant to the chair of practice of medicine ; F. C.Tins- 
ley, M. D., assistant to the chair of materia medica ; Leonard Bell. M. D., 
assistant to the chair of pathology ; John Kolmer, ^L D.. lecturer on physi- 
ology ; Amelia R. Keller, M. D., clinical assistant to the chair of clinical 
gynecologv ; J.J. Booz, M. D., assistant to the chair of chemistry ; Ralph 
Wilson, M. D., assistant to the chair of histology ; Max Bahr, M. D.. assist- 
ant to chair of operative and clinical midwifery. The board of trustees are : 
G. C. Smythe, M. D., Greencastle, Ind.; M. V. B. Newcomer, M. D., Tip- 
ton, Ind.; G. W. Burton, M. D., Mitchell, Ind.; M. II. Field, M. D., Indi- 
anapolis, Ind.; II. S. Herr, M. D., Bloomington, Ind.; William Wands, ISI. 
D., Indianapolis, Ind.; B. Wallace, M. D., Franklin, Ind.;- Harrison Gable, 
M. D., Ccntcrville, Ind.; E. G. Regennas, M. D., Hope, Ind.; George W. 
Burke, M. D.. New Castle, Ind.; J. H. Ross, M. D., Kokomo, Ind.; L. T. 
Lowder, M. D., Bloomington, Ind. 

The Indianapolis Business University, comprising Bryant & Stratton 
and Indianapolis Business College established in 1S50 and incorporated in 
1SS6 by the present management, is an institution for business training, for 
which definite purpose it is equipped in the most thorough and practical 
manner. It is recognized as one of the foremost educational institutions in 
this city. Thorough preparation is the demand, and it is upon this high plane 
that the Indianapolis Business University places its design and maintains its 
commanding position at the head of business schools. Not alone docs the 
university qualify its graduates to be competent bookkeepers, accountants, 
stenographers, secretaries, managers and clerks, but prepares its students to 
take positions so thoroughly qualified in the essentials of a business educa- 
tion, so disciplined in business habits, and so deserving of advancement that 
they rise to positions of trust and proprictoiship. and finally reach the high- 
est attainments in business life. To accomplish this end, the most judiciously 
arranged courses of study are provided, which, rejecting what is cumbersome, 



I 



// YM. 1 y',S If A XDBOOK OF INDIANA POLIS. 209 

prcsenl wliut is most useful for thoroughness and efficiency in quahi'viui^ per- 
sons in the best way, in the shortest time, and at the least expense, for success, 
in the actual duties of a business life. The universit}- places at the head of 
its departments of study instructors who are experts in their specialties, who 
are conscientious and earnest in tiie discharge of their duty, and who have 
been connected with the institution many years, consequently make the ad- 
vancement of the students their chief aim. The entire organization and work 
of the institution is under the immediate personal management of the presi- 
dent, ably assisted by a large faculty of experienced business educators. He 
devotes his time to directing the instruction and progress of students, to se- 
curing them home-like comforts and advantages and toward maintaining cor- 
dial fellowship between the business men who employ skilled help and the 
students of the university who are preparing to enter desirable positions in 
the commercial world. The president of the college is E. J. Heeb, an edu- 
cator of recognized ability and mature experience under whose management 
the university has been lirought to its present high state of efficiency. 

The Industrial Training School, occupying the block bounded by South 
Meridian, Garden, Merrill streets and Madison avenue, is the largest and 
most thoroughly equipped institution of its kind in this country. The his- 
tory of manual training in Indianapolis begins with the year 1889, when a 
course in wood-working and mechanical drawing was opened at High Schoo] 
Xo. I. The numerous applications for admission to this department soon 
proved the popularity of a course of this nature in the High School curri- 
culum, and the school board of '91 conceived the idea of the establishment of 
a school in which special attention should be paid to manual training. Due 
principally to the untiring efforts of Mr. John P. Frenzel, the idea soon ma- 
terialized. The city council sanctioned the establishment of such an institu- 
tion, and levied a special tax of five cents per hundred dollars for its erection 
and maintenance. Consequently ground was purchased in '92, and the build- 
ing begun in March, '94. The school was opened February, iS, 1895, with 
550 pupils. It has steadily grown until it now has an enrollment of Soo 
pupils. The curriculum of the Industrial Training School includes a regular 
high school course and a course in mechanic and domestic arts. The latter 
consists of wood-working, forging, foundry-work, pattern-making, machine- 
shop practice and mechanical drawing, for the boys; cooking, sewing, hygiene 
and home-nursing, for the girls. Further, courses in stenography, type-writ- 
ing and book-keeping. The faculty consists of a corps of thirty teachers, be- 
sides a number of assistants and instructors, and the work in all departments 
is complete and thoroush. 

The Physio-Medical College of Indiana was organized in 1873. The first 
session consisted of a term of sixteen weeks and was conducted by five pro- 
fessors, and seven students were in attendance. The college has had a 
marked success and steady gro\ytli since its establishment, and the course 
now consists of four terms of six months eacii as a requisite to graduation. 
The present faculty is composed of sixteen professors and five special lecturers, 

14 



210 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



and 71 students are in the class of 1S95-6. The building now occupied at the 
corner of North and Alabama streets is the property of the faculty, and ex- 
tended improvements by way of additional stories are contemplated. The 
Phvsio- Medical College conducts a free dispensary, where all deserving poor 
are treated free of charge. Clinics are held regularly on Tuesday and Fri- 
day of each week. The college has made a proposition to treat a large por- 
tion of the poor of the city who have heretofore been treated in the city dis- 
pensary, and thus by the co-operation of the Indiana Medical and the Cen- 
tral Colleges to dispense entirely with the need of the city dispensary. The 
officers and trustees of the college are: N. D. Woodard, M. D., president; C. 
T. Bedford, M. D., secretary; E. M. Outland, M. D., treasurer, and the 




THE PHYSIO-MEDICAL COLLEGE OF INDIANA. 

trustees are J. A. Stafford, W. II. Drapier, N. R. EUioft, B. F. Coffin, A. W. 
Fisher, Geo. Hasty. 

The Indianapolis Propylaeum was incorporated June 6, 18S8, for the pur- 
pose of promoting and encouraging literary and scientific endeavors, also for 
erecting and maintaining a suitable building that would provide a center of 
higher culture for the public, and particularly for the women of Indianapolis. 
The organization of the Propykeum was due to the suggestion of Mrs. May 
Wright Sewall, who has from the beginning held the position of president of 
the association. The membership of the organization is composed exclusively 
of women. The leading organizations of the city, both those composed of 
women only, and those composed of both men and women, find in the Propj- 
Iseum suitable quarters for their meetings. The building which is owned by 



nVMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXBIAXAPOLIS. 



213 



the association is strik- 
ing in appearance, of 
modern Romanesque 
architecture, and con- 
structed of oolitic lime- 
stone, brick and iron. 
The location is beauti- 
ful, fronting upon the 
grounds of the Institu- 
tion for the Blind. The 
buijding is handsomely 
furnished throughout 
with exceptional facili- 
ties and convenient ac- 
commodations for club 
meetings, banquets, lec- 
tures, public and private 
receptions, concerts, art 
exhibits, and, in general, 
for all social, literary, 
musical and other gath- 
erings for which pri- 
vate houses are too 
sniall and public halls 
too large, too inconve- 
nient or for various rea- 
sons unattractive. Of- 
ficers: May Wright Sew- 
all, president; Margaret 
D. Chislett and Carrie 
F. Robertson, vice-presi- 
dents; Eliza G. Wiley, secretary and Elizabeth Vinton Pierce, treasurer. 
The Dramatic Club, which was incorporated in 1S91. is the outgrowth of 
an organization of young ladies formed to give dramatic performances. 
The first play given by the club was at the Propylseum, where it still contin- 
ues to hold its meetings. While the prime object of the club is to enter- 
tain its members and friends, it has been instrumental in arousing thought 
and intellectual interest in the art of acting. Plays of remarkable dramatic 
power as well as of fine literary merit have been written by some of its 
members, notable among which are the productions of Mrs. Margaret Butler 
Snow, Miss Louise Garrard, Miss Susan Van Valkenburg and Newton Booth 
Tarkington. In the seven years of its existence the club has more than fulfilled 
the expectations of its founders, and has proved to be a public benefactor. Its 
plavs have often been repeated for charity. 




GOVERNOR WHITCOMB ST.\TUE. 



214 



IIY.UAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Art Association of Indianapolis was organized at the home of Mr. and 
Mrs. T. L. Sewall, Maj' 7, 1SS3, and incorporated on October 11, 18S3. ,, The 
object of the organization is the cultivation and advancement of art, and the 
establishment of a permanent art museum in this citj'. To this end it gives 
exhibitions, provides lectures and purchases works of art ; only one vear 
since its organization has it failed to hold an annual exhibition. The as- 
semblv hall of the Propjlseum has been used as the art gallery of the 
association since 1891, with the exception of one season. In May, 1895, the 
Art Association received substantial recognition in the will of John Herron, 
who bequeathed to it $200,000 to be used in the erection of a museum. 
Owing to a contest of the will bv the relatives of Mr. Herron, no progress 




girls' classical school residence. 

has been made in this direction. The association possesses the nucleus of 
an art gallery in sixteen paintings by eminent artists. The present officers 
are: May Wright Sewall, president; Charles E. Coffin, Amelia B. Mansur, 
Theodore C. Steele, vice-presidents; India C. Harris, recording secretary; 
Laura Fletcher Hodges, corresponding secretary, and Lillian Wright Dean, 
treasurer. 

The Indianapolis Local Council of Women. — This organization is a re- 
sult of a suggestion made by Mrs. May Wright Sewall at a meeting ot 
the stockholders of the Indianapolis Propylseum, May 11, 1891. A perma- 
nent organization, however, was not effected until February i, 1892. . There 
are now over fifty affiliated societies represented in the Council. The pur- 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS 217 

pose of the organization is to bring together women engaged in various lines 
of work, and to give their united influence to general lines upon which 
all can agree. The Council has demonstrated that it can accomplish enter- 
prises far beyond the power of any single society. It has impressed its in- 
fluence on the political as well as the social life of the citv and state to such a 
degree that some of the most wholesome laws now on our statute books are 
the results of its efforts. The meetings of the Council are held monthlv 
when papers are read by some notable person on subjects of general interest 
followed by general discussion. Officers: Flora Wulschner, president; Mrs. 
S. E. Perkins, recording secretary; Hester M. McClung, corresponding sec- 
retary; Mrs. Roscoe O. Hawkins, treasurer. 

Matinee Musicale, was organized in November, 1S77, with a charter mem- 
bership of nine music loving women. To their zeal the societv owes its perma- 
nent organization. The club meets at the Propylseum where it receives its 
members and guests on alternate Wednesdays, from October to Mav inclu- 
sive. The plan of work of the Musicale has been solicited and copied bv 
many sister societies in and beyond the state, and the programs have in- 
creased in breadth and interest with each succeeding year. It is the second 
oldest women's musical club in the United States, and was one of five ama- 
teur societies to receive a special diploma of honor from the Columbian Ex- 
position of 1893. From two to four recitals are given each, year by artists of 
renown free to all members, active, associate and student. The membership, 
in iSgj, numbers 275. The following are the officers: Carrie F. Robertson, 
president, to whose executive ability and untiring energy the present high stand- 
ing of the club is due, has been president for thirteen j'ears. Other officers 
are : Marv W. Whittier, vice-president; Harriett K. Lynn, secretary; Mary 
I. Tenckes, corresponding secretary; Adaline N. Branhani, treasurer; Sarah 
T. Meigs, librarian; Gertrude C.Jameson, chairman of reception committee. 

The Contemporary Club, one of the leading literary societies of the city, 
was organized at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Sewall June 27, 1890. Its mem- 
bership is open to men and women on equal terms, and its object is to con- 
sider and discuss philosophical, religious, social, political, economical, aes- 
thetic, scientific, literary, or other questions, in a catholic spirit, and in gen- 
eral to take advantage of all opportunities for information and culture that 
mav from time to time come within its reach. The meetings of the club are 
of a social character,and are held in the Propylseum. The membership, num- 
bering some two hundred, is drawn from among citizens of known social 
qualities and intellectual interests. Among those who have addressed the 
club during the last five years are many of the most brilliant thinkers in the 
fields of science, philosophy and literature. Much is due to the valuable 
suggestions of Mr. Sewall, in his four years' service as secretary, for the ex- 
ceptional success of the club. Officers: John L. Griffiths, president; Noble 
C. Butler, Demarcus C.Brown and Edward Daniels, vice-presidents; George 
T. Porter, secretary; Dr. Charles E. Ferguson, treasurer. 

Indianapolis "Woman's Club (Literary), was founded in 1S75, with seven 



218 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



charter members. Its membership is limited to loo. The regular meetings 
are held in the east parlor of the Propjleeum on the first and third Fridays 
of each month, except the third Friday of June, the Fridays of Juh', Au- 
gust, and September. The president is Mrs. H. D. Pierce. 

Indiana School of Art was established in 18S9 and reorganized May, 1S91. 
The school has an adequate collection of casts, and also a collection of draw- 
ings from old masters. It is prepared to offer excellent facilities in drawing 
and painting from life and the antique. The course of study in the school is 
aimed to be as near that of the best academies of the old world as circum- 
stances will allow, and the training such as thoroughly to ground the pupils 
in drawing and painting, and to fit them to carry on their work either at 
home or abroad. Students may en-ter at any time, and will be assigned to 
classes according to their experience and accomplishments. 




BREXNEKE ACADEMY. 

The Brenneke Academy, corner of North and Illinois streets, was built 
in 1895, by professor D. B. Brenneke. The building is a three story brick 
and stone structure, 60 by 105 feet. It is especially designed and devoted to 
the art of dancing, and no city in the country has a building better adapted 
for the purposes for which it has been specially erected. It also affords 
special facilities for social gatherings, having an assembly hall 57 by 76, with 
a gallerj' sufficientlj' commodious to accommodate 300 spectators, and a ban- 
quet hall 37 by 57 feet. The building is also equipped with a well furnished 
kitchen, and all accessories necessary for banquets and other social func- 
tions. Professor Brenneke came to this citv in 18S2, and has maintained the 
foremost position as an instructor of dancing during that period. 



//l'.l/-l.V,S' HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



219 



Indianapolis Msennerchor was organized in 1S54 bj' Gottfried Recker 
Nicholaus Jose and several other German citizens. It has given in concerts 
and in courses of instruction that have great influence the best works of Ger- 
man composers, and it has been potent in developing the love for music in 
this community. Its membership is composed of active members who are 
musiciansor students, and others to whom the social features of the or"aniza- 
tion appeal. The present musical director is Alexander Ernestinoft". There 
arc other musical organizations, prominent among which are the Indianapo- 
lis Liederkranz and the Indianapolis Choral Union and several glee clubs. 

Indianapolis Literary Club is 'the foremost organization of its character, 
and its membership embraces many of the most prominent citizens of the 
city. Rev. M. L. Haines is president; Louis Howland, secretarv, and John N. 
Hurty, treasurer of the club. Meetings are held every week in Plymouth 
Church building. 




THE INDUSTRIAL TRAINING SCHOOL. 

Fortnightly Club (Literary), meets every other Tuesday at the Propy- 
Ireum. Elizabeth Dye is president. 

Century Club is one of the important literary organizations of our city. 
Meetings are held every Tuesday in the Denison Hotel. Ernest P. Bicknell 
is president, and Herbert W. Foltz, secretary. 

Over the Tea Cups, a social club of importance, meets weekly at S2S X. 
Pennsylvania street. Mrs. D. W. Marmon is president. 

The Portfolio Club is devoted to the cultivation of art, music and litera- 
ture, meets every other week at the School of Music. Herbert W. Foltz is 
secretary. 

The Indianapolis Press Club is an organization whose membership em- 
braces many bright men and women engaged in newspaper and other literary 
work. Arthur C. White is president, and Laura A. Smith secretary of the club. 

Political Clubs and Debating Societies are numerous, prominent among 
which are the Columbia and Marion Clubs (Republican), and Hendricks Club 
(Democratic.) 



220 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



The Joseph Eastman Sanitarium, the first to be established in the State, 
and one of the most complete institutions in the country for the treatment of 
the diseases of women and abdominal surgery, was established by Dr. Joseph 
Eastman in 1SS5. 

The present model edifice, which is solely and entirely devoted to 
the uses of the sanitarium, was erected in 1894, at a cost of nearly $50,000. 
It is equipped throughout with everj' modern convenience, and all the neces- 
sary appliances and apparatus for the successful treatment of the diseases of 
women. The sanitarium has accommodation for the treatment of 60 patients, 




DR. JOSEPH EAST.MAX S S.VX IT ARIU.M. 

and is reputed to have one of the finest private operating rooms in the coun- 
try. Additional buildings will be erected during the coming year. 

Dr. Joseph Eastman, the founder and present head of the sanitarium, is 
recognized as one of the leading American gynecologists. He was born in 
Fulton county, New York, January 29, 1842. His early education was con- 
fined to the limited advantages of winter schools and night study, and before 
the age of eighteen became a proficient blacksmath, working three years at 
that trade. 

'^" the outbreak of the civil war he enlisted as private in the Seventy- 



II YM AX'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 223 

seventh Xew York volunteers, went to the front and took part in four bat- 
tles. Stricken with typhoid-mahirial fever after the battle of Williamsbur"-, 
he Avas sent to the Mt. Pleasant Hospital, Washington, D. C. After his re- 
covery he was placed on light duty, and afterward discharged from the ref^i- 
ment and appointed hospital steward in the U. S. armv. While thus eno-a-Ted 
for three years he attended three courses of lectures at the University- of 
Georgetown, where he was graduated M. D. in 1S65. He then passed the 
army examination and was commissioned assistant surgeon U. S. volun- 
teers, and served in this capacity until mustered out at Nashville, Tenn., in 
May, 1S66. Soon after this he located at Brownsburg, Ind., where he en- 
gaged in general practice for seven years. His medical education was sup- 
plemented by attending Bellevue Hospital Medical College, where he was 
again graduated in 1S71. He became demonstrator of anatomv in the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons at Indianapolis in 1S75, ^n<^ "^^'^s soon after 
appointed consulting surgeon to the City Hospital, which position he held 
for nine years, delivering lectures on clinical surgery during that time. He was 
the assistant of Dr. Parvin, tb.e distinguished obstetrician and gvnecoloo'ist, 
for eight years. r 

In 1S79 he was one of the original organizers of the Central College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Indianapolis, and accepted the chair of anatomv 
and clinical surgerv. After having taught anatomy in the two colleges for 
seven years, a special chair was established in the last-named institution — 
that of diseases of women and abdominal surgery — which he has held ever 
since. 

For the past six years he has been president of this college. Since 
1SS6, Dr. Eastman has limited his practice to the diseases of women and ab- 
dominal surgery. During this practice he has opened the abdominal cavitv 
more than thirteen hundred times, and is the only American surgeon who has 
ever operated for extra-uterine pregnancy by dissecting out the sack which 
contained the child, saving both the life of the infant and the mother. His 
operations are referred to in many of the standard text books, and have been 
described and discussed in all the leading European and American medical 
and surgical journals. He has been a liberal contributor to the literature on 
medical and surgical science, which has been widely translated in Germany 
and France. Dr. Eastman has originated and perfected many instruments 
for use in abdominal surgery and diseases of women, which are used by the 
more advanced gynecologists of Berlin, ^'ienna, and the great hospitals 
throughout Europe. In 1S91, as recognition of his eminent skill and pro- 
fessional merit, the degree of LL. D. was conferred upon him by Wabash 
College. He was elected president of the Western Surgical and Gynecologi- 
cal Association, December 29, 1S96. Associated with Dr. Eastman are his 
two sons, Thomas B. Eastman, graduate of the Central College of Physicians 
;ind Surgeons, of Indianapolis, and the Post-Graduate Medical Schools of 
Xew York and Chicago, who is now in London, Eng., and Joseph R. East- 
man, a student in the Universitv of Berlin, Germany. 



224 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Fletcher's Sanitarium, was established bv Dr. W. B. Fletcher in iSSS, 
for the treatment of mental and nervous diseases of women and was first 
located in North Pennsylvania street. The present institution is located at 
124 North Alabama street and is equipped with the latest and most improved 
electrical and other appliances for the treatment of all nervous disorders of 
women. 

Since establishing a private sanatarium Dr. Fletcher has had associated 
with him in the business, Mary A. Spink, M. D., who has full control of 
the female patients. Dr. Spink has had 12 years' experience in the treat- 




DR. W. B. FLETCHER S SANITARIUM. 

ment of insane women, and has shown by her works what a woman of cour- 
age and possessed of a gentle and refining influence can accomplish toward 
soothing and restoring her sex from its greatest afiliction. Dr. Spink is a 
member of the Board of State Charities and the state and local medical 
societies. It is a rule of the sanitarium to accept acute cases only in rare in- 
stances. The percentage of cures from this institution have been notably 
greater than that of any similar sanitarium in the country. Each patient is 
furnished with a separate room and special attendant, with meals served in the 
room. The fee is from .$60 to!);i:;o per month. Special arrangements are 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 225 

made with guardians for the treatment of chronic cases supposed to he incur- 
able, at low rates by the year. 

Dr. Fletcher was born in Indianapolis, August iS, 1S37. His father 
Calvin Fletcher, was one of the earliest settlers, locating here in 1821, before 
the settlement had become dignified by a place on the map. He was a lawyer 
and at once became prominent, not only in his profession, but foremost also 
in the work to advance civilizing influences, notably, in establishin"- a public 
school system and the introduction of the law establishing township libraries 
in every township in Indiana. 

Dr. Fletchers school career began in a little log 'school house that was 
located at the spot now marked by the intersection of South and New Jersey 
streets; afterwards in the old seminary then located in the Universitj' Park. 
In 1S55 he studied under Agassiz and Tenny, botany, zoology and other 
natural sciences and the study of medicine in the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons in New York from 1856^9, graduating in 1859. He returned to 
Indianapolis and remained until 1S61 when he was first among those to 
respond to the call for troops. His company was the Sixth Indiana, and he 
was detailed for duty on the staff of General T. A. Morris, and later trans- 
ferred to the staff" of General J.J. Reynolds. His war experience was of a brief 
but thrilling order and before his first year's service he was captured, brought 
in irons before General Robert E. Lee, confined in prison, made two attempts 
at escape, was wounded in October, 1861, was tried, court-martialed, con- 
demned to death and ordered to execution. He was fortunately reprieved by- 
order of General Lee pending an investigation, and by a providential occur- 
ence and through the blunder of the notorius Captain Wirtz, his identity was 
lost to the conl'ederates as a special prisoner. He Avas paroled and placed in 
charge of the gangrene hospital in Richmond, and in March, 1862, was 
paroled from the service, but during the entire war gave his best services to 
the Sanitary Commission, the State or the general government. In 1866-7 
Dr. Fletcher visited Europe and studied in the hospitals of London, Paris, 
Glasgow and Dublin. For many j^ears he has been professor of various 
departments of the Indiana Medical College and is now professor of mental 
diseases in the Central College of Physicians and Surgeons. He is a member 
of the American Medical Association, of the State Medical Society, the New 
York Medico- Legal Society and of the State Microscopical Society of 
which he was the first president. He established the City Dispensary in 
1870, and was for many years consulting physician of the City and St. \"in- 
cent hospitals. In 1882 he was elected State Senator from this county and 
in 1883 was made superintendent of the Indiana Hospital for the Insane. 
During his administration the institution witnessed great progress, the 
most notable innovation being the abolishment of restraint as a means of 
treating insanity. He was the first superintendent to appoint a woman 
physician to have charge of the female patients. He has been a liberal con- 
tril)utor to the literature on the treatment of the insane and other branches 
of medical science. 

15 



226 



IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Runnels's Private Hospital was established in 1890 by O. S. Runnels^ 
A. M., M. D., 276 North Illinois street, to meet the requirements of the best 
services attainable in surgical and gynecological practice. After an exten- 
sive surgical experience of twenty years under the most favorable conditions 
possible in the various public hospitals, hotels and homes, Dr. Runnels recog- 
nized the need of better service than could be thus commanded. Finding it 
impossible to secure the best results in the unfavorable environment of the 
old order, the service was transferred to the private hospital where everything 
has been specialized to the highest degree. 




DR. O. S. RUNNELS S SANITARIUM. 

The building itself, very commodious, pleasantly situated, and easily acces- 
sible, has been made to conform in all its appointments to the demands of 
absolute asepsis. It is surgically- clean and entirely free from the odors and 
hospital suggestions incident to large institutions, especial care being taken 
to combine home comforts and enjoyments with the requirements of science. 

All the nurses are graduates of the best training schools and selected because 
of their special adaptation to the work of nursing. They have not the ac - 
quirements of the schools merely, but that intuitive touch and tenderness 
given to the true nurse at birth, and which is such an essential feature of ac- 
ceptable service. Special attention is paid to the abundant provision of the 
best food; to good cooking and a liberal table as the patient becomes able to 
enjoy it: The starvation diet of most hospitals is condemned. The "build- 
ing up" policy adopted by Dr. Runnels is believed to be one of the chief rea- 
sons for the quick and thorough recovery of his patients. Everj' effort is 
made to restore the patient without resort to surgery. Homoeopathic medi- 



HY MAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 229 

cation, massage, electricity, the "rest cure" and every means for recuperation 
are employed to their full extent, thus making conservative work a specialty. 
Dr. Runnels avoids the knife if possible, believing that all other reasonable 
means should be exhausted first. But his natural aptitude, extensive observa- 
tion and long experience in surgical practice have placed him in the front 
rank of the best surgeons. He does all the operating himself and is in daily 
attendance. All abdominal, pelvic, rectal and nutritional diseases are honestly 
and skillfully treated by the most approved methods. 

The hospital has a capacity for twenty patients, and plans are perfected for 
its enlargement. Visiting physicians are always welcome and correspond- 
ence receives prompt attention. 

Dr. O. S. Runnels was born at Fredonia, Ohio, in 1S47; was educated a*- 
Oberlin College, Ohio, and at the Cleveland Homoeopathic College — his 
doctor's degree bearing date 1S71. He immediately engaged in general prac- 
tice in Indianapolis, where he speedily attained distinction, and has since been 
surpassed by none in the extent and high character of his work. Excelling 
as an obstetrician he at once entered upon the practice of gynecology, which 
he has now followed as a specialty for over twenty j-ears. He has practiced 
pelvic and abdominal surgery extensively, and has a percentage of successful 
cures unsurpassed by the best operators. He has from the first kept in touch 
with the best professional minds of the world, having the largest and choicest 
physician's library in Indiana, and taking regularly twenty-five of the best 
medical journals published. In addition so this he has supplemented his 
education by special courses of post-graduate work in Chicago, Philadelphiu, 
New York and Boston, and in Edinburgh, Birmingham, London, Paris, 
Vienna and Berlin. He has been a voluminous contributor to the medical 
societies and periodicals, and is at the present time writing a book entitled 
"Surgical Diseases of the Uterus, Tubes and Ovaries." He is a member and 
ex-president of the American Institute of Homoeopathy; president of the 
American Association of Orificial Surgeons; member and ex-president of the 
Indiana Institute of Homoeopathy; American Association for the Advance- 
ment of Science; American Public Health Association; American Society 
of Electro-Therapeutists: honorary member of the Massachusetts Surgical 
and Gynecological Society, member honorary and vice-president of the 
World's Homoeopathic Congress, Basel, Switzer land; and member of the In- 
dianapolis Literary Club. Oberlin College in 1894 conferred upon Dr. Run- 
nels the honorary degree of Master of Arts. 

The Fox & Garhart Specialty Company, manufacturers of dentists' special- 
ties, was incorporated in May, 1S93. The offices and laboratory are located 
in the old library building, in Pennsylvania street. The principal product 
is the manufacture of High Standard Gold White Alloy. 

Dr. A. R. White, manufacturer of proprietary medicines, began business 
in 1S76. He manufactures White's Pulmonaria and Dandelion Alterative, 
which have a large sale throughout the country. The laboratory and offices 
are located in his building:, in South Meridian street. 



230 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Dr. L. H. Dunning's Sanitarium was established in May, 1892, for the 
treatment of diseases of women and the practice of abdominal surgery. It 
is located at the corner of Alabama and Michigan streets, in the handsome 
and commodius residence which the doctor purchased and fitted with all the 
necessary requirements for the proper treatment of the classes of cases 
to which it is limited. In this respect its appointments are the equal of the 
best sanitariums in the land. It is the aim of the management to make the 
surroundings as homelike as possible with the proper adherence at all times 
to sanitary' laws and antiseptic requirements. The sanitarium can now 
accommodate about twenty patients, but improvements are in contemplation to 
increase its facilities. Since its establishment. Dr. Dunning has found it nec- 
essary to remodel and enlarge the sanitarium to meet the demands made upon it 




DR. L. H. DUNNING S sANITAKILM. 



Dr. Leham H. Dunning is a native of Michigan and was born at Edwards- 
burgh in that state in 1S50. He was educated in the Edwardsburgh high 
school, studied medicine in the University of Buffalo, and completed his 
course in the Rush Medical College, of Chicago, where he graduated with 
honor in January, 1S72. He began his practice in Troy, Michigan, where he 
was for a time District Superintendent of Instruction. He was appointed 
correspondent of the Michigan Board of Health, and while filling these 
duties acquired his first experience as a writer on medical and surgical sub- 
jects which have since proven of great value to the profession and himself. 
In 1S7S he moved to South Bend, Ind., where he enjoyed a wide and lucrative 



r 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



231 



practice. His contributions to medical literature began in Troy, Michigan, 
were continued here and soon gained for him a national reputation. He took 
several special courses in the Post Graduate Medical School and Polyclinic 
of New York and supplemented these courses by studying in the hospitals of 
London and Vienna during his trip abroad. On his return to this country, 
at the request of the faculty of The Medical College of Indiana, he moved to 
this city, accepted the position of Adjunct Professor of Diseases of Women 
and practiced his profession here with a special reference to gynecological and 
abdominal surgery. On the death of Dr. T. B. Harve}', who had filled the 
chair of Diseases of Women in The Medical College of Indiana for twenty 
years, Dr. Dunning was elected as his successor. He is consulting gynecol- 
o<^^fist in the Citv Hospital and the City Dispensary and Deaconess' Home. 
He is a member of the Marion County Medical Society, Indiana State Medi- 
cal Society, and fellow of the American Association of Obstetricians and 
Gynecologists. 




DR. LOL'IS BURCKHARDT's LVING-IX HOSPITAL. 

IndianapoHs Lying-in Hospital was established in October, 1894. by Dr. 
Louis Burckhardt for the convenience and accommodation of women who 
wished to be confined away from home, and requiring the care of a skillful 
physician and trained nurses. The hospital is located at the corner of Ala- 
bama and McCarty streets, and is admirably equipped for the particular pur- 
pose for Avhich it is designed. The hospital has accommodation for eight 
patients, with a corps of trained nurses. 

Dr. Louis Burckhardt came to this city in May. 1893, and is a graduate of 
the University of Zurich, Switzerland, where he received his medical educa- 
tion. He studied in the hospitals of Freiburg, Strassburs, Zurich, Leipzig, 



232 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Berlin, \'ienna and Paris. He was physician in the Children's Hospital and 
the Maternity Hospital at Basel, Germany, occupied the chair of operative 
and clinical midwifery at the Central College of Physicians and Surgeons, 
and is consulting obstetrician to the City Dispensary and the Protestant 
Deaconess' Home. 




DR. H. O. Px\XTZER S SAXITARIL JM. 

Dr. H. O. Pantzer's Sanitarium was established in 1S92. It is located at 
the intersection of Massachusetts avenue, New Jersey and Michigan streets, 
in a handsome residence building that has been remodeled and specially 
equipped as a private hospital by Dr. Pantzer for the treatment of the diseases 
of women. 

Dr. Pantzer graduated from the Medical College of Indiana in 1S81, and 
engaged in the general practice of medicine until 1892, during which period 
he devoted nearly four years to study in several European universities, per- 
fecting his general knowledge in medicine and surgery under some of the 
most eminent professors in those colleges. He is a member of the American 
Medical Association and other well k no v/ 11 ?nedical societies, and occupied 
the chair of clinical gynecology in Central College of Physicians and 
Surgeons. 

Other Private Sanitariums have been established in the city, prominent 
among which are Dr. John Randolph Brown's for the treatment of mental 
diseases of men, and Dr. Frank Ferguson's Sanitarium for the treatment of 
diseases of women. 



I 



HYMA^'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 235 

Fletcher's Bank was founded by Stoughton A. Fletcher, Sr., in 1839. It 
is the oldest and largest banking institution in the state and has been in 
continuous operation since its establishment. Its present capital is $1,000,- 
000. Surplus $100,000. It is owned and controlled by the now existing part- 
ners, S. J. and A. M. Fletcher. The firm owns more government bonds and 
securities than any other financial institution in the state of Indiana. The 
bank is commodiously housed in its building at 30-34 East Washington street, 
the site originally occupied fifty-seven years ago. 

The Indiana National Bank, one of the oldest financial corporations in 
this city, began business as the branch of the Bank of the State of Indiana in 
1857 in a building where the Claypool block now stands, at the corner of 
Washington and Illinois streets. George Tousey was president, Columbus 
Stevenson cashier, and Volney T. Malott teller. The conditions immediately 
following the war not being favorable to banks of this character, the major por- 
tion of the business was transferred to a national bank, and on March 14, 
1865, the Indiana National Bank opened its doors on North Meridian street, 
with Oliver Tousey as president and D. E. Snyder, cashier. Later on the 
branch of the Bank of the State of Indiana was merged into the Indiana Na- 
tional, and George Tousey and D. ]SI. Taylor were president and cashier, re- 
spectively. William Coughlin, who succeeded Mr. Tousey, was president 
until 18S2, when he retired to become vice-president, and Volney T. Malott, 
who had for a period left the bank to engage in railroading and other enter- 
prises, returned, purchased a large portion of the stock and was elected pres- 
ident. Mr. Snyder, cashier, was succeeded by Mr. D. M. Taylor. He was fol- 
lowed by William E. Coffin, and when the bank charter.was renewed Edward 
B. Porter was appointed to the position, and has filled it ever since. Under 
the management of Volney T. Malott the bank has been exceptionally pros- 
perous, and has taken a high place among the foremost financial institutions 
of the country. The paid up capital of the bank is $300,000; surplus $720,000 
and a line of deposits aggregating more than $3,000,000. It is also the gov- 
ernment depositor^'. 

The destruction of the bank's building by fire September iS, 1895, necessi- 
tated the removal to temporary quarters in the Indiana Trust building, await- 
ing the erection of a permanent home is undoubtedly one of the finest and 
most complete bank structures in the country. The building is located on 
the ground formerly occupied by the Bank of Commerce and other buildings 
at the corner of Virginia avenue and Pennsylvania street, and is used by 
the bank exclusively. 

The Merchants' National Bank began business January iS, 1865, witli 
$100,000 capital, its officers being Henry Schnull, president, and V. T. Malott. 
cashier. Its first charter expired January 19, 1885. An extension was se- 
cured from this date for twenty years. During the period of the first charter 
$279,000 in dividends were paid to its stockholders and $20,000 set aside as a 
surplus fund with which the bank started on its new lease. Its capital is now 



236 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



'% 







MERCHANTS' NATIONAL BANK. 



$1,000,000, and surplus fund $90,000. The present officers of the bank are J. 
P. Frenzel, president; O. N. Frenzel, vice-president and cashier; Frederick 
Fahnley, second vice-president, and O. F. Frenzel, assistant cashier. 

The Merchants' National Bank has always been a distinctively home in- 
stitution. Its business has been strictly local and devoted almost exclu- 
sively to our own merchants and manufacturers. One of the features of the 
bank is its foreign department, organized in'1870 by Frenzel Brothers, where 
drafts and letters of credit are issued on all parts of the world. The bank has 
been uniformly prosperous, and is considered one of the strongest and most 
conservative financial institutions in our state. It occupies very handsome 
and commodious quarters at the corner of Washington and Meridian streets. 

The Capital National Bank was chartered November 13, 1889, and com- 
menced business December S, of the same year, in the Western Union build- 
ing, with a capital of $300,000. The officers and directors were M. B. Wil- 
son president, John S. Spann. S. P. Sheerin, M. O'Connor, J. A. Lemcke, 
Edward Hawkins, W. D. Ewing, cashier, N. F. Dalton, Josephus Collett 
vice-president, N. S. Byram, Noble C. Butler and P. H. Blue. This organi- 
zation continued until the spring of 1891. Immediately upon the completion 
of the Commercial Club building the bank was removed to its present 
quarters, which were specially designed for its uses. The bank has enjoyed 
a profitable and steady growth since its organization. It has added $45,000 
to its surplus fund and has $12,000 in its undivided profits account. The 
present officers and directors are M. B. Wilson, president; William F. Church- 
man, cashier; N. S. Byram, C. F. Smith, E. S. Wilson, N. F. Dalton and A. 
A. McKain. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



239 




FITZGERALD BUILDINi 



The State Bank of Indiana was organized in December, 1S92, but did not 
begin business formally until January 3, 1S93. It was incorporated with a 
capital stock of $200,000, and has enjoyed a marked prosperity from its in- 
ception. The officers are Hiram W. Miller, president; Daniel A. Coulter, 
\ ice-president; James R. Henry, cashier. 

The Indiana Trust Company was incorporated May i, 1S93. with a capital 
stock of .$1,000,000. It was the first company- in the state to be organized un- 
der the act of March 4, 1893, of the General Assembly of Indiana, authorizing 
the organization of loan and trust and safe deposit companies. Its heayy 
capitalization, and the character of its incorporators and stockholders endowed 
it with the ability to discharge the manifold functions that a trust company 
is called upon to fill, and from its inception has been successful to a large 
degree. The officers of the company are, J. P. Frenzel, president; Frederick 
Fahnlcy, first vice-president; E.G. Cornelius, second vice-president; John 
A. Butler, secretary. The directors are, Frederick Fahnley, of Fahnlcy & 
McCrea, wholesale milliners; Albert Lieber, president Indianapolis Brewing 
Company, James F. Failey, capitalist; O. X. Frenzel, vice-president and 
cashier Merchants' National Bank; F. G. Darlington, superintendent Indian- 
apolis division P. C. C. & St. L. Railway Company; E. G. Cornelius, presi- 
dent Indiananaplis Chair Mfg. Company; Edward Hawkins, manager Indiana 
School Book Company; H. W. Lawrence, proprietor Spencer House; Charles 



240 HYMAyS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

B. Stuart, attorney at law, Lafayette. Ind.; William F. Piel., Sr., manager 
National Starch Mfg. Company, and J. P. Frenzel. ■ 

The company is authorized by law to act as executor, administrator, • 
guardian, assignee, receiver, trustee and agent. It assumes the management 
of estates, real and personal, attending to the investment of funds, the collec- 
tion of rents, the payment of taxes and the general administration of prop- 
erty. It is a legal depositor^' for courts and trust funds as well as for building 
associations. It buvs and sells municipal and county bonds, and loans money 
on first mortgages and collateral security. It acts as surety on the bonds of 
executors administrators, and guardians throughout the state. It accepts 
deposits, which may be withdrawn on notice, or at a fixed date previously 
ao-reed on, and allows interest on them. The liability of the stockholders of 
the company, added to its capital makes a sum of $2,000,000, pledged for the 
faithful discharge of its trusts. 

An important feature of the company's business is its Safety Vault De- 
partment, where nearly 2,000 safety deposit boxes are at the disposal of the 
public at rental ranging from $5 yearly, and upwards. The vau ts are with- 
out doubt the handsomest and most complete in the west, and furnish abso- 
lute protection against burglary and destruction of valuables by either fire or 
water. Commodiously arranged in the rear of the vaults are the offices, 
where the patrons can retire and arrange and transact their business in 
utmost capacity. P. S. Cornelius is manager of this department, and Mrs. 
Mary McKenzie, manager of the woman's department. 

The Union Trust Company of Indianapolis, Ind. — To no other custo- 
dians are such important interests confided as to the trust companies which 
exert such a power in the financial aff'airs of all our leading and most pro- 
gressive cities. The scope and aim of these institutions is, priinarily, the safe ■ 
keeping and management of funds for heirs, absentees, non-residents and all 
those whose circumstances do not peimit their own personal administration 
of their affairs. The moral, as well as the material obligations, assumed by 
a trust company are, therefore, more weighty than those imposed upon any 
other manner of financial institutions, and it is manifest that their operations 
should be distinguished by the utmost conservatism and guided by a man- 
agement qualified by long and active experience and a broad and comprehen- 
sive knowledge of all matters embraced in the realm of legitimate financier- 
ing. An institution which is managed upon the principles above expressed 
is The Union Trust Company of Indianapolis, Indiana. Although this com- 
pany dates its incorporation back only to 1893, the well understood resources, 
experience in financial affairs and high standing of those to whose enterprise 
its inception was due, at once placed it among the strongest and most influ- 
ential institutions of its kind in the West, in fact, in the country. Its stock 
is held by leading capitalists and business men to be an investment of the 
soundest and most remunerative character, while its presiding officers and 
its directors are men whose names are synonymous with all that guar- 
antees financial stability, and an energetic, yet conservative management. 




FI-ETCHKK S BANK. 



16 



HYMAN'^S HAXDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 243 

The officers are: John H. HoUidaj-, president; Addison C. Harris, vice- 
president; Henry Eitel, second vice-president; H. C. G. Bals, secretary. 
The directors are: Charles H. Brownell, Peru; S. A. Culbertson, New Al- 
bany, Thomas C. Da}'; I. C. Elston, Crawfordsville; John H. Hollidav, Ad- 
dison C. Harris, Sterling R. Holt, George Kothe, Henry C. Long, Volney 
T. Malott. Edward L. McKee, and Samuel E. Rauh. The company has a 
paid up capital of $600,000, and a surplus of $60,000, and the stockholders' 
additional liability is $600,000. 

If the volume of deposits and the magnitude of the interests confided to 
its care in the varied relations which it holds with its patrons in its capacity 
as a trust company, are any criterion of the confidence reposed in the man- 
agement of the Union Trust Company by the surrounding community and 
non-resident clients, there are no similar organizations anywhere which can 
make a better showing. As a matter of fact, this company's services are held 
in the same high estimation by the people of Indianapolis as are those of 
the old established and influential Eastern trust companies by the people of 
New York, Philadelphia and Boston. 

The operations of the company cover a very wide field; they give spe- 
cial attention to the settlement of estates, acting as executor, administrator, 
guardian, assignee, trustee and agent. They assu:ne entire charge of prop- 
rtv and estates for heirs and absentees, paying taxes, collecting rents, inter- 
est, dividends, etc., writing insurance, etc., and they also make a feature of the 
investment of funds for individuals and corporations. 

A general financial business is transacted in negotiating first mortgage 
loans on farm and city property in the best counties in Indiana, and in buy- 
inof and selling high grade investment securities, such as municipal, county 
and school bonds, etc., and in this connection their services are invaluable 
to non-residents seeking investments combining as high a rate of interest as is 
consistent with absolute safety. The company have their offices at 68 East 
Market street, Indianapolis, Ind., and correspondence thus addressed always 
receives prompt and careful attention. 

The Marion Trust Company was incorporated December 10, 1S95, with a 
capital of $300,000, and has all the powers granted to trust companies. Is 
authorized bv law to act as executor, administrator, guardian, assignee, re- 
ceiver, depository of money, trustee under wills or by appointment of court, 
and agent for individuals and corporations. It acts as trustee in cases as des- 
ignated by court and in deeds, mortgages, or trusts given by persons or corpo- 
rations; as agent for the management of property of corporations or persons; 
as a financial depository for corporations; as agent in issuing, registering, 
transferring or countersigning stocks, bonds and debentures; as custodian of 
wills, and consults as to them and other trust matters, and receives money in 
small or large sums as time deposits and pays interest thereon. It thus ofllers 
a profitable and secure investment for savings, inheritances and other funds. 

A special department of the ^Marion Trust Company is its savings depart- 
ment, in which savings deposits of one dollar and upwards are received and 
on which interest is allowed on all sums remaining on deposit for six months 



244 



HYMAX'S HAynjJOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 







MANSUR BLOCK, EAST WASHINGTON STREET, 



or longer. Demand and time certificates of deposit are also issued on which 
special rates of interest are allowed. The advantages possessed by the sav- 
ings department of the Marion Trust Company over the ordinary savings bank 
is that it has safely invested a large capital that stands as security to its de- 
positors and interest is paid at a fixed rate and not dependent on the earnings 
of the institution. 

The officers and directors are as follows : Frank A. Maus, president; 
Ferdinand Winter, vice-president; Henry Kothe, second vice-president and 
treasurer ; Byron K. Elliott, Allen M. Fletcher, Herman Lieber, Charles 
Maj^er, Albert E, Metzger, Michael O'Connor, Samuel i^O. Pickens, George 
G. Tanner and Chas. N. Thompson. The offices of the company are located 
in the Franklin Building, southeast corner of Market street and Monument 
Place. 

The Mutual Life Insurance Company of Indiana was incorporated 
under the insurance laws of 1S65, in the name of "The Mutual Life and En- 
dowment Association of Indiana," February 17, 1SS2, by Henry Malpas, Dr. 
H. F. Barnes, Charles Oliver, and other parties. Soon after its organization, 
J. C. Green, Deloss Root and W. R. Myers became interested in the organ- 
ization. 

In 1S93 the legislature confirmed the charter under the Acts of 1S65, and 
in 1S95, the name was changed by legislative enactment to "The Mutual Life 
Insurance Company of Indiana." 

For the past 5 years the company has issued none but level premium and 
investment policies, and is the only level premium company chartered by the 
state. It is now carrying over $4,000,000 life insurance, and has since its or- 
ganization paid out over $600,000 to its policy holders. It has at the present 
time $350,000, loaned on first mortgage securities in the state, and has gross 
assets of $394,313.97. Its home office was for over 14 years located on the 
corner of Delaware and Court streets in this city. 



I 




MARIOX TRUST CO. FRAXKLIX BL'ILDIXG. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDTAXAFOLIS. 247 

In March, 1S96, it took quarters on the third floor of the Lemcke build- 
ing, corner of Market and Pennsylvania streets. It has branch offices in Fort 
Wayne, Terre Haute, Lafayette, and numerous other cities in the state. It 
is also doing business in Pennsylvania, with headquarters at Pittsburc'h. 

The growth of this company has not been of the mushroom order, but 
slow and healthy. It has, by its conservativeness, secured a firm hold on its 
patrons, and is recognized as one of the strongest and safest financial institu- 
tions in the state. Its present officers are W. R. Myers, president ; Ilenrv 
Malpas, secretary and treasurer, and J. C. Green, attorney. 

The Industrial Life Association was incorporated August 28, 1S77. It 
is a purely mutual company. The officers and directors of the company 
are: J. O. Cooper, president; J. W. Morris, secretary and treasurer; I. S. 
Gordon, Alonzo Hendrickson, George E. Townley. and Dr. Henry Jameson. 
It is the oldest life insurance organization in the state, and during its exist- 
ence has issued over 45,000 policies, in the industrial department, and has 
paid to its policy-holders over .$300,000. The company is doing a large and 
constantly increasing business in Indiana, and manv other desirable states. 
The offices of the company are located in the Hartford block, in East Market 
street. 

The State Life Insurance Company. — The organization of this company 
w-as the outgrowth of a popular demand in Indiana for a home insurance com- 
pany that would meet all modern requirements as to the scientific soundness 
of its basis, and the equity of its plans; accordingly, the company has adopted 
the standard scientific premiums and reserves of the American Experience 
Table of Mortality and 4 per cent, interest in all its policies; it is conse- 
quently above criticism as to soundness and permanency. 

So well has the company and its plans met the approval of the best and 
most conservative business and professional men of the state that they have, 
in the exercise of an intelligent self-interest and state pride, given it a support 
unparalleled in the history of life insurance. It has made the greatest first 
\ear record ever inade bv anv company in the world, ineasured by the very 
large premium income, the high character of the business, the low expense 
ratio and the large reserve accumulated. 

The company is now issuing a full line of policies, including ten-year term 
and whole life policies, with annual and deferred dividends, and 10, 15 and 20 
payment policies, with all modern features. It i- now doing business in four 
states, and is meeting with great success in all of them, and expects to enter 
two more in the near future. From its sworn statement filed with the aud- 
itor of state it is shown that the total of insurance written and in force De- 
cember 31, 1895, amounted to $3,548,500; premium income, $70,661.48; losses 
paid. $7,500; disbursements (aside from losses) including dividends to policy 
holders, commission to agents, $39,548.90; net assets, $23,612.58; losses un- 
paid, none; liabilities, none. 

The amount of business secured by this company during its first year 
from tlie best known and most conservative business men in Indiana must be 



24S 



IIVMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



credited not only to a desire to support a home institution, but also to the 
confidence inspired In- the high standing and recognized ability of its man- 
agement. The officers are as follows: Andrew M. Sweeney, president; 
Samuel Quinn, vice-president and superintendent of agents; Wilbur S. 
Wvnn, secretary and actuary; Allison Maxwell, M. D., medical director; 
Charles F. Coffin, general counsel; Union Trust Company (capital $600,000) 
treasurer. The home office of the company is located at 515 to 520 Lemcke 
building. 

Indiana Insurance Company. — This company was organized by a special 
act granting the company a special charter on February 13, 1S51, to some of 

our best known 
citizens of that 
date. Among 
the number were 
included Wm. 
H. Morrison, 
Benjamin I. 
Blythe, Oliver 
H. Smith, Tim- 
othy R. Fletch- 
er, Royal Mat- 
thews, Robert 
B. Duncan and 
John W. Ham- 
ilton, all of the 
city of Indian- 
apolis, Ind., con- 
tinuing tliem in 
office perpetu- 
ally, and mak- 
ing the charter 
of the company 
a perpetual 
charter, and by 
drat name made 
capable and able in law to have, purchase, receive, possess, enjoy and 
retain to themselves and their successors lands, tenements, rents, goods, chat- 
tels and effiects to any amount not exceeding in the whole .$300,000, as capi- 
tal stock; to transact the business of fire, life, accident, tornado, inland, ma- 
rine insurance and annuity and also banking and trust company business. 

The organization was completed and the charter was accepted in March, 
1S51. On March 5, 1S75. 'he legislature amended the charter continuing it 
as a perpetual charter under special act and adding and retaining the follow- 
ing names as members of the corporation, to wit: Wm. H. Morrison, Robert 
B.Duncan, Abraham W. Hendricks, Elijah S. Allbrd, James A. Wildman, 




INDIANA INSURANCE COMPANY. 



JIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 249 

Addison L. Roach, Thomas D. Kingan, Richard J. Bright, John Love, 
Robert L. McKee, George Clark, A. F. Armstrong, Wm. R. ^SIcKeen, bv the 
name and style of the Indiana Insurance Company, to re-organize the com- 
pany and subscribe for the capital stock of the same, and elected their officers 
and directors according to the terms of the charter. 

It was continued under their administration until the year iSSo, when the 
present management of the company purchased a controling interest in the 
stock of the company, and have been operating it successfully ever since. 
The present officers and directors are as follows: M. V. McGilliard. presi- 
dent; Otto Stechhan, vice-president; E. G. Cornelius, treasurer; ]. Kirk 
Wright, secretary; Charles Schurman, assistant secretarv; W. A. Wildhack, 
A. A. Young, James S. Cruse, George C. Pearson, C. G. Dodge and \V. F. 
Browder. The company confines its business c.itirely to fire insurance upon 
dwellings and contents, mercantile buildings and contents, churches, school 
houses, colleges, brick warehouses, hotels and office buildings and their con- 
tents. They do not write upon special hazard property of any kind. The 
capital stock has been placed at $300,000, of which $200,000 has been taken 
and the balance of the capital stock is being placed at the present time. The 
INIcGilliard Agency Company are general agents of this leading company, 
which is the largest insurance company organized in the state of Indiana, 
The McGilliard Agency Company consists of M. V. McGilliard, Edwin Hill, 
Albert W. Hall and J. Kirk Wright. It is the oldest fire insurance agency 
in the state of Indiana, with one exception. 

The German Fire Insurance Company of Indiana is the outgrowth of 
the German Mutual Insurance Company, organized April i, 1S54, and which, 
during the long period that has since intervened, gained a foremost position 
among the leading mutual fire associations of the country. After conduct- 
ing business for over forty years on the mutual system, it was decided to in- 
corporate as a joint stock company, and this change was effected March 11, 
1S96, under the title of The German Fire Insurance Co., of Indiana. The 
last statement submitted by the old company to the Auditor of State showed 
actual resources of $353,078.54, and insurance in force of $5,733,362.50. with 
no valid claims outstanding. Incorporated with a capital of $100,000, the 
company begins business under the new system with actual assets of nearly 
half a million dollars, thus making it the strongest fire company in the State, 
over all of which it does business. The new management comprises Theo- 
dore Stein, president; Frederick Sciirader, first vice-president; John W 
Schmidt, second vice-president; Lorenz Schmidt, secretary, and Theodore 
Reyer, treasurer. These five gentlemen, together with Messrs. Ferd A. 
Mueller, Wm. F. Kuhn. Wm. Wilkins and Wm. Kohlstaedt. compose tiic 
directory. The management comprises some of the best-known business 
men in Indianapolis. 

The Fidelity Building and Savings Union was chartered in December, 1SS9, 
and in 1S91, Nos. 2, 3, 4 and 5 of the "Fidelity" were chartered with a capital 
stock of $1,000,000 each. This is the largest and among the oldest building 
and loan associations doinji a general business in Indiana. The oldest stock 



250 HWyAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

is now being paid oft' at a net profit of 12 per cent, to the members. In ad- 
dition to this profit the stock is exempt from taxation, wliich makes it equiv- 
alent to a 20 per cent, investment to the stockholders. The total dividends 
apportioned to members since the organization has been $377,400. The 
amount of loans in force exceed $1,000,000, and 38,722 shares of stock were 
issued up to December 31, 1S95. The officers of the company are J. B. Pat- 
ton, president; A. M. Sweeney, vice-president; E. J. Robison, secretary; H. 
II. Mosier, treasurer; O. Z. Ilubbell, attorney, and J. H. Slater, actuary. 

The Indiana Society for Savings was incorporated on April 6, 1893. It is 
recognized as one of the most solid and substantial institutions of the kind in 
Indiana, and has at this time assets exceeding $450,000. The policy of this 
association has been to confine its loaning operations almost entireh^ to the 
city of Indianapolis, and it has at the present time in excess of 97 per cent, 
of its loans on Marion county real estate. It has earned for its stockholders, 
since its organization, an annual dividend of 10 per cent, compound, and has 
paid during its existence over $50,000 in cash dividends to its stockholders. 
This association was a pioneer in the movement toward the abolishment of the 
expense fund. It was organized without this feature, and as a result its officers 
have exercised the strictest economy in its management, with the result that 
its expense rate during the past year has been one and nine-tenths per cent, 
as compared with twelve and one-half to sixteen per cent, on the part of its 
competitors. It issues stock at any time without the payment of an entrance 
fee, while its stockholders at any time have the privilege to withdraw without 
the payment of a penalty. It pays 8 per cent, cash dividends on its investment 
stock, and allows interest on such stock up to the date of its withdrawal. It 
has been the policy of the association to pay such withdrawals practically on 
demand, not taking advantage of the legal right to 90 days. The capital 
stock of the association is $1,500,000, of which $1,200,000 has been sub- 
scribed. The officers of the association are: Ciiarles E. Thornton, presi- 
dent; John A. Finch, vice-president; Charles A. Bookwalter, secretary and 
treasurer, and Charles N. Thompson, attorney. The directors are: Charles 
E. Thornton, J. Augustus Lemcke, Thomas C. Da\', John A. Finch, Guil- 
ford A. Dietch, J. W. Sawyer, M. D., and Charles A. Bookwalter. Fletcher's 
Bank is depository. 

The Monument Savings and Loan Association of Indianapolis, Indiana, 
U. S. A., is a corporation duly organized under the provisions and acts of the 
General Assembly of the State of Indiana, providing for the incorporation of 
building and loan associations, and placing them under tlie supervision of the 
Auditor of State. The authorized capital of this association is one million 
dollars ($1,000,000), and at the time of the last report to the Auditor of State, 
on the 30th day of June, 1895, the association had a subscribed capital of 
$523,000, and 1,352 individual shareholders, the shares being issued in four 
classes, viz.: installment, fully paid, prepaid and debenture shares. 

The officers and directors of the association are Walter T. Cox, presi- 
dent (attorney C. C. C. & St. L. R. R.); R. French Stone, M. D., vice-pres- 
ident (author of Biographical Sketches of American Physicians); William 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF ISDIAXAPOLIS. 251 

F. Churchman, treasurer (cashier of Capital National Bank); (Henry F. 
Stevenson, secretary and general manager (lawyer); W. E. Stevenson (real 
estate and loan broker); and L. L. Burr (capitalist and broker), New Castle, 
Ind. These gentlemen are identified with the highest business element in 
the city, and Mr. Henry F. Stevenson, the secretary, is especially qualified bv 
virtue of his past experience and record as a successful lawyer and loan agent 
for his present responsible position. The methods employed b^- this associa- 
tion, which operates what is known as the "definite contract plan," are bound 
to be very popular. This "definite contract" is issued to every applicant for 
shares. There are no "estimates" or "believe we can mature" figures given. 
« All is definite. You get a certificate in which the withdrawal value of your 
shares for each month is printed. You do not have to go to the secretary' 
or anyone else to find out the value of your shares. It is set down in the 
certificate, and you know exactly at any time what your money has earned 
you. A look at the certificate of shares of a definite contract association, 
will at any time reveal to its holders that he can withdraw- not only all he has 
invested, but a definite amount of interest besides. These amounts are fixed, 
and the investor or the borrower can determine precise results before any 
money is paid on shares. In the larger cities such definite contract asso- 
ciations have operated for several years, and are some of the most prosperous 
associations. The figures of the Monument are based on careful experience 
and due consideration of all that it involves, $7,000 having been expended in 
the preparation of tables, and in the gathering of data; hence it is no experi- 
ment, but a fact, and an attractive one at that, for the investor. In addition 
to the definite contract plan, the Lawyers' Loan & Trust Co., a strong finan- 
cial concern, after having carefully examined the plans and methods of the 
Monument Savings and Loan Association, have consented to issue, in con- 
nection with every certificate, an Indemnity Contract guaranteeing interest, 
maturity and withdrawal of each and every share of the association, thus 
making all doubly sure. 

The Monument can be pronounced as safe and solid as its name indi- 
cates, and its unique features are especially attractive to all those preferring 
a certainty to an estimate. 

I. N. Richie, real estate and loan agent at 60 East Market street, in the 
Lemcke Building, began business in iSg::. His business is exclusively de- 
voted to real estate and mortgages loans, and receives his personal atten- 
tion. He is recognized as one of the most prominent and enterprising men 
in his business in the city. In 1S91 he platted Richie's Clifford avenue ad- 
dition, and in 1893 Capital Park addition in the western portion of the city, 
and is also interested in Ardmore addition at Central avenue and 30th street. 
Mr. Richie was instrumental in purchasing the property and securing the 
terminal facilities for the Louisville, New Albany and Chicago Railroad 
Company at this point. This was the most important real estate transaction 
during 1S95. 



?52 



HY MAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



John S. Spann & Company, established in 1857, have had a longer con- 
tinued existence and identification with the real estate and insurance busi- 
ness in Indianapolis than any other firm. 
They have participated in many of the most 
important real estate transactions recorded 
during their long and successful career, and 
some of the attractive portions of the city of 
to-daj are the results of their far-sightedness 
and good judgment, having been platted and 
sold by them. Notable among these are the 
Wm. II. Morrison addition, platted in 1873; 
Gen. T. A. Morris' addition and the larger 
portion of the northeast section of the city; 
Spann & Company's Woodlawn addition and 
other well-known additions. The members 
of the firm are John S., Thomas II., John M. 
and Ilenrv J. Spann. The firm also repre- 
sents some of the most noted and substantial 
foreign and American fire insurance com- 
panies and are the financial agents for the 
Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Company 
of Hartford, Conn., and the United States 
jSIortgage and Trust Company of New York. 
The offices of the firm are located in the 
Hartford Block, 89 East Market street. 




JOHN S. SPANN & CO. 



W. E, Mick & Co., real estate, rental and loan agents, have been estab- 
lished since 1S68, and is one of the oldest and best known firms in this line of 
business in Indianapolis. The members of the firm are W. E. and E. L. 
Mick. The main offices are located at 68 East Market street, with a branch 
office in their handsome modern three-story brick building, at the corner of 
Illinois and Twenty-second streets. The business of this firm has kept pace 
with the growth of the city, and many of the principal additions to Indiana- 
polis are the results of its enterprise. Among the properties that Mick & 
Co. either owned directly or were instrumental in adding to the city are: 
King's Arsenal Heights addition in 1871; King's subdivision of Highland 
Park, 1872; T. A. Lewis &;Co.'s Arsenal Heights addition, 1872; Shoemaker 
& Lippincott's Brookside addition, and Ramsey's Brookside addition, 1871. 
They subdivided Clark's addition to Haughville in 1885, Clark's second ad- 
dition to Haughville in 1886; Clark's third addition to West Indianapolis 
in 1888. Mick & Clark's Haughville Park addition in 1S93, Jameson's ist 
Belmont West Indianapolis addition in 1890, Hyde Park in 1S91, and many 
other valuable and important properties. Among the notable real estate 
transactions made by this firm was the sale of the Denison Hotel property 
to D. P. Erwin. 



JlYMAyS IIAXDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLJS. 



253 




W. E. MICK & COMPANY BL ILDING, ILLINOIS AND 22n STREETS. 



The A. Metzger Agency was organized in iSC>;^ by Alexander Metzgcr, 
who at that time sold out a flourishing steam bakery to Parrott & Nickuni. 
From its very inception this agency has taken a very prominent part in the 
development of the city. After the death of Alexander Metzger in 1890, he 
was succeeded by his sons, Harry A. Metzger and Albert E. Metzgers 

In every branch of its extensive business this firm has steadily grown, 
and holds its place in the foremost rank of the city's like enterprises. 

The loan and rental departments are under the supervision of Albert E. 
Metzger. The loan department has become one of the important centers of 
distributing monev. From a small beginning it has grown until now large 
sums of money are intrusted to its care for investment, both by residents and 
non-residents. The rental department has the care of properties in the city 
and surroundings, comprising a list of over eleven hundred (1,100) tenants. 

The real estate department, under the supervision of Benjamin F. Good- 
hart, has in the past years consummated some of the most important sales of 
business and suburban properties. Many of the largest additions, such as 
Kenwood Park, Metzgers East Michigan street addition, Marion Park, 
Beaty addition, several additions on Prospect street, and many other addi- 



254 HY^fAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

tions, comprising thousands of lots, have been platted and sold by this firm. 
Anaong the larger transactions consummated by this agency may be men- 
tioned the sale of the old Exposition grounds to the state, the sale of the 
Work House grounds to the county, and the sale of the Industrial Training 
School site to the city. 

The insurance department, under the management of Harry A. Metzger, 
has grown with equal pace, and comprises a number of the very strongest and 
most reliable companies. 

The steamship, foreign exchange and draft department, under the man- 
agement of Henry Grummann, has for many years been the recognized ex- 
change for tourists, in securing passage to and from Europe, or in taking ad- 
vantage of its facilities to issue money orders and drafts. The collection of 
claims in Europe also receives attention in this department, and many estates 
have been collected by means of the large number of reliable correspondents 
in Europe which this agency has at its disposal. 

The firm has now in contemplation, plans for an extensive building to be 
erected on its own ground between the Scottish Rite and tlie Indiana Na- 
tional Bank buildings, on South Pennsylvania street, that will furnish the 
necessary accommodation for its growing business. 

Dyer & Rassmann. — The substantial progress that a city makes during 
any given period is perhaps due more to that class of real estate dealers who 
have identified themselves closely with the welfare of the place, and prefer 
to see and aid her steady growth, rather than to assist in those unnatural infla- 
tions so aptly termed "booms." In the front rank in this class, who have 
done much to place Indianapolis in her present prosperous condition, 
are the firm of Dyer & Rassmann, whose offices are located at 31 Circle 
street. These gentlemen began business in 1SS2, and have gradually formed 
the most influential connections and are now conducting the largest renting 
business in the city. Thej' conduct a general real estate business, in buying, 
selling, renting and exchanging reality, loaning money up to sums of $20,000, 
upon first-class real estate security, the placing of insurance in companies of 
known stability, and the management of estates for non-resident owners. 
They represent the following well-known insurance companies: National of 
Hartford, Conn.; America of New York; Phoenix of London, England, and 
Reading of Pennsylvania. Mr. S. M. Dj'er is a native of Indiana, and a mem- 
ber of the Board of Trade and the Commercial and Columbia Clubs. ISIr. 
E. C. Rassmann was born in this state, and belongs to the Commercial Club, 
and held the position of vice-president of the City Council. 

Robert Zener & Company, whose offices are located in the Talbott building 
at the corner of Market and Pennsylvania streets, are the successors to the 
fire insurance business that was established by Cleavland & Company in 
1868. Robert Zener & Company have been in business since July i, 18S6. 
The firm is composed of Robert Zener and his son Clarence M. Zener. Beside 
being general agents for Indiana and Kentucky for the Employers' Liability 
Assurance Corporation, Limited, of London, England, the^y are the repre- 
sentatives of some of the best known fire and marine insurance companies 




UNION RAILWAY STATION. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INUIANAPOLIS. 



257 



C. E. Coffin & Company, investment bankers and brokers, 90 East Mar- 
ket street, was founded by C. E. Coffin. He came to Indianapolis in 1S67 

and secured employment in the office of Cap- 
tain William Y. Wiley, one of the first real 
estate agents in the city. He remained with 
him six 3'ears, during which time he took a 
law course at a night school, and was admit- 
ted to the bar of Marion county in 1S71. 
Finding the real estate business more prom- 
ising, he decided to continue in that line, and 
on the death of Captain Wiley, in January, 
1S73, he opened up an office of his own, and 
by a close attention to business and strict in- 
tegrity has built up a very large trade. In 
January, 1880, he associated with him in busi- 
ness his brother-in-law, Charles E. Ilolloway. 
under the firm name of C. E. Coffin & Com- 
pany, investment bankers and brokers. The 
firm buys and sells real estate, takes charge 
of rental property, makes mortgage loans in 
•which it handles large amounts of eastern 
capital, and represents a number of first-class 
fire insurance companies. In 18S3 the firm 

^-, -,^«„ -.-^»:-- ;„; — ~J moved into Mr. Coffin's new block, in East 

IfMi,....^.... .. ,, , _..........- ^^ . ..;: ,ad I j^iaj-ket street, where it has one of the most 

complete and handsomely furnished offices 
in the west. Of this firm it can be said, that 
there is none other that has taken a greater interest in the development of 
the city. It has at all times figured prominently in all movements lookmg 

to this end. o t? at 1. f 

McGilliard Agency Company; Insurance; Nos. S3 and 85 East Market 
street.-The business was originally established in 1866, and the present 
company was incorporated January 2, 1896. It has a capital of $10,000, and 
is officered as follows : M. V. McGilliard, president ; Albert W. Hall, vice- 
president • J Kirk Wright, treasurer ; Edwin Hill, secretary. This company 
is especially prominent as general agents for the Indiana Insurance Com- 
pany, the Fort Wayne Insurance Company, the Vernon Insurance and Trust 
Company, and the Citizens' Insurance Company, Girard Insurance Com- 
pany, Fireman's Fund, Allemania Insurance Company, Western Under- 
writers Association, Rockford Insurance Company and the Central Acci- 
dent Insurance Company, of Pittsburg, Pa. 

Elliott & Butler, Abstracters, are located in Hartford Block. The business 
was established by Mr. Elliott in 1S66. The firm is recognized as one of the 
leading and most reliable engaged in this line in the city. The members ot 
the firm are :osephT. Elliott and Ovid D. Butler. 
1/ 




258 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXA POLLS. 




THE INDIANA, UECATIR AND WESTERN FREIGHT DEPOT. 

The Indiana, Decatur and Western, with its 153 miles of road connecting 
Indianapolis with the ricii agricultural lands of central Illinois, is one of the 
more recent additions to the splendid railway facilities of this city. It is the 
only direct route from Indianapolis to Decatur, Illinois, operating four trains 
daily between these points, and two local trains between this city and Tus- 
cola, also through reclining chair and sleeping car service to Jacksonville 
and Springfield, Illinois, and St. Louis. At Roachdale it connects with the 
*' Monon " for Chicago with a daily through car service between Cincinnati, 
Indianapolis and Chicago. On this railway are located the celebrated Bloom- 
ingdale Glens, one of the most picturesque spots in the country, and the 
famous Sulphur Springs at Montezuma, with the largest bathing pool in the 
Union. This sulphur water is of great value in certain diseases, and a num- 
ber of marvelous cures have been effected by its use. The company's ex- 
tensive shops are located near Haughville, a suburb of Indianapolis, where 
several hundred men are employed. The general offices are located in the 
Commercial Club building. R. B. F. Peirce is general manager, John S. 
Lazarus, general freight and passenger agent, and George H. Graves, super- 
intendent. 

Lake Erie & Western Railroad, "The Natural Gas Route," connects this 
city directly with all the important cities and towns situated in the famous 
gas and oil belt of Indiana and Ohio, and with its numerous divisions make 
it an important and popular line. The main line of the road extends from 
Peoria, 111., to Sandusky, Ohio, and from this city the road runs to Michigan 
City, crossing the main line at Tipton, connecting with all trains and fur- 
nishing a quick and popular route to all points east, west and north. The 
different divisions embrace 890 miles, as follows: Main line, 420 miles; In- 
dianapolis and Michigan City division, 162 miles; Ft. Wayne and Cincin- 
nati division, 109 miles; Louisville division, 24 miles; Minster branch, 10 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



261 



miles, and Northern Ohio Railway, 165 miles. It is the popular line between 
Peoria, Sandusky, Michigan City, Indianapolis, Connersville, Rushville and 
Ft. Wayne, making direct connections at these cities for all points in the 
country. At Bloomington it makes union depot connections with solid ves- 
tibuled limited trains for St. Louis, and at Peoria with the Burlint^ton and 
Rock Island Routes for Council Elufis, Omaha and Denver, also for St. 
Paul, Minneapolis and the Northwestern Territory. The general offices are 
located in the company's building on East Washington street, where the af- 
fairs of the road are directed. George L. Bradbury is vice-president and 
ireneral manager, and Chas. F. Daly, general passenger agent. 




LOUISVILLE, NEW ALB.\XV AXI) CHICAGO K.MLW.W FREIGHT DETOT. 

The Louisville, New Albany and Chicago Railway Company onerated what 

is familiarlv known as the " Monon route.' This is Ihe faxorite short line 
to Chicago running three solid vestibule trains daily consisting of parlor 
cars and elegant coaches on day trains and Pullman and compartment cars, 
the finest in the land, on night trains. These trains are heated by steam and 
lighted by Pintsch gas, and the speed with which they are run is the highvst 
consistent with safety. They are marvels of elegance. Two trains daily 
except Sunday furnish the service between Indianapolis and Michigan City, 
connecting at Monon with the main line of the L., N. A. & C. Ry., which is 
the direct route from Louisville to Chicago. On this division of the " Monon" 
the famous health resorts. West Baden and French Lick Springs, the "Carlsbad 
of America," are located. This division also taps the inexhaustible quarries 
around Bedford, Ind., from which the world-famed oolitic limestone is taken. 
The summer tourist also finds an inviting spot on the main line between 
ISIonon and Chicago in the attractive resort "Cedar Lake," with its beauti- 
ful expanse of water. This is one of the finest of the numerous lakes that 
dot northern Indiana, furnishing delightful boating and excellent fishing. 
From Indianapolis to Chicago the " Monon" connects with all the roads 



262 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

crossing the state, and at Chicago with all the great trunk lines, making it 
one of the most desirable and direct routes for reaching all points in the west, 
north and northwest. The offices in this city are located at tlie northwest 
corner of Washington and Meridian streets. Frank J. Reed, general passen- 
ger agent, is located at Chicago, and George W. Hayler, district passenger 
agent, has charge of the passenger traffic at this point. 

The Cincinnati, Hamilton and Dayton Railway has, since its opening on 
August 9, 1S67, taken an important part in tlie development of this city, and 
of all the roads centering at this point none show more forcibly the great 
improvements that have taken place in American railroads. In point of 
equipment there is none that surpasses it ; in fact, it was the first road lead- 
ing into this city (in connection with the " Monon " with which for a num- 
ber of years it has been closely associated), to introduce safety vestibuled 
trains, and it has aggressively maintained its position to give the traveling 
oubiic the very best in service, high speed and regularity with which it oper- 
ates. The main line from this city extends to Cincinnati, a distance of 121 
miles ; six trains are operated daily each way. It makes direct connection 
at Hamilton for Dayton, Toledo and Detroit, and at Dayton connects with 
the "Erie" for all points in New York state. At Cincinnati it connects 
with the Baltimore and Ohio and the Chesapeake and Ohio railroads, form- 
ing one of the most popular and delightful routes to all eastern points, and 
the "Queen and Crescent" for all southern points. It also runs a parlor car 
and sleeper over the Indiana, Decatur and Western railroad, connecting at 
this point for Jacksonville, Illinois, making a desirable route to western and 
southwestern points, and in conjunction with the "Vandalia" furnishes 
through car service to St. Louis from this city. Its train service from Cin 
cinnati to Chicago through this city in conjunction with the " Monon " can 
not be surpassed if equaled, affording a popular line to all points in the north 
and northwest. The offices in this city are located at the northwest corner 
of Meridian and Washington streets. D. G. Edwards is passenger traffic 
manager at Cincinnati. The road is represented in this city by George W. 
Ilavler, district passenger agent, and Henry G. Stiles, general agent. 

The Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago and St. Louis Railway, popularly 
known as the "Big Four Route," operates seven distinct lines from this city, 
furnishing direct service to all the important points in the central west, and 
to every point in the country by close connection with the leading trunk 
lines. From St. Ivouis it runs its famous "Knickerbocker Special" via Cleve- 
land to New York and Boston through this city, and the "Southwestern Lim- 
ited" from New York and Boston to Indianapolis and St. Louis. At Columbus, 
connection is made with the trunk lines for Washington, Baltimore and all 
eastern points. Magnificent service is maintained by the line between Chi- 
cago and Cincinnati over which runs the famous "White City Special," con- 
necting at Cincinnati with the C. & O. Railway for the East, and with a\\ 
lines for the South and South-east, and at Chicago for all points in the North- 



nY.][A.vs jiAy:;j:jux of indiaxapolis. 



265 




BIC; FOUR FREIGHT DEPOT. 

west. By an alliance with the Toledo & Ohio Central, a throuiili car line lo 
Toledo and Detroit has been formed, giving connection for Michigan and 
Lake points. Tlie outlet for Iowa, Nebraska and the North-west is over 
their Peoria division, formerly the I. B. & W. Route, the old original line 
to the West. One of the most \aluable lines on the system is the line from 
this city to Benton Harbor, Michigan, running through the gas belt of In- 
diana and the fruit district of Michigan. This is the favorite route for Michi- 
gan tourist resorts. One of the valuable acquisitions to the railway facili- 
ties of this city is the new route to Louisville, this company having invested 
nearly $3,000,000 in terminal facilities at that point, which includes the new 
Louisville and Jeffersonville bridge, one of the largest that spans the Ohio 
river. This company also operates branch lines to Cairo, 111., and Sandusky, 
Ohio, having 2,345 miles of road in Indiana, Illinois and Ohio. There is no 
railway system in America that is operated with greater regularity, and the 
equipment generally is kept up to the very highest standard. The service 
throughout the system is excellent. The local representatives are II. M. Bron- 
son, assistant general passenger agent; Benj. C. Kelsey, city ticket agent, and 
S. M. Hise, city passenger agent. Henrj' S. Fraser, general agent, and W. 
A. Sullivan, commercial agent, have charge of the local freight business. E. 
O. McCormick, passenger traflic manager, and D. B. Martin, general passen- 
ger and ticket agent of the system, are located at Cincinnati. 



266 RYMAN'S JIANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

The Belt Railroad and Stock Yard Company of Indianapolis was organ- 
ized in 1S77. The many advantages that Indianapolis possessed for the 
proper administration of a business of its character impressed those engaged 
in the live stock trade so forcibly that from the date of its organization the 
business conducted here has been exceedingly large and constantly growing. 
The geographical location of the yards has made this the most important 
point in the country for the unloading, watering and marketing of stock des- 
tined for New England and export slaughter. From November 12, 1S77, to 
yar.uarv i, 1897, there have been received at the yards over 20,000,000 hogs' 
::. 000,000 cattle, 2,500,000 sheep and 250,000 horses. The total receipts for 
1S96 were 1,255,405 hogs, 135,253 cattle, 120,890 sheep, and 22,546 horses. 

The system of railroads centering at Indianapolis makes it the most ac- 
cessible point in the country for live stock shippers. The great capacity of 
the yards and the facilities for unloading, resting and reshipping are un- 
equaled by any other yards in the country, east or west. 

The Belt Railroad, having been built and owned by the Stock Yard Com- 
pany, gives this market a decided advantage over others in the respect that 
jio terminal charge is ever imposed 071 its shippers : besides, the shipper is as- 
sured of a prompt service in the handling of his shipments into the yards. 

Shippers and owners are furnished with separate pens for feeding, water- 
ing and resting their stock. All pens are entirely covered with composition 
gravel roofs, furnishing protection to stock from the storms of winter and the 
hot suns of summer, which is a very great saving to the shipper in the way 
of shrinkages in weights, and a great protection in all sorts of weather to buy- 
ers and sellers in their daily trade operations. 

This is a strictly cash market, and is noted the country over for its steady 
prices and the limited range of its fluctuations as compared with other mar- 
kets. 

This company makes but one \'ardage charge during the entire time stock 
remains on the market. The only other source of revenue is the charge for 
feed, from which sources the revenue is derived to cover all expenses inci- 
dent to the operation and maintenance of the yards, comprising construction 
and betterments, maintenance of propertv, cost of hay, corn, oats, weighing 
of live stock, water-works system, taxes, insurance, fuel, gas, electric light- 
ing, tools lost, stock yards cleaning, labor of a vast number of emploj'es; cur- 
rent expenses, such as attorneys' fees, books, stationery, printing, salaries of 
officers, agents and clerical force and of police and fire departments, interest 
on bonds and capital invested, all of which expenditure is incurred for the 
maintenance of this market, and accrues to the direct benefit of its patrons 
and shippers of live stock. The charges at these yards are lower than at 
any other yards in the west, there being no yardage charge on live stock 
in transit unloaded here and destined for other points. The unloading, 
varding, watering, feedinir and weisihinii of live stock is done bv the 



I 




HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS 



269 



company's emploves. re- 
lieving the shipper from 
cill such responsibility and 
care. 

The beef and pork pack- 
ing interests are showing 
a steady and substantial 
growth at this point, three 
tiifterent firms having at 
present under process of 
construction additions to 
their plants for the manu- 
facture of dressed and can- 
ned meats. The buying 
interest for eastern slaugh- 
ter and export is also more 
fully represented than 
ever before, all packing 
houses at New England 
and seaboard points being 
represented by buyers on 
our market for all classes 
of cattle, hogs, sheep, 
lambs and calves. 

The commission sales- 
men and buyers of live 
stock on this market enjoy 
the reputation of being 
thoroughly reliable and 
energetic, and at all times 
alive to the interests of 
their patrons. 

Horse axd Mi le 
Auction Barns. — The 
horse and mule market at 
this point has shown a 
phenomenal growth since 
the auction and sale barns 
w-ere built a little over 
two years ago, over 75,000 
horses have changed 
hands on this market in 
that short time. Addi- 




270 



HY3fAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS, 



tional barns were built to meet the demands of this rapidly increasing branch 
of the business. Private and auction sales of fancy drivers, coachers, cobs 
and park horses, and all other grades, are being conducted all through the 
week by the reliable and energetic firms, Messrs. Blair, Baker & Walter, and 
Warman, Chamberlain, Black & Co., who have brought to the support of 
this market large numbers of European, eastern and southern buyers for all 
grades of horses, all of whom concede that this is the coming horse market 
of the countrj'. The facilities for stabling, moving and showing horses at 
this very attractive market are unsurpassed by any market in the world. 
Shippers or others having horses to sell will find it to their advantage to 
bring them to this market. 

Stock Yard Hotel. — The Exchange Hotel, connected with the Ex- 
chanf^e building, under its able management, offers every accommodation 
lookmg to the convenience and comfort of its patrons at the very low rate of 





^^^^^^^H|H|^^^^ 


^ 


iL 




^|k; -j-i T^- ^ JBl 


5 


^ib 



EXCHAXGE BUILDING — STOCK YARDS. 

$1 per day. This rate was made and is held at this nominal figure for the 
benefit of stock men and shippers to this market. The hotel is kept thor- 
oughly renovated, and is heated by both steam and natural gas. It has also 
a first-class lunch room in connection with it, which is kept open day and 
night for the benefit of shippers arriving during the night. 

The officers of this company are: Sam E. Rauh, president; Julius A. 
Hanson, vice-president; H. C. Graybill, traffic manager; Jno. H. Holliday, 
secretarj', and H. D. Lane, auditor. 

The following reliable firms of commission salesmen are located at the 
Union Stock Yards: M. Sells & Co., Middlesworth, Benson, Nave & Co., 
A. Baber & Co., Stockton, Gillespie & Co., Tolin, Totten, Tibbs & Co., 
Capital Commission Co., Clark, Wvsong & Voris, Dye, Valodin & Co., 
Jeffery, Fuller & Co. 

Among the list of buyers at Union Stock Yards are the following well- 
known firms: Kingan & Co., Moore & Co., Coffin, Fletcher & Co., Indianapo- 



HYMAX'.S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 271 

lis Abbatoir Co., Chas. J. Gardner, Geo. C. Beck & Son, R. R. Sliicl & Co.. 
A. Kahn & Son, Joseph Corvvin, John Powell & Sons, P. Sindlinger, Coburn 
& Weelburg, Chas. Kramer, Chas. Woldt, John Meuser, II. Temperlev, D. 
Brvan & Sons, S. K. Barrett, Schwarzchild & Sulzberger Co., Eastmans 
Company, Nelson Morris & Co., Myers & Ilausmaii, Swift & Co.. and other 
large western bin-ers. 

M. Sells & Company enjoy the honor and distinction of selling the first 
consignment of stock that arrived at the new Union Stock Yards, in Novem- 
ber, 1S77, and they have been continuously at it ever since, conducting busi- 
ness under the same style of firm name, and without a single change in 
membership during the past iS years, the present firm at that time succeed- 
ing Sells & McKee, the original firm. Mr. Sells was engaged in this line for 
12 years prior to the opening of the 3'ards. 

For many years past the firm has been recognized as one of the largest 
handlers of cattle, sheep and hogs at the stock jards, and their business an- 
nually reaches a large magnitude. The house owes its prominence and val- 
uable clientage to a career of strict business integrity. Sales of consignments 
of any magnitude are conducted by them with the utmost promptness, and 
buyers of the choicest grades of cattle, hogs and sheep, have naturally come 
to depend upon the firm for the best ofTerings in the market. In either 
respect they render the best service to buyers and shippers. Of the two 
members of the firm, Mr. Sells gives his exclusive attention to cattle, while 
Mr. T. S.Graves takes care of the consignments of hogs. There is no firm 
of live stock salesmen in the country which stands higher than this, and its 
long and honorable business history is the best recommendation that can be 
oftered shippers of live stock to this market. 

Jeffery, Fuller & Company, of which Mr. Thomas A. Jefiery, the head of 
the firm, has been actively and prominently identified with the live stock in- 
terests of this market prior to, and ever since, the opening of the Union 
Stock Yards in 1S77, having been the principal business head of one of the 
earliest firms to engage in this business. The new firm was organized and 
began business in October, 1895, and has rapidly taken rank among the larg- 
est handlers and firms doing business at the yards. Mr. George W. Fuller, of 
the firm, has had many years experience in the handling and sale of hogs; en- 
joys an intimate acquaintance among the leading buyers for both local packing 
and shipment; he is assisted by W. J. Shinn, who has been actively con- 
nected with the stockyards for the past eighteen years. Mr. F. F. Church- 
man is the financial man of the house. Mr. Wm. E. Deer looks after the sale 
of sheep, and Mr. Will Stanton handles the hogs which arrive by wagon, 
both being well qualified for the transaction of business in their departments. 
Messrs. Jeffery, Fuller & Company, have at their command every possible 
facility for the prompt sale of all lots entrusted to them or consigned to tiiem 
direct, and are always ready to take immediate charge of shipments, and 
through their knowledge of the local market, and acquaintance with heavy 
buyers, are enabled to effect satisfactory sales without delay. 



272 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Warman, Black, Chamberlain 
& Company, who conckict the 
large commission sale stables at 
the Union Stock Yards, began 
business in Indianapolis in 1S94. 
The business has always ranked 
as one of the largest of its kind 
in the West, and in order to se- 
cure the facilities afforded at the 
Union Stock Yards, moved to 
their present location October 
13, 1896. Their barns were built 
especially for their purposes and 
they have a capacity for over 
one thousand head of horses 
and mules. The principal stal:)les 
are 66 bj' 340 feet and the mule 
barn 72 by 172. Sales are con- 
ducted ever}' Tuesday. The 
members of the firm are Enoch 
Warman, one of the oldest and 
best known men in the trade in 
Indiana, who was born in this 
city, nearly sixty years ago ; 
George W. Black, J. H. Cham- 
berlain and J. C. Davis. The 
business of the concern extends 
throughout this and foreign 
countries. 

D. Bryan & Sons, Wholesale 
Beef and Pork Butchers, with 
offices at the Indianapolis Abat- 
toir, is one of the representative 
firms engaged in this line of 
business in this city. The trade 
is devoted entirely to local job- 
bing and are extensive dealers 
in lard and fresh and smoked 
meats, etc. The business was 
originally established hy Dennis 
Bryan, in 1S77, and has mate- 
rially helped in the growth of 
the packing trade here. 




HYMAS'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 273 

A. Baber & Company, live stock commission salesmen, a firm of "reat 
financial strength, was established here shortly after the opening of the stock 
yards. There has never been a business change in the historv of the firm, but 
an unbroken and continuous record of complete and honored identification 
with the sale of live stock on commission in this market. 

With the annual growth and expansion oi' receipts and siiipments at the 
yards, the business proportionately increased in volume, and during several 
years past they. have been credited with doing as large a business as is done in 
the Indianapolis market. Mr. A. Baber, of the firm, is an extensive land own- 
er, and a resident of Illinois, the business of the firm being ably and success- 
fully managed by the other members. Mr. J. B. Sedwick gives his attention 
to sales of cattle exclusively, and in this respect he has no superior in this 
market. 

Mr. E. Nichols and Mr. Chas. W. Sedwick handle the hogs, and of which 
the firm handle an enormous number annually, while Mr. |. R. Wilhite looks 
after the selling of sheep. 

Stockton, Gillespie & Company began business in 1SS9. The firm is com- 
posed of young men, all of whom have practically grown up in the business. 
They are alert, active and quick to take advantage of every opportunity 
which can in any way further the interests of their patrons. The sale of 
cattle is directed by Mr. W. W. Stockton and Mr. J. F. Clay, the latter gen- 
tleman having only recently become a member of the firm. Both are thor- 
oughly expert cattle men, and capable of promptly' disposing of the largest 
otYcrings. Mr. B. W. Gillespie, with the assistance of Mr. S.J. Acklen, give 
their exclusive attention to consignments of hogs, and are thoroughly well- 
posted and experienced salesmen. Mr. James Tolly handles the sheep, while 
the office is capably managed by Mr. C. II. Clark. The heads of this now 
well-known firm are ainong the best known and respected members of live 
stock salesmen who do business at the Union Stock Yards. They are 
known among shippers as successful salesmen, to whose good judgment it is 
always safe to trust. Consignments of any magnitude may, therefore, be 
entrusted to their care, with the full confidence that sales will be made 
promptly, and that returns will be satisfactory. The firm keep their custom- 
ers constantly posted as to the condition of the market, the offerings and 
opportunities, and give all matters relating to the sale of live stock the closest 
and most careful attention. 

Clark, Wysong & Voris was established seven or eight years ago, as C. 
y. Clark & Company and continued, with the usual minor business changes. 
until a year ago, when the present firm was formed. Under past and present 
management the firm has always occupied a significantly leading position in 
the live stock commission circles of the country, and enjoys a wide and 
valuable patronage among the largest shippers of cattle, hogs and sheep 
to the Indianapolis market. It has been the rule of the firm during its entire 
existence to be prompt in all its business transactions, to guard carefully the 
interest of consignors, and to be perfectly accurate in the character of re- 

18 



274 HY MAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

ports rendered the trade, so that harge and small shippers alike have come to 
place implicit confidence in the judgment of the firm. The firm is com- 
posed of C.J. Clark, B. F. Wysong and W. C. Voris, all experienced and 
well-posted salesmen, who enjoy the confidence of a large list of huj'crs, and 
who are capable of handling all business entrusted to them to the best ad- 
vantage and to the complete satisfaction of consignors. 

Tolin, Totten, Tibbs & Company, the well organized firm of live stock 
salesmen, is a consolidation of the business of A. B. Tolin & Co. and Fesler, 
Totten & Co., and has enjoyed a uniformly' successful business since their estab- 
lishment. As now constituted the firm comprises in its management that long 
experience in the trade and knowledge of the market so essential in effecting 
prompt sales at prices satisfactory to shippers. Mr. A. B. Tolin, J. J. Totten 
and J. B. Harrell, who give their personal attention to consignments of cat- 
tle exclusively, are thoroughly experienced salesmen, who keep fully posted 
as to the needs of buyers, for both local consumption and re-shipment, conse- 
quently they are enabled to dispose of all lots offered through their hands with 
out delay. D. W Tibbs, who looks after the receipts of hogs, is equally well 
posted in this branch of the business, and enjoying, as he does, the confidence 
of every shipper who has ever entrusted his sales to him, naturally secures 
his full share of the shipments to this market. E. C. Rock wood, a capable 
and energetic business man, will give his attention to the office and the gen- 
eral business of the firm. With its present excellent facilities, well estab- 
lished reputation for promptness and large business, the firm of Tolin, Tot- 
ten, Tibbs & Co. is prominent among the live stock commission salesmen of 
Indianapolis. The firm is very conveniently situated for business in Rooms 
15 and 17 of the Exchange Building, and makes it a rule to keep its custom- 
ers in constant touch with the market. 

R. R. Shiel & Co., live stock purchasing agents, located in the Exchange 
Building, Union Stock Yards, is one of the representative concerns in this 
line of business in Indianapolis. The business Avas established in 1SS4 bv 
the present proprietors, Messrs R. R. Shiel and R. R. Reeves, and since that 
time has grown to large proportions. The firm purchase on orders for 
Eastern markets, purchasing annually to the enormous amount of between 
three and four millions of dollars. They handle mostly hogs and cattle, and 
are everwhere recognized as expert buyers, whose judgment can be im- 
plicitly relied on. The firm have developed unlimited facilities in their spe- 
cial line, and this business is rapidly increasing in their hands. 

A. Kahn & Son, live stock purchasing agents, began business with the 
opening of the stock yards in 1877. The specialty of the firm is to buy on 
order only, and they have enjoyed the confidence to the fullest degree of al'' 
those they have served in the capacitv of buyers throughout their long business 
career. Prior to 1877, and running back to 1868, Mr. A. Kahn, the senior 
member of the firm, was engaged at diflferent times in the live stock trade, 
and in the wholesale butchering business. Associated with him in the 
business is his son, H. A. Kahn, an energetic young business man. There is no 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 275 

finn of buyers at the yards that is more deserving of confidence and the lar^e 
business transacted by them has been earned hy straightforward and upright 
methods, good judgment, and a strict and prompt attention to business. 

The Capital Live Stock Commission Company, which was chartered 
under the Laws of Indiana about the first of March of the present year, is a 
very strong enterprise in point of capital and management. The new enter- 
prise, which has a full-paid capital of $30,000, is really the incorporation of 
the business of the old and well-known firm of Fort, Johnston & Helm, 
which, with its predecessor. Fort & Johnston, dates back to 1S77, to the open- 
ing of the Union Stock Yards. The members of the old firm, who stand 
deservedly high in Indianapolis live stock circles, for probity, enterprise and 
honorable business methods, continue with this new organization, ^Ir. John 
W. Fort being president; T. B. Wilkinson, vice-presdent; II. B. Lewis, sec- 
retary; R. F. Helm, treasurer, and W. ISl. Johnston, manager. 

As now organized and directed, the Capital Live Stock Commission 
Company is one of the best equipped at the Stock Yards, and offers the most 
superior advantages to shippers who desire the highest ruling quotations, 
immediate sales and prompt settlements. The long experience of the man- 
agement of this substantial company, their knowledge of the market, ac- 
quaintance with resident and visiting buyers, gives them superior facilities 
for handling all grades of cattle, hogs and sheep, realizing for their owners 
the best possible sales and affording the most satisfactory' business relations. 
Under the new style of firm name and organization the company enjoys 
largely increased facilities for the transaction of a general live stock com- 
mission business. 

Blair, Baker & Walter are the headquarters for the sale of liorses in Indi- 
ana, at the commission, auction and sales stables at the Union Stock Yards, 
and it is beyond question one of the largest, best arranged and finest estab- 
lishments of the kind in this country. The stable covers a ground area of 
62 X 340 feet, and is constructed on the latest and most approved plan for the 
care, comfort and handling of horses and mules, the'-e being accommodations 
for 1,000 animals. The stables are provided with all modern conveniences, there 
being padded stalls, private compartments and complete veterii^ary hospital, 
where animals which require it, receive attention from thoroughly skilled vet- 
erinarians. There are also ample exhibition facilities, where the good points of 
horses offered for sale are shown by expert horsemen to the best advantage. 
Messrs. Blair, Baker & Walter are recognized as among the most expert horse- 
men in the western country. They enjoy the intimate acquaintance of the lead- 
ing owners, trainers, and stock men in all sections, and have earned for them- 
selves the reputation of being thoroughly honorable and reliable business 
men. The finest animals may be entrusted to their care with absolute confi- 
dence, that the interests of both sellers and buyers will be fully protected. 
They hold auction sales of horses and mules every Wednesday throughout 
the year, and these sales are always attended by horsemen from all parts of 



276 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



the United States. There are also permanent resident buyers at the stables 
for Glasgow and Paris, who each ship a car-load weekly. 

E, Rauh & Sons, manufacturers of high-grade pure bone fertilizers and 
dealers in hides, pelts, tallow, grease, etc., rank among the oldest and most 
prominent manufacturing concerns in this city. The business was established 
in 1S64, at Daj'ton, Ohio, by Elias Rauh, father of the gentlemen who are 
now conducting the business. The firm is now operating two large manu- 
facturing plants in this city, one located at the intersection of tlie Belt rail- 
road and South East street, and another at the Union Stock Yards. Both 
plants are well supplied with the latest improved machinerj', and employment 
is furnished to more than fifty hands. The product, which consists of ammo- 
niates, phosphates and bone fertilizers, have a large market throughout the 




E. R.MIH & SONS' FERTILIZER F.\CTORIES. 



central, western and southern states and finding increasing favor in European 
countries where there is a growing demand for goods of this character. The 
fertilizers manufactured bv this concern under the " Star" brand have an es- 
tablished and recognized reputation for excellence of quality-, purity and high 
standard among agriculturists. 

Besides the fertilizer factories, the firm have a large hide warehouse, at 
219 South Pennsj'lvania street, where the offices are located. Employment 
is furnished to 12 men in this branch of the business. In this particular line 
the firm ranks among the heaviest in the west. The members of the firm are 
Leopold Rauh, who conducts the business of the Dayton branch, and Ilenfy 
and Samuel E. Rauh of the city. Both of the latter named gentlemen have 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 



279 



been prominently identified with many of the progressive movements of the 
city, and are closely associated in many growing enterprises of Indianapolis. 
Mr. Henry Rauh was a member of the Board of Aldermen of this city dur- 
ing iS<;3-4. Sam E. Rauh is president of the Belt Railroad and Stock Yards Co. 

Joseph Allerdice & Company, 12S Kentucky avenue, has been prominently 
identified in the hide, pelts, tallow and wool trade, and is one of the largest 
firms in this line in the state. The business was established by Joseph Aller- 
dice, the present head of the firm, in 1877. The trade of the house extends 
throughout Indiana, Illinois and points west of the Mississippi river. The 
firm furnishes employment to twenty-five people. 

Coffin, Fletcher & Company, pork packers, rank among the first in the 
country to engage in this line of trade. The business was originallv estab- 







.^^^^^^^ 




COFFIN, FLETCHER & CO. 



lished by Barnabas Coffin in 1S40, and there have been minor changes in the 
personnel of the firm since its establishment. The firm kills during the win- 
ter period about 50,000 hogs, the trade supplied being throughout the eastern, 
southern and central western states. The present plant, which was erected 
in 1S73, is as substantial as it is extensive, covering a ground area of about 
five acres, and is well supplied with modern appliances. Over 200 hands are 
employed during the winter season. The present members of the firm are A. 
W." Coffin, L. W. Fletcher and S. H. Fletcher. Mr. L. W. Fletcher is the 
oldest living pork packer in America to-day, beginning his career in the trade 
when it was in its infancy. The Primrose brand of hams, breakfast bacon 
and lard, put up by this firm, have earned a reputation for excellence and high 
standard of quality second to no other in the country. 

Kmgan & Company, Limited, pork packers, by far the most important 
and extensive in Indianapolis, was established in 1S63. The first plant was 



280 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

destroyed by fire in 1S65, and ^vas immediately rebuilt. This was the first 
house in America to prepare meat for the English market. In point of com- 
pleteness and amplitude of facilities for every process of this vast and ex- 
tended business, it is second to no other. The extent and magnitude of its 
business can be judged from a fe^y facts. Fifteen acres of ground are occu- 
pied by the extensive plant with its new buildings; all the buildings are from 
three to five stories high, with cellars, and generally sub-cellars. Over 
$3,000,000 are invested in the business, and from Soo to 1,250 hands employed, 
according to the season of the year, and from 600,000 to 700,000 hogs are 
slaughtered annually. The warehouses have a storage capacity of 30,000,000 
pounds of cured and smoked meats. To cure the meats it requires nearly 
14,000,000 pounds of salt, 500,000 pounds of saltpeter, 1,000,000 pounds ot 
sugar, and over 20,000 tons of ice. To ship, it requires 175,000 boxes and 
crates, and 100,000 tierces for lard and hams. The hogs, when killed and 
scalded, are scraped by machinery invented in the house. In addition to the 
above come numberless bi-products, made from the materials that but a few 
years ago the packers paid to have taken away as entirely useless. So 
thorough and rigid is the process of utilization, that absolutely notliing is 
wasted. The trade of the house, as its operations will indicate, is of vast 
proportions, and the celebrated Kingan's hams have an enviable reputation 
that extends beyond the bounds of this country. 

The export branch of this business is constantly growing. The location 
of the premises occupied by the firm is at the west end of Maryland street, 
is central and convenient, with railroad facilities of superior character. The 
officers of the company are: Robert S. Sinclair, John INI. Shaw and Samuel 
Reid. 

Moore & Company, pork packers, are located at the Union Stock Yards. 
The business was established December i, 1892, and the facilities for all pur- 
poses of the business are unsurpassed. Ten acres of ground are owned and 
occupied by the company, opposite the Union Stock Yards, on the line of the 
Belt Line Railroad. Four hundred to five hundred hands are employed, besides 
man}' teams and wagons, with a capacity' of 2,000 to 3,000 hogs slaughtered, 
cured and packed daily. The buildings are all substantial structures, erected 
expressly for the purpose, designed and equipped throughout with new ma- 
chinery and all necessary vats, tanks and a powerful steam engine. The main 
building is four stories high, 200x200 feet in area, built of brick. There are also 
store-houses, an abattoir, smoke-houses, packing-houses, etc. Western Union 
and Postal Telegraph wires connect with the office, and, taken altogether, the 
establishment is one of the most complete of its kind in the United States. 
The trade of the house aggregated hundreds of thousands of dollars a year, and 
a substantial business has been built up in all the great commercial. centers in 
' this country, and an immense quantity' of pork, beef, etc., is shipped to 
Europe. The company packs pork on an extensive scale, and also makes a 
specialty of smoked ham, bacon, shoulders, etc. It carries a very hea\-y 
stock of pork, beef and smoked meats, lard, casings, etc., and also manufac- 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



281 



tures fertilizers. Only the finest and best meats are handled bv the company, 
and it can always ofter special inducements to the trade. J. M. Shaw, presi- 
dent: Sam Raid, vice-president; Robert Reid. treasurer; [ohn Chestnutt, 
secretary. 

Swift & Company, branch of their packing establishment, Chicago, was 
established in this city in October, 1S95. The business is located at 1J3 to 
127 Kentucky avenue, is a model of completeness, and is the finest one of the 
400 branches operated by this firm in the United States. It was built under 
the direct supervision of the company's own architect and is complete in 
every detail. It has ice storage of 300 tons capacity. 1,000 tons of ice are 
used annually in their cold storage department, and 1,000 cars of the finest 
grades of beef. The building is a handsome brick structure supplied with 
ample switching and railroad facilities. The firm only sells wholesale, and 
supplies the local butchers and those in adjacent towns. Mr. C. H. Simons 
is manager. 

Parrott & Taggart, branch of the U. S. Baking Company, is the out- 
growth of the business established by Parrott & Nickum, in 1S60, and that of 




PARROTT iS. lACG.VUr 



Taggart Brothers in 1869. The houses were consolidated in 1SS3, forming 
the firm of Parrott & Taggart. The present firm became members of the 
U. S. Baking Company. in 1S90. It is the largest business of its character in 
the state, and its business operations extend throughout Indiana and Illinois. 
The product, which consists of crackers, broad and fancv biscuits, sustains 



28-' HYMAS'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

a reputation second to none for uniform excellence. The company employs 
over 150 people, and more than 30,000 barrels of flour are consumed annually 
in the manufacture of the product. The plant is a model one and is equip- 
ped throughout with the very latest and improved machinery. It is located 
at the corner of Georgia and Pennsylvania, in a substantial three-stor_v 
and basement brick building, 72x200 feet. The managers of the business are 
Alexander Taggart and Burton E. Parrott. 

Peter F. Bryce began the manufacture of bread, crackers, and cakes, in 
1870, in the present location, at the corner of Meridian and South streets. 
The capacity of the bakery is 25,000 loaves of bread daily, whicli find a ready 
market in the city and the surrounding towns. Mr. Bryce's plant is equipped 
with a bread-making machine of his own invention, that has a capacity of 
70 loaves of bread a minute. Over 50 hands are employed, and the business 
ranks as the second largest of its kind in the country. Mr. Bryce also op- 
erates an extensive baking plant in Chicago. In 1S79-S4. Mr. Bryce served 
as a member of the city council. 

Home Cracker Company, located at 192 and 194, South Meridian street 
was established in 1S93. It is one of the most important concerns in the 
city engaged in the manufacture of crackers, cakes, and other sweet goods. 
The firm employs over 30 hands in the bakery, and three travelers, who cover 
the territory throughout Indiana, Ohio, and Illinois. The plant is modern 
in every detail, and as well equipped for the purposes as any similar institu- 
tion in the country. The " Dove " Brand, under which the goods of this 
house are manufactured and sold, are recognized for their excellence, and 
have an established reputation for quality second to no other in the market. 
Mr. J. II. Plum is manager of the company. 

The Indianapolis Board of Trade is the outgrowth of the Chamber of 
Commerce, organized in 1S64, for the purpose of promoting the commercial, 
financial, industrial and other interests of the city of Indianapolis; to secure 
uniformity in commercial usages and customs; to facilitate business inter- 
course; to promote commercial ethics and to adjust differences and disputes. 
Among those who were instrumental in its organization, were Dr. T. B. 
Elliott, the first president, Fred P. Rush, and J. Barnard, the first secretary. 
The present handsome building, which is owned and occupied by the 
Board of Trade, was erected by the Chamber of Commerce Company, in 
1S73. The present membership consists of more than 500 of the most 
prominent and enterprising business and professional men of Indianapolis. 
It is in everj' sense of the word, strictly a business organization, and it has 
wielded a powerful influence in shaping the material growth of the city It 
was through the instrumentality of the Board of Trade that the new city 
charter was obtained, the board having originated the resolutions petitioning 
the legislature to grant the same. It is the headquarters of the grain trade of 
this locality, and the secretary of the board keeps a record of all local receipts 
and shipments which are received daily through the courtesy of the agents of 
the various railroads centering here. Jacob W. Smith, the present secretar}', 



IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 283 

ele -ted in iSgi, has served continuously ever since, is a capable, efficient, and 
painstaking officer. Ju-tus C. Adams was elected president June 8, 1896. 

Fred P. Rush & Company was organized January i, 1865. This is the 
oldest firm engaged in the grain business in this city. The business was es- 
tablished by Fred P. Rush, in 1S57, who was the first person in Indianapolis 
to buy and sell grain on his own account. On Christmas of 1865 he pre- 
sented an interest in his business to Edward F. Gall and George E. Townlev. 
and from its incorporation to the present time the firm has maintained the 
foremost position in the grain trade at this point. The members of the firm 
are Fred P. Rush and George E. Townlev. 

Bassett & Company. — Notwithstanding the fact that the interstate com- 
merce bill all but paralyzed the grain business of Indianapolis, still it easilv 
maintains the position of being the best market in the country for white corn, 
and millions of bushels are consumed here annually, which, in connection 
with the large consumption incident to the demands of a city of nearly 200.- 
000 population, the grain trade gives active business to several enterprising 
and solid concerns on the Board of Trade. Prominent among these is the 
firm of Bassett & Company, which was established April 2, 1S95. The head 
of the firm is E. W. Bassett. His business is devoted to the wholesale pur- 
chase and sale of grain, grain products, hay and seeds tor the local as well as 
export trade. The operations of the firm extend tl roughout Indiana and 
other central western states. 

B. B. Minor, commission merchant and dealer in grain, hav and mill 
feed, room iS, Board of Trade, began business here in 1885. Prior to that 
time he had a continued identification in the grain business in Illinois, dating 
back to 1S67, from which point he came to this city. Up to 1891, he was as- 
sociated in business with Mr. W. H. Cooper, under the firm name of Mintjr 
ifc Cooper, at which time he retired, leaving the city, but returned again in a 
few months and re-embarked in business. Mr. Minor is regarded as one of 
the most prominent grain men doing business on the Board of Trade, quali- 
fied in every wav to give satisfaction to those making transactions in the In- 
dianapolis market. 

W. B. Hixon, grain dealer and commission merchant, room 49, Board of 
Trade, has been a prominent dealer in this line for the past eight years. He 
is recognized as the largest and most extensive dealer in hay at this point. 
He is a large shipper of this product to Pittsburg, Baltimore and other east- 
ern markets, and does a large business throughout the principal western 
points and the Union Stock Yards of this city His trade correspondents ex- 
tend throughout the western states and Indian Territory and Oklahoma. He 
is also a heavy dealer in grain and mill feed. He is thoroughly equipped to 
serve all those who desire to trade in the Indianapolis market in the most sat- 
isfactory manner. 

Osterman & Cooper, grain dealers, room 17 Board of Trade, are among 
the largest and most prominent dealers in grain, seeds, hay and mill feed, in 
this city. The firm is composed of J. Osterman and W. II. Cooper, and both 



284 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

gentleman have been actively engaged in the grain trade for tlie past 30 -Nears. 
Mr. Osterman served as treasurer of Marion county during 1890-1, and 
was a member of the board of public works of Indianapolis, during 1S9:;. 
lie has been an active member of the Board of Trade since its organiza- 
tion, and was elected to the office of treasurer of this body, June S, i8g6. 
Mr. Cooper has also been prominently associated on the Board of Trade for 
a number of years. lie was elected a member of the city council in 1S88, 
serving continuously since that tiine. In 1S94-5, he was elected president of 
the city council, and has always been one of its most useful and prominent 
members. 

H. E. Kinney, grain inerchant on The Board of Trade since 1887, is prac- 
tically the successor to the business established by J. A. Closser & Co., in 
1875. Mr. Kinney's business is devoted to the purchase of grain, hay, flour, 
and mill feed. His trade correspondents are located throught Indiana, Illi- 
nois, Ohio, and territory west of the Mississippi, and he is recognized as one 
of the leading dealers in the grain business engaged at this point. At the 
election held June 8, 1896, he was elected vice-president of the Board of 
Trade, and has been actively connected with it for a long time. 

Foster & Company, wholesale commission merchants, are among the 
very oldest and most prominent firms doing business in this city. The firm 
was organized in 1S66, as Foster, Holloway & Company-, who then conducted 
a wholesale grocery and commission business. There have been numerous 
changes in the firm, and in 1870 the wholesale grocery business was sold, and 
the firm confined its operations to the wholesale commission of grain, hay. 
mill feed, field seeds, imported Portland and domestic cements. The firm at 
present consists of General Robert S. Foster and Ellis Y. Shartle. 

General Foster, prior to the breaking out of the war, was engaged in the 
wholesale grocery trade in this city. Immediately upon the breaking out of 
the war he volunteered as a private, helped organize a company and was 
elected and commissioned captain in the nth Indiana Zauaves. Scon after 
he was appointed major and assigned to the 13th Indiana regiment, and was 
subsequently promoted to lieutenant-colonel. On June 12, 1863, he was pro- 
moted to brigadier-general and breveted major-general on June 5, 1S65, for 
gallant conduct on the field. He was in the army until and participated in 
the close of the war. In 1S6S and 1S72 he was elected city treasurer. He 
was elected president of the Board of Trade in 1S94-5, and is still a member. 

Mr. Ellis Y. Shartle, the junior meinber of the firm, was connected with 
the Vandalia Railroad in the capacity of passenger conductor, during iS6i- 
He left the company in 1S72 to become a member of the firm of R. S. Foster 
Company-. 

The Indianapolis Brewing Company, which was organized in May, iS8g, 
is an amalgamation of the breweries that were originally- founded by Peter 
Lieber, C. F. Schmidt, and Casper Maus, over forty years ago. Tracing the 
histor}' of this institution backward, we find it contemporaneous with that 
period which has marked the city's development from a rough western vil- 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF JXDIAXAPOLIS. 



285 




PLANT OF INDIANAPOLIS BRE\VIN(i COMPANY, 1871. 



lage to a magnificent metropolis, second to no otlier citv, in the character 
and solidity of its growth. Side by side with its development, beginning in 
the humblest and most unpretentious manner, this business has grown until 
to-day it has expanded to such proportions as to be classed among the ten of 
the largest enterprises in America. When it is remembered that there are 
but two other lines of industries in the country aggregating a greater amount 
of invested capital, it becomes a matter of justifiable pride to refer to it in 
this connection. 

To recount the many changes that have taken place in building the mag- 
nificent business of the Indianapolis Brewing Company, would almost be to 
write a book on the growth and development of the brewing industry and its 
collateral branches. A remembrance of what was one of the industries is 
the appended illustration of the original Peter Lieber's City Brewery as it 
appeared in 1871. The contrast of this crude establishment, as comjiared 
with the magnificent modern plant that has replaced it, is no greater than a 
comparison of the methods that have sup[)lanLed these old methods, when 
the malt was mashed by hand and brewed in a kettle. What was then 
determined by instinct, has come to be an exact science, and the old- 
time brew-master who " guessed by practice," has given place to the 
modern brew-master, the skilled chemist, who not only brings to his aid 
3'ears of practice, but has the many advantages that ingenuity has brought 
with the use of modern appliances. Thus, the beer of to-day, is the com- 
bined result of years of practical experience and chemical skill. How 



286 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



■well the public have 
appreciated the ef- 
forts of those en- 
gaged in the manu- 
facture of this pop- 
ular beverage to 
bring it to its very 
highest standard of 
excellence and pur- 
itv, is evidenced in 
the many millions 
invested in great 
plants all over the 
country and the an- 
nually growing con- 
sumption. 

Regarding the 
product of the In- 
dianapolis Brewing 
Company its fame 
has become inter- 
national, second to 
none, and from 
Maine to Cali- 
fornia, and from 
Canada to Cuba, is 
the demand for it 
increasing. The 
total output of the 
Company for 1S95, 
was in excess of 
200,000 barrels, and 
the total brewing 
capacity of the com- 
bined plants will 
aggregate over 600,- 
000 barrels per an- 
num. The united 
plants cover an im- 
mense space, and 
are models of per- 
fect equipment, 
with Lheir great 
store-houses, brew- 
houses, offices, boil- 




HYMAS'S HANDBOOK OF INDIA XAPOLIS. 



289 



er-houses, ice machines, and ret'rigerator houses, warehouses, malt houses, 
-ivash and bottling houses, elevators, stables, cooper shops, shipping and 
packing departments, etc. 

When it is taken into consideration that it employs directly and indi- 
rectly about 1,200 men, with wages ranging from $60 per month up to the 
high salary brew-master who receives $10,000 per annum, and the vast sums 
of money that are annually spent in building and equipments, all of which 
go into local circulation, beside paying into the city treasury bv far more taxes 
than any other institution, the benefits derived from it by the communitj'can 
not be overestimated. 

The present manager and president of the Indianapolis Brewing Com- 
pany is Albert Lieber, under whose control the business has been more 
than doubled and widely extended. J. P. Frenzel, the secretary, Otto N. 
Frenzel, the treasurer, and Frederick Francke, Albert Baker and Edward 
Daniels, are associated with the above-mentioned, as directors. 

Richard Lieber & Company. — One of the latest and most important addi- 
tions to the manufacturing facilities of this city is the bottling works re- 
cently established by Richard Lieber & Company, at the west end of New 
York street. When it is taken into consideration that the health of the en- 
tire community is affected by the degree of purity of its water supply, the 
importance of the industry just established can best be appreciated. One of 
the important and vital purposes of this new business will be the production 
of water of absolute purity, entirely free from organic or inorganic pollution. 
To make this, the plant is equipped with distilling apparatus having a capacity 
of producing one hundred gallons of perfectly pure water every hour. This 
will be supplied to consumers in sterilized packages, syphons, etc. A num- 
ber of the most eminent physicians and chemists of this city have examined 
the plant and have, without exception, exoressed their highest approval re- 
garding the product and give it their unqualified indorsement. The inem- 
bers of the firm are Richard Lieber and Gustav Oberlaender. Mr. Lieber 
is a well-known journalist, who has been and still is associated with the 
Indiana Tribune, an influential German daily newspaper. Mr. Oberlaender 
has but recently come to Indianapolis from New York, where he was engaged 
in business for the past eight years. The plant covers an area of about two 
acres and will furnish employment to fifty people. Besides the distillation 
of water, the firm will manufacture a full line of carbonated beverages. 
Trade will be supplied throughout Indiana, Illinois and Ohio. The firm is 
especially desirous that the plant be visited and is open to the public at all 
times. 

The Home Brewing Company was organized in 1S91, and its officers and 
stockholders, nearly ninety in number, are all residents of Indianapolis. The 
brewery, bottling house, offices and outbuildings, are handsome and com- 
plete in all their appointments. The brewery is of the most modern con- 
struction, and the best equipped plant of its character in the state. The 
company has an incorporated capital of $Joo.ooo, and its investment now cx- 

19 



290 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



ceeds $300,000. The officers are all well-known citizens: President, Wm. P. 
Junclaus; vice-president, secretary and treasurer, Andrew Hagen. The 
quality of the output is of the best, and continually growing in favor. Fif- 
teen wagons are required to make distribution to the "city trade. Over 50 
men are employed. The sales now amount to between 30,000 and 40,000 bar- 
rels yearly. This great business has been created within four years, and the 
trade in Indiana is rapidly increasing, showing that the trade appreciates a 
good article. The brands are, "Home Brew," "Columbia," "Pale Select," 
" Extract of Malt," Ale and Porter. In connection with the brewery is their 
large bottling house, with a capacity of 20 barrels daily, used entirely for 
home consumption. 

The Anheuser-Busch Brewing Association, of St. Louis, Mo., opened 
a branch in this city, in 1891, which is under the efficient management 
of Mr. J. L. Bieler. The merits of the lager beer manufactured by this 




ANHEUSER-BUSCH BREWING ASSOCIATION BRANCH. 



great brewing association, one of the most prominent in the country, are 
well known, and the demand always active and brisk. The brewerv plant is 
one of the largest in the world, and the brewing capacity is i, 800,000 barrels 
of beer, 3,600,000 bushels of malt, and 2,250,000 pounds of hops are con- 
sumed annually. The annual shipping capacity is 100,000,000 bottles, and 
5,000,000 kegs. No corn or corn preparations are used in the manufacture of 
the Anheuser-Busch beer, it is therefore the finest, best, most wholesome, and 
of superior quality. The Anheuser-Busch beer has been brought into direct 
competition with the finest lager beer made in the world, and in every in- 
stance awarded the highest prizes. The premises utilized by Mr. Bieler, in 
this city, 450 to 460 East Ohio street, are three acres in extent. The main 
building, in which is located the bottling works, is two stories high, and 40 x 



HYMAN'H HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



291 



i6o feet in dimensions. It is equipped with refrigerators iiaving a total ca- 
pacity for the storage of sixteen car-loads of beer, and also the best and most 
modern bottling machinery and appliances. There are also storage houses, 
stables, and carriage house on the premises. The beer is received direct from 
the brewery, in car loads, and to supply the city demand very many cars an- 
nually are required for bottling, besides hundreds of barrels for daily con- 
sumption. Mr. Bieler handles and bottles all the famous beers manufactured 
by the Association. All these popular beers are ^vell aged, and never drawn 
from the vaults until fully seasoned. Twenty-five hands are employed in the 
bottling works, and six wagons kept in service. The trade is steadily growing 
in importance and magnitude. Mr. Bieler is a native of Baden, Germany, 
and has resided in this country since 1856, and in Indianapolis since 1861. 
From 1S78 to 18S0, he was a capable and efficient member of the city coun- 
cil, and subsequently, from 1S80 to 1SS4, recorder of Marion county. Mr. 
Bieler has under his control sub-agencies in all parts of the state of In- 
diana. 

The Terra Haute Brewing Company. — The Indianapolis branch of tiie 
Terre Haute Brewing Company, managed by Maurice Donnelly, than whom 




TERRE HAUTE BREWING I.OMPAXY BRANCH. 



there are few of greater local popularity, is located at No. 14S South West 
street. The fact that this branch was established here shows the confidence 
the company has in its brew. In August, 1891, the plant was established 
here. The first year 8,000 barrels of beer were sold; the second year 11,000 
barrels; the present year the sale will reach 16,000 barrels. This does not 
include the sale of bottled beer, which would bring this year's sales up to 
26,000 barrels. The beer made by this concern is of the choicest flavor, 
absolute purity, and unexcelled by any in the world. The Terre Haute 
Brewing Company, at Terre Haute, Crawford Fairbanks, president ; Ed- 



292 



HITMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



ward P. Fairbanks, general manager ; George, Maier, secretary and treas- 
erer, makes over 100,000 barrels of beer annually. The success of the In- 
dianapolis branch of the Terre Haute Brewing Company has been unexam- 
pled in the history of business enterprises in this city, but while it has been 
great, it has been deserved. Notwithstanding the strongest local competi- 
tion, the product of this brewery has come to the front, and steadily main- 
tained its place. The company has found especial favoritism in the homes 
of this city for their bottle goods, which are put up by the C. Habich Com- 
pany. 

The C. Habich Company, mineral water manufacturers and bottlers of the 
Terre Haute Brewing Company's product, are located in their new plant at 




ii"''hi w>*i^siia 




THE C. HABICH COMPANY. 



Nos. 187, 189 and igi West Ohio street. The building is a solid brick structure, 
60x50. The plant was recently equipped throughout with the latest and most 
improved machinery, and ample cold storage facilities. About twenty men are 
employed and seven wagons used for city delivery. Over 3,000 barrels of 
beer are bottled annually besides immense quantities of all kinds of spring and 
mineral waters. The business was originallj' established, nearly twentj' years' 
ago, by Carl Habich, Sr., one of the most prominent and influential pioneer 
citizens, who settled here nearly forty-six years ago. The officers are: C. 
Habich, Jr., president; Frank A. Maus, vice-president; J. C. Schaf, secretary 
and treasurer; and Crawford Fairbanks associated with the above as director. 
Klee & Coleman, located at 227-229 South Delaware street, are devoted to 
the production of high-class mineral waters. The business was established 
in 1881, and has grown in magnitude and importance under the able man- 
agement of Mr. W. H. Miller. The plant consists of a three-storj' and base- 
ment building, having dimensions of '\^i% hy 120 feet, which is complete!}' 
equipped with all the latest machinery and plans known to the trade. The 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOjv OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



2f.3 



firm has enjoyed great success, and achieved a high reputation for the excel- 
lence of their productions. They manufacture large quantities of soda water 
and all the ordinary mineral drinks. In the manufacture of their product 
only the purest water from deep driven wells is used. City water is not used 
even for cleansing the bottles, thus insuring freedom from bacterial pollution. 
The bottling department is at the rear of the building. Steadv emplovment 
is given to a force of 20 skilled hands, while experienced traveling salesmen are 
kept upon the road. Eight delivery wagons are kept busy delivering orders 
in the city. Beside this establishment, the firm has a large bottling works at 
Dayton, Ohio, and also at Louisville, Ky., and it has a large business 
throughout the Central States. It is perhaps due largely to the energy and 
wide acquaintance of Mr. Miller, whose personal popularity has done much 
to extend the interest of the house in this cit}'. 

Jacob Metzger & Company. — The largest, finest and most complete bot- 
tling establishment in the state of Indiana is that of Messrs. Jacob Metzger & 

Co., at 30 and 32 East Maryland street. 
Mr. Metzger began the business in 
1877 and in 18S4 the trade had ex- 
panded to such proportions as to ren- 
der increased facilities absolutely nec- 
essary. Accordingly, with his usual 
enterprise, he erected his present hand- 
some and spacious building, four stories 
with basement in height, 34 x 118 feet, 
and L attachment in rear, 23 x 34 feet, 
and put in a complete equipment of all 
machinery driven by a 25-horse-power 
steam engine and all modern appliances 
known to the business. Many of the 
best known brands of imported and do- 
mestic beers and wines are bottled by 
this house and the stock is unsurpassed 
for variety, purity and excellence. An 
extensive equipment is employed for 
the distillation of water that is used in 
the manufacture of the carbonated bev- 
erages. The trade extends over Ohio, 
Indiana and Illinois. Mr. Metzger came to this city in 1850, and is promi- 
nent in business circles and enjoys the esteem of the community and all with 
whom he has business relations. On January i, 1S96, the business was pur- 
chased by Frederick C. Wellmann, who has been identified with the house 
since 1882. He conducts the business under the old firm name, and the policy 
of the house will be continued in the same liberal manner as heretofore. 




294 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Municipal Engineering, published bj Municipal Engineering Co., the 
best and most important magazine devoted to the particular field which it 
fills, was established in 1S90. It is recognized as the foremost representative 

of the interests connected with the 
improvement of cities, embracing the 
field of paving, sewerage, water- 
works, parks, etc. It circulates 
throughout the United States, Can- 
ada and foreign countries, and at the 
World's Fair was awarded a medal 
and diploma for excellence. From 
an unpretentious pamphlet of 16 




pages it has grown to a magazine of 
nearly 150 pages. Its editorial poli- 
cy has been to relj on men whose 
technical education and experience 
have distinguished them as best quali- 
fied to discuss questions treated in 
the magazine, and civil engineers, 
analytical chemists, contractors and 
others who have achieved the dis- 
tinction of being foremost in their 
class, are among its contributors. William Fortune is president, Charles C. 
Brown associate editor, and Charles O. Roemler advertising manager. A 
branch office is conducted in New York City. 

Indianapolis Sentinel, Democratic, was established in 1S22, is published 
by the Indianapolis Sentinel Company, daily, weekly and Sunday. 

Indianapolis Journal, Republican, was established in 1S24. Issued daily 
and Sunday, by the Indianapolis Journal Newspaper Company. 

The Indianapolis News, an independent evening newspaper, was estab- 
lished in 1S69, by John II. Hollida3^ It is published every afternoon except 
Sunday. Charles R. Williams is editor and Wm. J. Richards manager. 

The Sun, an independent evening paper, is published every afternoon ex- 
cept Sunday, hy the Sun Publishing Company. 

Indiana Tribune, German, is published daily and Sunday. 
The Daily Reporter, published by the Reporter Publishing Company, 
makes a specialtj' of court news, etc. 

The Indianapolis Daily Live Stock Journal is devoted to the interests of 
shippers and is published at the Stock Yards. 

The Daily Telegraph, established in 1S64, is the only German newspaper 
published in this city that is a member of the associated press. It is the 
oldest German paper in the city and is published by the Gutenberg Com- 
pany, and is Independent-Democratic in politics. The directors are H. O. 
Thudium, president ; J. B. Jeup and F. Striebeck. 

Indiana Volksblatt, established in 1847 and published by the Gutenberg 



HYMAK'S HANDBOOK OF INDIA XAPOLIS. 



297 



Company, is the oldestGerman weekly paper in the state. It is Independent- 
Democratic in politics. Die Spottsvogel, a humorous and literarv familv 
paper, established in 1S64, is also published by this company. 

Other publications are numerous, embracing weeklv, semi-monthly and 
monthly issues, among which area number of the most influential trade jour- 
nals in America. 

The Denison, erected in 1S79, is one of the leading hotels, and occupies 
the finest building in the city designed exclusively for hotel purposes. In 
character of its appointments and management it ranks with the very best in 
America. It is a modern liotel in every detail. The building is an imposing 
six-story and basement structure, ^vith a front of dressed stone, on Pennsvl- 
yania street, covers a quarter of a block of ground, and is a solid building, 
200 X 202 feet in dimension. It is located in the heart of the city, and reached 
by the principal street railway lines passing the Union Railway Station. It 
is heated by steam and natural gas, and lighted by its own electric lighting 
plant. It contains 310 rooms, and can comfortably care forSoo guests. The 
rates are $3 and upward per day. The hotel is operated on the American 
plan. D. P. Erwin is the proprietor, and T. J. Cullen, one of the best-knoun 
and most popular hotel men in the country, is manager. 




English's hotel. 



The Commercial Club Restaurant is conducted on the top floor of the 
Commercial Club building, and is the most attractive and popular cafi^ in the 
city. It is first class in every respect, the rates are moderate, and the service 
is of a very high order. George H. Bryce is proprietor. 

The Normandie, which is located at the southeast corner of Illinois and 
Georgia streets, one block north of the Union railway station, is the best 



298 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




CHARLES MAYER & COMPANY. 



strictly European hotel in the city. It was opened in September, 1S94, by 
George W. Koehne, the present proprietor. The rooms are well furnished, 
and the rate is from 50 cents upwards. In connection with the house is -one 
of the finest appointed cafes in the city, where the very best the market af- 
fords is sold at extremely moderate rates. 

Hotel English was erected in 1SS4, and occupies a lour story and base- 
ment stone front building, in the northwest quarter of Monument Place. The 
house has just been remodeled, with a lofty and spacious rotunda, elegantlj' 
appointed offices and reading rooms, dining room, etc., on the ground floor, 
and over 100 guests' rooms newly furnished throughout. The house is bril- 
lianth' lighted by electricity from an independent electric light plant. Every- 
thing in connection with the hotel is strictly first class, and it is undoubtedly 
the best and cosiest hotel in the west operated at its rate ($2 per day and up- 
ward). Jerry S. Hall is the proprietor of the hotel. 

Peter Sindlinger, wholesale and retail pork and beef packer, 207 West Mich- 
igan street, Indianapolis, Ind. Supplying the population of a city such as 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



.299 




NORMANDIE HOTEL AND CAFE. 



^iidianapoHs with necessary meat products is a business of evcr-expandin. 
dimensions, which is well represented by a number of active, progressive men 
of enterprise, ability and capital. Among these is Mr. Peter Sindlinger, 
wholesale and retail pork and beef packer, whose packing house stores are at 
207 West Michigan street. He is one of the oldest established dealers in this 
line, and his house has alwaj's commanded a prominent position in the fore- 
most rank. He founded this business over a quarter of a century ago. He 
-s well equipped with every convenience, and provided with everv facility for 
conducting and managing his business on a large scale, and besides supplying 
a substantial, permanent family custom, fills orders at wholesale for the trade. 
Mr. Sindlinger does all his own curing and packing, and makes a specialty 
of sugar cured hams, breakfast bacon, shoulders, kettle lard, dried beef, 
bologna and other sausages. 

) John Wimmer, optician, 14 N. Pennsylvania street, began business in 
1S7S. His specialty is the mi ^ufacturing of optical goods, lenses for spec- 
tacles and lense grinding of evv. y description. He carries in stock a full 
line of optical goods and artificial ej'es. Mr. Wimraer brings to his business 
a thorough and practical knowledge of its science and requirements. He is 
a graduate of the Chicago Opthalmic College, the Cleveland School of Op- 
tics and the Eclectic School of Physicians and Surgeons of Indianapolis, and 
is president of the Indiana Optical Society. 

The C. B. Cones & Son Manufacturing Company, manufacturers of 
"Cones Boss" overalls, coats, pants and shirts, is one of the largest manu- 
facturing establishments of its kind in the United States. The factorv con- 



300 



HY.VAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




INTERIOR OF COMMERCIAL CLUB RESTAURANT. 



sists of a three story and basement building on North Senate avenue, 50 by 
200 feet. The business was established in 1S79 ^J C. B. Cones, Sr., and from 
a very small and modest beginning, it has extended its operations until at the 
present time the output is sold throughout all of the central, western, and 
southern states, furnishing employment to more than 400 hands and requir- 
ing ten traveling salesmen to visit the trade. The range of manufacture in- 
cludes "Cones Boss" overalls, pants, shirts, hunting suits, boys' shirts and 
waists, and ducking clothing generally, in great variety. The business was 
incorporated in 18S8. Tlie present officers of the company are: C. B. Cones, 
president; H. B. Hibben, vice-president; John W. Murphy, treasurer, and 
H.' L. Browning, secretary. 

John L. Moore, Wholesale Grocer, 124 and 126 South Meridian street, has 
been established since iSSo. His house does an extensive business through- 
out Indiana and Illinois, employing six traveling men. The business is 
commodiously housed in a three story and basement brick building, in which 
a very complete stock of staple and fancy groceries are at all times carried. 

Ward Brothers Drug Company, 22 South Meridian street, was incor- 
porated in 1896. This companj' is one of the large concerns representing 
the wholesale drug trade in this city. The business was begun in 1866 by 
Dr. Boswell Ward, who established himself in a retail way at the corner of 
New Jersey and St. Clair streets. In 1869, his brother Marion Ward joined 
him in the business, and continued with him at this point until 1871, when a 
branch establishment was opened in the Buschman Block on Fort Wayne 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS 303 

avenue, which he conducted until the consolidation of both stores in 1S72. 
In 1879, the firm entered the wholesale trade by sending out a representative 
in the person of H. D. Porterfield to visit the retail trade of Indianapolis, 
and inaugurated a system of delivering goods directly to the purchasers. 
This concern, therefore, while not the first to engage in the wholesale job- 
bing trade in Indianapolis, is the first, however, to have a local representa- 
tive to drum the local retail drug trade. In 1881 the firm moved to 40 East 
Washington street, where they conducted a wholesale and retail business on 
a much more extensive scale. In 1890, they again moved to 22 South Meri- 
dian street, devoting themselves entirely to the wholesale drug business. The 
concern now employs six men, and the trade extends throughout Indiana, 
and parts of Illinois. The officers of the company are: Boswell Ward, presi- 
dent; Marion Ward, treasurer; C. S. Dearborn, secretary, and H. D. Por- 
terfield. 

Sheridan Brick Works, office 88 North Pennsylvania street. The works 
of this company are located at Sheridan, Indiana, on the Monon railroad. 
The business was incorporated in 1891. The officers of the company are: 
M.J. Osgood, president, and Oliver H. Root, secretary and treasurer. The 
plant at Sheridan is equipped with the very latest improved machinery, and 
is one of the finest plants in the state, with a capacity for manufacturing 75,- 
000 sand red brick per day. 

The Indiana Manufacturing Company, offices 401-405 Indiana Trust 
Building. This company was organized and incorporated in 1891. The offi- 
cers and directors of the company are A. A. McKain, president ; T. King, 
vice-president ; J. K. Sharpe, Jr., secretary and treasurer, E. C. Nichols and 
B. T. Skinner. The company acquired the patents owned by James Buchan- 
an on pneumatic straw stackers and forty-seven other patents, and af"ter in- 
troducing their machine licensed every manufacturer of threshing machines 
in the United States and Canada to build them on a royalty in connection 
with their machinery. The first license was granted in 1S92 and the first 
machine was built under license in 1S93. It is now estimated that over 
three-fourths of all the threshing machines in the United States are equipped 
with these stackers. 

Indiana Cigar Company was established in this city during the year of 
1S85, by the present proprietors, D. C. Hitt and J. B. Hitt, who are now lo- 
cated at No. 32 South Meridian street. The premises comprise a ground 
floor 20x120 feet in area, and are well equipped with all conveniences for 
conducting the large trade established. The factory of the Indiana Cigar 
Company is located at Urbana, Ohio, and is under the management of Mr. J. 
B. Hitt, while the Indianapolis house is in charge of Mr. D. C. Hitt. They 
emplov a full force of assistants in the house and six traveling salesmen, this 
branch supplying the trade in Indiana and eastern Illinois, the trade being 
both wholesale and retail. The specialty and leading brand sold by the 
branch house, is the " Pathfinder," for which a large demand has been cre- 
ated ; and they also deal in the best makes of fine grade five and ten cent do- 
mestic goods. 



304 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Charles Mayer & Co., importers and jobbers in toys, fancy goods, drug- 
gists' and stationers' sundries, etc., Nos. agand 31 West Washington street. — 
This business was established by the late Mr. Charles ISIayer, Sr., in 1840. 
He was a pioneer citizen who contributed, while living, much to this city's 
advancement. In 1865 Mr. William Ilaueis- 
en was admitted to an interest. In 1S80 the 
latter named gentleman retired and in 1S8S 
four new members were taken into partner- 
ship, the firm thus continued, consisting of 
Charles Mayer, Sr., his two sons Messrs. 
Charles Mayer, Jr., and F. L. Mayer, Fred. 
Berger and Louis Muir. In 1891, the worthy 
founder of the house died, and in Januarj' of 
the current year, Messrs. Berger and Muir 
retiring, the business has since been conduct- 
ed by Messrs. F. L. and Charles Mayer under 
the original firm style. The premises occu- 
pied consist of a spacious and commodious 
five story and basement building, having a 
frontage and depth of 34 x 195 feet, also a 
warehouse in rear of tiie above, on Pearl 
street, five stories and basement, 34 x 80 feet, 
and one on Senate Avenue South, three 
stories and basement and having lineal front- 
age and depth of 60 x 120 feet. The system 
that prevails in this immense establishment 

indicates the most careful supervision, while the judgment and taste 
displayed in the character of the stock proclaim the management to be 
thoroughly experienced in the business and keenly acquainted with the wants 
of a highly critical trade. The assortment embraces a full line of fancy china 
and cut glass, sterling silverware, sporting goods, bicycle supplies, fishing 
tackle, stationery, fine perfumes, soaps, toilet goods, toys, druggists' sundries, 
cutlery, games, fancy goods and a vast array of small wares and notions far 
too numerous for particularizatioii in these pages; importations of novelties 
being made direct from England, France, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, 
Bohemia and continental Europe generally. An average force of from ninety 
to one hundred and ten experienced assistants are employed in various ca- 
pacities in the home headquarters, while the interests of the house on the 
road are ably looked after by a corps of nine traveling salesmen, a large and 
steadily growing trade being enjoyed, which radiates broadly throughout 
Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky', Missouri, Iowa, Tennessee, Kansas and 
Nebraska. Messrs. Mayer are both natives of this city, and are prominent 
and popular members of the Board of Trade, Commercial and Country Clubs 
and German House. 




CHARLES MAYER, 



[840. 




JACKSON PLACE. 

Showing Main Entrance to Griffith Brothers, Wholesale Jlfillitiers. 



20 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



307 



Griffith Brothers, importers and wholesale dealers in millinerj, be<Tan 
business at Dayton, Ohio, in 1S63, and established themselves in this city in 
1876. The market in millinery from this point at that time was verv limited 
and did not extend bej'ond a radius of one 
hundred miles. Their enterprise and abilitj' 
has contributed to make Indianapolis one of 
the most conspicuous millinery markets in 
the country to-day. The growth of this busi- 
ness has demonstrated that this city is spe- 
cially favored in its location, for the firm finds 
it natural and easy to do business with all the 
trade in the central, western and southern 
states. The stock carried by this firm com- 
prehends everything in millinery and no con- 
cern in the country has a better understand- 
ing of the wants of the trade nor has better 
facilities to meet them. Griffith Brothers' 
storerooms, which comprise six floors, a solid 
block in length, over 200 feet, supplied with 
two power elevators and handsomely appoint- 
ed throughout for the accommodation of their 
large business, are located in the center of 
the wholesale district. The building has two 
fronts of imposing architecture, one being 
directly opposite the main exit from the Union 
Station in Jackson Place, as shown in illus- Griffith brothers. 

tration on preceding page, and the other on Meridian street, which is shown 
in accompanying engraving. 

D. P. Erwin & Co., Dry Goods, Notions, etc., No. 106 to 114 South Me- 
ridian street. — The dry goods trade in its various departments has no more 
able and enterprising exponent in this section of the country than the old 
established house of Messrs. D. P. Erwin & Co. This house dates its com- 
mercial existence back to 1859, when it was founded by Messrs. Webb, Ken- 
nedy & Co., to whom in iSSo succeeded Messrs. Johnston & Erwin. Four 
years later D. P. Erwin & Co. was organized, D. P. Erwin and Charles O. 
Lockerd as special, constituting the firm. In 1S87 the scope of operations 
was further extended by the purchase of the interest of Messrs. Byram, Cor- 
nelius & Co., Charles H. Erwin and Alvin S. Lockerd becoming partners. 
The present structure was erected and taken possession of in 1890. The 
building rises six stories in height, is equipped with elevators, and is located 
on the corner of South Meridian and McCrea streets with an L on Georgia 
street. The stock is an immense one and the trade exclusively wholesale. 
The departments are eleven in number, covering every branch of the trade 
in dry goods, notions and woolens, the handling of carpets being made a feat- 
ure in 1894. The firm is one of the most active and extensive importing 




308 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




11. 1'. KRWIX & COMl'AN -i'. 

houses in the state, and likewise controls the entire output of several of the 
largest cotton, woolen and carpet mills in the country. The interests of the 
house on the road are ablj looked after by a corps of eighteen traveling sales- 
men. Mr. D. P. Erwin has lived here since iSSo. He is also, apart from 
this interest, owner of the Hotel Denison, is now serving his second term as 
president of the Commercial Club, is ex-president of the Board of Trade. 
C. H. Erwin lives in New York city. Alvin S. Lockerd is an active, ener- 
getic young man of the highest standing. Mr. Louis P. Goeble, for 20 years 
with the firm, is in charge of the credits and several other departments. 

Meyer Brothers, controlling agents throughout Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, 
Missouri, Kansas and Nebraska for the sale of the product of the Kis-Me 
Gum Company of Louisville, Ky., began business in this city in 1892. Dur- 
ing their early connection with the concern their business was confined to 
Indiana and they were represented by four traveling men. The energy with 
which they applied themselves to their business, together with the merit of 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



S09 



the goods they represented, attracted recognition, and the field of their labors 
Avas widened until the several states which thev now control were added. 
To cover this territorv requires fourteen travelers, and tons of advertisino- 
matter, reaching nearly $125,000, are used annually in advertising Kis-Me 
chewing gum in this field. During the year 1895 Meyer Brothers have sold 
over one hundred and thirty million cakes of Kis-Me gum, or on an average 
of two cakes to every man, woman and child in the countrv. Considering- 
that their first year's business resulted in selling seventeen million cakes of 
gum it will be observed that their trade in three years has increased nearlv 
eight-fold, a truly remarkable showing, in the face of the strongest kind of 
competition. Kis-Me Gum is made up in six flavors and is one of the most 
popular articles of its kind in the market, and the demand is constantlj' in- 
creasing. The offices are located in the Pembroke Arcade, and the members 
of the firm are Leo and Louis Meyer. 

Wyckoff, Seamans & Benedict, sole manufacturers of the Remington 
Standard Typewriter, with a capital of $3,000,000, have become one of the 

gigantic and 
pre-eminent 
manufacturing 
establishments 
of America. 
There is noth- 
ing in the his- 
tory of commer- 
cial enterprises 
more strikinglv 
^-uggestive than 
t h e growth of 
this business. 
From very small 
beginnings 
about the year 
1S73, the growth 
has been un- 
precede n ted. 
The local office 
was opened in 
this city in 18S5 
by the present manager, Mr. G. E. Field, and several thousands of their well- 
known and popular machines are now in use in this state. The surprising 
success of the Remington is due to the fact that the manufacturers have kept 
up a constant march of improvements in order to keep pace with demands of 
the users. The result of this with the firm's enterprise in making known tiie 
merits of their machine has contributed to procure for the Remington Stand- 
ard Typewriter its universal recognition as the standard writing machine of 
the world. The local office is located at 34 East Market street. 




WYCKOFF, SEAMANS & BENEDICT. 



310 



HYAfAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



The Bowen-Merrill Company, Publishers, Book-sellers, Stationers and 
Paper Dealers, has been in existence for more than half a century, traciiig its 
establishment back to the house founded in 1838 by Samuel Merrill, Sr., 
grandfather of the present treasurer of the firm. 
In January, 18S5, Bowen-Stewart & Co. and 
Merrill, Meigs & Co. were consolidated and the 
present house incorporated. The business is lo- 
cated at Nos. 9 and 1 1 \V. Washington street, and 
occupies five floors, running clear through to 
Pearl street. A branch house is operated in Kan- 
sas City. The Indianapolis establishment is one 
of the largest, most complete and best equipped 
book stores in the country, and there are only 
two houses in the United States from which 
more books are distributed annually. It has 
been said that Cincinnati is the musical center, 
St. Louis the art center and Indianapolis the 
literary center of the west. True it is that Indi- 
anapolis buys more books than any other city of 
four times its size in the United States. In re- 
cent years The Bowen-Merrill Co.' has directed 
special attention to publishing, building up a list 
which includes the works of James Whitcomb 
Riley, Edgar Wilson Nye (" Bill Nye"), Sarah T. 
Bolton, Richard Malcolm Johnston, Col. Rich- 
ard W. Thompson, Hon. William II. English, 
Thomas L. Harris and many others of the promi- 
nent authors of this country. As law publishers, 
this house ranks among the very largest in the 
countr3^ Its publications include some of the 
most successful law works that have been issued 
Avithin the last ten years, and its list of authors contains the names of the 
most prominent legal writers in America, including Judge Byron K. Elliott, 
Charles Fisk Beach, Jr., Judge John M. Van Fleet, R. M. Benjamin, W. P. 
Fishback, Roswell Shinn, Judge Harrison Burns, William Watson Woollen. 
The publications from this department go into every nation in the world 
where the English language is spoken. Silas T. Bowen, one of the founders 
of the Bowen-Stewart Co. house, retired from active participation in the 
business in January, 1S85, and died in December, 1S95. Samuel Merrill, for 
many years at the head of the house, retired in 1S90. The business is now 
under the management of William H. Elvin, William C. Bobbs, Charles W. 
Merrill and John J. Curtis. The history of the house is one which reflects 
credit upon the city and state, .because to maintain and develop a large book 
establishment requires a community of culture and a population of book 
readers. 




THE BOWEX-MERRILL CO. 



HY^fAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 313 

Murphy, Hibben & Co., Importers and Jobbers of Dry Goods. Notions, 
Woolens, etc. (wholesale exclusively), 93 to 99 South Meridian street, and 
26 to 36 East Georgia street (annexed). This, the oldest and largest Job- 
bing Dry Goods and Notion house in the State, rightfully occupies a most 
important position in any review or history of Indianapolis as a jobbing cen- 
ter. The firm of Murphy, Hibben & Co., through all the various changes of 
title and interests occurring in the past twenty-five years, has maintained 
the highest position in the esteem and confidence of the trade, and steadily 
retained its early acquired supremacy, surviving the decline or retirement of 
many competitors in this and adjoining markets. Concentrating their en- 
ergy in the prosecution of the business, and limiting the employment of their 
resources to its constantly widening field, their present ample capital and 
assured financial position have been acquired by no doubtful methods, but 
are the direct result of prudent and attentive business methods, combined 
with a broad spirit of coinmercial enterprise. As noted above, Messrs. Mur- 
phv. Hibben & Co., occupy the building at the corner of Meridian and Geor- 
gia streets, in the heart of the wholesale district, comprising Nos. 93, 95, 
97 and 99, a frontage of 80 feet on Meridian street by 205 feet on Georgia, 
four stories in hight, to which is annexed by bridges and tunnels, the premi- 
ses Nos. 26 to 36 East Georgia street, three floors of which are used as sales- 
rooms and the balance for storage; these afibrd, in their entirety. 150,000 
square feet of floor space, more than double that employed by any similar 
business in the State. The merchandise offered in the various departments 
includes all desirable lines required in a first-class modern store, covering a 
wide range of foreign and domestic dry goods, notions, hosiery, white goods, 
linens, woolens, floor oil-cloth, and linoleum , curtains, draperies, window- 
shades; also of their own manufacture a very large line of overalls, working- 
shirts, laundered and soft shirts, jeans, cottonade and cassimere pants. Lib- 
eral use has been made by this firm of the facilities of direct importation 
off'ered by the Indianapolis Custom-House, through which much merchan- 
dise is received in bond direct from all foreign markets. Special attention has 
been given to the products of Western and Southern mills with most en- 
couraging results, as both the trade and the consumer hold this class of goods 
in constantly increasing favor, and many of the larger mills have found it 
advantageous to make Messrs. Murphy, Hibben & Co., their agents for gen- 
eral and special lines manufactured by them. In conclusion, it may be said 
that the wide acquaintance of the house, and its well-known reputation for 
solidity and fair-dealing, place it as a representative of the best element of 
commercial character and activity, and the firm is conceded to stand at the 
head in its own line, and among the best of the strictly jobbing interests of 
the State. The members of the firm are J. W. Murphy, H. B. Hibben and 
Louis Hollweg, and they are always prominently identified with all move- 
ments that tend to further the city's interest. 



314 



JIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS, 



Fahnley & McCrea began business in 1S65, and Avere the first firm to en- 
gage in the wholesale millinery trade in this city. ' Since their estab- 
lishment this branch of 
trade has become one of 
the most important and 
largest in the wholesale 
business of Indianapolis, 
and the prestige secured 
by them as pioneers has 
been maintained and they 
are recognized to-day as 
one of the leading and 
most important millinerj' 
jobbing concerns in the 
west. The buildings occu- 
pied are the property of 
the firm and are located 
at 140-142 South Merid- 
ian, 39-41 McCrea and 8 
West Louisiana streets. 
The stock is one of the 
heaviest and most com- 
plete in this line that is to 
be found between New 
York and Chicago, and is 
excelled by none in either 
of the above cities. A staff" 
of fifteen travelers are re- 
quired upon the road, cov- 
ering Indiana, Illinois, 
Iowa, Ohio, Kentucky, 
Tennessee and Georgia. 
Upwards of fifty hands 
are employed in the store. 
The members of the firm 
are Frederick Fahnley 
and Rollin H. McCrea. 

McKee & Company, 
wholesale dealers in boots, 
shoes and rubbers, are lo- 
cated in one of the hand- 
somest and most substantial buildings located in the jobbing district; has a 
frontage on Meridian street, at Nos. 136 and 138, and runs back and faces 
Jackson Place. The building employed consists of four floors and a base- 
ment. The house, which is one of the oldest in the wholesale trade of this 




FAHNLEY & m'CREA. 



p 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



315 



city, was established in 1861 by Vinnedge, Jones Si Co. It has changed its 
personnel twice, becoming McKee & Company in 18S8. From its inception 
the house has maintained a foremost 
position in the jobbing trade of the 
citv, and is recognized to-da^y as the 
largest in its lia/; in the state, and one 
of the strongest in the west. The ware- 
rooms are exceptionally well appoint- 
ed and provided with every conven- 
ience for the proper display, sale and 
shipment of the immense stock carried 
at all times. The trade of the house 
is heavy, and extends throughout Indi- 
ana, Ohio and Illinois, which, is cover- 
ed bv their traveling inen. The mem- 
bers of the firm are Edward L. and 
Robert S. McKee. 

Weinberger's European Hotel, 10- 
14 West Louisiana street, is one of the 
landmarks and will always be pleas- 
antly remembered by inany who have 
visited this city for nearly half a cen- 
tury. Mr. Herman Weinberger, the 
proprietor, is one of our pioneer citi- 
zens. He came to this city in 1S55. 
engaging in business where he is still 
located. His son, Edwin Weinberger, 
is in charge of the hotel and restaurant. 
It is operated on the European plan, 
and furnishes the very best accommo- 
dation to the traveler and transient 
visitor at moderate rates. It is located 
opposite the Union Station and in the 
heart of the wholesale district. The 
rooms are comfortably appointed and, 
owing to its location, makes it one of 
the most convenient and desirable 
places for the accominodation of trav- 
elers in the city. The rates for rooms 
are 50 cents per day and upward. 

William W^iegel, manufacturer of show cases, 6 West Louisiana street, 
began business in this city in 1S77, and is the largest and only exclusive 
show case manufacturer in the state. He occupies a four-story and basement 
building 28x100 feet in dimensions, equipped with all requisite machinery and 




M'KEE & COMPANY. 



316 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



appliances for speedy and finished production, also containing ample accom- 
modations for storage and display purposes, in addition to very available 
shipping facilities. His range of production embraces plain, square, round 
front, upright, circle, mansard, single and double monitor cases for ordinary 
use, also for special purposes, such as prescription, cigars, perfumeries, fancy 

articles, nick-nacks, etc., for 
counter, side wall and center of 
stores. No cheap or shoddy 
work is turned out by Mr. Wie- 
gel, who is himself a practical 
mechanic and personally attends 
to the business, employing none 
but experienced workmen famil- 
liar with their trade. He carries 
large stocks of cases, iron show- 
case stands, spring hinges, alarm 
monev tills, etc., giving employ- 
ment to from eight to ten hands, 
and does a large trade through- 
out Indiana, Ohio, and Illinois. 
He also manufactures adjustable 
show-case and wall-brackets, 
which have a large sale among 
show-case manufacturers and 
others throughout the country. 
Indianapolis Gas Company. 
— It might be said that few cities 
in the Union furnish a better ex- 
emplification of thoroughly sys- 
tematized gas lighting than does 
Indianapolis, a fact due to the 
efforts of such progressive cor- 
porations as the Indianapolis Gas 
Company, whose business ofiices 
are located at No. 49 South 
Pennsylvania street, in the Ma- 
jestic building. The Company 
is an outgrowth of the Indian- 
apolis Gas Light and Coke and 
Indianapolis Natural Gas Com- 
panies, chartered in 1S76, to which this concern succeeded in 1890, and its 
career throughout has been a very prosperous one, and highly creditable to 
the judgment and ability of its management. The artificial plant of the 
company is situate at the junction of Pennsylvania and Louisiana streets, and 
covers an entire city square, the company likewise owning and operating one 




WILLIAM WIEGEL. 
FAHNLEY & m'CREA. 
WEINBERGER HOTEL. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



317 



hundred and eighty gas wells at Hamilton, Madison and Tipton counties, 
Indiana, with an output capacity of 3,500,000 feet per day. The gas produced 
by this, the only artificial gas company here, is unrivaled for brilliancy, and 
is considered by able gas engineers and experts equal to any in the country, 

while the prices charged 
for it are as low as those 
of any other company. 
The following gentlemen, 
who are widely and fav- 
orably known in business 
circles for their ability, 
energy and integrity, con- 
stitute the personnel of 
the present executive 
management, viz.: Chas. 
E. Dieterich, president, 
resident of New York 
city, where the company 
has an office at No. 45 
Broadway ; E. C. Bene- 
dict, of New York, vice- 
president ; John R. Pear- 
son, general manager; A. 
B. Proal, assistant secre- 
tary and treasurer; S. D. 
Pray, secretary', resident 
here since 1S67 ; James 
Somerville, superintend- 
ent artificial department, 
here since 1876, and en- 
gaged with this company 
for twenty years. 

Daggett & Company, 
manufacturing c o n f e c- 
tioners, 20 West Georgia 
street, were among the 
very first to engage in the 
jobbing trade in this city. The firm was established in 1856, and has en- 
joyed a prosperous and growing business throughout its busy existence. The 
firm Avas incorporated in 1892, and is now the largest of its kind in the state. 
The trade extends principally throughout Indiana. Ohio and Illinois. The of- 
fices and plant are located in the large brick building at 20 West Georgia 
street, consisting of six floors and basement. One hundred persons are em- 
ployed in the house and six travelers visit the trade. The officers of the com- 
pany are William Daggett, president; J. F. Messick, treasurer, and J. H. Wil- 
son, secretary. 




I AIINLEY & M CREA. 



318 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




LEVEY BROTHERS COMPANY. 

Levey Brothers Company, printers, stationers, lithographers and blank 
book manufacturers, 19 West Maryland street, were established in 184S, 
and have enjoyed nearly fifty years of uninterrupted business success. 
Their plant is among the largest in the state, and is equipped throughout 
with the ver>' latest and most modern machinery and appliances of every de- 
scription. They were the first to introduce typesetting machinery in a mer- 
cantile printing establishment. Over 100 persons are employed in the differ- 
ent departments, and the trade of the firm extends throughout every state 
and territory in the United States, their principal specialties being the execu- 
tion of high grade mercantile printing and the manufacture of blank books 
and bankers' supplies. They also have the contract for publishing the law 
for the state of Indiana. 

Hollweg & Reese, direct importers of china, glass and queensware, 84 to 
98 South Meridian street, is the largest, best stocked, and most elegantly 
equipped china, glass and queensware jobbing house in the state of Indiana. 
Mr. Louis Hollweg, who established the business in 1868, the sole proprietor 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



319 




HOLLW EG & REESE. 



since the death of Mr. Charles E. Reese in i88S. The firm occupies a hand- 
some five-storj and basement building, 75x130 leet in dimensions, as sales- 
room and office, and the two adjoining buildings, each four stories high and 
40x120 feet in dimensions, are used for the storage of heavy stock, the pack- 
ing and shipment of goods, etc. They handle very heavy stocks, chiefly the 
products of the most famous European potteries, of which they are direct im- 
porters ; also carry full lines of the choicest American manufacture of white 
and • decorated wares, American glassware, lamps of every description in 
glass, porcelain, potterj-, plain and decorated, lamp goods, supplies, novelties, 
ornaments, bric-a-brac, etc., of the finest quality, the firm who operates a 
plant at Greenfield, Indiana, for the manufacture of fruit jars, being the lead- 
ing distributers of these goods in Indiana. They employ fourteen travelers 
and about sixty-five persons in the house, and their trade extends throughout 
the west and south. 

McKee Shoe Company, successors to R. S. McKee & Son, and McKee & 
Company, 136 and 13S South Meridian street, wholesale dealers in boots. 



320 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




M KEE SHOE COMPANY. 



shoes and rubbers. This concern has had a continuous existence since 184=;, 
having been established at that time hy John W. Raj & Company. Latterly 
the firm became known as Raj, Majhew & Companj, McKee & Branham, 
R. S. McKee & Son, and on November 13, 1896, incorporated under the 
title of the McKee Shoe Companj. This is now the onlj boot and shoe 
jobbing house in the citj and the largest one in the state. Eight travelers 
are emplojed, and the trade extends throughout Indiana, Illinois and Ken- 
tuckj. The officers of the companj are : Robert S. McKee, president ; 
Edward L. McKee, vice-president; William J. McKee, secretarj and treas- 
urer. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



321 




DAGGETT & CO.MPANY, 



J. A. Everitt, Seedsman, 121 and 123 West Washington street. — This 
business was established in 1SS6. In 1890 the concern was incorporated and 
in 1892 the large brick building now occupied, 195 feet in length, consisting 
of six floors, was built for the exclusive use of the business. It is now one of the 
largest and most completely equipped seed hovises in the country. The trade 
extends throughout this and foreign countries, and half a million catalogues 
are printed and distributed annually to the patrons of the house. About 75 
persons are employed by the concern. ^ The stock embraces a full line o^ 
seeds of every description, grown to special order, chiefly in the North and 

21 



322 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




J. A. EVERITT. 

East, including the standard varieties, such as bean, beet, cabbage, carrot 
celer_v sweet-corn, cucumber, lettuce, melons, onion, parsnip, pea, raddish, 
spinach, tomato, turnip, etc., of the choicest character, with novelties and 
specialties m the same lines; the plants from which show superior growth 
producing qualities and better average results than those obtained from an^ 
other source. Tlieir floral department is equally select and desirable The 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



323 



list contains every seed known to the lexicon of florists, put up in handsome 
packages, each package containing the firm's trade-mark and full directions 
for sowing and cultivating. Their small fruit and plant departments, their 
departments of farm seeds, of lawn and other grass and clover seeds, of escu- 
lents, including the great earlv potato "The Everitt," are likewise unsurpass- 
ed in variety and completeness. The celehrated "Man Weight" farm and 
garden tools are also manufactured by this corporation, and have an exten- 
sive sale. The officers of the company are: J. A. Everitt, president; L.J. 
Everitt, secretarv and treasurer. 




CWRLON & HOLLENBECK. 



Carlon & HoUenbeck, printers, binders and blank book manufacturers, 
southeast corner of Meridian street and Monument Place, conduct the largest 
book binding and general job printing concern in this city. The business 
has had a continuous existence since 1S64. For tlie past seventeen years it 
has been conducted under the present firm name, the members being John 
Carlon and Charles E. HoUenbeck. The character of the work produced by 
this house in not surpassed by anv other printing establishment in the coun- 
try. Many of the well-known illustrated periodicals published in this city 
are issued from its press and are fine examples of first-class printing. About 
one hundred persons are employed in the difterent departments. 

The Pembroke Arcade was erected by Dickson i: Talbott in 1S95. It is 
one of the most strikinglv beautiful structures, and next to the Monument 
Place as a center of attraction to all who visit this city. The architecture 
strongly resembles some of the beautiful work which marked the buildings at 
the World's Fair. It is located east of the Indiana Trust Building and connects 
Washington street with Virginia avenue. 






HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




John Rauch, manufacturer of 
cigars, 8:: West Washington street, 
bes^an business in 1S72. Many of 
tlie brands of cigars manufactured 
by him have attained a popularity 
and extensive sale beyond the bor- 
ders of the state. Among some of 
his best-known and most popular 
brands are "Capital City," "Chess 
Club" and "Hoosier Poet," of which 
he manufactures over three million 
annually. In his factory he employs 
over fifty expert cigar makers. His 
retail establishment is recognized 
as one of the most popular smokers 
emporiums in the citv. 

J. P. Kavanagh, importer and 
packer of Leaf Tobacco, 54 South 




JOHN RAUCH. 

Pennsj'Ivania street. — In the establishment 
of a leaf tobacco house in this city by this 
well-known and old es*'ablished packer of J- ^- kavanagh. 

New York, Indianapolis comes in for strong 

recognition as an important market for leaf tobacco purchasers, and the 
trade that has heretofore been diverted to other centers will find special ad- 
vantages in turning their attention to this point. The packing warehouse 
opened by Mr. Kavanagh in this city is located in the large three-story and 
basement brick building located in the "Haas Block" at 54 South Pennsylvania 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



325 



street in which is carried a heavy stock of all grades of imported and domes- 
tic leaf tobacco. The advantages this house offers to the trade in dealin" 
direct with first hands are not to be overestimated. The territorv to be sup- 
plied from this point embraces Indiana, Illinois, Ohio Michigan and Missouri. 
Several travelers will be employed to visit the trade in this field. 

Krag-Reynolds Company, 31-33 East Maryland street, Wholesale Gro- 
cers. — This corporation is the successor by purchase in 1S94, of the business 

formerly conducted by A. 15. Gates 
e^ Company', who were engaged in 
the wholesale fancy grocery trade at 
this point for many years. The job- 
bing trade in groceries has always 
been one of the most vigorous and 
vital elements in the wholesale busi- 
ness of this city and this addition 
has added greatly to its strength. 
The concern carries one of the larg- 
est and as complete a stock as can 
be found in this or any other market. 
The trade extends throughout Indi- 
ana, Ohio, and Illinois, and twelve 
travelers are employed. The busi- 
ness is conducted at 31-33 East 
iNIaryland street in the large brick 
building consisting of four floors 
and a warehouse of tiiree floors 
The company is also proprietor of 
the Champion Cofteeand Spice Mills, 
located on Chesapeake street. The 
mills are among the largest in the 
West, completely equipped with the 
latest and most improved machinery 
for grinding spices; also five large 
roasters. The mills are situated in 
the rear of the wholesale department in a three-story brick edifice. The out- 
put embraces the well-known brands of coftee, "Blended Java," in jiackages, 
and "Mayflower" in cases; also the "Mayflower" brand of spices. The offi- 
cers of the company are: Charles M. Reynolds, president and treasurer; 
Wm. A. Krag, vice-president and general manager, and William Wallace 
Krag, secretary. 

The When Clothing Company was established in this city in 1875 and 
from its foundation has been recognized as the leading establishment of its 
character in this city. It is magnificent in its appointments, and the "When 
Building," in which it is located, at 30 to 40 North Pennsylvania street, ranks 
as one of the handsomest and most attractive structures in this city. John 
T. Brush is the resident partner and manager of the business. 




KRAG-REYXOLDS COMPANY. 



326 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



The Kahn Tailoring Company, 21 and 24 East Washington street, is one 
ol" tlic most important retail establishments in the city. The business 
was established 
bv Ilenrj Kahn 
in 1SS6, and in- 
corporated i n 
1SS9. It differs 
from other in- 
stitutions of a 
like character in 
this- city, in that 
its trade is not 
confined to this 
locality, but ex- 
tends through- 
out everj' state 
and territory in 
the Union. The 
advertiseme n ts 
of this concern 
have became fa- 
miliar to the 
reader of all the 
great magazines 
whose pages 
have been liber- 
al h' used for 
years past b y 
this company. 
Through these 
m e d i u m s the 
name of the 
house has been 

brought promi- THE KAHN TAILORING COMPANY. 

nently before the public, and the high grade and exceptionally good work- 
manship and style of the garments manufactured, together with moderate 
prices, have built up a trade not surpassed by any similar establishment 
in the west. The company make a specialty of dress suits. Over i:;o per- 
sons are employed in the manufacturing department. The officers of the com- 
pany are Henry Kahn, president, and Berry Self, secretary. 

George J. Marott, who has been engaged in the retail shoe trade in this 
city on his own account since 1SS5, now conducts one of the largest and 
handsomest shoe emporiums in the United States at 26 and 28 East Wash- 
mgton street. This establishment is not only the pride of our citizens, but 
is a point of attraction to thousands who visit our city annually. The ground 





EXCELSIOR LAlXDRY, 




ORIGINAL EAGLE CLOTHING STORE. 



32S 



IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




GEORGE T- MAROTT. 



floor and basement are utilized for business purposes and the splendid ap- 
pearance of the former with its twentj-foot ceiling, and magniiicent appoint- 
ments, impress the visitor with the spirit of enterprise everywhere apparent. 
Nearly three hundred incandescent electric lamps, operated by an independent 
light plant in the basement, furnish a flood of light. The furniture is of 
the richest and most comfortable character, and everything that can add to 
the attractiveness of the establishment and facilitate business has been in- 
stalled. 

McCormick Harvesting Machine Company began business in this city 
over thirty years ago. Mr. J. B. Hey wood, the present manager, has had 
charge of the company's business in this city for the past eighteen years. The 
premises occupied by him as offices and warehouses comprise the whole of 
the spacious and handsome McCormick building in South Pennsvlvania 
street, embracing six floors and basement. The building is built of pressed 
brick and Bedford blue stone and is imposing in appearance. 

Excelsior Laundry is located in the Masonic building, Nos. 2 to 6 Capitol 
avenue. South, and was founded by Major Taylor in 1S78 at the present 
place. Commodious premises are utilized, being Sox 100 feet and outfitted 
■with the latest and most improved machinery known to the laundry business. 
It is the first and oldest steam laundrv in the citv or state. From fortv-five 




M'CORMICK irARVESTIXG IMACHINE COMPAXY, 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



331 



to fiUv people are employed, and three wagons are run daily in delivering and 
receiving orders. It has agents in Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky and Ohio.''The 
work embraces all kinds of men's wear, as collars, cuffs, shirts, shirt waists 
all underwear, lace curtains and ladies' shirts, shirt waists, and all work that 
is done in a first-class laundry. It has a capacity of i,ooo to 1,500 shirts, and 
5.000 to 10,000 pieces daily, and the '• Excelsior " has never failed to render 
satisfaction. Major Taylor is president of the Indiana Laundrymen's As.so- 
ciation, and is also president of the Indianapolis May Musical Vestival As- 
sociation, and was president of the Country Club in iSn;;. 

Original Eagle Clothing Company.Nos. 5 and 7 West Washington street 
was founded in 1S53, by Messrs. Griesheimer & Co.. who were succeeded, in 
1S79, by Messrs. Strauss & Gundelfinger, and eventually, in 18S7. '^^r. L. 
Strauss became sole proprietor. Mr. Strauss brings great practical experi- 
ence to bear on the business, and under his management has ahvavsbeen rec- 
ognized as one of the most important and among the foremost in this line in 
the city. The premises occupied comprise a spacious store. 33x100 feet in 
dimensions, with a wing 17x55 feet in area, extending to South Meridian 
street, fifteen clerks and assistants being employed. This house has only one 
price, every article handled is fresh and choice, the stock being thoroughly 
overhauled and renewed at necessary intervals, and Mr. Strauss numbers 
among his permanent customers many of our influential and wealthy citizens. 
He can always obtain the newest fashions in hats and furnishin"- ''oods, and 
the varied nature of the stock gives a choice not to he duplicated elsewhere. 




MERRITT & CO!MPAXY. 



George Merritt & Company, manufacturers of woolens. 41 1 West Washing- 
ton street, is one of the oldest industrial establishments in this city. The busi- 
ness was founded over forty years ago by George Merritt and William 



332 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Coughlen, under the firm name of Merritt & Coughlen. It was thus con- 
ducted for twentj-five years, when, on the retirement of Mr. Coughlen in 
iSSi, Mr. Worth Merritt (son of George Merritt) was admitted to the firm, 
and the present firm name adopted. The works cover a ground area of 
95x300 feet, in three main buildings having frontage on Washington street of 
300 feet. This factory is equipped with the latest improved machinery known 
to this branch of industry. From sixty-five to one hundred skilled and ex- 
perienced hands are provided Avith constant employment. Flannels, flannel 
skirts and lustre skirts are the specialties manufactured. The magnitude of 
their trade may be gleaned from the statement that they consume from 350,- 
ooo to 400,000 pounds of wool per annurri in their manufactures. 

Indianapolis Electrotype Foundry, Nos. 17 to 25 West Georgia street, was 
established in 1S75. In iSSS it was incorporated under the laws of Indiana 

with a paid capital 
of $15,000, Mr. 
George F. Reeves 
being the president; 
Mr. George L. Da- 
vis, vice-president; 
Mr. D. W. Wiley, 
secretary, and Mr. 
A. W. Marshall, 
treasurer. The of- 
ficers are thorough- 
ly practical and able 
business men, fully 
conversant w i t h 
every detail of this 
industry. The 
premises occupied 
are 35x120 feet in 
area, being three 
floors, fully equip- 
ped with the latest 
improved appara- 
tus, appliances and 
machinery. They 
conduct a general electrotyping, stereot\'ping and engraving business, also deal 
in pattern letters and printers' supplies, and empk)}' constantly fifteen first- 
class workmen. Superior plates for all printing purposes are made on wood 
or metal bases, half-tone being a specialty, while stamps are likewise furnished 
for bookbinders for embossing. The productions of this reliable concern 
always reach the -highest standard of excellence and finish, the prices quoted 
for the same are exceedingly moderate, and its trade, which is steadily in- 
creasing, now extends throughout Indiana, western Ohio and Illinois. 




INDIANAPOLIS ELECTROTYPE FOUNDRY 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXBTAXAPOLIS. 



P.3.S 




IXt.ALLS BLOCK. 



The Railway Officials' and Employes' Accident Association of Indianapo- 
lis was established in iSS6, bv William K. Bellis. During the first two 
years of its existence the business of the company was confined exclusively 
to the insurance of men in the railroad business, but later extended its poli- 
cies to other lines. From, its organization its growth has been unchecked 
and it is now recognized as one of the strongest and most reliable of the mu- 
tual accident companies in this country. It has issued over 125,000 policies, 
and has disbursed nearly $2,000,000. The claims have been paid with a 
promptness and liberality unequaled by ^any other company, and among 
railroad men especially, is so thoroughly established, that its name has be- 
come a synonym for fair dealing and integrity. The officers of the com- 
pany are Chalmers Brown, president; William K. Bellis, secretary and 
general manager, and Samuel Bellis, assistant secretary and treasurer. The 
offices of the company are located at 25 to 32 Ingalls Block. 

The National Starch Manufacturing Company. — To W. 1'. Pie!. Sr.. one 
of our oldest and best-known pioneer citizens, is due the establisiiment of 
the business out of which has grown the National Starch Manufacturing 
Company of this city. In company with others he began the production of 



334 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



starch, in 1867, and built a 
plant which was known as 
the Union Starch Factory, 
which was located in the 
eastern part of the city. On 
the night of October 8, 186S, 
this plant was destroyed by 
fire, and was immediately 
rebuilt. In 1872 Mr. Piel 
purchased the interest held 
by his partners, and, in 1873, 
the business of the Union , 
Starch Factory was dissolv- ~ 
ed, and the firm of Wm. F. 
Piel & Company was organ- > 
ized, and the removal made g 

> 
r 



to the present site. On Sep- 
tember 24, 1886, the firm 

was incorporated under the J^ 

title of The Wm. F. Piel > 

Company, with Wm. F. ^ 

Piel, Sr., president ; Wm. ^ 

F. Piel, Tr., vice - president > 

and ti'easurer, and Henry r 

W. Piel, secretary. In > 

April, 1890, the National 4 

Starch Manufacturing Com- ?3 

pan\' was formed, and the Z 
• C 

plant was purchased, and 

the old concern became a 9 

luember of the new organ- 'n 

> 
ization. Wm. F. Piel, Jr., is z 

the president; Wm. F. Piel, • 
Sr., manager ; Henry W. 
Piel, assistant manager, the 
latter also being directors of 
the company, and Chas. F. 
Piel superintendent of the 
plant. The works are among 
the largest in the west, cov- 
ering thirty-seven acres, five 
of which are under build- 
ings. The plant is a model 
one in every detail, and rec- 




HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



335 



ognized as the finest and most complete in the country for the production of 
starch. Over 200 persons are employed and nearlv 2,000,000 bushels of corn 
are consumed annually in the production of the goods. Enormous quanti- 
ties of the product are shipped to countries throughout the world, and tlie 
brands made by this concern have an established reputation for excellence of 
quality in every state and territory of the Union. 

Hetherlngton & Berner Company, 19 to 27 West South street, is one of 
the oldest industrial establishments in this city. The business was founded 

by Benjamin F. Hetherington in 
1S61; and in 1S63 Frederick Ber- 
ner, Sr., became associated with 
him. The business has had an 
even and steady growth and is now 
recognized as one of the most 
important manufacturing plants 
liere. The business was incorpo- 
rated in 1S93. The company nian- 
factures architectural iron 
w o r k, refrigerating machines, 
HETHERINGTON & BERXER cuMFANY. Special machinery of everv de- 
scription, and it is the largest builder of asphalt plants in the country. The 
product is shipped to all parts of the world. The plant is a large one, cover- 
ing nearly three acres, and admirably fitted with the latest and best im- 
proved machinery. Over 12:; men are employed. The officers of the com- 
pany are: Benjamin F. Hetherington, president; Fred. Berner, Sr., vice- 
president; Fred. A. Hetherington. secretary, and Fred. Berner, Jr.. treasurer. 





HETHERIXGTOX & BERXER COMP.\XY. 



336 



IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Carl Moller, i6i East Washington street, began business here in 1876 
and has always been recognized as one of the heaviest dealers in wall paper 

and interior decorations in the State 
During the decorating season he gives 
emploj'inent to a force of skilled as- 
sistants ranging from twent^--five to 
thirty. His stock embraces all the 
very latest American and European 
jyoductions, and his house enjoys a 
wide-spread and entirely deserved rep- 
utation for elegance of supplies and 
superiority of workmanship. 

Indiana Electrotype Company, No. 
23 West Pearl street. — There is no 




CARL MOLLER. 



branch of mercantile activity in this thriv- 
ing mid-continental metropolis in which 
more distinguished enterprise has been 
manifested than in that comprising the arts 
of electrotyping, stereotyping, etc. Promi- 
nent aniong the representative concerns 
thus referred to ranks the Indiana Electro- 
type Company, conducted under the pro- 
prietorship of Messrs. William Wands, Jos. 
E., M. A., and Jno. B. Fleck, the active 
management being in the hands of Mr. J. 
II. Hutton. They founded their present 
establishmeiit in 1893, and their patronage 
now radiates, apart from immediately local 
business, throughout Indiana, Ohio and Illi- 
nois. The premises comprise the entire 
ground floor of the building, No. 23 West 
Pearl street, the equipment being of the latest improved pattern, operated by 
an eightj'-five horse power gas engine. All classes of electrotyping and stereo- 
typing are economically and perfectly done. 




INDIANA ELECTROTYPE CO. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 837 

Indianapolis Book 
and Stationery Com- 
pany, 75 South M,-- 
ridiaii street, whole- 
sale jobbers and im- 
porters t)^ books, sta- 
tionery, and fancy 
goods, etc., are suc- 
cessors to the busi- 
ness formerl3' con- 
ducted by the Burris- 
Ilerzsch Company 
and the Bowen-Mer- 
lill Company. The 
concern was incor- 
porated in June, i8g6, 
and is the largest one 
of its kind west of 
New York citj' en- 
gaged exclusively in 
the jobbing trade 
The company is lo- 
cated in commodi- 
ous quarters consist- 




INDIANAPOLIS IJOOK AND STATIUXKKV CUMi'ANV. 



ing of four floors 22x195. Five 
travelers are employed, who cover 
the territory of Indiana, Ohio, and 
Illinois. The officers and direc- 
tors of the company are : R. II. 
Barnes, president; A. F. Ilerzsch, 
vice-president; W. ISI. Cronvn, 
treasurer; J. II. Wilson, secretary; 
Thos. Dunn and Marshall Moore. 
Progress Clothing Company, 
Bliss, Swain eV: Company, propri- 
etors, 6 and 8 West Washington 
street, is one of the largest retail 
establisments in the city. The 
business was established in Sep- 
tember, 1S91, and from the open- 
ing of its doors took a prominent 
and foremost position in the retail 
trade. The firm is liberal in its 
use of printer's ink, and no con- 
cern is more deservedly popular. 
The members of the firm arc 
George W. Bliss and Thomas A. 
Swain. 




PROGRESS CLOTHING COiMPANY. 



338 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




W.J. HOLLIDAY & CO. 



W. J. Holliday & Company, 59 

and 61 South Meridian street, are 
the largest and most extensive 
dealers in steel and heavy hard- 
ware and carriage and wagon- 
makers' supplies in the state. The 
house was established in 1856 bj 
the senior member of the firm, and 
is one of the oldest wholesale con- 
cerns in the city. The trade of 
the firm extends over Indiana, Illi- 
nois, Ohio and Iowa. The mem- 
bers of the firm are William J. and 
Jacquelin S. Holliday and Walter 
J. Goodall. 

The Gordon-Kurtz Company, 
141 and 143 South Meridian street, 
manufacturers and jobbers of sad- 
dlery hardware, enjoys the dis- 
tinction of being the largest exclu- 
sively saddlery hardware house in 
America. The trade in this con- 



cern embraces Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Ken- 
tucky, Michigan, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas and 
Colorado, and it is the largest handler of robes 
and blankets in the country. The business 
was established in 1872 and has enjoyed even 
and uniform prosperity from its beginning. 
The members of the company are I. S. Gor- 
don, president; E. A. Wert, vice-president, 
and W. E. Kurtz, secretary and treasurer. 

Hide, Leather and Belting Company, 12 15 
South Meridian street, had its beginning in 
the war period. Its present proprietor, George 
W. Snider, assumed control of the business in 
1870, and its growth has been uniformly pros- 
perous. It now has in operation the largest 
plant in the state for the production of oak 
leather belting, besides carrying a large stock 
of rubber belting, hose and steam packing, also 
leather and shoe findings. The trade of the 
house covers all the central, southern and west- 
ern states. Mr. John W. Elstun is the business 
manager. 




GORDON-KURTZ CO. 



IIYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF JXDTAXAPOLIS. 



389 




Tanner & Sullivan, wholesale tin-plate, 
sheet iron and metals, tinners' supplies, and 
manufacturers of tinware. Among the repre- 
sentative wholesale houses of this city is that 
of Tanner & Sullivan, which was established 
in 1878 and since which time the business has 
steadily increased until this firm is now con- 
ceded to be one of the largest operators in its 
line of business throughout the west. Their 
four-story and basement buildings, located at 
116 and iiS South Meridian street, are admir- 
ably fitted for carrying on their extensive busi- 
ness, consisting of tin-plate, sheet iron, metals, 
tinners' supplies, tools and machines, all kinds 
of tinware and a general line of kitchen fur- 
nishing goods. This house has unequaled 
facilities for handling the business in their 
line, being well represented by a number of 
traveling salesmen who are thoroughly posted 



HIDE, LEATHER AND BELT- 
IXG COMPANY. 

in the requirements of the 
trade, and it is a well-known 
fact that all business entrust- 
ed to the care of Tanner & 
Sullivan is attended to with 
promptness and in a most 
satisfactory manner. Both 
Messrs. Tanner and Sullivan 
are active workers in the 
Commercial Club and Board 
of Trade, Mr. Tanner having 
been president of the last 
named organization for two 
terms, and is the present U. S. 
surveyor of customs at this 
port. 

Home Stove Company, No. 
79 South Meridian street, man- 
ufacturers of stoves, ranges and 
hollow ware, was incorporated 
in July, 1893. The manufact- 




TANNER i SULLIVAN. 



340 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS, 



uring plant of the concern is lo- 
cated at Greenfield, Ind., embrac- 
ing an area of nearly three acres, 
equipped with all the latest im- 
proved machinery, and furnishes 
employment to 120 operators. The 
celebrated "Home" and "Model" 
stoves, ranges and heaters and " Fa- 
vorite" stove, hollow ware and stove 
trimmings are manufactured by this 
company. These goods are fully 
described in a handsomely illus- 
trated catalogue which will be sent 
to any address on application. The 
stock carried in the store is the 
largest and most complete in the 
city. The officers of the company 
are Geo. Alig, president, and Louis 
Hitzelberger, secretary and treas- 
urer. 

Kothe, Wells & Bauer, whole- 
sale grocers, i2Sand 130 South Me- 
ridian street. An important mem- 
ber of the wholesale grocery trade of 
Indianapolis is the house of Kothe, 
Wells & Bauer, composed of George 
Kothe, William Kothe, Charles W. 
Wells and George Bauer, and was 
organized in January, 18S9. The 
firm is located in the heart of the 
wholesale trade district where they 
occupy a handsome four-story building, 35 x 150 feet, and containing all mod- 
ern facilities and improvements for the storage, display, sale and shipment of 
stock and the transaction of business. The firm's warehouse is located at the 
corner of Delaware and Merrill streets, where the large reserve stock is car- 
ried. They carrj' full lines of staple and fancy groceries, making specialties 
of teas, coffees and sugars of the choicest grades and varieties. In their de- 
partment of fancy groceries they include canned and potted meats, fruits and 
preserves, sauces, pickles, spices, baking powders, etc., also handling the best 
brands of smoking and chewing tobaccos and cigars, with other articles ap- 
pertaining generally to the business. The goods packed specially by this 
house and known by the brand of " Ko-We-Ba " are sold under a guarantee 
to give satisfaction or money refunded, and no goods sold in this market 
have a greater reputation for superior quality and absolute purity. The 
house has a large trade throughout Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, Ken- 




HOME STOVE COMPANY. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS 



341 



•a***\ 







tuckj and Pennsylvania, which is visited 
regularly by lo traveling men. The mem- 
bers of the firm are men of enterprise and 
business ability. 

Louis G. Deschler, wholesale and re- 
tail dealer in cigars, tobaccos and smokers' 
articles, 51 North Pennsylvania street, and 
Bates House rotunda, has been engaged in 
the trade about fifteen years. His estab- 
lishment on North Pennsylvania street, in 
the Lemcke building, is one of the hand- 
somest and most attractive smokers' em- 
poriums in the west. His establishments 
are noted as headquarters, both with the 
wholesale and retail trade, for strictly first- 
class high grade goods. He is a direct 
importer of fine Havana and Key West 
goods, and carries in stock the choicest 
and most popular brands of American 
manufacturers. lie makes a specialty of 
box trade and hundreds of our leading cit- 
izens are among his regular patrons. 

Judson & Hanna, 15 West Maryland 
street, are engaged in the wholesale jobbing trade. The business was estali- 
ished in 1S93 and the trade extends throughout Indiana and parts of Illi- 
nois and Ohio, which territory is visited by several travelers. The mem- 
bers of the firm are Charles E. Judson and John A. Hanna. 



KOTHE, WELLS & BAUER. 




INTERIOR OF LOUIS DESCHLER S CU>.\R KMfORIU.M. 



342 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Kruse & Dewenter, manufacturers of heating and ventilating apparatus 
223 and 225 East Washington street, began business in this citj in 1S84. Un- 
til recently they were established 
at 54 South Pennsylvania street, 
but having outgrown the facili- 
ties afforded in this location they 
purchased the present site and 
built the handsome three-story 
structure, 35 x 195, that is now 
used by them exclusively for of- 
fices, store-rooms and factory 
purposes. The building is a 
modern one in every respect, 
built of terra cotta, pressed brick 
with plate glass front, and fur- 
nished with the latest machinerv 
and appliances. The firm is one 
of the largest in the country and 
the only one in the state making 
a specialty of heating and ventil- 
ating apparatus and the dry and 
flush closet system for schools, 
churches and public buildings. 
They are also extensive manu- 
facturers of heating apparatus 

for dwellings and do a very large business throughout the country. Up to 
the present time they have employed about fifty men in the factory and three 
men on the road, but with their extended facilities will double their capacity. 
The members of the firm are Theo. Kruse and H. C. Dewenter. 

The Bedford Indiana Stone Company, number 26 Baldwin Block. This 
company was organized and incorporated in 1894. The officers of the com- 
pany are: Allen W. Conduitt, president; II. G. Coughlen, secretary and 
general manager, and Dr. O. S. Runnels, treasurer. The quarries of the con- 
cern are located in the celebrated Buff Ridge district at Bedford, Indiana, 
from which district over 95 per cent, of the best and finest grade of building 
stone is taken. These quarries cover over 400 acres, and are equipped with 
six steam powers and derricks, eight improved channeling machines, and four 
gang mills. Switches from competing railways run directh' into the quar- 
ries, a facility that is not enjoj^ed by any other quarry in Indiana. Among 
the notable buildings in the United States which were built from the stone 
taken from the quarries of this concern may be mentioned the Majestic, 
Lemcke and Saj'les buildings in Indianapolis, the Mail and Express, Y. M. 
C. A., San Remo Hotel, and School of Languages buildings in New York 
city. 




KRUSE & DEWENTER. 




HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 3^.3 

The Vajen-Bader Company.— Of the many useful articles that are man. 
ufactured in Indianapolis, there are none that have attracted j^reater atten- 
tion than the product of this concern. The Vajen-Bader Patent Firemen's 
Smoke Protector which is manufactured by this company 
has received the favorable comment of the press all over the 
world; it is the most perfect and practical device yet invented 
for the use of fire-fighters. It is built upon scientific prin- 
ciples and is considered of greater importance than the sub- 
marine diving apparatus which has in the past created so 
much interest. With the use of this helmet a person is en. 
abled to enter rooms filled with smoke or noxious gases 
without the slightest discomfort to the wearer. It furnishes 
complete protection against fire, heat, smoke, steam, gas, electric wires and 
falling debris, and aftbrds the only means for the saving of human life when 
all other efforts prove unavailable. This protector has been adopted by the 
fire departments of over one hundred of the largest cities, both in America 
and abroad. It is also used in the largest brewing establishments in the 
country, and by large miners and gas companies. It is estimated that during 
the first year over $3,000,000 worth of property was saved by the use of this 
new device. Great credit is due to Mr. Willis C. Vajen, who has brought 
this new protector to its present high state of perfection, and through whose 
energy it was brought to the notice of the fire-fighters and others who have 
made practical use of them. The helmet has been successfully tested before 
the many fire chiefs attending their annual conventions. First honors were 
taken at the meeting of the Pacific Coast Association of Fire Chiefs at Los 
Angeles, California, in May, 1895, and before the International Meetings of 
Fire Chiefs, at Augusta, Ga., in October, 1895, and at Salt Lake City, Utah, 
in August, 1896. The long list of testimonials received by the company 
would indicate that the helmet had done good service in many fire depart- 
ments in saving much property both from fire and water as well as a life sav- 
ing device. The materials used in the construction of this helmet undergo a 
chemical treatment. The cool pure air furnished to the occupant or wearer 
of the helmet comes from a compressed air reservoir having a pressure of 
100 pounds, and enables him to breathe freely and comfortably for from one 
to two hours. The specially constructed diaphragm in the ear pieces offers 
the advantages of hearing which one would naturally have on the outside. 
The double plates of mica in the eye pieces give him the freedom of sight, 
overcoming the damaging results from different temperatures in which the 
helmet is frequently to be used. The helmet is most complete in all details, 
with handsome case, air-pump and other attachments. The factory covers 
considerable space on the second floor of the old library building at the cor- 
ner of Ohio and Pennsylvania streets, where a number of men are employed 
constantly in the manufacture of these goods. Mr. Willis C. Vajen is presi- 
dent and manager of the company. 



344 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Theodore Stein, Abstracter ot"" Titles, Notary Public and General Con- 
veyancer, succeeded to the business of Wni. C. Anderson in 1SS7. Mr. 
Stein is a native of this city, having been born here November 7, 1S58. 
After attending public schools he entered the service of H. Hermann's lum- 
ber mills as book-keeper, and afterward became manager of the business, 
w^hich he continued until embarking for himself. In 1S91 he became a direc- 
tor of the German Mutual Insurance Company, of Indiana, and president 
upon the reorganization of this company as the German Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, of Indiana. He has at all times taken great interest in public affairs 
and served as citj' councilman two j'ears, at which time he was a persistent 
advocate of the elevation of railroad tracks and the originator of the law reg- 
ulating the use of bicycle lamps. 

Gregory & Appel, Insurance, Real Estate, Rental and Loan Agents, 96 
East Market street, have been engaged in business since 1SS4, and rank 
among the most important in their line in this city. The companies repre- 
sented by this firm are the New York Underwriters Agency, Westchester of 
New York, Citizens' of St. Louis, Northwestern National of Milwaukee, 
Spring Garden of Philadelphia, American of Newark, N. J., and the German 
Fire Insurance Company of Indianapolis. The members of the firm are 
Fred A. Gregory and John J. Appel. 

The American Plate Glass Company was incorporated in 1895. The of- 
ficers are: C. T. Doxey, president; D. M. Ransdell, secretary and treasurer. 
The factory is located at Alexandria, Indiana, and furnishes emplovment to 
over 400 men. 




HENRY COBUKX'S PLAXING MILL. 



Henry Coburn, one of the largest and most extensive dealers in lumber in 
this city, was perhaps, the first person to engage in that line of trade exclu- 
sively at this point. He began business in 1S59 at the southeast corner of 
Delaware and New York streets. The brick building that was used for office 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



.S45 




im ^ ^ 


n 


■ 1" 




wSmL,. 





HENRY COBURK S OFFICE AND YARDS. 



purposes at that time is still standing on the old location. The business was 
first conducted under the firm name of Coburn & Lingenfelter, and continued 
until 1S62, when William H. Jones became a partner by purchasing the in- 
terest of Mr. Lingenfelter, and the firm became known as Coburn & Jones. 
In 1S65 the yard was removed to the present location on the north side of 
Georgia street between Capitol and Senate avenues, then known as Tennes- 
see and Mississippi streets respectively. In 1872 they erected the planing 
mill located at the intersection of the above mentioned streets. The mill has 
a capacity of more than 50,000 feet of dressed lumber daily and furnishes 
emplovment to 45 to 50 persons. The mill is devoted to the production of 
sash, doors and blinds, and interior wood finish of every description. Over 
5,000,000 feet of lumber is embraced in the present stock in the yards. In 
1SS5, upon the death of Mr. Jones, the sole 'control of the business was as- 
sumed bv Mr. Coburn, who has conducted it ever since with his son William 
H. Coburn, who is associated with him in the firm. In addition to the above 
business Mr. Coburn is interested extensively in farmihg lands in this and 
Madison counties and in the Michigan Lumber Company of this city. Mr. 
Coburn is a native of this city, having been born in Indianapolis, September 
17, 1S34. His father, Henry P. Coburn, was clerk of the supreme court of 
Indiana, who came to this place from Corydon in 1S24. when the capital was 
transferred from that place. Mr. Coburn has enjoyed a successful business 
career and has been closely identified with the progressive movements that 
have brought Indianapolis up from a struggling village to a thriving me- 
tropolis. 

Indianapohs Manufacturers' and Carpenters' Union are the successor, by 
purchase, to the lumber business formerly owned and established by Warren 
Tate in 1S63, and which was operated by him until the winter of 1S71. Orig- 
inally, the company was composed of some 60 or more individuals— carpen- 
ters and small contractors— who organized a stock company and purchased 



346 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




INDIANAPOLIS MANUFACTURERS' AND CARPENTERS' UNION. 



the plant. The severe panic of 1S77 forced many of them to relinquish their 
holdings, and the majority of the stock was finally absorbed hy the present 
management. Among the original stockholders were C. F. Resener, Fred 
Diekman, Val. Schaaf, Frederick Schmid, Henry Pauli and others. Mr. 
Resener was the first president and was succeeded by Mr. Pauli. In 1S78 Mr. 
Schaaf was elected president and has served continuously since. With the 
exception of two years Mr. Schmid has been actively connected with the com- 
pany since its organization, and has directed the business of the corporation 
in the capacity of secretary and treasurer. Under the management of these 
gentlemen, the business has been developed to one of the most important in 
its line, and is unquestionably the largest in the manufacture of finished 
lumber, fixtures of all kinds and interior wood finishing. In their mill they 
operate a force averaging from 50 to 75 men, according to the conditions of 
trade, not including the office force. They also operate extensive lumber 
yards in the vicinity of the mill. The main offices and factory are located 
at 38 to 42 South New Jersey street. 

Mr. Frederick Schmid, the secretary of the company, as well as Mr. 
Schaaf, are pioneer citizens of Indianapolis, and have been instrumental in 
promoting the city's growth and welfare. 

The Foster Lumber Company was founded in 1872, by C. C. Foster & 
Co., and was reorganized under its present title in iS95,with a capital of $50,- 
000. The trade conducted in the different branches is widespread and com- 
manding in proportions. The plant of the company is located at 402 and 
420 North Mississippi street, covering a ground area of three acres, and with 
its splendid equipment of modern machinery and ingenious labor-saving 
devices and commodious dry kiln, is the most complete plant in the state. 
The planing mill, sash, door and blind factory include a two-story building, 
140x180 feet in area, and two three-storj' frame buildings. A loo-horse- 
power engine drives the machinery; there is a 6x iS foot boiler, and the fur- 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



247 




FOSTER LUMBER COMPANY. 



naces are arranged either to burn natural gas or surplus shavings. The ware- 
house and offices occupy a three-story frame building, 40 x 160 feet in dimen- 
sions, from 75 to 100 men being steadih' employed. There are numerous 
large sheds for the storage of dry and finished stock, while the spacious 
yards easily accommodate immense quantities of rough or dressed lumber. 
The ample switch connections with the "Big Four" railway aftbrd splendid 
convenience for expeditious shipments. The product includes all kinds of 
planed and finished lumber, sash, doors, blinds, frames, mouldings, etc., their 
specialty being veneered door and fine interior finish. Their trade extends 
over the whole state and into Illinois and Kentucky. The hardwood finish 
in the City Library and Commercial Club Building and many of the hand- 
some residences in this city are evidences of the superior character of their 
workmanship. The president, Mr. C. C. Foster, is one of the vice-presi- 
dents of the Commercial Club, a member of the Board of Trade, president of 
the Atlas Savings Association, vice-president of the Mutual Home Savings 
and Loan Association, a member of the Builders' Exchange. Mr. O. P. 
Ensley, secretary of the company, was chief clerk of the pension office at this 
point and is an energetic young business man. 

Fraser Brothers & Van Hoffoccupy a foremost position in the lumber trade, 
and rank among the heaviest dealers in this city. The business was established 
by Frazer Brothers & Colborn in 1880. The first partnership was composed 
of A. R. Colborn, who owns large interest in the lumber trade in Michigan 
City, Ind., and many other points throughout the state, and S. D. Fraser 
and S. P. Fraser, who came here in 18S0. In 1SS3, J. G. Fraser came here, 
and was taken into the business, and in iSSS II. L. Van Iloff also purchased 
an interest. In 1S92, Mr. Colborn retired, selling his interest to the remaining 
members, and the firm became known as Fraser Brothers & Van lIotT. Karly 
in its existence this house made itself an important factor in the lumber trade of 



348 



HY MAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



the city, and from the beginning has done a verj large and successful business. 
The yards, which are located at the junction ot East Washington street and 
Michigan avenue, are most fiivorablv situated, covering area of nearly three 
acres, and supplied with private railroad switches running into the grounds, 
capable of accommodating twenty cars, connecting directly' with the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad. In addition to being extensive dealers in sash, door 
and blinds, the firm carries at all times in stock about three million feet of 
all kinds of building lumber. 




WESTERN FIRXITCRE COMPANY. 



The Western Furniture Company, Madison avenue and South Delaware 
street. W. L. Hagedorn, president; Chas. Fearnaught, secretary, and George 
Herman, superintendent, was established in 1873. The factory is one of the 
most extensive engaged in the manufacture of furniture in this market. The 
buildings cover five acres and are built substantiallj' of brick, 170 feet long, 
by 100 feet deep, embracing four storiej md basement. They are equipped 
throughout with the latest and most iw-proved machinery. Over 100 men 
are employed in the factory, and the product which consists of beds and 
hamber sets find a market all over the United States and throughout foreign 
countries. 

The Emrich Furniture Company are successors to the business estab- 
lished by Emrich, Paulini & Companj' in 1S82. The company was incor- 
porated March, 1895, and was one of the largest firms engaged in the manu- 
facture of furniture in the city. The output consists of side-boards and bed- 
room sets. The trade of the concern extends throufrhout the entire United 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 349 

States. The factory is located at 190 to 210 West Morris street, and covers 
over one and one-half acres of ground and furnishes employment to 125 men. 
The officers of the company are: Henry Emrich, president; George H. 
Drechsle, vice-president, and John H. Emrich, secretary and treasurer. 

The Indiana Lumber and Veneer Company, Fifteenth street and L. E. & 
W. railroad. This company was organized in 1S92. The business is devoted 
to the manufacture of sawed veneers and band sawed lumber. A specialty 
is made of quartered oak for fine interior finish, and the product includes 
band sawed lumber of every description. The market for the product of 
this concern extends throughout every state and territory in the Union, and 
throughout foreign countries. The officers of the company are: A. K. Hol- 
lowell, president; O. M. Pruitt, secretary; L. P. Hollowell, treasurer, and 
William Dickerson, superintendent. The plant covers over six acres, and is 
especially well equipped with modern machinery and has the most conve- 
nient railway shipping facilities, being located directly on the L. E. & W. 
railway, and in direct connection with all roads leading into the citv. 

The Union Embossing Machine Company, manufacturers of Drop-Carv- 
ing machines, has acquired all the patents on Drop-Carving machines, and 
has now in operation over seven hundred machines in this and other coun- 
tries. In truth, the "Union" Drop-Carving machine must be classed as one 
of the greatest of modern inventions, and is as startling an innovation in the 
field of wood-working as the typesetting machine has become to publishing. 
By its employment the most delicate and difficult hand-carving can be re- 
produced at a nominal cost, as compared to the hand process. In fact, the 
quality and beauty of finish of the work of this machine can not be equaled 
by hand work. The machines have been adopted by the large manufacturers 
of pianos and organs; also by the principal furniture and car decorators and 
builders. The offices of the company, as well as the manufacturing plant, 
are located in the Crist building, in West South street. The officers of the 
company are E. S. DeTamble, president, and W. M. Richards, secretary and 
treasurer. 

Thomas E. Potter, 26 and 28 South Capitol avenue, establisiicd the busi- 
ness of manufacturing straw goods, such as hats and bonnets, in 18S8. It is 
the only factory of the kind in this city, and the business extends tiiroughout 
the entire central and western states. Employment is furnished to over 
250 hands. 

The Indiana Bermudez Asphalt Company and Paving Contractors was 
incorporated in 1S94. The officers of the company are: John M.Cooper, 
president; Allen W. Conduitt, secretary and treasurer. This concern is one 
of the most important and largest of those now engaged in laying the as- 
phalted streets in Indianapolis. Among the most important contracts filled bj 
this concern were the paving of North New Jersey street, Irom Washington 
to Fort Wayne avenue. Liberty street, East Market street, Buchanan street, 
Palmer street, and many others. This concern operates an extensive plan. 
r.t Brazil, Indiana, where it manufactures paving brick of superior iiuality o:: 
-; very large scale. 



350 



HYifAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



The Parry Manufacturing Company, owing to its rapid growth, has at- 
tracted, perhaps, more and wider attention than any other industrial institu- 
tion in the western country. The 
foundation of this magnificent and 
enormous business was laid four- 
teen years ago, at Rushville, Indi- 
ana, bj Dayid M. and Thomas H. 
Parr-s". At that point they began 
the manufacture of road carts and 
buck-boards. The road cart up to 
this time had not fully found favor 
with the agriculturists of America 
as a general utility yehicle, but the 
Parrys saw the "ear marks" of pop- 
ularity in the "two-wheeler," and. 
that the average man needed only 
a little persuasion to convince him that he could not be happy without one. 
Firmly convinced that the world could be converted and made happy by buy- 
ing road carts and with "the faith that was in them" and with the aid of 40 
employes, but limited facilities, they began the work. 

In 1884 their factory was destroj'ed by fire and they immediately sought 
new quarters and continued the work of "conversion." By 18S6 the road cart 
had established a reputation as "a thing of beauty and a joy forever," and the 




PARRY BROS. 



1886. 




PARRY MANUFACTURING COMPANY, Ibgt). 

Parrys were compelled to seek larger and better quarters for the production 
of their pet vehicle. In this year they moved to Indianapolis. From this 
time forth the business grew with leaps and bounds, and from an output of 
loc carts a day in a short space of time the factory began to turn out 1,000 
cartb daily, sending them to all quarters of the globe. In 1S90 the company 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 351 

began the manufacture of four-wheel vehicles on a large scale, such as surries, 
piano-box buggies, phaetons, road and spring wagons, etc. With the wide 
trade connections secured by this time in the sale of carts and the estab- 
lished reputation for making the very best goods for the smallest amount of 
money, they invaded the field occupied by the oldest and strongest carriat^e 
manufacturers for half a century. The plant was enlarged and equipped 
throughout with every modern appliance necessary to bring down the cost of 
production to the minimum. How well the Parry ISIanufacturing Company 
has succeeded in the manufacture of carriages is attested in the enormous 
plant, covering acres of ground — larger than the five largest carriage facto- 
ries in the world put together— in which every portion of a bugi^v, with the 
exception of the cloth and leather, is manufactured from the raw material. In 
all there are 19 buildings, covering 20 acres, connected with railroad switches 
running into the factory grounds. Many special Parry ''Jumbo'' cars are 
used for the shipment of vehicles to all parts of the country. During the busy 
season of 1S96 over 2.S00 persons were employed. Two independent electric 
plants are used for lighting the factory, and all the machinery is operated bv 
electricity. Over 350 four-wheel jobs are turned out daily, and 22 traveling 
men are constantly employed, visiting the trade in every state and territory 
in the Union. To pack the goods it requires 15,000 feet of lumber daily for 
crating, and 55 persons are employed in the book-keeping department. The 
trade in foreign countries is constantly increasing. The officers of the com- 
pany are: David M. Parry, president; St. Clair Parry, secretary, and Thomas 
H. Parry, superintendent. 

The W. B. Barry Saw and Supply Company was established by W. B. 
Barry in 1S74, and for nearly a quarter of a century has maintained a fore- 
most position as one of the leading industrial establishments of the city. 
The product consists of circular, band, and cross-cut saws, and has an es- 
tablished reputation for excellence of quality among the consumers through- 
out the United States. In 1S95, at the Atlanta Exposition, tlie production of 
this concern was awarded a diploma and gold medal for superiority. The 
plant is located at 132 and 134 South Pennsylvania street, where a large force 
is constantly employed. 

Parkhurst Brothers & Company, proprietors of the Indianapolis Bolt and 
Machine Works, is located at 122 to 128 Kentucky avenue. The business 
was established in 1S75 and has alwaj-s been recognized as one of the most 
important of the many institutions that add to the value of Indianapolis as 
a manufacturing center. The plant covers nearly two acres with substantial 
brick buildings, equipped throughout with the latest and most approved 
tools and modern machinery. About 50 operatives are employed, and tlic 
output of the plant consists of light and heavy castings, machine bolts, spe- 
cial machinery, and Olsen's Improved Freight Elevators. The members of 
the firm are:"* J. W., J. H., and J. M. Parkhurst, and M. E. McAlpin. 



352 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS, 




Nordyke & Marmon Company. — Manutacturing flour mill niachiner_v, ele- 
vator machinery and special appliances used in milling is one of the great 

industries of Indianapolis; and is well repre- 
sented bj the Norkyke & Marmon Companj', 
who own and have in successful operation one 
of the largest establishments of its kind in the 
world. The foundation of this now prosperous 
company dates from 1851, when the business 
was established by Messrs. Ellis and Addison 
H. Nordj'ke, as Nordyke & Son, and four years 
later Mr. Daniel W. Marmon became a partner. 
Mr. Ellis Nordyke died in 1871, and Mr. Amos K. Hollowell was admitted 
to the firm. In 1S74, the present company was organized and incorporated 
under the laws of the state, with Mr. Addison H. Nordyke, president; Mr. 
Amos K. Hollowell, treasurer, and Mr. Daniel W. Marmon, secretary, since 
when the manufacturing facilities have been increased and the trade extended. 
The plant of the company covers fifteen acres of ground on the line of a 
railroad in West Indianapolis, with which it is connected by side-tracks. 
Tlie buildings are one and two-story structures, substantially built of brick, 
the group comprising foundries, machine shops, iron aud wood-working 
shops, finishing shop, store and warehouses and handsome offices. There is 
also a spacious yard for the storing of material. A two-hundred-and-fifty- 
horse-power steam engine drives the machinery, and the services of five 
hundred skilled machinists are brought into requisition. Throughout all de- 
partments the works are perfectly equipped with the latest improved machinery 
and tools, and are among the best and most complete in the country. The 
various milling machinery and appliances turned out have a world-wide repu- 
tation, and are not only shipped to all parts of the United States, but also to 
Canada, European countries, Australia, Mexico, South and Central America, 
Africa, New Zealand and Japan, and the business is steadily growing in volume 
and importance each succeeding year. The company manufactures all kinds of 
flour mill and elevator machinery, corn mills and rice mills, also machinery for 
handling grain, the latest improved roller mills, portable mills, centrifugal 
bolts, pulleys, hangers, shafting, etc., and also deal in buhr mill stones, silk 
bolting cloth of all grades, and woven wire 
cloth, leather and rubber belting and flour mill 
supplies. The special features of the various 
machines and appliances manufactured by the 
Nordyke & Marmon Company are simplicity 
in construction, rapid adjustment convenience 
of operation and accurate workmanship. They 
are fully up to all that is claimed for them, and are in every point of actual 
value superior to any others in the market. All the officers are well and 
prominently known in this city in business and financial circles, and active 
members of the Board of Trade and Commercial Club. 




||iiniiiiiii---P, , , , ^^-^ 

«illl.l.|M|j3J^|[||Bg|^|||jl| 



1 




23 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




CRIST NATIONAL ELECTRIC HEADLU.HT. 



The National Electric Headlight Companywas organized in 1S90, bv R. 
B. F. Peirce, H. H. Fulton and D. L. Whittier. For a number of years ex- 
periments were made by different parties, to produce an electric headlight 

for locomotives, 
and after the ex- 
penditure of 
vast sums of 
m o n e y in an 
unsuccessful at- 
tempt to pro- 
duce a working 
machine, Hie 
idea was aban- 
doned. It was 
at this time that 
Mr. Peirce, who 
was t h e n the 
general mana- 
ger of the I.. D. 
& S. Railroad 
Company, be- 
came impressed with the importance of the electric headlight. His 
practical experience as a railroad man undoubtedly gave him a better 
knowledge of the importance and utility of the machine than was pos- 
sessed by the original promoters; and recognizing this he undertook to 
bring the headlight to perfection. How well his plans materialized is 
evidenced in the broad use to which it has been applied on some of 
the most important railroads in the country. He spent over $100,000 to 
bring about the result, after facing many embarrassments that would have 
driven most men to abandon the project. The electric headlight stands 
out prominently as one of the great inventions that has been produced to 
minifv the dangers of modern railroading. The first road to adopt the elec- 
tric headlight was the Vandalia. where it gave uniform satisfaction. It is 
now in use on the locomotives of the C. H. & D. R. R., I. D. & W. R. R., 
T H & I R. R., T. St. L. & K. C. Ry., C. & E. I. R. R., Gov. Railways of 
New South Wales, W. & N. R. R., C. & G. T. R. R., E. & T. II. R. R , 1> 
D. & E. Ry., Texas Midland, G. S. & F. R. R., K. C. F. S. & M. Ry.. C.N. 
O & T. P. Ry., N. O. & N. E. R. R., C. & O. R. R., Gov. Railways of Brazil. 
etc etc. B R.'& P. R. R., L. E. & St. L. Ry.. Ala. Great Southern. South- 
ern'paci'fic, Florida Southern, C. R. I. &. P. R. R., St. L. & A. Ry., D. & H. 
Rv , Central Vermont, G. La. P. &. H. Ry., H. & T. C. Ry., and other rail- 
road companies, and in a number of foreign countries. The factory is located 
in West South street where the company employs a large number of skilled 
workmen. The present officers are R. B. F. Peirce. president, and E. B. 
Peirce, general manager. 



356 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



The McElwaine-Richards Company, incorporated in 1S90, succeeded to 
the busines of J. B. McElwaine & Company and George A. Richards. The 

_^_____ company is engaged 

^"^ "^ in the manufacture 

of gas and water 
supplies, and con- 
duct the most ex- 
tensive wholesale 
business in plumb- 
ers' and gas-fitters' 
tools and supplies 
in the West. The 
company operate a 
large manufactur- 
ing plant at Nobles- 
ville, Ind., emploj- 
ingabout 135 hands. 
The offices and store 
OFFICES AND STORE ROOM, rooms are located 

THE m'elwaine-richards CO. In the company's 

handsome building, at 62, 64 and 66 West Maryland street in this city; and 
the pipe yards and 






-,:!- 


f ■ 




"^"ll^ 




^^^^^^K^ 




% 


'• ii ij 


'^ 5 .. • 


' 




.<•* 


11 






_.#*^^ 
■'^f 

w 







warehouses are sit 
uated at the cornei 
of Delaware anc 
Merrill streets 
where direct rail- 
road connections 
with all lines lead 
ing into the city fa- 
cilitate the handling 
of the heavy stock 
Besides the above, 
the company manu- 
factures the celebra- 
ted J. & R. changea- 
ble bicycle gear. 
The officers of the 
company arerM.M. 
McElwaine, president; Geo. A. Richards, treasurer, and M. O. Halderman, 
secretary and vice-president. 

The Rockwood Manufacturing Company, 176 to 190 South Pennsylvania 
street, is the outgrowth of the American Paper Pulley Company, established 
in 1SS3. Until 1S91 the firm was conducted by Messrs. W. E. Rockwood 
and H. C. Newcomb, under this title, when Mr. Rockwood succeeded to the 



FACTORY M'ELWAINE-RICHARDS CO. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 359 




ROCKWOOD MANUFACTURING COMPANY. 

sole control, and changed the name to the present style. From the inception 
of the business it took a front rank among the most important manufacturing 
interests of this city, and has enjoyed uniform prosperity. The products 
consist of paper pulleys, paper frictions, machine castings, saw-mills, Rath- 
sam patent flower pot machinery, Pyle automatic engines, from 2 to 250 
horse-power, and all kinds of special machinery. The plant covers an area 
of 125x175 feet, the machine shop and office occupy a building 75x150 feet, 
the foundry, one 50x75 feet, and the blacksmith shop, one 25x40 feet in dimen- 
sions. These various departments are all finely equipped with the latest im- 
proved machinery. The output is one of great magnitude and importance, 
and the trade extends all over the United States, Canada, Mexico, bouth 
America, Australia and Europe. 

Dean Brothers Steam Pump Works, established in 1S70, one of the best 
planned industrial establishments in the country engaged in the manufacture 
of steam pumps for all purposes, is now located on First near Mississippi 
street The shops are fitted with new and modern designed tools and ma- 
chinerv for manufacturing pumping machinery with accuracy and economy. 
The buildings have a width on the ground of 60 feet, by 1,000 feet in length. 
The different departments are, pattern shop, blacksmith shop, iron foundry, 
brass foundrv, and machine shop. Every part of the pumps are made by the 
company. The list of pumps comprise over 300 different styles and kinds. 
In addition to Dean's patent single pumps, a full line of duplex pumps are 
manufactured. More than 50 sizes and combinations of cylinders in this 
stvle of pump are made. The officers of the company are: Edward H. 
Dean, president; Wilfred R. Dean, vice-president; John L. Dean, secre- 
retarv and treasurer, and Ward II. Dean, superintendent. 



360 



HYMAN'Fi HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




HOLLIDAV & WYON. 

Holliday & Wyon, manufacturers of harness and collaj-s, and wholesesale 
dealers in horse goods, saddlery, hardware, leather, and shoe findings, began 
business in 1S79. It was the first house in the State to engage in this line of 
manufacture on an extensive scale, and has maintained a foremost position 
since its organization. The trade of the firm is very heavy, and extends 
throughout the United States. Travelers, representatives of the house, visit 
the trade in Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, Pennsylvania, New York, Illinois, 
Kansas and Iowa. In the manufacturing department over 70 persons are 
employed, and the firm is commodiously housed in the large brick edifice at 
the northwest corner of Pennsylvania and Georgia streets, covering 65x110 
feet, consisting of five floors. The members of the firm are John D. Holli- 
day and Albert F. Wvon. 




KxirniT .',- J 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



3GI 



Knight & Jillson, manufacturers of natural gas, oil \vell, steam and water 
supplies, 75 South Pennsylvania street, is the oldest firm engaged in the line 
in this city, and ranks among the heaviest operators in the west. The firm 
was established in 1S72. The business has been a very prosperous one from 
its inception, growing from a trade aggregating $60,000 for the first year un- 
til 1SS7 it had reached $175,000. With the discovery of natural gas in this 
section the growth became more rapid and substantial and the firm's business 
now -approximates a million dollars annually. The offices and manufacturing 




KNIGHT & JILLSON OFFICE AND FACTORY. 

plant is located in the two-story brick building, 40x200 feet, at 75 South 
Pennsylvania street, in which from 40 to 50 persons are employed. The firm 
also operate an extensive pipe yard at the east end of the Union railway sta- 
tion, having a capacity of 75 car loads of pipe, in which they carry in stock 
about 50 car loads of black and galvanized iron tubing and oil well casing. 
The trade of the house extends throughout Indiana, Ohio and Illinois and is 
constantly growing. The members of the firm are E. J. Knight and Wm. M. 
Jillson. The vast proportions to which their business has grown is a sig- 
nificant testimonial as to their standing and the confidence accorded them by 
the trade. 



362 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Clemens Vonnegut, one of the most prominent and influential of our 
pioneer citizens, laid the foundation of the business which still bears his 
name, in 1851, and in which he is still interested with his four sons, Clemens, 
Jr., Bernard, Franklin and George Vonnegut. The business at that time was 
conducted under the firm name of Volmer & Vonnegut. In 1S57 Mr. Vonne- 




CLEMEXS VOXNEGIT. 



gut succeeded to the business, and since that time has continued at its head. 
It is recognized to-daj' as one of the leading and oldest retail and wholesale 
hardware establishments in Indiana. The premises occupied are located at 
184 to 192 East Washington street, and the stock embraces one of the most 
complete assortments of hardware of all kinds to be found in the State. 
This includes everything in the line of shelf and heavy hardware, mechan- 
ics' tools of all kinds, and mechanics' supplies. In the early part of this 



HYMAS'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



363 



year, to meet the pressing demands of the trade of this market, they opened 
a machinery department, in which they carry a complete line of light ma- 
chinery of every description for iron and wood working, embracing lathes, 
shapers, milling machinery, shears, punches, power drills, emery grindio'^ 
machines, pulleys, shafting, hangers, etc. A special catalogue is issued for 
this department. The trade of this house extends throughout this State, and 
a number of traveling salesmen represent the tirm on the road. Nearly 
thirty persons are employed in the house. 

Clemens Vonnegut, during his long career, has been an active promoter 
of the city's welfare. For more than a quarter of a century he held a posi- 
tion on the school board, and during that period was recognized as one of 
its most useful members. He was largely instrumental in securing the estab- 
lishment of industrial training school. His sons arc all ailhely identified 
with public affairs, and their names are connected with many associations of 
local importance. Franklin Vonnegut succeeded his father as a member of the 
school board, and was recently re-elected to that position. Clemens \'on- 
negut, Jr., was elected a member of the Indiana Legislature of 1S94. 




1;. LI 1 l;l K ( ( i\l I'A N ^ . 

H. Lieber Company, was originally established in 1S54 by H. Licbcr and 
Charles Koehne, and is one of the oldest mercantile concerns in the city. 
The company as at present conducted was incorporated in 1S91, and is one 
of the largest concerns in the West engaged in the manufacture of jiicture 
frames and moldings. Over 150 workmen are employed in the factory located 
at 600 Madison avenue, and the trade of the company extends througiioul this 
and foreign countries. The jobbing department is located at 33 South Me- 
ridian street, and 27 to 2,2, East Pearl street. Here over 30 people are em- 
ployed. The Art Emporium conducted by the concern is one of the finest 
:n the country, and it is also recognized as headquarters for artists' and pho- 
tographers' supplies. The officers of the company are H. Lieber. pn-sid.nt; 
Otto Lieber, vice-president, and William Williams, secretary. 



364 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



E. C. Atkins & Company, incorporated, manufacturers of saws and saw 
makers' tools and supplies, is one of the very oldest industrial establishments 

of this city. The beginning of this 
important business was laid by 
Elias C. Atkins in 1S56, when he 
began it single-handed in a little 
wooden building about 16x20 feet 
in dimensions, adjoining the old 
Hill Planing Mill on South East 
street. There are very few as great 
examples of thrift and industry in 
the United States. In 1S60-61, Mr. 
Atkins moved to the present site on 
South Illinois street, and year after 
year has seen extensive additions 
and substantial growth. To-day 
it is recognized as the largest and foremost concern engaged in the 
manufacture of band and crosscut saws in the country. The superiority 
of its products has been evidenced by medals awarded at all the great and 
important industrial expositions held in this country during the last quarter of 




E. C. ATKIXS' SAW WORKS IN l8i;6. 



% 








ii-j 



E. C. ATKINS & CO. SAW WORKS UNDER CONSTRUCTION. 

a century. The works cover over three acres, with substantial and com- 
pactly built buildings ranging from two to five stories in height, and equipped 
throughout with the latest and most improved special machinery, much of 
which is of Mr. E. C. Atkins' invention and covered by patents. Trade ex- 
tends throughout every State and Territory in the United States and in for- 
eign countries. Nearly 500 hands are employed in the different departments. 



HYMAX'S IIAXDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLJS. 



365 



Extensive branches are operated rt Memphis and Chattanooga, Tennessee, 
and Minneapolis. Minnesota. The business was incorporated in 1SS5, ^"*i 
the officers of the company are: ' E. C. Atkins, president; II. C. Atkins, 
vice-president and superintendent; W. H. Perkins, sccrctarv, and M. A. Pot- 
ter, treasurer. 

Chandler & Taylor Company, boiler and engine manufacturers, 370 West 
Washington street, is one of the oldest industrial institutions of this citv. as 
well as one of the most important in the State, and its operations extends 
throughout the United States, having also extensive trade connections in 
Mexico and South America, in which countries it enjoys a substantial busi- 
ness. The company dates its foundation back to 1858. In 1S63 the firm of 
Chandler & Taylor Avas organized, and in iSSSthe Chandler & Tavlor Com- 




CHANDLER & TAYLOR COMP.VXY. 



pany was incorporated. The w orks comprise an immense plant, covering an 
area of three acres in extent, perfecth' equipped in every respect with all the 
latest improved machinery and appliances, and employment is furnished to 
upward of 150 skilled and experienced workmen. A specialty is made of 
stationary engines of from 12 10250 horse-power, the range of products also 
comprising both upright and circular saw-mills, and the necessary accompany- 
ing machinery. The company, in addition to a complete representation 
throughout the United States, has foreign representatives in Mexico. Central 
America, Spain, Germany, Russia and Australia. The manufacturing de- 
partments include a one-story boiler shop, 48x175 feet in dimensions; a sheet 
iron shop, 75x150 feet; a foundry, Sox So feet; a two-story wood-working 
shop, and a two-story and basement warehouse, 46x165 in area. The office 
and works are located at 370 West Washington street, the facilities of the 
place for handling and shipping goods being unsurpassed. The officers of 
the company are: Thomas E. Chandler, president; Wm. M. Taylor, vice- 
president and treasurer, and George M Chandler, secretary and purchasing 
agent. 



366 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Indianapolis Harness Company, lo to i6 McCrea street, wholesale man- 
ufacturers of harness and saddlery, and dealers in robes, blankets, whips, etc., 
was established in 1890. The firm operates one of the largest factories in the 
State for the manufacture of harness, saddlerj and collars. The principal 
factory, salesrooms, and offices are located in the five story and basement 




IXDIANAPOLIS HARNESS COMPAXY. 

building on McCrea street, and the collar factory is located at 38 East South 
street. In all over 75 hands are employed. The trade of the house extends 
throughout the Middle, Western, and Southern States, and orders are filled 
all over the country. The members of the firm are J. M. Dalryinple and E. 
A. Hendrickson. 

E. H. Eldridge & Company, dealers in lumber and manufacturers of sash, 
doors and blinds, have been engaged in the trade since 1879. They are the 
successors of Goss & Phillips, who originated the business in 1S74. The firm 
is composed of E. H. and George O. Eldridge. Their factory, which is lo- 
cated at 166 to 174 South New Jersey street, is one of the best equipped in 
the city and furnishes employment to 50 men. The yards of the firm are lo- 
cated a block east of the mill and carry an average stock of about 1,000,000 
feet of lumber. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDTAXAPOLIS. 



367 



Allison Coupon Company, manuf;icturers of mercantile, ice and restaurant: 
coupons exchisively, was established in iSSS In- N. S. Allison. He died De- 
cember 5, 1890, and in August i, 



1S93, the business was incorporated, 
with John S. Berrvhill, president; 
W. S. Allison, secretary; and M. J., 
J. A. and D. C. Allison, associated 
with the above as directors. The 
trade of the concern is verv large, 
extending all over this country, 
Canada, Cuba, Central America, 
and other foreign countries. It was 
among the first to engage in tliis 
business, and is the largest of its 
kind. The factory, which is located 
at 69 West Georgia street, occupies 




)rPON COMP.\NV 



four floors, covering an area of 14.000 square feet. It is fitted throughout 
with modern machinerv, is lighted by the company's own independent elec- 
tric light plant, and furnishes employment to thirty hands. 




INDIANAPOLIS COFFIX C"OMI'.\NY. 

Indianapolis Coffin Company, manufacturers of wood and cloth-covered 
coffins and caskets, and dealers in metalic cases, shrouds, lining and funeral 
supplies, whose office and ware-rooms are located at iSS East Washington 
street, was founded nineteen years ago. In 1890 the company was incorpo- 
rated under the laws of Indiana, with ample capital, and its trade now ex- 
tends thoughout Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, etc. The officers are 



368 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Carl Von Hake, president; C. Vonnegut, jr., secretary and treasurer; Frank- 
lin Vonnegut, vice-president. The works are at the corner of Sixth and 
West streets, and comprise a three-story brick building, 45x140 feet, with a 
two-story addition, 45x120 feet, with ample storage sheds and lumber yards 
adjoining, the whole covering two acres of ground. The manufacturing de- 
partments are fully equipped with modern appliances and machinery, ope- 
rated by a fifty-horse-power steam engine. Here forty skilled operatives are 
emplo^'ed, who turn out 200 caskets and coflSns weekly. Everything in the line 
of undertakers' supplies is also carried in stock, and orders are filled at lowest 
prices. Mr. Carl Von Hake, the president, is a large real estate owner of 
this city. The Messrs. Vonnegut are members of the hardware firm of 
Clemens Vonnegut, one of the oldest and most pron.inent houses in this city. 
Van Camp Hardware and Iron Company, incorporated in 1S84 is the out- 
growth of a partnership formed in 1876. The concern conducts the largest 
and most important general hardware business in the State, and among 
the largest in the West. The trade of the house extend throughout Indi- 
ana, Illinois, Michigan, Kentucky, Iowa, and Missouri. Twenty-one travel- 
ers represent the company on the road, and about So persons are employed 
in the house. The stock embraces a complete line of light and heavy hard- 




VAN CAMP HARDWARE AND IRON COMPANY. 

ware, carriage and wagon makers' materials of every description, tinners' 
stock and roofers' materials. The bicycle and gun department is second to 
no other in the West. A complete tinware manufacturing plant is operated 
by the company, where 15 to 20 hands are employed. This extensive estab- 
lishment is located in the substantial four-story and basement brick build- 



IIYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



3G!> 



inj,', 65x200 feet, at 78 to Sj South Illinois street, and tlic six-storv huildinfj 
100 X 100 leet, at 64 to 74 West Chesapeake street, and 63 to 73 West Mar^-- 
land street. The officers of the company are Cortland Van Camp, president, 
and David C. Ber'^undtlial. secretary and treasurer. 

The Sinker-Davis Company, successors to Sinker, Davis eV: Company 
and The Eagle Machine Works Company, is the outj^rowtli of the first two 

important industrial in- 
stitutions estahlished in 
this city. The present 
business was incor]iorat- 
ed in iSSS, as the Sinker- 
Davis Company, and in 
July, 1896, acquired the 
business of the Eagle 
Machine Works Com- 
pany In purciiase, mov- 
ing to the plant occupieil 
THE SINKER-DAVIS co.MPANY OLD siTK. by thc latter concern, on 

Missouri street and the Union Railroad, from the site occupied for more than 
thirty years. . The Sinker- Davis Company is looked upon as one of the land- 
marks in the city's industrial development, growing steadily with tlie city in 
its forward movement. Tiie business embraces the building of engines, 
boilers, saw-mills, etc., on an extensive scale, and liie out]nit finds a stcaiiy 
market tliroughout thc United States and i:i Mexico and South .\merican 





THE SINKER-DAVIS Cf)MPANY. 

countries. Over 200 men are employed in the various departments, ami 
siiicethe establishment of the business, it has been in operation more con- 
tinuous days than any other factory in the city. The new plant covers over 
three acres, and is titted with all the best and latest improved machinery. 
The officers of the company are: J. H. Hooker, president; II. R. Hhss, sec- 
retary and treasurer, and A. J. Malone, superintendent. 

H. T. Conde Implement Company, incorporated February 6, 1S8S. was 
established by H. T. Conde nearly a quarter of a century ago. The concern 
24 



370 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



is principally devoted to the wholesale implement and vehicle business, and 
is the largest and most important one of the kind in the State. In the item 
of binding twine the company is the recognized leader in the West, carrying 
a larger stock than any other firm. In the bicycle trade it also occupies an 
impo^rtant position, be'ing the general selling agents for the "Arrow" bi- 
cycle beside handling many other well-known makes. The company are also 




H. T. CONDE IMPLEMENT CUMl-'ANY 



the state agents of the Caligraph writing machine. The offices and store- 
rooms are located in the imposing brown stone building, 27 to 33 Capitol av- 
enue North, consisting of four floors and basement 68x204 feet, aggregatmg 
in all 70,000 square feet of floor space, having exceptional facilities for the 
display and handling of goods. The carriage repository is the finest one in 
the United States outside of New York, and Chicago. The trade extends 
over Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, Kentucky, and Tennessee, and eight 
travelers are employed. The officers of the company are H. T. Conde, pres- 
ident; Wm. A. Moore, vice-president; Will Cumback, jr., secretary, and S. 

C. Conde, treasurer. 

Andrew Steffen, Manufacturer of Cigars, 220 East Washington street, be- 
gan business in 1875. At present he employs over sixty men and manufac- 
tures over two million cigars annually, which find a market as far west as 
Utah. The Tish-I-Mingo cigar, manufactured by Mr. Steflen, has acquired ! 
great local popularity and has met with a greater sale than any other cigar, j 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDTANAPOLIS. 



373 



Indianapolis Drop Forging Company, which was established January i. 
1S96, is the first concern of the character to engage in the manufacture of drop 
forgings in this city. The rapid growth of the bicycle trade in the territory con- 
tiguous to Indianapolis, atlbrded a fine field for the establishment of a business 
of the kind, and since its beginning the demand in the large manufacturing 
centers has equaled the capacity of the plant. Over half a million forgings are 





INDIANAPOLIS DROP FORGING COMPANY. 



turned out annually, and from 35 to 40 men are employed. The plant is lo- 
cated at the corner of Hanway street and Madison avenue. Otto Stechhan, 
who for many years has been prominently identified with the manufacturing 
interests of the city, is secretary and treasurer of the corporation. V. P. 
Bates, the president and general superintendent, has had a long and successful 
connection in this line in the East prior to coming to Indianapolis. 

The J. B. Allfree Manufacturing Company, manufacturers of the Allfree 
"High Mill'' and "Economic" Automatic Engines, is one of the most im- 
portant manufacturing establishments in the city. This company became 
known a few years ago as exponents of that type of flour mill construction 
known as the "High Mill," and since its introduction this concern has erected 
over thirty mills ranging in capacity from 50 to 3,500 barrels daily, demon - 
I strating the merits of this system in the production of a better quality of 
I flour, increase of yield, saving in power, space and labor. As mill builders 
j this company ranks among the largest in the United States. No less \u\- 
portant is the department devoted to the building of automatic engines. 
Three types of engines are built, simple, compound and condensing, specially 



374 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS, 

designed for electrical and condensing work. The plant, which is one of the 
most conveniently arranged and modern equipped manufacturing plants in 
this citj, covers over six acres with substantial buildings, and is located at 
the corner of Twentj'-first street and Michigan Road. Over 250 persons are 
employed. The product is sold throughout this and foreign countries. The 
officers of the company are: Robert Schriver, president; J. B. Allfree, vice- 
president and general manager, and Charles E. Nordyke, secretary and 
treasurer. 




JENNEY ELECTRIC MOTOR COMPANY. 

Jenney Electric Motor Company was established by C. D. Jenney, in June' 
1889. His brother, E. W. Jenney, was associated with him at the time of its 
organization. A year later the company was incorporated with J. F. Pratt and 
Addison Bybee, as additional stockholders. Afterward, A. A. Barnes, of the 
Udell Woodware Works, became interested. Before coming to this citv, Mr. 
Jenney organized the Ft. Wayne Jenney Electric Light Company, in 1880, to 
manufacture electric lighting apparatus, and in the spring of 1885 organized 
the Jenney Electric Co. The manufacturing plant of this concern was lo- 
cated in West Indianapolis, on the premises of the Nordj'ke Marmon Com- 
pany, the stockholders of which held stock of the Jennej' Electric Company, 
Earlj' in i88g, the Jenney Electric Company sold the plant to the Thomson- 
Houston Company, of Boston, Mass. Soon afterward Mr. Jenney organized 
the present company, and proceeded to manufacture a full line of motors and 
dynamos. The company, ever since its organization, has continued to extend 
its line of manufactured products and are now building, in addition to their 
full line of bi-polar motors and dynamos, a complete line of multi-polar dyna- 
mos for direct connection with engines. They are also building a line of 
multi-polar dynamos and motors for lighting and power service, and are 
making a specialtj' of electrical power distribution in manufacturing estab- 
lishments. They also build a full line of dynamos for electro-plating, electro- 
tj'^ping and the refining of metals, and have recently perfected a new type of 



i 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. ;^77 

dynamos having many advantages for this class of work. Lust summer thcv 
moved into their new factory which was built on the I5elt railroad, east of the 
city, in which they employ a large number of hands. It is their purpose to 
increase the plant soon, keeping step to the requirements of a modern insti- 
tution. The product of this factory is shipped all over the world. The pres- 
ent officers of the company are— A. K. llollowell, president; Chas. D. Jen- 
ney, vice-president and superintendent. 

Mr. Hollowell, for many years past, was the treasurer of the .Nm 
dyke-Marmon Company, and recently sold his interest in that institution 
to become the executive head of the Jenney Electric Motor Companv. He 
bi ings to his new enterprise the mature judgment of an experienced man of 
affairs and will undoubtedly keep the Jenney E.lectric Motor Companv in 
the front rank of similar institutions of this country. Mr. Chas. D. Jennev 
is well known to the electrical world as an inventor. Among iiis more im- 
portant recent inventions are the Conduit Railway System, on which he 
holds American and European patents and an electric locomotive headlight 
which he is now exploiting. 

Atlas Engine Works, manufacturers of engines and boilers, corner o' 
Martindale avenue and Nineteenth street.— Indianapolis is celebrated for 
many things; nothing, however, has given it a greater reputation, nor has 
been more potent in making it noted, than its large industrial enterprises. Its 
splendid location, and ample railroad facilities, its contiguity to the hardwood 
belt and coal fields, and with natural gas at the doors of its factories, all have 
wielded a powerful influence in its upbuilding. This citv is specially noted 
for having several of the largest factories of their kind in America, promi- 
nent among these being the Atlas Engine Works, which was incorporated 
in 1S78. It is devoted exclusively to the manufacture of engines and boilers. 
One of the important features of its engines is that the parts are all made 
interchangeable, which not only enables repairs to be made with great econ- 
omy, but they can be sent to the remotest parts of the country in less time 
than they could be made in local shops. The types of engines manufactured 
embrace plain and automatic self-contained, side crank, heavy duty. iioul)le 
expansion automatic slide valve, and single and double expansion cycloidal 
heavy duty engines ; also horizontal tubular and locomotive boilers, liigii 
pressure horizontal tubular, internal fired horizontal tubular and vertical 
boilers and horizontal and vertical water tube boilers. Over 14,000 Atlas 
engines and a greater number of boilers are now in use throughout this and 
foreign countries. The plant is located at the corner of Martindale avenue 
and Nineteenth street, embracing about twenty acres, over half of which are 
covered with substantial buildings. At times as many as nine hundred men 
are employed in the various departments. The officers of the company are 
H. H. Hanna, president; J. F. Pratt, vice-president and treasurer; R. M. 
Coffin, secretary ; M. R. Moore, superintendent, and E. K. Marquis, assist- 
ant treasurer. 



378 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




Hay & Willits Manufacturing Company. Some twelve j'ears ago, the 
agent of one of the large eastern concerns came here from Columbus, Ind., and 

operated a riding school in 
the top floor of the old Zoo 
theater, now Cones' over- 
all factory. Finding a 
gradual increase in his 
business, he removed to 
the old Meridian Rink on 
North Pennsylvania street. 
Afterward engaging in the 
manufacture of bicj'cles, he 
sold his retail business to 
two young men, Thomas 
Hay and V. B. Willits, who 
associated themselves to- 
gether under the firm name of Hay & Willits, and located at 113 W. Wash- 
ington street, opposite the state-house. 

As they soon outgrew their small quarters, they removed to 70 N. Penn- 
svlvania street, and were the first bicycle store to locate on Pennsylvania 
street, between Ohio and Washington. In 1895, believing that their custo- 
mers could be served to a better advantage by making their own bicycles, 
they organized the Hay & Willits Manufacturing Company to make the 
Outing bicycle, and to-day the small concern of 113 West Washington street 
has on its pay roll 275 emploj'es, and its product is known from the Atlantic 
to the Pacific ocean. 

During the first j'ear of the firm's existence as actual cycle manufacturers 
but 1,200 wheels were built, all of which were sold ; last year their former 
output was nearly tripled, and notwithstanding the general dull and depress- 
ing condition of trade throughout the country, no trouble whatsoever was ex- 
perienced in placing them all. So great has become the demand for the 
Outing bicycle in two years time that in the neighborhood of 5,000 of them 
will be built during the present season of '97. 

The factory of this youthful and energetic concern is located on the edge 
of the city, at Vorster avenue and the Belt R. R. tracks. It is a model plant 
in ever}' respect, fitted thoroughly with modern and improved machinery'. V. 
B. Willits supervises every branch of construction, and, being a mechanical 
genius of undoubted ability, is everlastingly creating improved special tools, 
drilling machines, and so forth. When the present firm was organized, in 
'9^, George H. Evans, treasurer, and Edward D. Evans, vice-president, were 
added to the list of officers. The Outing bicycles in '97 list at $100, $75 and 
$50. They are sold everywhere throughout the world, and in every city 
where Outing agencies are established, and in Indianapolis as well as else- 
where, have elicited the greatest praise for their excellence and superior 
finish. 



i 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



.S81 



S 




CENTRAL CYCLE MFG. CO. PLANT. 

Central Cycle Manufacturing Company, makers of the famous " Ben 
Hur ■' Bicycles, was organized in 1S91, and tiie business was established in 

a ver_v modest way in a small struct- 
ure employing about fifty iiands. To- 
day the plant is one of the most im- 
portant of the many industrial insti- 
tutions of our city. The plant is situ- 
ated at Nos. lO to 22 Garden street, 
which include a series of fine factory 
buildings in which are employed 
more than two hundred and fifty 
skilled mechanics. The sale of the 
"Ben Hur" Bicycles is increasing 
with their growing popularity and 
these famous wheels find a market all 
over the world. The ofticers of the 

company are Lucius M. Wainwrigiit, 

president ; Drikus Snitjer. yice-president ; Albert D. Johnson, secretary 
and treasurer, and Louis J. Keck, second vice-president. 




382 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Indianapolis Veneer Works, Adams & Williamson proprietors, manu- 
facturers of and dealers in veneers, burls and fancy woods, terminus ot Massa- 
chusetts avenue. The central position of Indianapolis with reference to the 
most important regions of production in domestic hardwoods has led to the 
establishing here of several important industrial enterprises which utilize this 
prolific hardwood supply- as their raw material. One of the most important 
establishments of this character is that conducted by the firm of Adams & 
Williamson, under the style of the Indianapolis Veneer Works, which was 
founded in 1879. ^^- ^- ^- Williamson died August 2, 1S96, and Mr. G. F. 
Adams, the surviving member, is conducting the business under the firm 
name. The works now occupied cover three acres of ground, including 
a lofty, well-lighted brick workshop, 80 x 125 feet in dimensions, and a three- 
story and basement brick building, 70 x 150 feet, of which the ground floor is 
used as a stock room and the two upper floors as drying rooms. The equip- 
ment of the works includes every convenience and accessory calculated to aid 
or expedite the operations of the business, embracing a loo-horse power Cor- 
liss engine, fed by three tubular boilers 43^x 16 feet, and all the most modern 




INDIANAPOLIS VENEER WORKS. 

and improved machinery for the manufacture of veneers. The veneer cut- 
ting is done by machines of the latest improved make, which cut from the log 
solid sheets seven feet wide, and these are sent to the sizing power knife ma- 
chines, by which the veneers are cut into the desired sizes, including all thick- 
nesses up to one-fourth of an inch, the latter being used for drawer bottoms. 
The drying is effectively done with the aid of two Sturvesant blowers, and 
eight large steaming vats provide the facilities for steaming logs before pass- 
ing to the veneer cutting machines. Much of the machinery used is of a 
special character, invented for these works, and vised by no other establish- 
ment. Ample light is provided by incandescent lamps supplied by the firm's 
own electric lighting plant. Railroad switches at the front and side of the 
works aflford the most superior facilities for the receipt of materials and ship- 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDTAXAPOLIS 



:«3 



ment of the manufactured product. Logs are received from the north, and 
veneers are manufactured from wahiut, oak, ash, cherrv and all kinds of 
hardwood. A force of one hundred workmen is emplovcd, and an extensive 
trade is done, principally with furniture manufacturers in the east and in sup- 
plying manufacturers of sewing machines and other large consumers of ven- 
eers. The trade of the works is so firmly established as to require no can- 
vassing, and consequently no traveling salesmen are employed. The firm 
owes it success to the maintenance in its product of the highest standard of 
quality, to close supervisionof every detail of manufacture, and to uniform re- 
liability in all its dealings with the trade. 

The H. C. Bauer Engraving Company, 23 
West Washington street, designers, engravers, 
electrotypers and printing plate manufacturers, 
established in 1SS9, is the most extensive con- 
cern of its kind in the state, where printing 
plates by every known process are manufactured 
with rare skill and excellence. Nearly all of the 
engravings used in Hymaiis Handbook of In- 
dianapolis and the Indiatiapolis Index are the 
products of this institution. A large force of 
skilled and experienced artists are employed in 
the various departments. Designs are furnished 
for catalogues and all kinds of book illustrations 
requiring wood, zinc or half-tone engraving, 
Avhich is a leading specialty of this house, and the 
ample facilities which it commands enables it to 
handle the largest contracts with promptness and 
at prices as low as is consistent with high grade 
workmanship. The wax process is employed in 
the production of map work, charts, diagrams, 
etc., which produce results not attainable in any 
other method. The trade of this firm extends 
throughout this state and adjoining territory, 
where it enjoys an established reputation for h. c. ».\ler 

iirst-class workmanship. I£NGKAVING company. 

Indiana School Book Company, of Indianapolis, was incorporated in 1SS9, 
by Josephus Collett, William Ileilman, D. J. Mackey, E. P. Huston. James 
Murdock, William Fleming, R. C. Bell and Ikhvard Hawkins. The con,- 
pany manufactures and supplies text-books for the common schools of Indi- 
ana, as authorized by the school-book law passed by the Indiana legislature 
of 1S89. The entire"^list of books furnished under state adoption consists ot 
twenty-three different text-books. This company furnishes nineteen of the 
adopted series and they are now used in all the common schools of Indiana. 
The officers of the company are James Murdock. president; Edward H.iw- 
kins, general manager and treasurer, and E. V. Huston, secretary. 




3S4 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Eli Lilly & Company, Pharmaceutical Chemists, whose laboratory is 
located in East McCartj street, is one of the most important concerns in this 

city and one of the largest of its 
class in the country. The buildings 
occupied, and which were especially 
designed for the purposes for which 
they are employed, are models of 
convenience, and for beauty of 
architecture, completeness of detail 
and finish, are not approached hy 
any similar institution in the world. 
The history of tliis house began 
in 1S76, in which year Mr. Eli Lilly, 
the present head of the concern, 
began the manufacture of pharma- 
ceutical preparations in a very un- 
pretentious way in a small building 
in Pearl street on the sight now oc- 
cupied by the rear of the Commer- 
cial Club building. The business 
developed earlv and in 1879 Mr, 
Lilly moved to 36 South Meridian street, and in 1S79, more space being 
demanded by the growing business, the adjoining room, 38 South Meridian 
street, was added. The business was conducted in these rooms until 1S81 




Lilly's laboratory, 1S75. 







tl ;, _' ^'Tt-^r^ " »« IS kj , 





'• »» i« ^ 



ELI LILLY" & company's LABORATORY. 




25 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



387 



when Ihe business was incorporated, the present site on East McCarty street 
purchased and the laboratory moved to its present location Since that time 
the advancement has been rapid, followed by many improvements and addi- 
tions, that has resulted in the establishment of this great laboratory. 

The preparations of Eli Lilly & Company are recognized throughout the 
medical and pharmaceutical world for their high standard of quality and 
purity, and its reputation is jealously guarded by the firm. The productions of 
the laboratory embrace Fluid Extracts, Powdered Extracts. Solid Extracts, 
Concentrations, Gelatine-coated Pills, Sugar-coated Pills, Elixirs, Lozenges, 
Syrups, Wines, Tablets, Hypodermic Tablets, Tablet Triturates and all Phar- 
maceuticals demanded by the medical profession. 

Their famous blood remedy Succus Alterans, for over 12 years used and 
endorsed by the foremost physicians of America and England, heads their 
lists of specialties and together with Pil. Aphrodisiaca, Elixir Purgans and 
Glycones, completes their line of preparations which are accessible to the 
retail drug trade and physicians through the wholesale druggists of every 
jobbing center of the United States and Canada. Their agent for England 
and the Colonies is John M. Richards, 46 Ilolburn Viaduct, London, E. C. 
The company consists of Eli Lilly, president; James E. Lilly, vice-president; 
Evan F. Lilly, secretary and treasurer; Josiah K. Lilly, superintendent. 

John U. Frietzsche Homeopathic Pharmacy, located at 62 East Ohio 
street, was established in 1875 '■^J J^'^n U. Frietzsche who came here from 
Philadelphia, in that ^ear. He was a phj'sician of 58 years active practice, 
having graduated in Paris, France. This is the only pharmacy of its class in 
the state and does a business throughout the country. Occasional foreign 
shipments are made, a notable instance being an order recently received from 
Korea, Japan. Dr. J. U. Frietzsche died in 1892. The business is under the 
management of Ernest F. Frietzsche, who controls it for the estate. The 
firm manufactures homeopathic tinctures, dilutions and other homeopathic 
preparations, and carrv a complete stock of homeopathic lemedies. 




BACK WATER BROAD RIPl'LK 



888 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Sloan Drug Company, organized January i, 1896, is the outgrowth of the 
firm of George W. Sloan, originally established in 18S7. Mr. Sloan has had 

a longer continued identification with the 
drug business in Indianapolis than any other 
person now living in the city. In 1850 he 
entered the service of his uncle, David Craig- 
head, who was then operating a drug store in 
the same room that is now occupied hy the 
present company, also with Craighead & 
Browning, and after the death of Mr. Craig- 
head, with Mr. Browning, who became the 
successor. In 1862 he took an interest in the 
business and the firm became known as 
Browning & Sloan, and were recognized as 
the leading pharmacists of Indianapolis. The 
business having outgrown the capacity of the 
room then occupied, they moved to 7 and 9 
East Washington street, where the business 
was conducted under this firm name until 
1887, when Mr. Sloan retired and embarked 
for himself in the present location — the place 
occupied by the old house in 1850. 

Through the long term of years that ISIr. 
Sloan has been identified with the business 
interests of the city — longer than that of any 
business man now engaged in Washington 
street, — he has at all times been held in the 
highest esteein by his fellow citizens. He 
has been honored with the degree of 
" Doctor in Medicine " by the Medical 
College of Indiana, and with the degree 
of " Doctor of Pharmacy," Purdue University. He is ex-president of 
the American Pharmaceutical Association and is also a charter member 
of the Board of Trade, being a member of its governing committee; he is 
also a member of the Commercial Club, and a member of the Board of School 
Commissioners, being its treasurer. 

The Sloan Drug Company are extensive manufacturers of various Phar- 
maceuticals, also Sloan's Carbolated Dentifrice, that has a large sale through- 
out the country, and many other preparations that bear their well known 
brand. Associated in the business with Mr. Sloan is his son Geo. B. Sloan, 
a graduate of Purdue University Pharmac}' School, who has been reared in 
business under his father, 

McCoy-Howe Company, manufacturing chemists, began business Febru- 
ary 3, 1892. Their first establishment was located at 92 South Illinois street, 
where they began business with four employes. In January, 1893, the labor- 
atory was moved to McCrea street near the Union Station, and in 1894 the 




SLOAN" DRUG COMPANY. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OP' INDIANAPOLIS. 



391 



company purchased the present site and erected the hihoratorv now occupied. 
While it is not the largest in the country, it is equal in the character of equip- 
ment and facilities to any other laboratory in the United States. It is fr.r- 
nished with machinery especially designed for the purposes to which it is 
used, and all departments are arranged with a view to facilitate the business. 
The building is a solid red brick structure, consisting of three floors and 
basement, covering an area 44x200 feet. It is supplied with a cold storage 
department for the care of green drugs itnd essential oils, etc. Power is 
furnished from a 50-horse power engine. A deep driven well supplies the 
tank at the top of the building, from which pure water is supplied to all parts 
of the laboratory. The product of the laboratory consists of a large line of 




m'C0Y-H(J\\'1-: CD.Ml'.WY. 



pharmaceutical specialties, t^uid extracts, elixirs, medicinal wines ami Nyrups, 
tinctures, triturates and tablets, hypodermic tablets and their well known 
specialties, Boro-Salicylicum, Chloro-Ferrine, Golden Liquid Hydrastis and 
Succus Solani, which are dispensed by the medical profession everywhere. 
Thev also manufacture a full line of strictly pure powdered drugs and handle 
a large line of chemicals made by the standard manufacturers throughout the 
country, also physicians' and surgeons' supplies. 

The laboratory now furnishes employment to twenty-six persons. The 
trade extends throughout all the central and western states. 

The members of the firm are J. B. McCoy, A. B. Howe, James M. M.nvrer 
and W. A. Walker. Messrs. McCoy and Howe, prior to estaiilishing tills 
business represented a large chemical company of Cincinnati aiui Messrs. 
Mowrer and Walker were engaged in tlie drug busines-^ in Now Castle. Ind. 



392 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Daniel Stewart Company, wholesale dealers and importers of drugs, 
"widely known as the " Old Gibraltar Drug House " can trace a continuous 
business existence as far back as 1832, when it was originally established by 
Scudder & Hanneman. During 1850-8 the firm was known as Hanneman & 
Duzan ; from 185S-63 it was conducted by William Hanneman, who was 
succeded by Stewart & Morgan. From 1878 until 18S3 the business was con- 
ducted by Stewart & Barry, and from the latter period until January i, 1S96, 




DANIEL STEWART COMPANY 



under the title of Daniel Stewart, when it was changed to the Daniel Stewart 
Company'. Mr. Stewart's death occurred February 25, 1892. 

The present members of the firm»irc John N. Carey, William Scott, Mary 
S. Carey and Martha S. Scott. 

The Daniel Stewart Company are extensive manufacturers of pharma- 
ceutical preparations, handkerchief extracts, etc., known to the trade under 
the " Old Gibraltar " brands. They carry the largest and most complete 
stock of plate glass in the state and are the only ones who carry plate glass 
in stock sheets which enables them to fill orders for irregular or odd sizes at 
all times. They are also extensive dealers in beveled plate, leaded art and 
window glass. 

Their cigar department is an important branch of their business and many 
brands have reached an enormouc sale and acquired great popularity through 
the "push " of this concern. The firm employs ten traveling salesmen who 
cover the territory' of Indiana, Illinois and Ohio, and sixtv-five persons are 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



393 



employed in the house. The firm occupies the large hnHclin-, four sKjries 
and basement, at the corner of Meridian and Maryland streets'and the lar-e 
building in the rear on Maryland street that is employed to carry the lar-e 
stock of glass and reserye stock. ° 

Indianapolis Drug Company ^yas established in December, 1S90 and 
began business January 1,1891. The firm deals extensiyely in crude, pressed 
and powdered botanical drugs, chemicals, essential oils, imported and domes- 
tic wines and whiskies, paints, oils and window glass ; also haye a large and 
growing cigar trade. 

Not the least important branch of the business is the manufacture of phar- 
maceutical preparations, fluid extracts, wines, tinctures and syrups and seyeral 

specialties that have found 
an extensive sale and great 
popularity throughout tlie 
country among which are 
the following — "Melol," a 
tasteless preparation of 
castor oil ; '•Caffaccin." a 
new anti-pyretic ; " Mul- 
lein Balsam," cough and 
consumption cure; 
"Brunker's Carminative 
Balsam," cure for dysen- 
tery and bowel troubles ; 
and "R. I. D.," Magnetic 
Roach Exterminator. 
They arc the manufact- 
urers of the well known 
'Japanese" brand of hand- 
kerchief odors, toilet wa- 
ters and hair tonic, among 
which are the celebrated " Chrysanthemum Bouquet." The trade of this con- 
cern extends throughout Indiana. Illinois and Ohio, and is regularly visited 
by seven travelers. In the house over thirty employes are engaged. The tirm 
occupies the large building consisting of three floors and basement, r)3xioo 
feet, at Nos. 21, 23, 25 East Maryland street. 

The members of the firm, who are young and active business men, are J. 
George Mueller, Dr. Herman Pink and John R. Miller. Mr. J. George 
Mueller has been identified with the drug trade of this city for twenty-three 
years and is a graduate of the Cincinnati Sciiool of Pharmacy. Dr. Pink 
has for twenty j-ears, and still enjoys an extensive and lucrative practice as 
physician and Mr. John R. Miller has been engaged in the drug trade for the 
past twenty years ; a large part of that period with the wholesale drug busi- 
ness in this city. 

From its beginning the business has been a prosperous one and i-nioycd a 
vigorous growth, and now ranks as one of the largest in the state. 




INDIANAPOLIS DRUG CO.MPANY. 



394 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




LILLY VARNISH WORKS — OFFICES. 



The Lilly Varnish Company is the oldest and most extensive business 
of its kind in the State. It was established in 1S65, by H. B. Mears. In 
1867 J. O. D. Lilly bought an interest in the firm and it was conducted under 
the title of Mears & Lilly for some time, when Mr. Lilly 'purchased the inter- 
est then represented by H. B. Mears and the firm became known as J. O. D. 
Lilly & Sons, and in iSSS incorporated as the Lilly Varnish Company', 
with Charles Lilly, president and Jno. M. Lilly, secretary and treasurer. 

The business 
was started in a 
small building 
hy Dr. Mears, 
w h o conceived 
the idea that 
gum and turpen- 
tine could be 
fused. The re- 
sult of the ex- 
periment was the 
burning of the 
primitive plant. 
He then erected 
a factory at the 
intersection of 
Kentucky avenue and Mississippi streets. The business was conducted at 
this point, through the different changes in the firm until 1S75, when a new 
factory plant was built on the east bank of White river — the present site. 
None of the old buildings now remain, having given place to the modern 
structures built 
especially for 
the business. 
During 1S95, 
new warerooms 
and offices have 
been built, 
equipped with 
the latest im- 
prove in e n t s . 
The buildings 
areas nearly fire 
proof as it was 

possible to make them. The factory has a capacity of 40 to 50 barrels 
of varnish per day. The product cons-ists of the finer grades of carriage, 
wagon, agricultural implement, furniture and house painters' varnishes, 
embracing in all over 140 difterent grades. The product is sold all over 
the United States and the company has begun the introduction of its goods 
in foreign markets. The present officers of the company are Charles Lilly, 
president, and Jno. ISI. Lilly, secretary and treasurer. 



1 


■^ 


iCTPW^sv. 





LILLY VARNISH WORKS REAR VIEW. 



'WJI& 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 395 

The A. Burdsal Company, manufacturers and jobbers of paints and 
painters materials, ^vas in corporated in 1S92. The business was originally 

established by Alfred Burdsal in Ja^nuarv, 
1S75, at 32 South Meridian street. In the 
spring of 1S76 the business was moved to 
34 South Meridian street, and in 1S85 the 
room south, No. 36. was added. Mr. 
Burdsal began to'maiuifacture in a very 
small way in 1S77, on the third floor of 
the present location. In 1S79 lie began 
building the present large factory, located 
at 241 to 249 South Pennsylvania street. 
Besides the factory he built the large 
warehouses on the adjoining property, 
one of which. 50 x 140, for the accommo- 
dation of surplus stock, at 251 and 253 
South Pennsylvania street, and another, 
25x140, at 239 South Pennsylvania, for 
the storage of glass, of which this firm 
are the largest dealers in this territory. 
The factory is equipped with the very 
latest and improved machinery, with 

THE A. BURDSAL COMPANY. ■ , ., f ■ 

special railroad switches leading to the 
factory and \varehouse, facilitating the handling of the products, which are 
shipped throughout the central western states. 

The co:r.pany manufacture all kinds of white lead, colored and mixed 





BURDSAL'S PAINT \VORKS. 



396 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



paints, wood stains, coach and car colors, japans, varnishes and a full line of 
prepared paints for house, sign, carriage and decorative painters' uses. They 
are the manufacturers of the celebrated " Steamboat " brand of paste colors, 
the same as white lead, but so tinted that the consumer is enabled to select 
anv desired shade, saving the painter the labor and expense of selecting and 
mixing. 

At the time the firm was incorporated the business was owned and con- 
trolled by Mr. Burdsal, who took into the company William H. Meier, his 
bookkeeper; Sydney T. Jordan, chief clerk; Russell G. Allen and Granville 
G. Allen, traveling salesmen and Frederick Poehler, foreman of the factory. 

Mr. Burdsal was born in Cincinnati in 1839, and began his cai-eer in the 
paint business in 185S with the Eagle White Lead Company of that city. 
He served the company in the capacity of bookkeeper and traveling sales- 
man until 1863. He entered the army in the spring of 1864. On his return 
in 1865 he again re-entered the firm, and was secretary of Ihe company from 
1867 to 1S70. Owing to ill health he retired from business, and was not again 
actively engaged until 1875, when he sold his interest in the Eagle White 
Lead Companv and came to Indianapolis, since which time he has built the 
prosperous and extensive business of which he is the head. 




EVAX.S LINSEED OIL WORKS. 



Evans Linseed Oil Company, manufacturers of raw and boiled linseed oil 
ana oil cake meal, is the outgrowth of the business established by I. P. 
Evans & Co., who began the manufacture of linseed oil in 1864. The busi- 
ness was incorporated in 1887, and conducted at present by the only surviv- 
ing member of the old firm, Joseph R. Evans, assisted by Edward D.Evans 
and Joseph J. Brown. The old mill, which was located at the crossing of the 
Union railway tracks and South Delaware street, was destroyed by fire De- 
cember S, 18S5. The present plant, located on the west side of the river near 
the Michigan street bridge, was built in 1S81. 

J. E. Bodine & Company, manufacturers and dealers of dental supplies, 
were established in this citv in 18S3. They are located at Nos. 27 and 29 
Monument place, where they carry the largest and most complete stock of 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



397 



dental supplies of every character in the state. Before becoming, established 
in this city the firm was located at Toledo, Ohio, and Mr. ] E Bodine trav- 
eled throughout this territory for six years prior to locating his fir.n in this 
city. J. E. Bodine & Company are recognized as one of the foremost firms 
m Its special line in the west, and the trade extends throughout Indiana 
Ohio, Illinois, Kentucky and Tennessee. Beside the line of dental coods the' 
hrm are extensive dealers in and manufacturers of barbers' suppliers, and do 
a thriving business in this branch of trade. 

Joseph Haas, V. S., now one of the foremost manufacturers of live stock 
remedies in the country, began business in Dayton, Ohio, in the fall of 1S7C. 
He started in a very small way, and personally sold his entire product in 
Butler county, Ohio, and vicinity. Finding his field limited, and desiring a 
location upon which he could more readily extend his operations, he canie^to 
Indianapolis in 1S77. His first office was located in the Abbott block, in 
Virginia avenue. His business grew rapidly, and in iSSi he purchased "tlie 
building at the corner of Pennsylvania and Maryland streets, embracing 



:Jk 



•"liSilflilMttli^ 




mmm\ 



JOSEPH llAA.Sb BLOCK. 

rooms from No. 52 to 60 South Pennsylvania street, moving his laboratory to 
the rear half of 52 South Pennsylvania. The present ofllces and laboratory 
are located in No. 56 of the same building, and occujn' three floors and liasc- 
ment. The product consists of the celebrated and widely advertised Haas' 
Hog and Poultry Remedy, Haas' Alterative (condition powder). Haas' 
Epizootic Remedy and Haas' Cattle Remedy, which liave a large and con- 
stantly increasing sale in every state and territory, and in Canada and 
Hawaiian Islands. From the European agency, located in Birminghan), 
England, British possessions throughout the world are supplied. A special 
feature in connection with the sale of the hog remedy is the indemnity con- 



398 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



tract by which, for a small fee in addition to the price of the remedy, Dr. 
Haas guarantees to pay for every hog that dies* out of 500 that are treated 
with it. 

In addition to his laboratory, Dr. Haas is , proprietor of the Indiana 
poultry farm, located at Fiftieth street' and Central avenue, which is noted 
for its fine breeds of poultry and pet stock. It is recognized as one of the 
finest and best equipped poultry farms in the country. 

W. M. Williams & Bros., manufacturers of the celebrated Nine O'clock 
Washing Tea, are located at Nos. 214, 216, 21S, 220 and 222 South Meridian 

street. The firm was 
originally established 
by Mr. W. M. Wil- 
liams in 1S91. Since 
the beginning of the 
business, owing to its 
rapid and phenom- 
enal . growth it has 
been necessary to 
move five times to se- 
cure sufficient space 
to meet its require- 
ments. The present 
laboratory and offices 
occupy five floors and 
the same number of 
basements. The pro- 
duct of the labora- 
tory isconfinedexclu- 
sively to Nine O'clock 
Washing Tea, a compound for general house cleaning. Over 1,000 of the 
largest wholesale grocery houses throughout the country now handle these 
goods. To illustrate the rapidity with which the trade has grown is shown 
in the following record of sales: In 1S91 the sales for the year amounted to 
4,100 boxes; 1892, 10,475 boxes; 1893, 18,360 boxes; 1894, 31,000 boxes; 1891;, 
44,175 boxes; and at the present rate sales this 3'ear will reach nearly 100,000 
boxes or one million packages. About 100 people are employed in the labor- 
atory. Associated in the business with Mr. Williams are his brothers, Dr. 
J. L. Williams and L. G. Williams. Before engaging in this business, for a nuin- 
ber of 3'ears, Mr. Williams represented Moore Bros., of Lima, Ohio and 
Schrader Bros., wholesale grocers of this city as traveling salesman. 

The Indiana Dental Depot was established in 1867 by Strong, Smith & 
Pierson. In 1874 Moore, Herriott & Co., of Ohio, succeeded them, conduct- 
ing the business in the same place, the Vinton block, until 1877, when Dr. 
Herriott purchased his partner's interest and continued in charge until his 
death, Nov. 4, 1884, and since then by his widow, Mrs. W. M. Herriott. 




W. M. Vi^ILLIAMS & BROS. 



i 



H 1 'MA N'S HA NDBOOK OF INDIA AM POL /.S'. 39i> 

Bellis Cycle Company, 27 Ingalls block, is one of the largest cvcic manu- 
facturing concerns in this city. The officers are Chalmers Brown,' president ; 
Wm. II. Schmidt, vice-president; W. K. Bellis, secretary, and Benj. I,! 
Webb, treasurer. An important enterprise undertaken by this concern was 
the organization of a relay of "Bellis" cycle riders, who carried the con- 
gratulations of the firm from this city to Canton, Ohio, to Wm. McKinlev, 
when his election was assured on the night of November 2, 1896. 

John M. Todd & Company, established in iS6i, is one of the oldest firms 
in this city now engaged in the real estate business. Todd's first subdivision, 
at the corner of Gregg and East streets, one of the original subdivisions to 
the city, was made in 1864. This property at that time was in the suburbs. 
Mr. Todd has been identified with many other subdivisions during the growth 
of the city, and has also been prominently identified with the promotion and 
building of our railroads and manufacturing enterprises. Mr. Todd and his 
son, Newton Todd, occupy rooms in the Ingalls block, the site where he en- 
gaged in business in 1861. 

Newton Todd, investment broker, fire insurance and rental agent, whose 
offices are in the Ingalls block, is the leading broker and dealer in local se- 
curities in the city, buying and selling Bank, Trust Company, Belt railroad and 
other stocks, Barrett law, Water Company and other bonds. Mr. Todd does 
a very large real estate, mortgage loan business for local individuals and east- 
ern corporations. He is the sole Indianapolis representative of the Fire As- 
sociation of Philadelphia and the Sun Insurance Office, of London, England, 
two of the largest and oldest fire insurance companies in the world. Mr. 
Todd also does a rental business, having charge of some of the largest build- 
ings in the city. 

W. D. Allison Company, manufacturers of physicians' tables, chairs, 
cabinets, and invalid rolling and reclining chairs, is the outgrowth of the 
business established by J. N. Clark & Company in iSSi. Mr. W. D. Alli- 
son, the present head of the firm, became associated with the business in 1SS4. 
In 1886, Mr. R. B. Roberts, purchased an interest in the business, and the 
firm became known as Roberts & Allison, and continued in this manner un- 
til 1S91 when Mr. Allison became sole owner. 

The product of this firm maintains a high reputation among physicians 
and surgeons throughout the world, and the export trade is constantly in- 
crea'sing. Several traveling salesmen visit physicians personally and all the 
leading physician and surgeons' supply houses in this and foreign countries 
handle their product. The factory is located at 85 East South street. Branch 
offices are located in Chicago, New York, St. Louis and San Francisco. 
F. L. Furbish & Co., are the selling agents in Mexico City. 

Wm. H. Armstrong & Company, manufiicturers and dealers in surgical 
instruments, began business in 1885. in Terre Haute, Indiana, and moved 
to Indianapolis, January i, 1SS9, at which time Mr. Emil Wilbrandt was 



400 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




admitted to the firm. The 
business was established by 
Wm. li. Armstrong. This 
house has one of the most 
complete plants in the coun- 
try for the production of phy- 
sicians' and surgeons' instru- 
ments and appliances. Their 
business has grown to such an 
extent that they on the first 
of this year secured additional 
nianufacturing room and en- 
larged facilities, and are now 
operating a separate plant at 
No. 57 West Georgia street, 
where they employ from 
twenty to thirty hands. The 
trade of the firm extends all 
over this country and Mex- 
ico, and their traveling men 
icture to 



WM. H. ARMSTRONG & COMPANY. 

cover the entire territory. They carry in stock, as well as manu 
order, anything needed by physicians or sur- 
geons for the successful practice of their art. 
The sales department is located at 77 South 
Illinois street, within easy walking distance 
froin the Union Station. 

George William Hoffman, manufacturing 
chemist, whose laboratory and offices are 
located in his building at 255 East Washington 
street, began business in 1882. The produc- 
tions of his laboratory are more extensive!}' 
sold and are better known than any similar 
preparations. Notably among them are 
Hoffman's U, S. metal polishes, cream cos- 
metic lotion, hog and poultry remedies, 
horse and cattle powders and insect powders. 
These goods can be found in almost every 
town and hamlet in the countrj'. Mr. Hoft"- 
man is an extensive advertiser, and has 
branch establishments at Nos. 1-3 Park Row, 
New York City; corner of Madison and Clark 
streets, Chicago ; No. 503 Montgomery 
avenue, San Francisco and 318 Royal street, 
New Orleans. 




GEORGE WILLIAM HOFF.MAN. 



INDEX. 



Black ftgid-fs (178) i/idicafr, i/liisfrfifions-. 



Abrams, Wm. J., 50. 

Abstracts, 257. 

Achey, John, 50. 

Acklen, S. J., 273. 

Adams, G. F., 382. 

Adams, John, .36. 

Adams & WilHamson, 882. 

Adornments, 1.50. 

Agi'icultural Library, 165. 

Alford, E. S.,248. 

Allfree, J. B.,374. 

Allfree, J. B., Mfg. Co., 871, 373. 

ATig, Geo., 340. 

Allen, R. G.,.396. 

Allen, Dr. H. R., 127. 

Allen, Granville G., .396. 

Allison Coupon Co., 8()7. • 

Allison, D. C, 367. 

Allison, J. A., 367. 

Allison, M. J., 367. 

Allison, N. S., 367. 

Allison, W. D., Co., 399. 

Allis* n, W. S., 367. 

Aller 'ce, Jos., Co., 279. 

Amen an Plate Glass Co., 344. 

Amuse iients, 146 

Andersoi, Major, 85. 

Andrews. O. S., 189. 

Anheuser Busch Brew. Assn.. 2!H). 

Appel, J. J., 344. 

Architectu'-al Iron, 33~). 

Area, 133. 

Armstrong, A. F., 249. 

Armstrong, Wm. H., Co., 899, 400. 

Armstrong Park, 157. 

Art Association, 214. 

26 



Art School, 162, 218. 
Artificial Eyes, 299. 
Artillery Companies, 84. 
Assassination of Lincoln, 111. 
Atkins, Elias C, .364. 
Atkins, E. C., .t Co., 8<;4-. 
Atkins, H. C, 3(i5. 
Atlas Engine Works, 875, .377. 
Axtell. Marv J., .56. 
Axtell. Harriett. 56. 
Ayres, A. C, 185. 



B 



Baber & Co., 270. 27.3. 

Bahr, Dr. Ma.\,208. 

Baker, Albert, 189, 289. 

Baker, Conrad, 104. 

Baker, John E.. 23. 

Bals, H. G. C, 243. 

Banks. 53. 54, 142. 

Bank of the State of Indiana. 54. 2:15, 

Banks and Trust Companies. 2.'{5, 

243. 
Barber Supplies, 396. 
Barnard. J.. 282. 
Barnes, A. A.. .374. 
liarnes, Dr. H. F., 244. 
Barnes. R. H.. .337. 
Barnhill. Dr. J. F.. 207. 
Barrv. W. B.. Saw and Suppiv Co., 

.T)i. 
Bassett. E. W.. 28.3. 
Bassett A Co.. 283. 
Bates, F. P.. 373. 
Bates, Hervev. 19. .54. 124. 
Bates Hotel, 124. 146. 
Bates. John K.. 1S9. 



(401) 



402 



INDEX. 



Battle of Pogue's Run, 95. 

Bauer, Geo., 340. 

Bauer, H. C, Eng. Co., 383. 

Beck, Geo. C, & Son, 271. 

Bedford, C. T., 210. 

Bedford, Ind., Stone Co., 342. 

Beecher's Church, 67. 

Beecher, Henry Ward, 59, 66, 157. 

Bell, Dr. L., 208. 

"Bellis" Cycles, 379. 

Bellis Cycle Relay, 379, 399. 

BeUis, Wm. K., 333, 399. 

Bellis, Samuel, 333. 

Belting, 338. 

Belt Ry. & Stock Yds. Co., 142, 266, 

267, 269, 270, 272. 
Benedict, E. C, 174, 317. 
"Ben Hur" Bicycle, 381. 
Berger, Fred, 304. 
Bergunthal, D. C, 368. 
Berner, Fred, Jr., 335. 
Berner, Fred, Sr., 3.35. 
Berryhill, John S., 367. 
Berry, Lucien W., 59. 
Bicycles, 370, 378, 381, 399. 
Bicknell, E. P., 219. 
Bieler, J. L., 290. 

"Big Four" Route, 262, 263, 265. 
Bigger, Gov., .38. 
Black, Geo. W., 272. 
Black Hawk War, 43. 
Blaine, Jas. G., 62-65. 
Blair, Baker & Walter, 269,270, 275. 
Blake, Jas., 36, 66. 
Blind Asylum, 59, 67. 
Bliss, Geo. W., 337. 
Bliss, H. R., 369. 
Blue, P. H., 236. 
Blythe, Benj. I., 248. 
Blythe, Captain, 41. 
Board of Public Safety, 141. 
Board of Trade, 109, 282. 
Bobbs, Wm. C, 310. 
Bodine, J. E., & Co., 396. 
Boiler Explosion, 107. 
Bolton, Nathaniel, 20. 
Bolts, 351. 

Bombarger, J. E., 182. 
Book Binders, 318, 323. 
Book Publishers, 310. 
Bookwalter, Chas. A., 250. 
Boots and Shoes, Wholesale, 319-,320. 
Booz, Dr. J. J., 208. 
Bounty Jumpers, 99. 
Bowen-Merrill Co., 310. 



Bowen-Merrill Fire, 107. 

Bowen, Silas T., 310. 

Bowles, Wm., 96, 99. 

Bradbury, Geo. L., 261. 

Branham, Adahne N., 217. 

Brayton, Alembert W., 200. 

Breckinridge, John C, 83. 

Brennan, Dr. E. J., 207. 

Brenneke Academy, 218. 

Brenneke, D. B., 218. 

Brenton, Henry, 43. 

Breweries, 284, 293. 

Bridge in Garfield Park, 67. 

Bright, Richard J., 249. 

Brightwood, 134. 

Broad Ripple, 63. 

Broad Ripple Dam, 83. 

Bronson, H. M., 265. 

Browder, W. F., 249. 

Brown, Chalmers, 333, 399. 

Brown, Chas. C, 294. 

Brown, Demarchus C, 217. 

Brown, Dr. John Randolph, 232. 

Brown, Jos. J., .396. 

Brown, Lieut. -Col. Harvey, 56. 

Brown, Hilton U., 190. 

Brownell, C. H., 243. 

Browning, H. L., 300. 

Brush, John T., 182. 

Bryan, Dennis, 272. 

Bryan, D., & Son, 272. 

Bryan, Wm. J., 65. 

Bryce, Geo. H., 297. 

Bryce, Peter F., 282. 

Buckhart, Dave, 48. 

Buggy Mfrs., 350. 

Building and Loan Association, 219- 

251. 
Building Permits, 115. 
Buildings, Number of, 141. 
Burckhardt, Dr. Louis H., 231. 
Burdsal, Alfred, .395, .396. 
Burdsal, The A., Co., 395,396. 
Burr, L. L., 251. 
Butler, Gen. Benj. F., 166. 
Butler College, 190, 193, 194, 195. 
Butler, John A., 239. 
Butler Library, 165. 
Butler, M. D., 178. 
Butler, Noble C, 217, 236. 
Butler, Ovid, 190, 272. 
Butler, Scott, 190, 195. 
Bybee, Addison, 374. 
Bynum, W. D., 185. 
Byram, N. S., 236. 



INDEX. 



403 



C 

Cafe Normandie, 297, 298, 299. 

Camp Burnside, 96, 99. 

Camp Carrington, 99. 

Camp Fremont, 100. 

Camp Morton, 96, 99, 107. 

Camp Noble, 99. 

Camp Sullivan. 151. 

Capital Live Stock Commission Co., 

270, 275. 
Capital, Location of, 8. 
Capital National Bank, 236. 
Carey, John N., 392. 
Carev, Mary S., 392. 
Carlon, John, 323. 
Carlon & HoUenbeck, 823, 
Carr, Jonathan, 20. 
Carriage Mnfrs., 350. 
Carter, Thos., 25. 
Catastrophes, 107, 108. 
Caven, John, 165, 174. 
Cemeteries, 77, 98, 116, 158. 
Central College of Phvsiciaus and 

Surgeons, 206, 207. 208. 
Central Cycle Mfg. Co., 381. 
Central Hospital Insane, 71, 78. 
Central Union Telephone Co., 182. 
Century Club, 219. 
Chairs, Invalid, 399. 
Chamber of Commerce, 74. 
Chamberlain, J. H., 272. 
Chandler, Geo. M., .365. 
Chandler, Thos. E., 365. 
Chandler ct Taylor Co., 86.'). 
Charities, The, 157. 
Chestnutt, John, 281. 
Chewing Gum. -'Kis-Me," 308, 309. 
Chislett, Margaret D., 213. 
Choral Union, 219. 
Christ Church, 189, 221. 
Chuck, Wm., 50. 

Church, Henry Ward Beecher's, 56. 
Churches, 127^ 157, 221, 227, 283. 
Churchman, Wm. F., 236, 251. 
Churchman, Wm. H., 67. 
Churchman, F. F,, 271. 
Cigar Mnfrs., 303, 324, 341, .370. 
Cin., Ham. ct Dayton Ry., 262. 
City Finances, 1:58. 
CitV, First Plat of. 11. 
Citizens' Street Rv. Co., 116, 174. 
City Grays, 84. 
Clark, C! H., 273. 
Clark, C. J., 273. 
Clark, Geo., 249. 



Clark, Gen. Geo. Rogers, 132, 15.3, 

1.57. 
Clark, Wyson & Vorhis, 270, 273. 
Classical School, Girls', 200, 201, 

206, 2U. 
Clav, Henry, .56, .59. 
Clay, J. Y.\ 273. 

Clearing House Association, 142. 
Clem, Nancy E., 50. 
Cleveland, President, 61. 
Clev., Col., Cin. & St. L. Ry., 262, 

2(58, 2H.5. 
Clothing Mnfr.. 299. 
Clubs, 128, 146, 210. 219. 
Coburn, Henry. 189. 84-4-, 31-5. 
Coburn, Henry P., 344. 
Coljurn, Gen. .John. 77. 
Coburn it Wheelburg, 271. 
Coffin, A. W., 279. 
Coffin, B. F., 210. 
Coffin, C. E., 214, 2.57. 
Coffin, Charles F., 248. 
Coffin Mnfr., ,367. 
Coffin, R. M., .377. 
Coffin, Wm. E., 2: 5.5. 
Coffin, C. E., X- Co., 2."i7. 
Coffin, Fletcher .V- Co., 270, 279. 
Colfax, Schuvler, 1.32. 14-1, 1.').3. 
Colfax Statue, UL 
College, Indiana Dental, 19ti. 
CoUett, Joseph us, 236. 
Collins, Zach., 49. 
Columbia Club, 4-1, 128, 146. 189, 

219. 
Conunercial Club, 10.5, 128, 14(3, 182. 
Commercial Club Restiiurant, 297, 

800. 
Conde, H. T., 370. 
Conde, H. T.. Imp. Co., .-369, 370. 
Conduitt, Allen W., :«2, :i49. 
Cones, C. B., :300. 
Cones, C. B.. A Son Mfg. Co.. 299. 
Confectioners, Wholesale, 317. 321. 
Consumers' Gas Trust Co., 1S9. 
Contemporary Club, 217. 
Conventions, 166. 
Convention Citv, 1<)5. 
Cooper, John M., :W9. 
Cooper, J. O., 247. 
Cooper, W. H., 283. 
Cornelius, E. Ci.. 239. 249. 
Cornelius, P. S., 240. 
Corwin, J., 271. 
Coughlen, H. G., .342. 
Coughlen, Wm., 'XVl. 
Coulon, Chas., 1(55. 



404 



INDEX. 



Coulter, David A., 239. 

Coupons, 367. 

County Jail, 79. 

Country Club, 43. 

Courtney, Dr. Thos. E., 208. 

Cox, Walter T., 250. 

Craighead, David, 388. 

Cravens, Rev. Wm., 29. 

Crimes, 50. 

Crittenden, Hon. John J., .59. 

Crown Hill Cemetery, 77, 92, 93, 116, 
158. 

Crowning Figure Soldiers' and Sail- 
ors' Monument, 149. 

Cronyn, W. M., 337. 

Cruse, J. S., 249. 

Culbertson, S. A., 243. 

Cullen, T. J., 297. 

Cumback, Will, 370. 

Curtis, John J., 310. 

Custom House, 142. 

Cycle Path, 81. 



D 



Daggett & Co., 317, 321. 

Dalrymple, J. M., ,366. 

Dalton, N. F., 236. 

Dam at Broad Ripple, 83. 

Daniels, Edward, 189, 289. 

Darlington, F. G., 2.39. 

Davis, F. A. W., 189. 

Davis, Geo. L., a32. 

Davis, Jeff., 89. 

Davis, L. K., 186. 

Day, Thos. C, 243, 250. 

Deaf and Dumb Institute, 55, 66, 68. 

Dean, E. H., 190, .359. 

Dean, John C, 3,59. 

Dean, LiUian Wright, 214. 

Dean, Wilfred R., .359. 

Dean, Ward H., .359. 

Dean Bros. Steam Pump Works, 

357,359. 
Dearborn, C. S., .303. 
Deer, W. E., 271. 
Deitch, Guilford A., 250. 
Deitch Mausoleum, 153. 
Delano, W. J., 178. 
Delaware Street, 101. 
Demonstrations, 61. 
Denison Hotel, 124, 146, 295, 297. 
Denny, Caleb S., 165. 
Dental College, Indiana, 196. 
Dentist Specialties, 229. 



Dentist Supplies, .396, 398. 
Department of Finance, 1.38. 
Department of Health and Charities, 

141. 
Department of Law, 141. 
Department of Parks, 141. 
Department of Public Works, 141. 
Deschler, Louis G., 341. 
De Tamble, E. S., .349. 
Deutsche Haus, 146, 215. 
Dewenter, H. C, ,342. 
Dickerson, Wm., 349. 
Diekman, Fred., 346. 
Dietrich, Chas. F., 174, .317. 
Distinguished Visitors, 56. 
Dodd, H. H., 96. 
Dodge, C. G., 249. 
Donnelly, Maurice, 291. 
Dorsey, Stephen A., 96. 
Douglas, Stephen A., 62, 83. 
Doxey, Chas. T. 
Drake, Aaron, 18. 
Drake, J. P., 43, 68. 
Dramatic Club, 213. 
Drapier, W. H., 210. 
Drechsle, Geo. H., .348. 
Drinking Fountain, 145. 
Drop Carving Machines, .349. 
Drop Forgings, ,373. 
Drugs, Wholesale, 300, 392, 393. 
Dry Goods and Notions, 307, 308, 

313. 
Duncan, Robt. B., 248. 
Dunlap. Dr. L., 66. 
Dunn, J. P., 185. 
Dunn, Thos., ,337. 
Dunning, Dr. L. H., 230. 
Durham, Dr. Chas. O., 208. 
Dye, Valodin & Co., 270. 
Dye, Ehzabeth, 219. 
Dyer, S. M., 2,54. 
Dyer & Rassmann, 254. 
Dynamos, 374. 

E 

Earp, Dr. Samuel E., 207. 

Early Settlement, 2. 

Eastman, Dr. Joseph, 207, 220, 223. 

Eastman, Dr. Jos. Rilus, 208, 223. 

Eastman, Dr. Thos. B., 208, 223. 

Eastman's Company, 271. 

Edison, Thos. A., 178. 

Edward, D. G., 262. 

Eitel, Henry, 243. 

Elder, Wm. L., 174. 



IXDEX. 



405 



Electric Headlights. 355. 

Electric Lighting, 166. 

Electric Motors and Dynamos, 374 

Electrotypers, .332, 3.36. 

Ellington, Pleasant, 74. 

Elliott, Bvron K., 199, 244. 

Elliott, J. T., 257. 

Elliott, N. R., 210. 

Elliott, Dr. T. B., 282. 

Elliott, Wm. F., 199. 

Elliott & Butler, 257. 

Elston, I. C, 243. 

Elstun, John W., 338. 

Elvin, Wm. H., .310. 

Emerich Furniture Co., 348. 

Emerieh, Henry, ,348. 

Encampment, G. A. R., 1.31. 

Encampment, National, 57. 

Encampments, Military, 131. 

Engines and Boilers, 356, 365, 369, 

377. 
English Hotel, 297, 298. 
English Monument, 137. 
English, Wm. H., 297, 298, 310. 
Engraver, 383. 
Ensley, O. P., 347. 
Epizootic Epidemic, 45. 
Ernestinoff, .Alex., 219. 
Erwin, Chas. H., .307, 308. 
Erwin, D. P., 185, 297, 307, 308. 
Erwin, D. P., & Co., 307, 308. 
Evans, E. D., .378, 396. 
Evans, Geo. H., .378. 
Evans, Dr. John, 65, 66. 
Evans, Jos. R., 396. 
Evans Linseed Oil Co., 396. 
Everitt, J. A., 321, 322, 323. 
Everitt, L. J., 323. 
Ewing, W. D., 2.36. 
Excelsior Laundrv, 327, 328. 
'Executive, 1.38. 
Execution, Mihtary, 99. 
Express Co., U. S.,.183. 



F 



Fahnley, Fred., 2.36, 2.39, 314. 
Fahnley & McCrea, 3U. 
Failev, James A., 239. 
Fairbanks, Crawford. 291, 292. 
Fairbanks, Ed. P., 292. 
Fairview Park, 154. 
Fall Creek, 75. 
Farnum, Chas., 182. 
Fearnaught, Chas., .348. 
Featherston, J. R., 207. 



Female Prison, 116. 

Female School, 5(J. 

Ferguson, Dr. Frank, 2.32. 

Ferguson, J. C, 119. 

Fertilizers, 276. 

Fidelity Buildiug and Saving's 
Union, 249. 

Field, G. E.,309. 

Field, Dr. M. H., 208. 

Finances, City. 1.38. 

Financial Panic, .54. 

Finch, John A., 185, 199, 2.50. 

Fire Department, i;%. 

Firemen's Smoke Protectors, .343. 

Fires, 107, 108. 

First Associate Judges, 20. 

First Baptist Church, 2.^3. 

First Baptists' Society, .30. 

First Brick House, 24. 

First Campmeeting, 24. 

First Child Born, 14. 

First City Charter. 72. 

First County Clerk. 20. 

First County Eiectiou, 22. 

First County Commissioners, 20. 

First County Recorder. 20. 

First Court House, 19. 

First Court Session, 20. 

First Death, 26. 

First Divorce Case, 30. 

First Electric Lighting, Hr,. 

First Execution. .50. 

First Fenijile School. .5»). 

First Fire Department, .36. 

First Fire Engine, '.]i). 

First Fourth of July Demonstration, 

24. 
First Gas Lighting, 74. 
First Governor's Home. 37. 
First Hanging. .50. 
First Historical Society, 42. 
First Industries, .3i). 
First Jail. 2.3. 
First Judge. 19. 
First Lawyer, 19. 
First Legislature, .32. 
First Mayor, 72. 
P^irst Menagerie, 42. 
First Merchant. 'HI 
First Meth.Hlist Pr.-acli.'r. 2}. 
First Militia, 5»). 
First Military Organization, 24. 
First Murder, 49. 
First Naturalization. 23. 
First NewspajKT, 20. 
Fir3t Plat of City. 11. 



406 



INDEX. 



First Postmaster, 18. 

First Presbyterian Church, 221. 

First Presidential Election, 32. 

First Public Hpll, 72. 

First Railroads, 42, 68. 

First Real Estate Sales, 1.3. 

First School, 26. 

First Settlement, 6, 7. 

First Settler, 11. 

First Sermon, 29. 

First Sheriff, 19. 

First State House, 43. 

First Steamboat, 38. 

First Streets, 18. 

First Street Car Line, 119. 

First Street Improvements, 72. 

First Telegraph Company, 177. 

First Telegraph Line, 73, 177. 

First Two-Story Frame House, 24. 

First Wholesale Dry Goods House, 

73. 
Fishback, Wm. P., 190, 199. 
Fisher, A. W., 210. 
Fitzgerald Building, 14.5, 239. 
Fleck, John B., 336. 
Fleck, Jos. E., 336. 
Fleck, M. A., 336. 
Fletcher, Allen M., 190, 2.35, 244. 
Fletcher, Calvin, 19, 54, 119, 225. 
Fletcher, Stoughton A., 116, 2.3;5. 
Fletcher, L. W., 279. 
Fletcher, S. H., 279. 
Fletcher, S. J., 235. 
Fletcher, Dr. W. B., 207, 224, 225. 
Fletcher's Bank, 2^5, 241. 
Flour Mill Machinery, a52, .373. 
Foltz, Herbert W., 219. 
Fordham, Elias P., 11. 
Fort, John W., 275. 
Fortnightly Club, 219. 
Fort Sumter, 85. 
Fortune, Wm., 185, 294. 
Foster, C. C, 185. 347. 
Foster Lumber Co., .346, 347. 
Foster, Gen. Rob't S., 284, 
Foster, R. S., & Co., 284. 
Fountain, 145. 

Fox & Garhart Specialty Co., 229. 
Eraser, Henry, 265. 
Eraser, J. G., 347. 
Eraser, S. D., .347. 
Eraser, S. P., 347. 
Eraser Bros. & Van Hoff, .347. 
Franke, Fred., 289. 
Franklin Building, 244. 
Franklin Institute, 56. 



Free Banks. 80. 

Free Schools, 72. 

Freeman, John, 74. 

Frenzel, J. P., 209, 236, 239, 240, 289. 

Frenzel, O. E., 2.36. 

Frenzel, O. N., 2.36, 239, 289. 

Frietszche, Ernest E., .387. 

Frietzsche, Dr. J. U., 387. 

Frybarger, Col. W. W., 99. 

Fugitive Slave, 74. 

Fuller, Geo. W., 271. 

Fulton, H. H., 35.5. 

Furnaces, 342. 

Furniture, 348. 



G 



Gall, Ed. F., 28.3. 

Gardner, Chas. J., 271. 

Garfield Park, 67, 87, 97, 154. 

G. A. R. National Encampment 1893, 

17, 57. 
G. A. R. Parade 189,3, 57. 
Garrard, Miss Louise, 213. 
Gates, A. B., 185. 
Gay, Robt., 99. 
Gaylord, Dr. H. G., 208. 
Gazrtte, 20. 
Geisendorffs, .36, 86. 
German Eire Ins. Co. of Ind., 249. 
Girls' Classical School, 200, 201, 206, 

214. 
Goeble, Louis, .308. 
Goodall, Walter J., .338. 
Goode, Rich., 23. 
Gordon, I. S., 247, a38. 
Gordon-Kurtz Co., 338. 
Governor's Circle, 54. 
Gov. Wright Mansion, 7. 
Grand Hotel. 124. 146. 
Grand Lodge I. O. O. E., 74. 
Grant, Gen., 60, 61. 
Graves, Geo. H., 2.58. 
Grav Club, 146. 
Graybill, H. G., 270. 
Great Crimes, 50. 
Great Demonstrations, 61. 
Great Parades, 57, 62, 131. 
Greater Indianapolis, 134. 
Greeley, Horace, 62. 
Greeley Meeting, 65. 
Green, J. C, 244. 
Greenback Labor Party, 166. 
Greenlawn Cemetery, 92. 
Gregg, Dennis, 178. 
Gregg, Harvey, 24. 



INDEX. 



407 



Gregory, Fred. A., ;^i. 

Gregory & Appel, 344. 

Griffiths, John L., 199, 217. 

Griffith, J. P., 44. 

Griffith Brothers, 305, 807. 

Grocers, Wholesale, .300, 325, 340, .341. 

Grubbs, Danl. W., 165. 

Grummann, Henry, 254. 

Guetig, Louis, .50. 

Gurley, Phineas D., 66. 

Gutenberg Co., 294. 



H 



Haas, Jos., 897. 

Habich, C, Jr., 292. 

Habich, Carl, Sr., 292. 

Habich, C, Company, 292. 

Hagen, Andrew, 290. 

Hagedorn, W. L., .348. 

Haines, Kev. L. G., 29. 

Haines, Rev. M. L., 219. 

Hall, Albert W., 249, 257. 

Hall, Jerrv S., 298. 

Hamilton, John W., 248. 

Hammond, Rezin, 29. 

Hanna^ Gen., 41. 

Hanna, Hugh H., 377. 

Hanna, John A., 341. 

Hanson, Julius A., 270. 

Harding, Eliakim, 20. 

Hard Times, 55. 

Hardware, Heavy, .338. 

Hardware, Wholesale, 362, 368. 

Harness, W^holesale, 360, 366. 

Harrell, J. B.. 274. 

Harris, Addison C, 190, 199, 243. 

Harris, India C, 214. 

Harrison, Benj., 61, 65, 190. 

Harrison, Hon. Benj., Residence, 

19. 
Harrison, C-hristopher, 11. 
Harrison, Gen. Wm. Henry, 55, 91, 

132, 153. 
Harrison, Wm. H., Monument, 91. 
Hartman, Silas W^., 50. 
Hasty, Geo., 210. 
Hatfield, C. C, 182. 
Haughville, 1.34. 
Havens, Rev. Jas., 48. 
Hawkins, Edward, 236, 239. 383. 
Hawkins, Mrs. Roscoe O., 217. 
Hawkins, Tavern, 18. 
Hav, Thos., .378. 
Hay & Willits Mfg. Co., 378. 
Hayes, President, R. B., 61. 



Hayler, Geo. W., 262. 

Haymon, W. S.. 207. 

Hays, Franklin W., 200. 

Heckman, C, 189. 

Heeb, E. J., 209. 

Helm, R. F., 275. 

Henderson, Sam'l, 18, 44, 165. 

Hendricks, Abraham W., 248. 

Hendricks Club. 219. 

Hendricks. Thos. A.. 35. 1.32, l.'i4. 

Hendricks, William, 20. 

Hendrickson, Alonzo, 247. 

Hendrickson. E. A., IMj. 

Henry, James R.. 239. 

Herriott. Mrs. W. M., .^98. 

Herron. John, 128, 214. 

Herzsch, A. F.. :i57. 

Hetheringtou, Benj. F.. :i:V>. 

Hetherington, Fred. .\., :j,"J5. 

Hetherington-Berner Co., 335. 

Hevwocxl, J. B., .328. 

Hibben, H. B., .3(K). 313. 

Hicks, Harry S., 196. 

Hide, Leather and Belting Co., ;}:18, 

889. 
High School No. 1, 159. 
High School No. 2, Kil. 
Hill, Edwin. 249, 257. 
Hise, S. M., 2(i5. 
History of Indi.vnapolis, 1. 
Hitt, D. C., :W3. 
Hitt, J. B.. 303. 
Hitzelberger, Louis. 340. 
Hixon, W. B., 28.3. 
Hodges, Laura Fletcher, 214. 
Hoffman, Geo. W.. MH). 
Hog and Poultrv Kemedies, ;^7, 400. 
Hollenbeck, Chas. E.. .32.3. 
Hollenbeck, John C., 89. 
Hollidav, Jacj. S., .•{.'JS. 
Hollidav. John D., :k;u. 
HoUidaV, Jolin H., 18.5, 24-3. 2m. 
HoUidaV, Wm. J.. liVi. 
HollidaV. W. J., .t Co., 88;;. 
Hollidav A Wvon. 8(i(». 
Hollow Ware Mnfrs., ;i39, 340. 
Hollowav, C. K., 2.57. 
Holloweil. Amos K., .349. ."{.52, .377. 
Holloweil. L. P., .349. 
Hollweg. Lnuis. .31.3. .3\S, 319. 
Hollweg A- Reese, .318. 819. 
Holman, John A., 182. 
Holt, Sterling R.. 190. 243. 
Home Brewing Co., 287. 289. 
Home Cracker CV>.. 282. 
Homeoj)athi<' ]'harma>-y, :187. 



408 



INDEX. 



Home for Friendless Women, 116. 
Home Stove Co., .339, 340. 
Hooker, J. H., 3fi9. 
Horticultural Library, 165. 
Hospitals, 158. 

Hospital for Insane, 65, 71, 73. 
Hospital, Lying-in, 231. 
Hospital, Runnels's Private, 226. 
Hotels and Cafes, 124, 146. 
Houghton, R. E., 207. 
Hovey, Gen., 99. 
Howe, A. B., 391. 
Howland, Louis, 219. 
Hubbell, O. Z., 250. 
Hunt, Geo. E., 190, 196. 
Hurty, John N., 196, 219. 
Hutton, J. H., 336. 



I 



Indian Killings, 17. 

Indiana Bermudez Asphalt Co., 349. 

Indiana Central Canal, 154. 

Indiana Cigar Co., 303. 

Indiana Dental College, 190, 196. 

I., D. & W. Ry., 2,58. 

Indiana Dental Depot, .398. 

Indiana Electrotype Co., 336. 

Indiana Insurance Co., 248. 

Indiana Law School, 190. 

Indiana Lumber and Veneer Co. , ,349. 

Indiana Mnfg. Co., .303. 

Indiana Medical College, 210. 

Indiana National Bank, 2,35, 237. 

Indiana School of Art, 218. 

Indiana School Book Co., ,383._ 

Indiana Society for Savings, 250. 

Indiana State Soldiers' and Sailors' 

Monument, 150, ] 79. 
Indiana Trust Co., 113, 2.39. 
Indianapolis, 1,5, 21, ,51, 117, 121, 

125, 129. 
Indianapolis at Present, 133. 
Indianapolis Abattoir Co., 271. 
Indianapolis Bible Society, .35. 
Indianapolis Book and Stationery 

Co., 337. 
Indianapolis Brewing Co., 284, 285, 

286. 
Indianapolis Business University, 

197, 203, 208. 
Indianapolis Coffin Co., 367. 
Indianapolis Dist. Telegraph Co., 

182. 
Indianapolis Drop Forging Co., 373. 
Indianapolis Drug Co., 393. 



Indianapolis Electrotype Fdry., 332. 
Indianapolis Female Institute, 56. 
Indianapolis Gas Co., 174, 316. 
Indianapolis, Greater, 1.34. 
Indianapolis Harness Co., 366. 
Indianapolis, History of, 1. 
Indianapolis, Incorporation of, 44. 
Indianapolis Light Artillery, 131. 
Indianapolis Light Infantry, 131. 
Indianapolis Light and Power Co., 

166, 169, 170. 
Indianapolis Literary Club, 219. 
Indianapolis Local Council of 

Women, 214. 
Indianapolis Mnfi's. and Carp. Union, 

345, 346. 
Indianapolis Natural Gas Co., 174. 
Indianapolis Orphan Asylum, 61. 
Indianapolis Propylajum, 210, 211. 
Indianapolis School of Art, 162. 
Industrial Training School, 209, 219. 
Indianapolis Veneer Co., 382. 
Indianaijolis Water Co., 185, 187, 

191. 
Industrial Life Association, 247. 
Industrial Training School, 209, 219. 
Infirmary, St. Vincent's, 95. 
Ingalls Block, 333. 
Institute, Deaf and Dumb, 55. 
Institute for the Blind, 59, 67. 
Insurance Companies, 244, 249, 3-33. 
Invalid Chairs, .399. 
Irvington, 1.34. 



Jackson Place, 305. 

Jail, 79. 

.Jameson, Gertrude C, 217. 

Jameson, Dr. Henry, 247. 

Jameson, L. H., 66. 

Jameson, Dr. P. H., 190. 

Jefferson, Thos., ,36. 

,Jeffery, Fuller & Co., 270, 271. 

Jenckes, Mary I., 217. 

Jenney, Chas. D., ,374. 

Jenney Electric Motor Co., 374. 

Jennison, Saml., 44. 

Jeup, J. B., 294. 

Jillson, Wm. M., ,361. 

Johnson, Albert D., 381. 

Johnson, Andrew, 60. 

Johnson, John, 24. 

Johnson, Richard, 56. 

Johnston, W. M., 275. 

Jordon, Sydney, 396. 



INDEX. 



409 



Jose, Nich., 219. 
Journal Building, 189. 
Journal Indianapolis, 294. 
Judson, Chas. E., 341. 
Judson & Hanna, 341. 
Jungclaus, Wm. P., 290. 
Judiciary, 138. 

K 

Kappes, Wm. E., 199. 

Kavanagh, J. P., 324*. 
* Kahn, A. & Son, 271, 274. 

Kahn, H. A., 274. 

Kahn, Henry, .326. 

Kahn Tailoring Co., 32(5. 

.Keach, J. L., 185. 

Kearsarge, 17. 

Keck, Louis J., 381. 

Kelsey, Benj. C, 265. 

Keller, Dr. Amelia R., 208. 

Ketcham, J. L., 189. 

Klee c% Coleman, 292. 

Kiersted, I. H., 178. 

Kimball, E. P., 189. 

Kinnard, John L., 43. 

Kinney, H. E., 178, 284. 

Kingan, Thomas D., 249. 

Kingan Bros., 119. 

Kingan & Co., 270, 277, 279, 280. 

Kis-me Chewing Gum, 308, .309. 

Knickerbacker Hall, 162. 

"Knickerbocker Special," 262. 

Knight, E. J., ,361. 

Knight & Jillsou, 8(iO. 361. 

Koehne, Chas., 363. 

Koehne, Geo. W., 298, 299. 

Kohlstaedt, Wm., 249. 

Kolmer, Dr. John, 208. 

Kossuth, 59. 

Kothe, Geo., 24.3, ,340. 

Kothe, Henrv, 244. 

Kothe, Wm., .340. 

Kothe, Wells <fc Bauer, 340, 341. 

Krag, Wm. A., .325. 
'Krag, Wm. Wallace, ,325. 

Krag-Keynolds Co., 325. 

Kramer, Chas., 271. 

Kruse, Theo., 342. 

Kruse & Dewenter, 34-2. 

Kurtz, W. E., 3:^8. 

Kuhn, Wm. F., 249. 

L 
L. E. &, W. Railway, 2.58, 259. 



Lamb, Robt. X., 189. 

Lambert, Dr. .John .\.. 208. 

Land Office, United States, :r). 

Lane, H. D., 270. 

Langdon, J(jhn H., 189. 

Lashley, .Vrnold, 49. 

Law Books, 310. 

Law Library, 1(15. 

Law School. Indiana, 199. 

Lawrence, H. W., 239. 

Lawyers' Loan and Trust C >., 251. 

Lazarus, John S., 18,5, 258. 

Leather, .3:i8. 

Leggett, George, ,50. 

Lemcke, J. A., 2,36. 2.50. 

Lemcke Building. 145. ICT. 

Levey Bros. Printing Co., 31}{. 

Lewis, H. B., 275. 

Library, H. W. Clark, 207. 

Libraries and Schools, 127, 128, 161, 

162, 1()3, 165. 207. 
Library, Public, 1()3. 165. 
Library, State, 162. 
Lieber, Albert, 189. 239, 289. 
Lieber, Herman. 190, 244, :i6,3. 
Lieber, Otto, 36.3. 
Lieber, Peter, 284. 
Lieber, Richard, & Co., 289. 
Lieber, H., Co., 363. 
Liederkranz, 219. 
Lilly, Charles. .394. 
Lilly, Col. Eli. 185. 190, .387. 
Lilly, Evans F.. 387. 
Lilly, .Jas. E.. .387. 
Lilly, Jno. xM., .394. 
Lilly, Josiah K., .387. 
Lillv, J. O. D.. .394. 
Lilly, Eli Co., 3«1.. :N7. 
Lilly Varnish Co., 391-. 
Lincoln, Abraham, 39. tin. -».>. -lo, 

108, 112. 
Lincoln's Funeral, 39. 112. 
Literary Club. Indianapolis, 219. 
Lithograjjhens', .318. 
Live Sfoc/i JoiirtKtl, 294. 
Locating the Ca|)it;il, 8. 
Lockerd, Alvin S.. ,307. .308. 
LnnihanI, Thi\ 145, 326. 
Long Distance Telephone SvsU'in, 

182. 
Long, H. C, 243. 
Long, Dr. John B.. 207. 
L., N. A.\- C. Ky.. 261. 
Love, John, 249. 
Lumber, 344, .346. 347, .34S. 



410 



INDEX. 



Lyman, Bement, 189. 
Lynn, Harriett K., 217. 
Lyons, A. E., 207. 

Mc 

McAlpin, M. E., .359. 
McBaker, Capt. Thos., 56 
McCartney, Wm., 20. 
McCarty, Nich., 36. 
McClellan, Gen. Geo. B., 90. 
McClung, Hester M., 217. 
McClung, John, 29. 
McCormack, John, 20. 
McCorniick Bros., 11. 
McCormick, E. O., 265. 
McCorniick Harvesting Machine 

Co., 328, 329. 
McCoy, J. B., .391. 
McCoy-Howe Co., .388, 391. 
McCrea, RolHn H., .314. 
McCready, James, 165. 
McCullough, Hugh, 54. 
McDougal, John A., 68. 
McElwaine, J. B., .356. 
McElwaine, M. M., .3.56. 
McElwaine-Richards Co., 356. 
McGilHard, M. V., 249, 2.57. 
McGilliard Agency Co., 257. 
Mcllvain, Jas., 20. 
McKain, A. A., 189, 2.36, .303. 
McKee, Ed. L., 243, 320. 
McKee, Robt. L., 249, 320. 
McKee, Robt. S., .320. 
McKee, Wm. J., 320. 
McKee & Co., .314, 315, 319. 
McKee, R. S., & Son., .319, .320. 
McKee Shoe Co., 319, 320. 
McKeen, W. R., 249. 
McKenzie, Mrs. Marv. 240. 
McMasters, J. L., 16b. 
McNeeley, Henrv, 178. 
McPherson, R. A., 44. 
McPherson, Wm., 49. 

M 

Macauley, Dan'l, 165. 
Machinists, 3:35, .359, .3a5, .369. 
Madison Raih-oad, 55. 
Maennerchor, 219. 
Maguire, Douglass, 25, 36. 
Mahonev, John H., 153. 
Maier, Geo., 292. 
Malone, A. J.. .369. 
Malott, Volney T., 189, 2.35, 243. 



Malpas, Henry, 244. 

Majestic Building, 174, 175. 

Mansur, AmeHa B., 214. 

Mansur, Isaiah, 90. 

Manufacturing, 145. 

Marion Block, 177. 

Marion Club, 146, 219. 

Marion County Court House, Erec- 
tion of, 120. 

Marion County, Organization of, 19. 

Marion County Library, 165. 

Marion Guards, 56. 

Marion Rifles, .56. 

Marion Trust Co., 243, 245. 

Marmon, Daniel W., 174, 352. 

Marmon, Mrs. D. W., 219. 

Marott, Geo. J., 326, 328. 

Marquis, E. K., .377. 

Marsee, J. W., 190, 200. 

Marshall, A. W., .3.32. 

Marston, Gilman, 56. 

Martin, D. B., 265. 

Mason, Augustus L., 174. 

Masonic Temple, 89. 

Massachusetts Avenue, 173. 

Masters, Dr. John L.. 208. 

Matinee Musicale, 217. 

Matthews, Royal, 248. 

Maus, Casper, 284. 

Maus, Frank A., 244, 292. 

Maxwell, Sam'l D., 165. 

Maxwell, Dr. Allison, 207, 248. 

Maver, Chas., Jr., 244, .304. 

Maver, Chas., Sr., .304. 

Mayer, Chas., & Co., 298, 304. 

Mayer, Ferd. L., .304. 

May Musical Festival Association, 
128. 

Mayors of Indianapolis, 165. 

Mears, Geo. W., 67. 

Mears, H. B., .394. 

Medical College of Indiana, 190, 199, 
200. 

Medicines, Proprietary, 229. 

Meigs, Sarah T., 217. 

Meigs, U. S. Quartermaster, 100. 

Merchants' National Bank, 235, 236. 

Meridian Street, 149. 

Meridian St. M. E. Church, 233. 

Merrick, Wm., 50. 

Merrill, Chas. W., .310. 

Merrill, Saml., 32, 48, 54, 310. 

Merritt, Geo., 331. 

Merritt, Worth, .3.32. 

Merritt, Geo., & Co., 331. 

Messick. J. F.,.317. 



INDEX. 



411 



Metals, 339. 

Metal Polish, 400. 

Metcalfe. Gov. Thos., 59. 

Metzger Agency, The A., 253. 

Metzger, Albert E., 185, 249, 253. 

Metzger, Alex., 253. 

Metzger, H. A., 253. 

Metzger, Jacob, & Co., 293. 

Meuser, John, 271. 

Mexican War, 68, 89. 

Meyer Brothers, 308, .309. 

Meyer, Leo, 308. 

Meyer, Louis, 308. 

Middlesworth, Benson, Nave & Co., 

270. 
Mick, E. L., 252. 
Mick, W. E., & Co., 252, 253. 
Milholland, W. F., 174. 
Military Encampments, 131. 
Military Execution, 99. 
Military Organizations. 84, 128. 
Military Park, 65, 87, 154. 
Militia, 56. 

Miller, Hiram W., 239. 
Miller, John E., .393. 
Miller, W. H., 292. 
Milligan, Lamdin, 96, 99. 
MiUinerv, Wholesale, 307, 314. 
Minor, B. B., 283. 
Mitchell, Jas. L., 165. 
Moffett, Dr. John, 207. 
Moller, Carl, 836. 
Moore, John L., 300. 
Moore, Marshall, 337. 
Moore, M. R., .377. 
Moore, Wm. A., 370. 
Moore & Co., 270, 280. 
Monetary Convention, 166. 
"Monon" Route, 261. 
Montgomery Guards, 84. 
Monuments, 91, 131, 132. 137.141, 

179. 
Monument Place, 85. 
Monument Savings and Loan Assn., 

250. 
Morgan, Dr. Wm. V., 208. 
Morris, B. F., .36, 42. 
Morris. J. W., 247. 
Morris, Dr. Minor, 208. 
Morris, M. A., 189. 
Morris, Nathan, 185. 
Morris, Gen. Thos. A., .56, 90, 189. 
Morrison, Jas., 66. 
Morrison, Robt., 54. 
Morrison, Wm. H., 248. 
Morrow, Saml.. 24. 



Morton Monument, 15.3. 37. 
Morton. Oliver P., 37, :^, 86, 90, 99, 

100, 103, 111, 115, 1.32, 1.53. 
Mosier, H. H., 2.50. 
Motors, Electric, .374. 
Mount Jackson. iK. 
Mowrer, Jas. M.. .391. 
Mueller, Ferd. A., 249. 
Mueller, J. George, 39.3. 
Muir, Louis, .304. 
Municipal Administration, 134. 
Miinh-ijxd EnqiiK ( i-iutf, 2fM. 
Murphy. J. W..* ;«X), 313.' 
Murphy. Hihlu-n it Co., 311. 31.3. 
Mutual Life Ins. Co., 244. 
Myers A: Hausman, 271. 
Myers, Capt. W. R., 244. 



N 



National Conventions, 16(). 
National Electric Headlight Co., 

355. 
National Encampment, 1893. 57. 
National Road, .'{8. 
National Guards, 84. 
National Starch Mfg. Co., :i33, 33i. 
Natural Gas Supplies, :i5t;, :3<;i. 
Newcomb, Horatio C., ItV), .'15(5. 
Newcomer. Dr. V. B., 208. 
iW«'.v, Indianapolis, 294. 
New, John C. 124. 
New Purchase. 8. 
Nichols, E., 273. 
Nichols, E. C, 303. 
Noble, Gov., 41. 
Nordvke, Addison H., .■).52. 
Nordvke. Chas. E., .374. 
Nordyke, Ellis H., :r.2. 
Nordvke A: Mannon Co.. '.\W1. 353. 
Norniandie Hotel, 2f<7, 299. 
Norris. Seaton W., .54. t;7. 
North Indiana [Mills, 1.31. 
Northwestern Christian Cnivrrsity, 

74, 190. 
Notable Demonstrations, (51. 



o 



O'Connor, M., 2:^"., 244. 
Oberiander. Gustav. 289. 
Occidental Hotel. 124. 
Odd Fellows Cirand l>Klge. 74. 
Office Buildings. 142. 
Ohio. Illinois and Indiana Tele- 
graph Co., 177. 



412 



INDEX. 



Ohmer, E. G., 182. 

Oil Well Supplies, 356, 361. 

Old Seminary, 11. 

Old State House, 1865, 39. 

Oliver, Charles, 244. 

Oliver, John H., 200. 

Opera Houses, 124. 

Optical Goods, 299. 

Original Eagle Clothing Co., 327, 

asi. 

Orphan Asylum, 61. 
Osborne, John T., 20. 
Osgood, M. J., 190, 303. 
Osterman, John, 283. 
Osterman & Cooper, 283. 
"Outing" Bicycles, 378. 
Outland, E. M., 210. 
Overalls, 299. 
Over the Tea Cups, 219. 



Packet Gov. Morton^ 33. 
Paint Works, .396. 
Palmer House, 124. 
Panics, 80, 123. 
Panic, Financial, 54. 
Pantzer, Dr. H. O., 232. 
Papers and Periodicals, 146. 
Parade, G. A. R., 1893, ,57. 
Parades, 62, 131. 
Parke, Benj., 42. 
Parkhurst, J. H., 351. 
Parkhurst, J. M., 351. 
Parkhurst, J. W., 351. 
Parkhurst Bros. & Co., 351. 
Parks, 65, 81, 87, 119. 
Parks, R. H., 154. 
Park Theater, 24. 
Parmalee, Rolst., 68. 
Parrott, Burton E., 282. 
Parrott & Taggart, 281. 
Parry, D. M., 185, .350. 
Parr'v, St. Clair, 350, 351. 
Parry, Thos. H.. 351. 
Parry Mnfg. Co., 350, 351. 
Passenger Station, 124, 255, 305. 
Patton, J. B., 250. 
Pauli, Henry, 346. 
Paxton, Jas., 23, 24. 
Payson, C.H., 189. 
Payson, Edgar R., 189. 
Pearson, Geo. C, 249. 
Pearson, John R., 117, 317. 
Peirce, E. B., 355. 
Peirce, R. B. F., 258, .355. 



Pembroke Arcade, 301. 323. 
Pennsylvania Street, 13, 49. 
Perkins, Mrs. S. E., 217. 
Perkins, W. H., .365. 
Perry, Charles C, 174. 
Pharmaceutical Chemist, 384, .388, 

.389. 
Physicians' Chairs and Tables, 399, 

400. 
Physio-Medical College, 209, 210. 
Pickens, Sam'l O., 244. 
Piel, Chas. F., ,334. 
Piel, Henry, .334. 
Piel, Wm. F., Jr., a34. 
Piel, Wm. F., Sr., 240, .3.34. 
Pink, Dr. Herman, .393. 
Pierce, Elizabeth Vinton, 213. 
Pierce, Mrs. H. D., 218. 
Pierson, Chas. D., 207. 
Plate Glass, 344, 392. 
Plum, J. H., 282. 
Plumbers' Goods, .356, .361. 
Plymouth Church, 227. 
Poehler, Fred., 396. 
Pogue's Run, 35. 
Pogue's Run, Battle of, 95. 
Pogue, George, 11, 14. 
Police Department, 1.38. 
Political Campaign of 1860, 83. 
Political Clubs, 219. 
Political Demonstration, 65. 
Political Gatherings, 62. 
Population, 134. 
Pork Packing, 119, 277, 279. 
Porter, George T., 217. 
Porter, Edward B., 2.35. 
Porterfield, H. D., .303. 
Portfolio Club, 219. 
Post-Office Building, 47. 
Postal Telegraph Cable Co., 178. 
Potter, M. A., 365. 
Potter, Thos. E., .349. 
Powell & Sons. 271. 
Pratt, Julius F., 189, .374, ,377. 
Pray, S. D.. 177, 317. 
Press Club, 219. 
Prices in 1822, 26. 
Printers, 318, 323. 
Prisons, 92, 116. 
Proal, A. B., 177, .317. 
Progress Clothing Co., .3.37. 
Prohibitionists, 166. 
Proprietary Remedies, 400. 
Propylaeum, The, 146, 210, 211. 
Pruitt, O. M., 349. 
Publications, 294, 297. 



INDEX. 



413 



Public Buildings, 123, 137. 

Public Library, 163, 165, 185, 189. 

Q 

Quinn, Samuel, 248. 

R 

Railroad, The Belt, 142. 
Railroad Building, 119. 
Railroad, Madison, 55. 
Railway Officials' and Employes' 

Accident Ins. Co., 333. 
Railways, 142, 259, 265. 
Ralston, Alex., 11, 41. 
Range Mnfrs., 339, 340. 
Ransdell, Dan'l M., 344. 
Raper Cammandery, 131. 
Rassmann, Emil C, 254. 
Ranch, John, 324. 
Rauh, Henry, 276, 279. 
Rauh, Leopold, 276. 
Rauh, Sam E., 270, 276, 279. 
Rauh, E., & Sons, 27(). 
Ray, Jas. M., 20, 36, 67. 
Real Estate, 251, 257. 
Real Estate Speculation, 120. 
Rebel Prison, 92. 
Rebel Prisoners, Release of, 95. 
Recker, Gk)ttfried, 219. 
Redding, J. W., 43. 
Reed, Frank J., 262. 
Reed, Jas. C, 20, 30. 
Reed, Myron W., 157. 
Reese, Chas. L., .319. 
Reeves, Geo. F., a32. 
Reeves, R. R., 274. 
Reformatory for Girls, 116. 
Reformatory, Women's, 389. 
Reid, Robt.", 281. 
Reid, Samuel, 280, 281. 
Reinhard, Geo. L., 199. 
Religious Work, 157. 
Remington Typewriters, .'309. 
Reporter, The Daily, 294. 
Resener, C. F., 346. 
Rever. Theodore, 249. 
Reynolds, Chas. M., .325. 
Richards, Geo. A., 356. 
Richards, Wm. J., 294. 
Richards, W. M., 349. 
Richie, I. N., 251. 
Richings, Caroline, 86. 
Riley, James Whitcomb, .310. 



Riots, (X). 78, 104. 
Roach, Addison L., 249. 
Robert's Chapel, (30. 
Robertson, Carrie F., 213, 217. 
Roberts Park M. E. Church, 221. 
Robinson. John L., 74. 
Robison, E. J.. 2.")0. 
Rockwood, E. C, 274. 
Rockwotxl, W. E., :i")<j. 
RockwcKxl Mnfg. Co., .356, 3.59. 
Roemler. Chas. O.. 294. 
Rollins, Thaddeus S., 199. 
Root, Deloss, 244. 

Root, o. H., mx 

Runnels, Dr. O. S.. 22f;. 228, .342. 
Runnels's Private Hosijital. 22«i. 
Russell, Alex. W., 24, 4:1 ."><;. 
Rush, Fred P., 282, 283. 



Saddlery. :3()(5. 

Saddlery, Hardware. :j:38. 

Samuels, F. W.. 178. 

Sanders. John H.. ;58. 

Sanitarium, Dr. Joseph Eastman's. 

220. 
Sanitarium, Fletcher's. 224. 
Sanitarium. Dr. L. H. Dunning's. 

230. 
Sanitarium, Dr. H. O. Pantzer's. 

232. 
Sanitariums, Other Private, 2.'12. 
Sanitarv Conuuission, 100. 
Saw Mills, :i59, .36."). .'369. 
Saws. .TjI, .3(>4, :365. 
Sawver. Dr. J. W. 2.50. 
Schaf. J. C. 292. 
Schaaf. Val., :{46. 
Scherer. Dr. S. P.. 208. 
Schmid. Fred.. 346. 
Schmidt. C. F., 284. 
Schmidt. John W., 249. 
Schmidt, Lorenz, 249. 
ScJimidt, Wm. H., :««). 
Sehmitz. Bruno. 150. 
Schnull. Henrv, 2.'J5. 
Sohrader. Fred.. 249. 
Schrivcr. Hol^t.. .374. 
Schools and Libraries. 1.5S. 1(11. 
Schurman. ('has., 249. 
Schwarzchild A: Sulzberger Co.. 271. 
Scott, General, m. 
Scott, Rev. Jas.. 24, 2t>. 
Scott. Martha O.. .3<>2. 
Scott, Thos. R., .54. 



414 



INDEX. 



Scott, Wm., 392. 

Scrip, 54. 

Scudder, Caleb, 165. 

Second Presbyterian Church, 2.3.3. 

Sedwick, Chas. W., 273. 

Sedwick, J. B., 273. 

Seedsman, 321. 

Self, Berry, .326. 

Sells, M., & Co., 270, 271. 

Seminary, "Old," U. 

Sentinel, Indianapolis, 294. 

Sewall, Mrs. May Wright, 206, 210, 

213, 214. 
Shackelton, Wm. H., 189. 
Sharpe, J. K , Jr., .303. 
Shartle, Ellis Y., 284. 
Shaw, Jno. M., 280, 281. 
Sheerin, S. P., 236. 
Sheets, Harry, 124. 
Sheridan Brick Works, ,303. 
Shiel, R. R., & Co., 271, 274. 
Shinn, W. J., 271. 
Show Case Mnfr., .315, 316. 
Simmons, Franklin, 1.53. 
Simpson, Matthew, 66. 
Sinclair, Robt. S., 280. 
Sindlinger, Peter, 271, 298, 299. 
Sinker-Davis Co., 369. 
Skeen, Jeremiah D., 80. 
Skinner, B. T., 303. 
Slater, J. H., 250. 
Sloan, Geo. B., .388. 
Sloan, Geo. W., 388. 
Sloan Drug Co., 888. 
Smith, C. F., 236. 
Smith, Chas. W., 199. 
Smith, Jacob W., 282. 
Smith, Geo., 20. 
Smith, Laura A., 219. 
Smith, Oliver H., 248. 
Snitjer, Drikus, 381.- 
Snow, Mrs. Margaret Butler, 213. 
Snyder, D. E., 235. 
Snyder, Geo. W., .338. 
Soldiers' Graves in Crown Hill, 93. 
Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument, 

131, 179. 
Somerville, Jas., 317. 
Surroundings, The, 1.34. 
"Southwestern Limited," 262. 
Spann, Henry J., 252. 
Spann, John M., 185, 252. 
Spann, John S., 2,36, 252. 
Spann, Thos. H., 2,52. 
Spann, John S., & Co., 2-52. 
Spectacle Mnfr., 299. 



Spink, Dr. Mary A., 224. 

Sjjoftsvogel, Die, 297. • 

St. Aloysius Library, 165. 

St. Clair Park, 154. 

St. John's Academy, 162. 

St. John's Cathedral, 2,33. 

St. Mary's Academy, 162. 

St. Paul's Church, 221. 

St. Vincent's Infirmary, 96. 

Stafford, J. A., 210. 

Stallcup, Elias, ,30. 

Stallcup, Ruth, 30. 

Stanton, Will, 271. 

State Bank, 55. 

State Bank of Indiana, 53, 239. 

State Capital, Removal, .32. 

State Fair Grounds, 157. 

State House, 39, 120, 139. 

State House, Interior Senate, 38.5. 

State Law Library, 165. 

State Library, 162. 

State Life Ins. Co., 247. 

Stationers, Wholesale, a37. 

Statue, 35, 37, 91, 141, 157, 213. 

Steamboat Gov. Morton, 33, 41. 

Steamboat Bobt. Hanna, 41. 

Stechhan, Otto, 249, 373. 

Steele, Theo. C, 214. 

Steffen, Andrew, 370. 

Stein, Theo., 249, 344. 

Sterne, Dr. Albert E., 208. 

Stevenson Building, 145, 171. 

Stevenson, Columbus, 235. 

Stevenson, Henry F., 251. 

Stewart, Andrew, 60. 

Stewart, Daniel, .392. 

Stewart, Dan'l, Co., 392. 

Stiles, Henry G., 262. 

Stockton, W. W., 273. 

Stockton, Gillespie & Co., 270, 273. 

Stock Yards, 266, 267, 269, 270, 272. 

Stock Yards Hotel, 270. 

Stone, 342. 

Stone, Dr. R. French, 250. 

Stove Mnfrs., 339, ,340. 

Strauss, Leopold, 331. 

Straw Goods Mnfrs., 349. 

Street Improvements, 115. 

Street Lighting, 116. 

Street Railway, 116, 142. 

Streets and Sewers, 141. 

Stretcher, Howard, 60. 

Striebeck, F., 294. 

Stuart, Chas. E., 240. 

Sturm, Gen. Henry, 99. 

Suburban Towns, 120. 



INDEX. 



415 



Sullivan, Geo. R., .339. 

Sullivan, W. A., 265. 

Sumter, Fort, 85. 

Sun, The. 

Sutcliffe, Dr. John A. 

Surgeons' Chairs and Tables, .399, 

400. 
Surgical Institute, 108, 127. 
Surgical Instruments, .399, 100 
Swain, Thos. A., ,3:37. 
Sweenev, A. M., 218, ->50 
Swift& Co., 271. 



Taft, Laredo, 151. 
Taggart, Alex., 282. 
Taggart, Thos., 165, 182, 190. 
Tanner, George G., 244, .3.39. 
Tanner &, Sullivan, 339. 
Tarkington, Newton Booth, 213 
Tate, Warren, 315. 
Taylor, D. M., 2.35. 
Taylor, Major, ,327, .331. 
Taylor, Wm. M., .365. 
Telegraph Companies, 177. 
Telegraph, The Daily, 294. 
Telephone Companies, 182. 
Temperley, H., 271. 
Terre Haiite Brewing Co., 291 
Thomas, Dr. Wm. H., 207. 
Thompson, Chas. X., 244, 250. 
Thornton, Chas. E., 2.50. 
Thoroughfares, Parks and Adorn- 
ments, 149. 
Thorpe Block, 145. 
Thudium, H. O., 294. 
Tibbs, D. W., 274. 
Tinners' Supplies, .3:39. 
Tin Plate, ,3:39. 
Tinsley, Dr. F. C, 208. 
Townlev, Geo. E., 247, 283. 
Town, Ithiel, 43. 
Tousey, Oliver, 2.35. 
Tousev, George, 235. 
Totten, J. J., 274. 
Tobacco, Wholesale Leaf, 324. 
Todd, Jno. M., 399. 
Todd, Dr. L. L., 208. 
Todd, Newton, 399. 
Tolin, A. B., 274. 

Tolin. Totten, Tibbs & Co., 270, 274. 
Tolly, -Tas., 273. 
TQmimson,-»^aniel, 123. 
Tomlinson Hall, 123, 128, UH. 
Training School, Industrial, 209. 



"Treason Trials," 95. 
Tribune, Indiana, 294. 
Trust Companies, 2:^9, -'l.} 
Typewriters, .309, .369. 



Undertakers' Supplies, .367. 
Lnion Depot, 166, 255. 
Union Embossing Machine Co.. .•V49 
Union Passenger Station, 121, •>.-,5 
Union Railway Co., 7.3. 
Union Railwav Lines, 142. 
Union Railwa.v Station, 124, -'.-,5 
Union Trust Co., 240. 
United States Arsenal, 99, 142 
United States Land Office, .Tj.' 
University, Iiidianaixjlis Business. 
^197,203.208. 
University of IndianaiK)lis, 190. 
University, Northwestern Christian, 

74. 
University Park, 154. 
University Square, ."«. 

\ 

Van Blaricum, 49. 

Van Buren, Martin, .56. 

Van Camp, Cortland, .368. 

Van Camp Hardware and Iron Co., 

368. 
Van Hoff. H. L., .347. 
Van Valkenburg, Miss Susan, 21.3. 
Varnishes, .394. 
Vajen-Bader Co., .343. 
Veneer, .349, ;}82. 
Ventilating .Vfiparatus. .342. 
Visitors, Notable, .5(5. 
Vi)U:shl(itf, Indiana, 294. 
Von Hake, Carl, ;W7. 
Vonnegut, Clemens, 362. 
Vonnegut, Clemens, Jr., :{»13, Wu. 
Vonnegut, Franklin, :J6.3, :jt;7. 
Voris, W. C, 274. 

\\ 

Wainwright. Lucius M., .381. 
Wallace, Gov., .'M. 
Wallace, Lew, (58. 8<>, 89. 
Walker, W. A., :»1. 
Wallace, Wm. J., KV). 
Wallick. John F.. 177. 
Wands. Dr. Wm., 208. 3:{»">. 



416 



INDEX. 



Ward, Dr. Boswell, 300, 303. 

Ward, Marion, 300, 303. 

Ward Bros., 300. 

Warman, Enoch, 272. 

Warman, Black, Chamberlain & Co., 

270, 272. 
War, Mexican, 89. 
War Riot, 104. 
War Period, 84. 
War of Rebellion, 90. 
War Times, 90. 
Washing Compound, .398. 
Washington Hall, .32. 
Washington Street, 9, 27, 45, 149. 

151, 155. 
Waterman, Dr. L. D., 207. 
Water Supply, 141. 
Water-Works Co., 187, 189, 191. 
Webb, Benj. L., 399. 
Weinberger, Herman, 315. 
Weinberger's Hotel, 31(5. 
Wellman, Fred. C, 293. 
Wells, Chas. W., 340. 
Wert, E. A., .3:^8. 
Wesley Chapel, 59. 
West, Henry F., 165. 
Western Censor cvnd Emigreints'' 

Guide, 24. 
Western Furniture Co., 348. 
Western Union Telegraph Co., 177. 

183. 
West Indianapolis, 1.34. 
When Building, 197. 
When Clothing Co., 325. 
Whitcomb, Gov. James, .38, 132, 1.53. 

213. 
White, Arthur C, 219. 
White, Dr. A. R., 229. 
White, Albert S., 116. 
"White City Limited," 262. 
White River, 23, 25, 33, (59. 
White River Navigation Company, 

42. 
Whittier, D. L., .355. 
Whittier, Mary W., 217. 
Wholesale District, 53, 146. 
Wholesale Trade, 145. 
Wick, Hon. W. W., 19. 
Wiegel, Wm., .315, 316. 
Wildcat Money, 79. 
Wildbrandt, Emil, 399. 
Wildhack, W. A., 249. 
Wildman, Jas. A.. 248. 



Wiley, D. W., 332. 

Wiley, Ehza G., 213. 

Wiley, Wm. Y., 257. 

Wilhite, J. R., 273. 

Wilkins, Wm., 249. 

Wilkinson, T. B., 275. 

Willard, Gov., 38. 

WiUiams, Chas. R., 294. 

Williams, J. L., .398. 

Wilhams, L. G., 398. 

Williams, Wm., .363. 

Wilhams, W. M., .398. 

Williams, W. M., & Bros., 398. 

Williamson, M. D., .382. 

Willits, V. B., .378. 

Wilson, E. S., 2.36. 

Wilson, J. H., 317, 337. 

Wilson, John R., 199. 

Wilson, M. B., 2.36. 

Wilson, Dr. Ralph, 208. 

Winter, Ferd. A., 244. 

Wimmer, John, 299. 

Woman's Club, Indianapolis, 217. 

Women's Reformatory, 389. 

Wood, John, 44. 

Woods, Hon. Wm. A., 199. 

Woodard, N. D., 210. 

Woodruff Place, 29, 31, 157. 

Woollen Evans, 185, 199. 

Woolen Factory, .331. 

Woolen, Dr. G. V., 207, 208. 

Woldt, Chas., 271. 

Wright, Gov., 38. 

Wright, J. Kirk, 249, 257. 

Wulschner, Mrs. Flora, 217. 

Wycoflf, Seamans & Benedict, 309. 

Wynn, Wilbur S., 248. 

Wynne, Thos. A., 174. 

Wyon, Albert F., .360. 

Wysong, 274. 



Young, A. A., 249. 

Young, Jacob, 50. 

Y. M. C. A. Building, 123, 181. 



z 



Zener, Clarence M., 254. 
Zener, Robt., & Company, 254. 



4763